Metascore
68

Generally favorable reviews - based on 8 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. A solid old-school effort with a Ph.D. in pain. [20 May 2005, p.77]
  2. A refreshingly honest outing that still maintains a high fun factor. [15 May 2005]
  3. With the macho posturing out of the way, it makes it easier to appreciate his powerful voice and million-dollar arrangements.
  4. 60
    Keith and co-writer Scotty Emerick can't resist country cliches, but at least they use them brilliantly. [Jul 2005, p.118]
  5. Part of his appeal is that he's never totally believable: on previous albums, you had the feeling that he wasn't quite as hard as he first seemed; on this one, you get the feeling he's not quite as soft. [16 May 2005]
  6. Honkytonk University is one missed opportunity after another.
  7. The most downbeat record he's ever made, with none of his usual humor. [19 May 2005, p.81]
User Score
6.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 13 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 10
  2. Negative: 3 out of 10
  1. JeffM
    Oct 24, 2005
    10
    If you don't like this cd you dont like country. His most well rounded effort.
  2. SamD
    Oct 11, 2005
    0
    i told my friends how toby keith could never suck anymore than his prior albums, I had told them a deep, cold, heartless lie. He make britney spears look like john lennon Full Review »
  3. BenjaminT
    Aug 31, 2005
    10
    Oh my gosh..... People need to start appreciating a good singer and songwriter. I have been listening to Toby Kieth since I was 4; and im 14 now. Toby Kieth had really out done himself now. ''She Ain't Hooked On Me No More'' is great. One of the best I've heard from Toby. All I got to say to toby is keep it up! Full Review »