Hopes And Fears

User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 138 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 10 out of 138

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. sheila
    Oct 20, 2004
    9
    I adore this album. It's incredibly beautiful and breathtaking. The singer's voice is lovely and the piano soars.
  2. TimH
    Dec 2, 2004
    10
    To the critics - open your mind or go fix that dripping tap that must be really irritating you. Absolutely beautiful to LISTEN to (quit thinking about it!)
  3. marianl
    Jan 8, 2005
    10
    i really love this band and their music. it's about time to have a new refreshing sound in music. everything else was sounding the same. i wish this band everlasting success. bravo!!
  4. KillianD
    Jul 5, 2007
    10
    10/10 This album is a spectacular album. Full Stop.
  5. MattS
    Oct 14, 2004
    10
    Just sitting back and listening to it, it's sonically gorgeous. It's amazingly stripped down, the songs and the sound creates an illusion of depth that isn't in any way actually there.
  6. AlbertoI
    Jul 6, 2004
    9
    Great album!
  7. ChuckS
    Feb 9, 2005
    10
    This is the best album this year by far
  8. huddy
    Mar 15, 2006
    10
    in my opinion the best CD of the year, extremely heart felt and such effort from the band. Amazing from beginning to end!
  9. John
    Apr 8, 2006
    9
    Coldplay comparisons are ridiculous. Unlike Chris Martin, Tom Chaplin can actually sing. Piano playing should not be a reflexive comparison to Coldplay. Check them out live for a real treat!
  10. JH
    Jun 25, 2006
    9
    Great album, the critics are hard. A band without guitars gets scrutinized for trying something original??? Almost every tune on this disc is musically brilliant, my only complaint is that being that they only use a piano and drums, many of the tunes do sound similar. I can't think of a song on this album I didn't like. Its refreshing to listen to band that are actual musicians Great album, the critics are hard. A band without guitars gets scrutinized for trying something original??? Almost every tune on this disc is musically brilliant, my only complaint is that being that they only use a piano and drums, many of the tunes do sound similar. I can't think of a song on this album I didn't like. Its refreshing to listen to band that are actual musicians rather than most American pop music where the beats are already made for a talentless voice and you tryout to make a pre-packaged band. Not Keane, they are a musically inclined crew that shine without any guitars. Expand
  11. andread
    Jul 30, 2006
    10
    the greatest album ¡¡¡¡¡ come one guys keep on bringing us those lovely and pasionate songs . thank you very much
  12. [Anonymous]
    Jul 7, 2006
    8
    Keane's album is a glistening, gorgeous experience. A lack of guitars actually makes the record quite...refreshing. It starts off with ballads, but soon becomes atmospheric in the most outer-worldly of ways that inspire calmness, even awe on some occasions.
  13. NeilR.
    Oct 25, 2007
    10
    An awesome first album. Every song is wonderfully melodic and beautifully produced. The guy's voice is fantastic, and the arrangements are original. The piano is especially strong. Track 6 is breathtaking.
  14. Nov 17, 2012
    10
    For the rest of my life, a real gem of musical inspiration. It has themes that are recorded in the heart, never leave me. Have been slow, but have come. Long live Keane.
  15. ShabarO
    Oct 5, 2004
    4
    All right, give them some credits ,these kids are just some results of a massive marketing music machine. I played this to my grand mother and she liked it, so did my little cousin and she is 6. A Obviously, boy band like Blue do not appeal music executives anymore. 4 as in the Chinese number for dead or deemed to be forgotten.
  16. twisttwist
    Jun 7, 2004
    2
    Goddamn, this sucks. How many time canyou rip-off Coldplay?
  17. Luis
    Nov 4, 2004
    10
    I don´t need snobs in my life. A perfect *POP* album.
  18. PaulS
    Aug 23, 2004
    1
    C'mon kids, try. You listen to this album and think "oh yes, that's pleasant." or "what a nice melody", and it's perfect to put on in the background. NO OF COURSE IT'S NOT. This is a thoroughly offensive album, with no variety (the no-guitar excuse is lame, Ben Folds Five were still creative, and anyway, why should we let them off for just using piano), utter melodic C'mon kids, try. You listen to this album and think "oh yes, that's pleasant." or "what a nice melody", and it's perfect to put on in the background. NO OF COURSE IT'S NOT. This is a thoroughly offensive album, with no variety (the no-guitar excuse is lame, Ben Folds Five were still creative, and anyway, why should we let them off for just using piano), utter melodic shallowness, but not as bad as the insincerity of the lyrics. They're nicely sung, but they're still ridiculous. Come on, this is not emotion, this is taunting. If you relate to these lyrics, well...well...well you're kidding yourself. They spout out the sort of words that people say "yeah, that's meaningful", but what do they exactly MEAN? They're meaningful without actually meaning or signifying anything. Of course, it sells well because it's terrible, further backing to the theory: The Worse The Music Is, The More People Will Buy It. Expand
  19. Aidank
    Sep 3, 2005
    0
    yawn. what a bore
  20. PresidentBush
    Jul 6, 2006
    3
    this album by keane was their first album and pretty bad for a first album with only a couple good songs like number 1 and 2 i think, no wait it was 3 and 4 so the only good songs were 1 3 and 4. i think the main reason that this album lacked the "push" of other albums is that there is only a bass player, singer, and keybordist. they need a guitar player and get one fast but it looks like this album by keane was their first album and pretty bad for a first album with only a couple good songs like number 1 and 2 i think, no wait it was 3 and 4 so the only good songs were 1 3 and 4. i think the main reason that this album lacked the "push" of other albums is that there is only a bass player, singer, and keybordist. they need a guitar player and get one fast but it looks like Keane already put out another not so good album. sure they have that one song by them on their new album that is being played on Mix 96.9 but i guarantee you that song will be off the radio in a couple of weeks just like how "Somewhere Only We Knoe" was on the radio for a couple weeks on Mix 96.9............ and they did get a little radio play which led some people like me to say "oh i like that song, i should check out this album" but i was very dissapointed at what the critics gave this album, but most of the users liked it so i still gave Keane a chance and got the album only to be dissapointed by a very mediocre album with only a couple good songs. So if youre the person who likes to get albums where the songs on it are good from beginning to end, i definately DO NOT recommend this album and keep the money for another album that is better than this one. If you did like this album though, you would have to explain to me how you liked most of these boring songs because i dont get how your opinions like this album. And as i was reading the reviews i saw somebody post a comment saying Keane was original. DUDE???? This band is not origional, these bands with no guitarists were out there and are still out there but they didnt get any airplay on the radio. I do give credit for the fact though that Keane wrote "Somewhere Only WE Know" and that got some airplay on the radio. The other bands with no guitarists just got no radio play so no one ever found out who the heck those bands were!!!!!! Expand
  21. Jun 30, 2011
    10
    KEANE IS MY FAV. BAND AND I LOVE THEM "SOMEWHERE ONLY WE KNOW" IS THE BEST SONG IN THE ENTIRE UNIVERSE BEDSHAPED 2 AND I HAVE EVEN RANKED THEM 1SOMEWHERE ONLY WE KNOW
    2BEDSHAPED
    3BEND AND BREAK
    4YOUR EYES OPEN
    5SHE HAS NO TIME
    6EVERYTHING IS CHANGING
    7CANT STOP NOW 8WE MIGHT AS WELL BE STRANGERS
    9THIS IS THE LAST TIME
    10SUNSHINE
    11UNTITLED ONE
    7
    8
    9
    10
    11
  22. MikeR
    Mar 15, 2005
    10
    I know It's only POP but I like it! No pose, no inide_morons actitude, only a good band. Critics must die.
  23. SimonB
    Jun 1, 2007
    6
    Ah, yes... critics. How many times have I had to correct people on this site? Quite a few, I'd say. No, no, you still have right to your opinions so sit down for a bit, let the mouse go. Keane were interviewed in Montreal not so long ago. They were down-to-earth guys; not assholes ; and they didn't claim to try to copy anything. They were making SIMPLE, POP music. When you make Ah, yes... critics. How many times have I had to correct people on this site? Quite a few, I'd say. No, no, you still have right to your opinions so sit down for a bit, let the mouse go. Keane were interviewed in Montreal not so long ago. They were down-to-earth guys; not assholes ; and they didn't claim to try to copy anything. They were making SIMPLE, POP music. When you make something simple, it is meant to look/sound a lot like other things, yeah? The theme in Keane's melodies is not changing: "Everybody's changing but I still feel the same." People ask for renewal of Keane's music while they've just begun their carreer. Everything's been done before, there's no need to whine when you know you've heard an awesome band and you want to live by it all your life. Do you see me comparing every rock band to Dream Theater? (I haven't made any rock band comments yet, but that will come and I won't compare them to DT unless blah blah blah, get my drift?) There are sometimes when I wonder why people listen to music. Similarly to why people watch movies. "THIS IS GARBAGE. IT SOUNDS LIKE COLDPLAY." why? You just said Coldplay's awesome. Shouldn't that mean Keane is good too? "NO. THEY COPY SO THEY SUCK." copying would involve serious damage in fund and if that were the case, Keane wouldn't have been allowed to get a second album out. Besides, you're all acting as though you were speaking on the behalf of Travis and Colplay. I'm sure if Chris met Chaplin down the street, he'd just say "Hey, dude." shake hands and be on his way. This is music, not a competition. Expand
  24. malcolmf
    Dec 19, 2004
    7
    Is it me or is 'Bend and Break' one of the most catchy songs you have ever heard? What is so great about this album is the astonishing voice of the singer and the fact that you dont even notice a guitar is missing! Although a lot of the songs become slightly tedious after a while credit must be given to the band for creating something that is fresh and appealing to everyone who Is it me or is 'Bend and Break' one of the most catchy songs you have ever heard? What is so great about this album is the astonishing voice of the singer and the fact that you dont even notice a guitar is missing! Although a lot of the songs become slightly tedious after a while credit must be given to the band for creating something that is fresh and appealing to everyone who listens to it. The critics were way to harsh on this one. Expand
  25. chris
    Jun 5, 2004
    7
    Is it just me, or do they sound just like A-ha??? Pretty good, though.
  26. SteveS
    Jun 9, 2004
    10
    My favorite CD of the year thus far - and totally unexpected as I feel the singles, while catchy, are derivative of Travis and Coldplay. That actual album has a more 80's sound to me, recalling groups like China Crisis and a little bit of Ultravox.
  27. AlexB
    Jul 1, 2004
    8
    great album great songs best elements of Radiohead, Coldplay and Queen needs more melodical inventiveness
  28. JasonS
    Jul 10, 2004
    9
    People say Keane sounds like Coldplay. I remember when people said Coldplay sounded like Radiohead. I think Keane will come into their own, just like Coldplay did, and be a solid contribution from across the pond.
  29. Hannaj
    Jul 29, 2004
    10
    I liked all songs of this album.
  30. MariaGC
    Aug 22, 2004
    10
    A masterpiece. No words to explain such beautiful songs. Absolutely my favourite group after Tears For Fears. BRAVI KEANE!! :-)
  31. AnthonyV
    Jan 6, 2005
    8
    The critics can go suck an egg. Im just fine with Keane's new album. It's good pop and it might last a few years, but it's a few years of damn good, clean, well-structured, easy pop. If I want to be challenged I'll play Gary Kasparov in a game of chess.
  32. JeremyM.
    Jul 25, 2005
    10
    Well I have to say that at first I was skeptical about buying this album because of it's initial "soft, touchy-feely" impression. Having honestly listened to it over 30 times, this is one of the greatest albums I've ever heard. The tracks fit together seamlessly (which is DIFFERENT than sounding all the same), the vocals are supremely angelic and pitched perfectly, the Well I have to say that at first I was skeptical about buying this album because of it's initial "soft, touchy-feely" impression. Having honestly listened to it over 30 times, this is one of the greatest albums I've ever heard. The tracks fit together seamlessly (which is DIFFERENT than sounding all the same), the vocals are supremely angelic and pitched perfectly, the piano/keyboard add depth to the melodies, and the drums complete the unique Keane sound. That's right, unique. Just because they come from the same country and have the same soft approach as Coldplay doesn't mean they should be dumbly labeled as a rip-off. Keane has no guitars whatsoever or even the same theme of their music. Keane is more about heartbreak and other problems with love than anything else, something present but not prevalent on Coldplay albums. And how many rock bands from America play the exact same instruments and sing about the same stuff in the same way? Surely they're not all said to be rip-offs of one another. This is a great, melodic album that sings with great passion and fantastic lyrics. They in fact won Songwriters of the Year in the UK recently. So stop with all that hater talk and listen to this album with an open mind. Expand
  33. Ricky
    Feb 14, 2006
    8
    A great album that i've yet to tire from.
  34. tristant
    Mar 18, 2007
    10
    Listen to me!!!!!!!! This is REAL music!!! Melody, depth, emotion and the best voice in music in tom chaplin!!! So put down all your stupid reviews, because those who review cant do!!!forget about all your sickly overhyped british shit bands and pick up a copy of KEANE and discover what real music is!!! GENIUS!!!!!
  35. JeffJ
    Jun 15, 2007
    7
    It peters out towards the end, but "Somewhere Only We Know", "This is the Last Time", "Bend and Break and "Everybody's Changing" are as brilliant as they are touching.
  36. Randeh
    Oct 14, 2004
    7
    First a comment on the inevitable and now annoying Coldplay comparisons, come on how independent and outstanding did you expect this trio of shoolboys to be? Simply put, if you like it the first time around you'll like it, if you didnt well then you didnt. I wont say that there is alot of variety, there isn't but unlike Coldplay these guys can actually pull off a decent pop First a comment on the inevitable and now annoying Coldplay comparisons, come on how independent and outstanding did you expect this trio of shoolboys to be? Simply put, if you like it the first time around you'll like it, if you didnt well then you didnt. I wont say that there is alot of variety, there isn't but unlike Coldplay these guys can actually pull off a decent pop song. Give them some credit for that. Expand
  37. VinceH.
    Oct 23, 2004
    8
    I am a huge fan of the indie pop perfected by bands like Radiohead (Bends-era) and Coldplay and have been following with most of the bands that have attempted to do the same kind of music like Travis, Starsailor, Doves, Elbow, etc. with varying resutls. I'd definitely say that Keane is the best of the bunch. I really don't understand the negativity directed towards these guys. I am a huge fan of the indie pop perfected by bands like Radiohead (Bends-era) and Coldplay and have been following with most of the bands that have attempted to do the same kind of music like Travis, Starsailor, Doves, Elbow, etc. with varying resutls. I'd definitely say that Keane is the best of the bunch. I really don't understand the negativity directed towards these guys. Sure, the musicianship isn't top notch and some of the lyrics border on middle-school love letter stuff, but the hooks here are marvelous and when this album soars, it really soars. The singer has a beautiful and earnest voice that works well within the structure of such soaring ballads. This is definitely great driving-late-at-night music to sing along to and I recommend it highly. Expand
  38. JhonnyM
    Jun 14, 2004
    10
    Best Album EVER!
  39. artform
    Jun 28, 2004
    10
    Am I the only one with ears? This band is great! They play their hearts, and out comes Hopes and Fears. It's a 10 from me. I love the singer's voice. I love the sound of their music, that's it.
  40. keano
    Jul 16, 2004
    10
    My score for this album says it all.
  41. NickD
    Jul 31, 2004
    2
    The main problem with this disc is apart from This Is The Last Time and Untitled I, all these tracks meld into a nothingness of sub-par Robbie Williams ballads and cheap rip-off Ultravox B-sides. If you buy this album, you are disqualified from the human race.
  42. ashleighb
    Aug 6, 2004
    10
    Keane: Hopes amd Fears is the best album i hav eva heard!! they are just amazing, and i am now completely in love with tom chaplin!! his voice is so passionate a pure, it makes my spine shiver and tingle all ova!!! i love keane so much!!
  43. mj
    Feb 10, 2005
    7
    I can't help feeling like "Hopes and Fears" wants to be the smoothie that you get when you put The Bends and The Man Who in a blender, minus the rocking out moments, which isn't in itself a bad thing. But it's just trying, oh, just that little bit too hard, like the annoying kid in the class who takes way too many notes. The result is more your parents' easy listening I can't help feeling like "Hopes and Fears" wants to be the smoothie that you get when you put The Bends and The Man Who in a blender, minus the rocking out moments, which isn't in itself a bad thing. But it's just trying, oh, just that little bit too hard, like the annoying kid in the class who takes way too many notes. The result is more your parents' easy listening radio station than what's on the cool indie kids' ipods... Expand
  44. bobb
    Mar 24, 2005
    3
    is there somthing original about this album, is it something new or differant? no its the same old crap that travis,coldplay and other such bands have been churning out for the last few years its bland and insipid, please stop it.
  45. MarkP
    May 23, 2005
    10
    Love this album. Amazingly beautiful. Have been listening to it constantly since seeing them on Saturday Night live. That voice just left me spellbound. Seeing them at Radio City in a couple weeks. Not often a new band grips me the way this one did.
  46. VinceF
    Jun 21, 2005
    10
    This is my favorite album for the last year and it will be for a long time again. Each song is truly, and deeply beatiful...
  47. CoreyM
    Jul 15, 2005
    9
    One of the best pop records in awhile. "somewhere only we know", "can't stop now" "we might as well be strangers" and "bedshaped" are modern masterpieces in british pop.
  48. RandyB
    Jul 17, 2005
    8
    While some would say Keane is reminiscent of Coldplay, others who
  49. TomM
    Jul 2, 2005
    10
    The best album ive ever heard, Keane r genius's, da critic review score is totally rong
  50. G.M.D.K.
    Jul 25, 2005
    10
    A triumph of poetry,melodies,and lyrical emotion.A satisfying debut of a band that should have deserved the CD treatement long time ago.A catchy and breezy album.My favorite song from the band must be "Everybody's changing". A must buy!
  51. ChesterL
    Mar 23, 2006
    9
    Great Music! Who cares if there's no guitar? Piano is better anyways.
  52. DH
    Jun 25, 2006
    10
    This is about as good an album of pop/rock music I have ever heard. A masterpiece, Chaplin has a great voice and unlike so many frontmen I can actually make out the words he is singing. Lyrically it can be vague, but thats actually a good thing since music should be a work of art and up for several different interpretations. Music that relies on a great voice, piano/keyboards, and drums. This is about as good an album of pop/rock music I have ever heard. A masterpiece, Chaplin has a great voice and unlike so many frontmen I can actually make out the words he is singing. Lyrically it can be vague, but thats actually a good thing since music should be a work of art and up for several different interpretations. Music that relies on a great voice, piano/keyboards, and drums. Its a refreshing change with a great sound. Expand
  53. PScott
    Jul 12, 2006
    3
    Most of the songs are bland and forgetful. I love Bedshaped, but thats about it.
  54. JavelinM.
    Jun 11, 2007
    8
    I got this CD from my cousin and it didn't really make a big impression at the time. I enjoyed the music in the background, but I wouldn't pick it out to play. However, after having it come up on the rotation for a few years, it's grown on me. All of a sudden, it was something I craved, and for music, that's my criteria. Keane's just what I need right now, and I got this CD from my cousin and it didn't really make a big impression at the time. I enjoyed the music in the background, but I wouldn't pick it out to play. However, after having it come up on the rotation for a few years, it's grown on me. All of a sudden, it was something I craved, and for music, that's my criteria. Keane's just what I need right now, and I'm glad I found them around. Expand
  55. JimH
    May 3, 2008
    10
    This cd is honestly amazing. I am very critical when it comes to music etc, But, like others have said here, this cd is the best I have heard in years. Great songs, vocals, and the songs stay with you when you have heard them. I can not remember when I liked a band as much as Keane. It feels great!!!!!
  56. bobl
    Dec 6, 2004
    9
    I think this album is terific.The critics that pooh pooh this album because it allegedly appeals to the masses havent kept up with the charts. I hope this album does sell well-I'm sick of all this hip hop sh.. It's nice to actually hear someone singing as opposed to chanting. And what a voice. the sound is incredibly full for only 3 instruments. Cant wait to see them live
  57. MarkC
    Aug 23, 2004
    10
    Brilliant. Gorgeous. Amazing. The best album of 2004, without a doubt.
  58. Lorae
    Nov 2, 2005
    10
    My favorite album this year. Start to finish I can't get sick of it. Repeat, repeat, repeat.
  59. Chris
    Dec 5, 2005
    3
    Bland and redundant. One or two memorable songs mixed with boring paino tracks. A watered down coldplay.
  60. claireiellec
    Mar 27, 2005
    10
    i love this band it rockz well i like tom chaplin
  61. RoyalC
    Apr 26, 2005
    9
    This album has grown on me tremendously since i first sampled it. There are hooks galore on the album but none feel cheep or lame. Some great lyrics to go with the hooks as well.
  62. scottc
    Jul 14, 2005
    10
    Breathtaking. Vocals remind me of Rufus Wainright. Piano is gorgeous. Fills my heart with joy.
  63. SayedS
    Jul 18, 2005
    9
    Quite a masterpiece of piano and vocals. The sound is so fresh my new undies feel dirty! I will be waiting for more Keane. And I saw them in concert and Chaplin sounds as good if not better than on the album.
  64. MatthewK
    Sep 11, 2005
    10
    Love it, I love the band and there music is wonderfull, a big ten.
  65. BenS
    Sep 23, 2005
    5
    Ho hum, it starts brightly enough with the pleasent 'somewher only we know', but the weepy indie anthems soon take their toll, marginally redeemed by bedshaped at the end
  66. smithjoe
    May 17, 2006
    9
    ok, i wasnt gonna say anything, but whoever these critics are their complet retards. How can you say this album is bad...just because theres no guitar?? Go listen to the freakin rolling stones and satisfy your crap musical tastes!!! Me and the rest of the musically intuned world will continue to enjoy music from this ground breaking band that is, yes ill say it, comparible to the beatles!!!!!
  67. BlairS
    May 27, 2006
    9
    For the record, I absolutely hate Coldplay, I can't even sit through one of their songs. This record, and Keane in general, is way better and beyong whatever Chris Martin and his boys can actually create.
  68. KalinaT
    Jul 11, 2006
    10
    Haven't loved an artist so much in a long time. These days songs are so forgettable, but Keane has managed to give me 3 memorable favorites with just one CD...pretty huge accomplishment! Also bought their second CD recently and loving that too.
  69. samanthac
    Aug 25, 2006
    10
    i love keane they are the best they rule the world and i love all their songs. so i think they deserv more then 10 to be honest. Keane rule i love all u Tom, Tim and Richard. Also i think Tom is so sexy lol. anyway love u all even keane fans im sorry im crazy over them.
  70. daven
    Sep 22, 2006
    8
    Many people will be fooled and call Keane the next Coldplay. Not every band with a piano that plays soft indie alternative rock is "the next Coldplay". Keane, unlike, Coldplay have a lot left to prove musically. The reason for the high score is due to Tom Chaplin and his show stopping vocals. There aren't many singers who can sing as well as he does which makes every song on "Hopes Many people will be fooled and call Keane the next Coldplay. Not every band with a piano that plays soft indie alternative rock is "the next Coldplay". Keane, unlike, Coldplay have a lot left to prove musically. The reason for the high score is due to Tom Chaplin and his show stopping vocals. There aren't many singers who can sing as well as he does which makes every song on "Hopes and Fears" sound like an instant classic. Expand
  71. ArnaldoJ
    Feb 25, 2008
    10
    Probably the best band that appeared on the last 15 years. This album is perfect!!!
  72. JonathanA
    Nov 22, 2004
    10
    I am stunned to see how negative some of the reviews were for this album. I think it is absolutely amazing, and I think of myself as quite the music snob! I don't mind that the CD is pleasing to all types of people. Who cares if the lyrics are vague or simple? To me this CD is just a pleasure to listen to. It is refreshing and uplifting. The vocals are terrific. I just don't see I am stunned to see how negative some of the reviews were for this album. I think it is absolutely amazing, and I think of myself as quite the music snob! I don't mind that the CD is pleasing to all types of people. Who cares if the lyrics are vague or simple? To me this CD is just a pleasure to listen to. It is refreshing and uplifting. The vocals are terrific. I just don't see how anyone who loves music cna't find something to like here and I certainly don't see how anyone can call this CD "offensive"? Keane has set well with all the alternative music lovers I know and it is one of the few CD's I bought this year that I ALWAYS recommend to people that have an ear for good tunes. Expand
  73. Jul 27, 2012
    10
    Personally, I think that this is one of the best albums of all time. The lead singer's voice is amazing and their signature style of playing the keyboards creates a unique melody that is both beautiful and haunting.
  74. Feb 8, 2012
    7
    How to describe this...Piano based alternative pop I suppose. Like a watererd down version (I know) of Coldplay without Buckland. While the singles off this record are very strong and still sound good years later, some of the tracks in between will send you to sleep. iTunes was created for this type of record where you can pick the good tracks without having to go through the rest of it.
  75. Feb 2, 2012
    8
    A really neat album with a great level of sophistication mixed with melancholy. From the poppy 'Somewhere Only We Know' to the light hearted 'Everybody's Changing' to down-tempo styled soft tracks like 'Sunshine' and 'Untitled 1', the album has just the edge above most of the alternative rock albums, sufficient to ensure a strong and solid base for Keane.
  76. Jun 29, 2012
    10
    A spectacular album front to back. Everything about it is pretty much flawless. Vocal, lyrics and production are incredible. Its almost like being awake while dreaming, as crazy as that sounds. There really has never been anything like it before and after it's creation. It really is one of the best albums ever!
  77. May 6, 2012
    9
    I really love this album. I find comparisons to Coldplay mostly ridiculous and based purely on the presence of a piano. I also find an amazingly passionate and deep piano rock album that almost had me in tears. Tom Chaplin's voice is incredible and I think Tim Rice-Oxley's lyrics, although simple, work perfectly. I really cannot understand why the critics seem to have it in for Keane. II really love this album. I find comparisons to Coldplay mostly ridiculous and based purely on the presence of a piano. I also find an amazingly passionate and deep piano rock album that almost had me in tears. Tom Chaplin's voice is incredible and I think Tim Rice-Oxley's lyrics, although simple, work perfectly. I really cannot understand why the critics seem to have it in for Keane. I fell in love with this album and it helped make me a Keane fan.
    This beautiful album's high-points for me are Somewhere Only We Know (obviously), Bend and Break, Your Eyes Open, She Has No Time, On A Day Like Today and Bedshaped. I know, there are a lot of high-points but for me this album is just that good.
    Expand
  78. Jan 30, 2015
    8
    A stunning debut. Atmospheric, chilling, haunting and yet still a proper pop record. Keane made a huge mark on British music history with this record, and upon listening to it, you can hear why.
  79. Jun 13, 2015
    10
    Bewitching debut album,which will be transferred from generation to generation with the utmost frugality.. no not a single hitch..some compare them to Coldplay,or are sick in the head,ever heard 1-2 songs from each group
  80. Jul 8, 2016
    9
    This band is FOR ME. I love the soaring melodies on this album. It's easily the best thing going for this band. Although the subject matter isn't always the easiest to decipher, there are still some lyrical gems on the album. I know a lot of people think this album is gutless and insubstantial, but there is some serious groove here. On the other hand, a lot of these songs are just pleasantThis band is FOR ME. I love the soaring melodies on this album. It's easily the best thing going for this band. Although the subject matter isn't always the easiest to decipher, there are still some lyrical gems on the album. I know a lot of people think this album is gutless and insubstantial, but there is some serious groove here. On the other hand, a lot of these songs are just pleasant to listen to. It's still my favorite Keane album by a mile.

    Favs: Somewhere Only We Know, Bedshaped, This Is The Last Time, Your Eyes Open, Bend & Break, She Has No Time, We Might As Well Be Strangers
    Least Favs: Sunshine, Untitled 1
    Expand
Metascore
61

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 18
  2. Negative: 3 out of 18
  1. The 11 tracks on Hopes And Fears have an almost complete lack of soul and even distinction between one another.
  2. There isn't much variety on the disc, which many will find a bit thin after repeated spins, but there's no doubting the band's clean, confident sound.
  3. Mojo
    70
    Somewhere Only We Know is one of 2004's loveliest tunes, and while nothing else on their debut album quite matches this apogee of woebegone non-energy, there's plenty to keep the eyes welling up. [Jun 2004, p.116]