Hospice - The Antlers
Hospice Image
Metascore
83

Universal acclaim - based on 21 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.2

Universal acclaim- based on 106 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: This is the second album for the Peter Silberman-led band.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. Hospice sits squarely in this camp, a heartbreaking aural experience that hits us on a deeper level.
  2. This quintet of musicians are making a name for themselves and with Hospice, they have remarkably made one of 2009’s best albums.
  3. Hospice succeeds by conveying deeply personal traumas as universally appreciable truths, until one man's lonely, painful catharsis transmogrifies into something panoramic and shared by all.
  4. It’s obvious Hospice is an album Silberman made for himself, one that we’re just privileged to listen to and enjoy. So sit back, listen, and consider yourself lucky, punk.
  5. A musical vigil primed to cut a path from bedside to festival stage. [Dec 2009, p. 111]
  6. Hospice is a work of rare beauty and a watershed moment in The Antlers’ career.
  7. 60
    This soaring album defines emotional shoegazing. [Dec 2009, p. 101]

See all 21 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 43
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 43
  3. Negative: 3 out of 43
  1. Oct 16, 2013
    10
    Haunting, harrowing, and beautiful. It's a stunning concept album that you need to listen to straight through to really appreciate. I've heard varying perspectives on the story it tells, but to me it's about an emotionally abusive relationship in which the narrator tries to hold on to his relationship with a girl struggling to deal with her own possibly trauma-induced emotions. This is told through an allegory of a hospital worker in a cancer ward who falls in love with a patient whose imminent death is the catalyst for their tumultuous relationship. The two stories blend ethereally together, almost as if drifting in and out of consciously, while other heart-breaking metaphors bleed into the story. The content of the lyrics is intense and the gorgeous, electronic and folk-influenced music creates a dangerous atmosphere that will draw you fully into the words. The album has no "happy" or "light" songs. The first lyrics of the album (in the song "Kettering") are "I wish that I had known in that first minute we met, the unpayable debt that I'd owe you". If you've ever felt pain from a relationship in your life (whether romantic or not) you'll be able to relate to the feelings the narrator displays for us the panic and horror of trying to hold on to something you know won't last, the feeling that your entire being is tearing apart when it ends, and the fear that you may never be the same person again.

    As a side note, it would definitely be helpful to follow along with the lyrics, because often, the narrator sometimes sings in undertones and the words often blend into the music to create that dream-like atmosphere. The downside is that you may miss a lot of the brilliantly poetic lyrics if you don't follow along.
    Expand
  2. brenk
    Oct 25, 2009
    10
    I keep listening to this on my ipod, over and over. Its haunting.
  3. a.nony-mous
    Aug 21, 2009
    10
    It's quite a feat to make music that goes from subdued to grandiose without making it sound pretentious. this album is able to walk that line perfectly, drawing a surprisingly wide range of emotions out of the listener. if you like music of this genre, this is definitely one of the top albums of 2009. Expand
  4. GoliathR
    Nov 16, 2009
    10
    I can count on my fingers the number of records I can sit down and listen to all the way through repeatedly. Hospice is one of them. Easily my favorite album of 2009. 10 is deserved. Expand
  5. PhilP.
    Sep 12, 2009
    9
    Absolutely stunning. So many layers of heartbreak, rendered beautifully and delicately.
  6. Oct 3, 2012
    9
    This is easily one of the most emotional albums I've ever listened too. The concept of a girl with cancer and an abused relationship is so tightly wound up inside these lyrics that you can't help but become consumed with her, listening to each song eagerly awaiting what happens next. This album spoke to me on a way more personal level, and if that was The Antlers goal, they succeeded. "Bear" is easily the stand-out track on this LP. All In All, the lyrics on Hospice are gorgeous, the vocals extremely emotional, and the production very subtle, yet so good. A- Expand
  7. Jun 27, 2012
    0
    Any album that can deliver such intense emotions to the listener deserves a 10/10. Never heard anything more emotionally affecting than Hospice by The Antlers. Expand

See all 43 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Albums of 2009

    The Best Albums of 2009 Image
    Published: December 29, 2009
    We recap the best-reviewed albums of 2009 and collect dozens of music critic top ten lists to determine the best album of the year. While the results point to a clear winner, you can listen to songs from the top 50 albums to help you find your own favorites.