• Record Label: Island
  • Release Date: Jun 15, 2004
User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 326 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 22 out of 326

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. ryan
    Dec 28, 2004
    10
    i love the killers!! this is one of the best albums i've ever heard! they have a lot of talent. every song is incredible!!
  2. Joris
    Sep 23, 2006
    9
    Definitely not true that this is an album with 3 good songs (the awesome singles) and all filler for the rest! Listen to BELIEVE ME NATHALIE (my favourite), Jenny was a friend of mine, on top, midnight show or even Andy you're a star -which has an almost haunting emotional emo- feel to it- Magnificent Debut!
  3. Randeh
    Oct 14, 2004
    10
    Absolutely Brilliant, and possibly even better than FF (i said possibly). While tracks like 'Somebody Told Me' and hopefully 'Midnight Show" provide the groovy synthed club anthems, tracks like 'Jenny was a friend of mine', 'On Top' and especially 'All these things that Ive done' have made this album not only a tribute pop rock album, but a Absolutely Brilliant, and possibly even better than FF (i said possibly). While tracks like 'Somebody Told Me' and hopefully 'Midnight Show" provide the groovy synthed club anthems, tracks like 'Jenny was a friend of mine', 'On Top' and especially 'All these things that Ive done' have made this album not only a tribute pop rock album, but a progressive one as well. And hey, what was the last good band that came out of Las Vegas? ^_^ Expand
  4. Mh
    Jun 28, 2004
    10
    Strokes tribute band? Awful voice? Some people sholud just donate their brain to science.
  5. JD
    Nov 2, 2008
    9
    It's great! Who could hate this I don't get it? Haters go listen to the CBBC Soundtrack, it might suit you more!
  6. VinceH.
    Oct 23, 2004
    10
    This record took me completely by surprise. I heard the big single all over radio and was entertained but overall unimpressed. I bought the album on a whim from all the buzz I'd been hearing and was taken back. This is a brilliant collection of songs. Each one is great in its own way and the song "Mr. Brightside" will be a huge hit. I keep hearing that these guys rock live and I This record took me completely by surprise. I heard the big single all over radio and was entertained but overall unimpressed. I bought the album on a whim from all the buzz I'd been hearing and was taken back. This is a brilliant collection of songs. Each one is great in its own way and the song "Mr. Brightside" will be a huge hit. I keep hearing that these guys rock live and I can't wait to see a show. Expand
  7. kevin
    Jun 17, 2004
    10
    puts the strokes to shame in a major way...the killers have accomplished the impossible task of taking what made music from the eighties so memorable and updating it in a way that should leave the strokes scratching their heads in amazement. a rare feat for an amazing live band to translate so well to an album. perfect getting ready to rule the town soundtrack.
  8. SuleimanM.
    May 18, 2009
    7
    An impressive first offering, and an enjoyable one at that. Hot Fuss is a great album, and if you're just getting into The Killers, it's a great place to start. Songs such as Mr. Brightside should easily impress.
  9. DonalC
    Jul 23, 2009
    7
    First 5 songs are amazing. 6 and 7 are good. the rest are poor!
  10. j30
    Nov 8, 2011
    9
    A near flawless pop rock album. From the opening bass line of Jenny Was a Friend of Mine you're under the Killers spell and you have no choice, but to dance your ass off.
  11. Dec 15, 2013
    10
    A classic indie rock album, ''Smile Like You Mean It'' and ''Jenny Was a Friend of Mine'' are the highlights of the album and we can't fail to highlight the gay passion by Brandon in ''Andy You're Star''.
  12. MusicMaven
    Jul 10, 2004
    8
    I'd rate this one a 7.5. It's a very enjoyable entry in the recent log of 80's influenced rock-n-roll (i.e. Stills, Stellastarr, Interpol, British Sea Power, etc). The Killers offer a little more affected style and a little less depth and substance than some of their peers, but better than half the album hits the bullseye, and the rest is a decent effort.
  13. britneyp
    Jun 4, 2005
    10
    awesome CD...although i do agree that it gets kinda dull at the end, brandons looks make up for the dullness.........mmm brandon.... ;P
  14. AnnieM
    Jul 23, 2004
    10
    I love the CD. I haven't stopped listening to it since I saw the Killers on tour!!
  15. AntB
    Sep 7, 2004
    9
    Amazing. What a lot of people don't understand...which is why they gave this cd a 0...is that the ENTIRE CD is about the murder of a girl. Listen closely! Well...except Indie Rock and Roll...but other than that...it has to do with the murder. Amazing. Kind of like a Rock-Opera circa The Who. Very nice!
  16. jens
    Sep 8, 2004
    8
    not bad :-) x
  17. brandys
    Jul 6, 2005
    10
    it should acually be high votes cause i love the killers exspesually brandon he is soooo hot!! but u r all grate u album rocks!!!!!!!!!!
  18. KyleL
    Feb 3, 2008
    8
    Paul is dead on, first five songs rock and the rest is not worht listening to.
  19. HeatherM
    Dec 30, 2004
    10
    i've listened to this album a thousand times and each time gives me an eargasm! the video for Mr. Brightside was brilliant, and Brandon is having my love children. this cd has brought meaning back to my listening pleasures.
  20. JonK
    Jun 15, 2004
    10
    Okay, first of all, this CD isn't really a ten, I'd actually put it somewhere around a 7 or 8. I'm just rating it this high to balance out the average for some of the serious underating that has been done by a few persons who obviously didn't even know enough about the CD to comment. The Killers aren't rock and roll saviours, or even as great as Franz Ferdinand or Okay, first of all, this CD isn't really a ten, I'd actually put it somewhere around a 7 or 8. I'm just rating it this high to balance out the average for some of the serious underating that has been done by a few persons who obviously didn't even know enough about the CD to comment. The Killers aren't rock and roll saviours, or even as great as Franz Ferdinand or Interpol. But they are a good band that makes some good (and sometimes even great) '80's synth pop rock. Their debut CD does suffer from a few filler tracks (I can't imagine why they didn't include some of their better B-sides like Under the Gun instead), but when they hit a good melody, they make sure it drills its way into your brain. Some will criticize their overblown production, but I think that's part of their charm. I look forward to seeing what these guys can accomplish on their follow up CD. Expand
  21. kathleenc
    Jul 1, 2004
    9
    its good enough to eat!
  22. bonF
    Jul 14, 2004
    8
    this album rocks! i cant wait to see them in concert. Most of the tracks are good, from 1 all the way to 5 and track #8. I cant believe some people rated it 0. Haters!, dont hate congratulate, its music man.
  23. jeffl
    Jul 8, 2004
    9
    ridiculously stellar! Brandon's vocals are a bit 80's style, but in a good way. i think ppl will really relate to it, and if they dont its not meant to be in there hands.im gonna tell everyone i know to buy that cd, otherwise theyll miss out. good luck in the future Brandon and the Killers.
  24. Melissa
    Aug 11, 2004
    10
    The Killers are absolutely amazing. The first time I heard "Somebody Told Me" on the radio, I couldn't stop listening to it. I bought the CD the day it was released and love every song that's on it. It's about time an album this good hits store shelves! Can't wait to see them perform in RI on the 17th!!
  25. PaulW
    Aug 8, 2004
    9
    One of my favourite bands this summer, this band will be big, glamorous indie rock n' roll is a fantastic song, shame its not on the american version!
  26. ElizabethP
    Oct 13, 2005
    10
    This band has so much ENERGY and the songs are damn CATCHY! There are two songs that don't live up to the rest of the cd, but the highs of this album more than make up for it. This is music you can rock to.
  27. JessicaC
    Oct 21, 2005
    10
    Hands down, one of my top albums of the year. The up-tempo songs got me hooked right away and many of the songs that didn't grab me immediately are now among my favorites. The Limited Edition is the one to buy, particularly for Indie Rock & Roll. This album demonstrates the group members' talent, their flair for performance, and their sense of humor. You have to love lyrics with Hands down, one of my top albums of the year. The up-tempo songs got me hooked right away and many of the songs that didn't grab me immediately are now among my favorites. The Limited Edition is the one to buy, particularly for Indie Rock & Roll. This album demonstrates the group members' talent, their flair for performance, and their sense of humor. You have to love lyrics with a twist. Expand
  28. AliB
    Jan 29, 2005
    10
    Next Big thing?!?! Brandon Flowers has an awesome voice. These guys know a few things about music! LUV IT!!!!
  29. Hayleyhussey
    Jan 4, 2005
    10
    fantastic!
  30. DianaP
    Jan 7, 2005
    10
    I LOVE this band! My favs being smile like you mean it and midnight show. These guys sound awesome and that brandon looks nnn-ICE.
  31. JenD
    Feb 1, 2005
    10
    Best album of the year
  32. SamanthaW
    Feb 10, 2005
    9
    I just love Brandon Flowers. It's noting like the screaming/ whining everyone's been hearing on the radio nowadays. It's something new and jammin'. The choruses are something else, too. Compared to bands just repeating things over and over. At least 1 1/2 thumbs up. (lol)
  33. davidl
    Feb 20, 2005
    8
    Better with more listening. Some weak moments, but for the most part it had a hold on me in some capacity, be it emotionally or melodically. Good stuff
  34. neils
    Feb 3, 2005
    10
    brilliant, best album of the year
  35. seansel
    Feb 8, 2005
    10
    it is difficult to describe in words the theatrical cheezy glory that is the killers.. too 80's awesome.. too dramatic.. too pretty boy.. too synth.. too bad there are only two great singles (2 and 4). Easily the best pop alt singles since No Doubt Saturn...
  36. emilyj
    May 24, 2005
    9
    there grea so yall stop saying thety are bad and brandon is so hot
  37. GaryA
    Jun 8, 2005
    8
    Great first half but gets dull towards the end.
  38. kylef
    Oct 26, 2006
    9
    brilliant album from the killers
  39. shmitty
    Oct 5, 2006
    9
    Awesome album, plenty of filler. Only bad song is the last track.
  40. JennyV
    Mar 20, 2006
    10
    I love this album! If you really listen to all the songs and understand the meanings, you'll love it! I especially like the last three songs on the limited edition one. Hot Fuss is deffinantly one of the best albums out there right now! And The Killers is one of the best bands out there, compared to the other bands like Simple PLan and Fall Out Boy, My Chemical Romance, etc. The I love this album! If you really listen to all the songs and understand the meanings, you'll love it! I especially like the last three songs on the limited edition one. Hot Fuss is deffinantly one of the best albums out there right now! And The Killers is one of the best bands out there, compared to the other bands like Simple PLan and Fall Out Boy, My Chemical Romance, etc. The Killers are unique! Expand
  41. Paul
    Oct 12, 2007
    8
    The first five tracks are superb the rest of the album is OK
  42. RaiM.
    Dec 20, 2004
    10
    brandon flowers is someone never to forget. this CD is original, beautiful, sensational. He has a voice of an angel. you don't have to compare, you just know it's the best there is. and brans voice really is killer good. and if thats not enough for you guys, brandon flowers hot.
  43. joeyl
    Dec 7, 2004
    10
    its the best thing. i love it its awesome possum
  44. [Anonymous]
    Jun 15, 2004
    7
    The first five songs are amazing. So amazing that they make up for the six or so unmemorable ones that come after it. Oh, except the one with Natalie and the gogo dancer. C'mon, that's pure genius.
  45. allan
    Jun 20, 2004
    10
    I like it a lot, but like the guy up above I have to overrate it to make up for the 0's. There are a number of great songs that make it way more than a 0. I would say it is a 7.5
  46. BaconMcNibblets
    Jun 25, 2004
    10
    Not bad. A fun mix of Hot Hot Heat, Pulp, and Stellastarr*. Worthy of your hard-earned money.
  47. Priya
    Jun 29, 2004
    9
    Head about The Killers from early on and when I first hear "Mr. Brightside" after one of my friends made me listen to it, I was hooked. A very good band that should be recognized as themselves, and not as other bands.
  48. Shane
    Jul 2, 2004
    9
    Hey clayton, I'm interested in wondering why on earth you don't think Franz Ferdinand are original? Compared to everything else coming out of the Scottish indie scene and everything else that is popular today they are quite original. People are comparing Franz to the Strokes but that's unfair, because Franz are a lot more poppy and melodic, which isn't a bad thing. The Hey clayton, I'm interested in wondering why on earth you don't think Franz Ferdinand are original? Compared to everything else coming out of the Scottish indie scene and everything else that is popular today they are quite original. People are comparing Franz to the Strokes but that's unfair, because Franz are a lot more poppy and melodic, which isn't a bad thing. The album Franz put out is the best of the year, mind you. As for the Killers, they have quite a few fantastic songs on this album. There are a couple songs I'd consider "filler," though, which is why I don't give this album a 10. Expand
  49. AdalgisoM
    Jul 22, 2004
    10
    Wonderful
  50. FoolyCoolyFan520
    Jul 23, 2004
    9
    Normally I would give this album an 8 but everyone is bringing it down. Ithought this was a great cd. If you like Franz (it's pronounced frans not fer-an-s) Ferdinad or Stellastarr*, youll'really dig it. Great mix of trans, techno, altrock and power punk. My fav song has to be Mr. Bright side. I wouldn't recamend this to generic LP people but it sort of reminded me of the Darkness.
  51. stuartk
    Jul 4, 2004
    8
    hey shut, shut up. This is great album, mostly. Well, half great; half kind of forgettable.
  52. krys
    Aug 21, 2004
    10
    the cd is dope. why does everyone think music has to be so deep and meaningful? good music is good music.
  53. AmandaD
    Aug 23, 2004
    10
    I love it.....It's catchy and puts me in a mellow mood. I relate to alot of the songs.....moresay feel the same way?
  54. JenM
    Jan 15, 2005
    9
    Being an eternal Cure fan through and through I was pleasantly surprised to hear similarities in The Killers. The unique and catchy sound and vibe of this CD provides a great distraction from all the rap music I am constantly hearing, most of it all sounding the same. Bravo!
  55. MorganB
    Jan 17, 2005
    10
    they're awsome
  56. adam
    Jan 21, 2005
    9
    absolutely amazing thats all you can say
  57. Jilli
    Oct 21, 2005
    9
    This is a highlight of the light rock pop genre. The sounds of Franz Ferdinand and the feel of The Strokes, and the old-school-ness of Duran Duran combine to make this album full of songs that you find playing in your head all day long. Love it.
  58. ChrisJ
    Dec 2, 2005
    7
    If this album didn't have Mr Brightside on it I'd give it a 4. The murder story is gripping and the synth sound is v.cool but the vocals are okay at best. Although, frankly, it's worth buying just to play Brightside again, and again, and again, and again. Helluva song!
  59. arisf
    Jan 23, 2005
    10
    I love this album!I think it's great.The sound is awsome,and Brandon's voice is amazing!It's permanently on my CD-player.
  60. frederikw
    Jan 26, 2005
    7
    first 5 songs are ok but then it goes downward.
  61. SimonP
    Jan 3, 2005
    10
    Full marks to the killers because they have made an album that grabs you with the first five songs, with some stonking bass riffs, then keep you hanging on with the later songs, which although don't appeal as much at first, are the kind that just grow and grow on you.
  62. SamD
    Oct 3, 2005
    8
    the limited edition, with indie rock and roll, ballad of valentine and under the gun, is better. also the second half of the songs do not suck! they just take some getting used to
  63. NateM
    Oct 5, 2005
    8
    This is great pop, pure and simple. I can't believe that all of the hipster mags gave such poor reviews - and sad that so many did this while comparing the band to Duran Duran or DM - there is no comparison beyond the use of keyboards. The album is in the top 5 of 2005 pop.
  64. KatieC
    Jan 7, 2005
    10
    I dont know what some of those critics were thinking brandon flowers is awesome and hott the band is totally what we need its time good music came back i love there inavative songs lyrics along with the sound they are amazing besides its so great to have a band with a singer youd just love to look at mmmm hes hott
  65. KateC
    Feb 1, 2005
    9
    they are a great group i hope soon they drop a next album, Brandom you are so hot!
  66. DarrenO
    Feb 13, 2005
    10
    Love the album. Even Mr Brightside, the first song I heard by The Killers, hasn't got old, its just so wonderful. And the other songs are just as great too. Brilliant.
  67. kaleyf
    Feb 19, 2005
    10
    brandon flowers might quite possibly be the best male vocalist ever. and hottest.
  68. ElizabethS
    Mar 17, 2005
    9
    This album is a great car cd. Sing along at the top of your lungs while your alone in your car and you will achieve true musical nirvana. Well maybe not that good but it does make you feel great and this band is going places. I really enjoyed it after the third listen adn the major singles still sound great.
  69. AleksC
    Apr 21, 2005
    7
    The Killers debut album is pretty good. The first few tracks are great, and I listen to them a lot. While the rest seems, too stale for me even to bother.
  70. jyotirmayad
    Jul 10, 2005
    9
    Refreshing, exhiilarating, good energy -- this band has a good future.
  71. karlaFlowers(Iwish)
    Jul 16, 2005
    10
    We are talking about an excellent album, even though its only 11 tracks, each song its different. A record that u can listen to, without skipping tracks. Flowers has a beautiful voice, that reaches different notes along the songs. The best about the lyrics is that there is a play with words, that Flowers doesnt specifically sing what he wants to tell, he leaves up to us to define what we We are talking about an excellent album, even though its only 11 tracks, each song its different. A record that u can listen to, without skipping tracks. Flowers has a beautiful voice, that reaches different notes along the songs. The best about the lyrics is that there is a play with words, that Flowers doesnt specifically sing what he wants to tell, he leaves up to us to define what we want to understand. These are lyrics that u feel, very sharp, smart, the music its just great, soem songs are very energetic, like Midnight Show, or Somebody Told me, and others are dark...I find them dark because of the subjects of the songs, like Andy you're a Star, and Everything will b alright...this album is definitely worth to buy and listen, and I'so far- havent seen Flowers make a single mistake while performing live, so he really is an artist, just like the rest of the band Expand
  72. jerryf
    Sep 22, 2005
    10
    i totally agree with marshall m., this si a brilliant record. it too has brought me back to rock music!
  73. ClaireD
    Sep 8, 2005
    10
    This album is fun, that's all there is to it!
  74. kelseyc
    Sep 8, 2005
    10
    this cd is one of my favs
  75. ExecutionerJones
    Feb 12, 2006
    9
    They're so tight, that when they turn it all on it hits you like a bomb blast! Incredible album.
  76. AlanR
    Mar 28, 2006
    10
    This album changed the way I look at alt music.
  77. Thomas
    Jun 25, 2006
    10
    One of the best albums I heart in a while. Great drums and guitare. favourite song = On Top. If you like The Killers also check out : Hard-fi and The Bravery
  78. IvO
    Aug 13, 2006
    10
    great album! can´t wait for the new one!
  79. LukeT
    Sep 11, 2006
    8
    'Hot fuss' has alot of singles that made the killers very popular indeed. Such as 'Somebody Told Me' 'All These Things Ive Done' and 'Smile Like You Mean It' They are probably the best indie/rock band at the moment and this album proves it.
  80. MusicLover
    Oct 21, 2007
    10
    It's a classic. Every song's amazing. I have nothing else to say, but see for yourself.
  81. AlannaB
    Feb 14, 2007
    10
    I don't know what that "Dot Music" is talking about... The Killers Rock!!!
  82. PaulB
    May 14, 2007
    10
    It's all a matter of taste, but Hot Fuss and Sam's Town were the first and only full albums I downloaded on my new MP3 player, so that means I love'em!! Sure they may be a bit overdone, but everything is so well placed! They make me move and smile, and when I play them loud, my whole household's mood lifts. They're doing their job in that respect.
  83. nattybumpo
    May 11, 2008
    8
    I agree with Paul, the first five tracks are amazing and the rest of the album is mediocre.
  84. AnnM.
    Sep 12, 2008
    10
    The best album in a long long time, in fact, the only band that has got me completely hooked.
  85. ScottW
    Apr 30, 2009
    8
    The Killers first album is truly A killer when it comes to pop rock. Flower's voice is going to go far. On this album it dose and the band along with him. The first 5 and last song rock the album. As for the rest not so much so as to reach a 10 rating just on the songs alone. Still though its a classic and its only the first.
  86. amyl
    Dec 15, 2004
    10
    its MINT !! brandon is looooosh!
  87. JohnM
    Dec 27, 2004
    7
    not bad. half the album justfies the hype. and 'someboy told me' is a fab single. Apart from that, the killers are just shed 7 with suits...
  88. JeaA
    Dec 29, 2004
    10
    Awesome album.
  89. JonG
    Dec 31, 2004
    10
    Flawless...just flawless. The best song on this album that you haven't heard yet is probably "All These Thing's I've Done", which is as catchy as any of the singles, but brings in a choir for a rousing cry of "I got soul but I'm not a soldier". The whole CD, in itself, is purely epic. Brandon Flowers has the sound of an enthusiastic preacher, yet sings of skepticism, Flawless...just flawless. The best song on this album that you haven't heard yet is probably "All These Thing's I've Done", which is as catchy as any of the singles, but brings in a choir for a rousing cry of "I got soul but I'm not a soldier". The whole CD, in itself, is purely epic. Brandon Flowers has the sound of an enthusiastic preacher, yet sings of skepticism, which makes for absolute brilliance. Expand
  90. PeterM
    Jun 17, 2004
    8
    A very well-rounded album with some creative lyrics as well.
  91. GT
    Jun 22, 2004
    10
    An overall good cd. Tracks 1-4 are amazing, track everything else could be better except track 7 which has a kick ass beat and electronic sound. The worst song is Any Your A Star track 6. What the Hell is that song doing on there.
  92. Rhondatyl
    Jun 23, 2004
    10
    its not a great c.d, but its not a bad one. i think its way better than what some people are saying and thats why i gave it a ten.
  93. WalterU
    Aug 18, 2004
    10
    "Hot Fuse" not only has the melodies, but the attitude that goes with it. Lovers' turmoil is expressed deeply witth with great synths that everyone can relate to. Don't miss out...
  94. VB3
    Sep 11, 2004
    8
    Critic are jealous this album is really , but u have to adapt
  95. ElizabethT
    Sep 29, 2004
    10
    I think this album is amazing. It is such a great change from half the crap that has been released these past years. I am glad that the Killers are brave enough and smart enough to put 80's pop and glam back into the music scene. I 've missed all that great music.
  96. LeandroC
    Nov 25, 2005
    10
    Amazing debut album, from this great band, i expect they come to argentina soon.
  97. BryanR
    Jan 13, 2005
    10
    This band is no doubt in my mind the BEST!!!! the songs never get worse they all blend in theres not one song that stinks on this album a MUST have.
  98. BritniK
    Jan 14, 2005
    10
    This band ROCKS!!! I LOVE Mr. Brightside!
  99. Helene
    Dec 18, 2005
    9
    I love Mr. Brightside. The lyrics, the music, and the video to that one song make the whole CD worth buying and the Killers worth listening to. And it's worth listening to again... and again... and again... and again. I should know; I've had it on repeat for the past two hours. haha...
  100. KarlS
    Dec 29, 2005
    8
    I read this once in a review of another music album and it holds here as well: only the terminally joyless would dislike the killers and hot fuss. Well crafted it may be, but the
Metascore
66

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. Most of Hot Fuss slides by without creating much of a stir, but it's got too many memorable moments to be written off.
  2. Blender
    80
    They're not the first--or even the fifteenth--recent band to draw on that era [of the 1980s], but they're among the most assured. [#27, p.138]
  3. What's most shocking about Hot Fuss, though, is how, after five sensational songs, the rest of the album completely implodes, as the other six tracks get weighed down by too much production, a lack of memorable hooks, and some inexplicable musical touches that may have sounded clever in the studio, but wind up sounding disastrous on the CD.