Hot Mess - Cobra Starship
Hot Mess Image
Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 8 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 26 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The third album for the rock band features Gossip Girl’s Leighton Meester on one track.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. We also love to party and this third effort from Cobra Starship screams ‘party’ right from blast off.
  2. Hot Mess is a complete success and shows that the band could possibly grow past the comedy and become something else entirely.
  3. If you don't finish this part record a hot mess, then you probably didn't have a good time.
  4. Hot Mess has everything you hate to admit you love about Cobra Starship. [Sep 2009, p.104]
  5. 70
    Hot Mess is flush with other stupid-smart highlights, including 'Pete Wentz Is the Only Reason We’re Famous.'
  6. Sometimes the former Midtown singer's snark falls flat, as with the title 'Pete Wentz Is the Only Reason We're Famous' or the part where the singer brags about his ass. But Saporta does have some pop gifts, apparent on the disco 'Living in the Sky With Diamonds.'
  7. There’s only so much nudge-nudge, wink-wink you can take before you want to shove a sock in the dude’s mouth. On the bright side, they stand a good chance of scoring a few top-40 hits with this dreck.

See all 8 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 7
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 7
  3. Negative: 1 out of 7
  1. amandas
    Aug 11, 2009
    10
    Fun CD! I would say its a must have; it has something to satisfy everybody!
  2. Nov 4, 2011
    9
    HOT MESS is one of Cobra Starship's best albums; it's fun, catchy and has heaps of songs that will just get stuck in your head. A fun andHOT MESS is one of Cobra Starship's best albums; it's fun, catchy and has heaps of songs that will just get stuck in your head. A fun and addicting album that never fails to enjoy it's listeners. Expand
  3. [Anonymous]
    Aug 13, 2009
    8
    It lacks the over bearing cockiness of Cobra's second album, but it has an ability to grow on you.
  4. May 7, 2011
    8
    Cobra Starship's album just get better and better. This album is filled with songs that you just can't get out of your head! Although thereCobra Starship's album just get better and better. This album is filled with songs that you just can't get out of your head! Although there are one or two terrible songs on the album, but they aren't the worst I've heard. I can't wait for their new album. Expand
  5. May 12, 2012
    8
    Hot Mess is one of Cobra Starship's better albums and contains great music for fans of their previous albums.
  6. Mar 23, 2012
    7
    Due to the number of plays "Good Girls Go Bad" had, I was shocked to hear Hot Mess sound anything like pop-rock. I expected nothing but anDue to the number of plays "Good Girls Go Bad" had, I was shocked to hear Hot Mess sound anything like pop-rock. I expected nothing but an ego-trip and found that Hot Mess is a solid and somehow modest album for the most part. Each song takes on it's own direction and has plenty of fun, yet at an artistic pace. I wouldn't say Hot Mess is Cobra Starship's best album, but I will say that it is their safest and most balanced album yet. Collapse
  7. JoshM.
    Aug 16, 2009
    2
    How does this piece of crap have a metacritic page and Thrice's "Beggars" - album of the YEAR by FAR isn't reviewed ANYWHERE.