Hotel Paper

  • Record Label: Maverick
  • Release Date: Jun 24, 2003
User Score
8.9

Universal acclaim- based on 47 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 47
  2. Negative: 3 out of 47

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. AmyL
    Oct 19, 2003
    10
    In Catalan: si no ho enteneu pues mala sort, k hos dire. Tot i k aki no ha arribat gaira cosa seva hi ha fans... si akest cd es molt bo sobretot les cançons de Tuesday Morning i Where are you now?¿ La felicito pk cada vegada ho fa + b. VISCA LA MICHELLE BRANCH!!!!
  2. JonathanF
    Oct 3, 2003
    10
    Michelle's album is definetly a 10. No other albulm comes close to her. Also no other voice can compete with hers either. Her songs are so inspiring and you just get soft and mushy listening to them. Her lyrics are unmatched. I am not saying this because I have a crush on her its becauses I know its true. All I have to say now is that (I'm happy now). P.S. this is not my email Michelle's album is definetly a 10. No other albulm comes close to her. Also no other voice can compete with hers either. Her songs are so inspiring and you just get soft and mushy listening to them. Her lyrics are unmatched. I am not saying this because I have a crush on her its becauses I know its true. All I have to say now is that (I'm happy now). P.S. this is not my email adress i just used it to get my rating in Expand
  3. ShizNet
    Jul 3, 2003
    10
    Took me a few sittings to get used to the songs, now I find myself singing the tunes in my head all day. I love it
  4. kristinao
    Aug 9, 2003
    10
    i love michelle branch this is just as good as her first alblum i met her last yr and she is the sweetest girl ull even know. she speaks her mind in her songs and i love that she is my idole:)
  5. trishb
    Jul 21, 2003
    8
    More mature lyrics, catchy pop hooks. The songs I like the best are ones that sound a bit more original (Are you happy now, Desperately, Till I get over you). Like Spirit Room though, on many tracks her voice and gutair are drowned out by the background production. Nice sophmore effort overall, hopefully she will continue to improve.
  6. someguythatlikesMichelleBranch,obsessively
    Jul 5, 2003
    9
    Personally, I had been awaiting this album for quite some time now, and well it was worth the wait. I am not a huge pop music fan, in fact I am more into hard rock/metal, but my soft side loves the music of Michelle Branch, and although the Spirit Room is a tought act to follow, she pulled it off. There isn't one terrible song on the album, and the title track, Hotel Paper, may Personally, I had been awaiting this album for quite some time now, and well it was worth the wait. I am not a huge pop music fan, in fact I am more into hard rock/metal, but my soft side loves the music of Michelle Branch, and although the Spirit Room is a tought act to follow, she pulled it off. There isn't one terrible song on the album, and the title track, Hotel Paper, may actually be one of the greatest songs I have ever heard. I don't think I have ever listened to a song that many times in one day...overall Michelle Branch has pleased me yet again, and given me and album that will keep my ears satisfied for quite some time. Expand
  7. anotherguythatlikesMichelleBranch,obsessively
    Jul 9, 2003
    8
    I had really high expectations for this CD. Reading some of the magazine reviews, prior to the album's release, put a damper on my great anticipation of the CD. Upon first listen, I did not enjoy the album; I was listening for all of the criticisms I had read in the reviews, and some of them were evident. I was disappointed; I was expecting another "The Spirit Room", and "Hotel I had really high expectations for this CD. Reading some of the magazine reviews, prior to the album's release, put a damper on my great anticipation of the CD. Upon first listen, I did not enjoy the album; I was listening for all of the criticisms I had read in the reviews, and some of them were evident. I was disappointed; I was expecting another "The Spirit Room", and "Hotel Paper" wasn't it. I listened more, and then all of the nuances like more complex chords and strumming, more eloquent lyrics, and more diversity in her voice surfaced. "Tuesday Morning" demonstrates her lyrical maturity over the last record, and "Desperately" makes her improved songwriting and guitar playing ability evident. All the meanwhile, these songs are extremely addictive - Not too shabby for a sophomore album. I can't wait until the next one. Expand
  8. BradS
    Jun 26, 2003
    10
    This CD is truly amazing, a lot of feel good tracks. She shows a lot of growth from Spirit Room, Michelle at her best.
  9. RozetteW.
    Sep 15, 2003
    10
    I absolutely love Michelle Branch! Hotel Paper is her best album yet! I love all the songs and how they express her emotions and feelings, like Are You Happy Now? is one of the angriest songs i've ever heard, and Til I Get Over You is the saddest song i've heard on her album. Yet, I still love her album. Keep rockin, Michelle!!!
  10. KatV
    Aug 31, 2004
    10
    It's so awesome!! I listen to it obsessively every day still!!
  11. Sep 21, 2010
    10
    A really good album.."One of These Days" really got to me and I loved the rest of the album...I lost it but plan to buy a new copy and listen to it often
  12. Mar 15, 2014
    7
    When I first listened to this album, I didn't like it. It was bland, the lyrics lack enough details to make it striking, the hooks that made her debut sooooo lovable were almost gone in this album. But after a few more listens, I realized that there is something golden in the songs, no matter how boring they sound. There is something in the song that catches your attention that you can'tWhen I first listened to this album, I didn't like it. It was bland, the lyrics lack enough details to make it striking, the hooks that made her debut sooooo lovable were almost gone in this album. But after a few more listens, I realized that there is something golden in the songs, no matter how boring they sound. There is something in the song that catches your attention that you can't really appreciate in your first listens. This album is growing on me and now I love it. Expand
Metascore
57

Mixed or average reviews - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. Entertainment Weekly
    50
    The inescapable girlishness in her voice heightens the unlived-in quality of hackneyed, loverlorn ballads like "Desperately," the least desperate-sounding song of 2003. [Jun 27/Jul 4 2003, p.136]
  2. Most of the songs just lumber along at the same plodding, deliberate pace, boasting very few of the fun hooks that made her previous album so annoyingly likeable.
  3. In the course of the album, it's hard not to notice that all the songs sound the same, and for that matter, they all sound the same as that Avril Lavigne song about the damn cold night, even if Michelle technically got there before Avril.