Hotel

User Score
5.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 61 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 61
  2. Negative: 20 out of 61

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. PauloD
    Jun 2, 2005
    0
    the most boring album of 2005.
  2. nicc
    Apr 8, 2005
    2
    simply ridiculous and ugly.
  3. jacobm
    May 20, 2005
    3
    I love Moby's old style, and I hate his new one. This whole album is washed out rainy day woe is me BS, where did fun happenin Moby go?
  4. DanH
    Mar 22, 2005
    2
    Moby has continued to copy off of himself, much like he did with 18. Where 18 was a pretty dull copy of himself, Hotel is a terrible copy. It's like a xerox of a xerox of a xerox of a... until it fuzzes into a general and crappy image of the origninal.
  5. OldY
    Mar 22, 2005
    0
    This is complete drivel. I was going to give it 1/10, but I couldn't remember what I'd given it a point for. If 18 was Play's B-sides, then Hotel is the C-sides: give me a Fisherprice Keyboard and I can make more interesting ambient music than this!
  6. AlK
    Mar 23, 2005
    0
    Horrible. Utter garbage.
  7. MikeS
    Mar 27, 2005
    3
    Its sad that Mobys new album is so bad! After he made "18" I thought you would learn from his mistakes and make an album which would be better then "Play" but this isnt the case. The album feels like its a copy from his other works, but a much worse copy. If youre a Moby fan like me, I would still have to say I wouldnt recommend the album.
  8. JesseJ
    Mar 29, 2005
    0
    Yikes! This is BADDDDDD!
  9. AlexJ
    Jun 30, 2005
    0
    This album is...........*snores* Huh? What was I talking about?
  10. Matt
    Jun 5, 2005
    3
    Very mopey. Have never been a Moby fan, but I at least respect his other releases. Not this one.
  11. TR
    Mar 12, 2007
    0
    A couple of good songs. But I give the album the lowest possible score because of the protection software. I have been wasting my time trying to transfer the album to my iPod. Unsuccessfully because of what the artists call the opendisc technology. Putting on such protection software on an album the consumer already have purchased the rights for is completely unacceptable. I would never A couple of good songs. But I give the album the lowest possible score because of the protection software. I have been wasting my time trying to transfer the album to my iPod. Unsuccessfully because of what the artists call the opendisc technology. Putting on such protection software on an album the consumer already have purchased the rights for is completely unacceptable. I would never have bought this shitty album had I known in advance. Because of that, it is also the last Moby album I will ever buy. Expand
  12. Mike
    Mar 27, 2007
    2
    The worst moby album to date.
  13. DavidA
    Mar 24, 2005
    3
    It's too bad about Moby, once upon a time he was good. I remember when Play first came out, how exciting it seemed at the time. And his more electronic-oriented material isn't too bad. Somehow, though, he decided instead to try to be New Order. And he fails most of the time. A key example of this being, in fact, his cover of "Temptation", which removes pretty much EVERYTHING It's too bad about Moby, once upon a time he was good. I remember when Play first came out, how exciting it seemed at the time. And his more electronic-oriented material isn't too bad. Somehow, though, he decided instead to try to be New Order. And he fails most of the time. A key example of this being, in fact, his cover of "Temptation", which removes pretty much EVERYTHING enjoyable about that song in the first place, and instead turns it into new age (yes, it definitely is new age) pap. Say what you will about the originality of the Voodoo Child album, at least it wasn't this. Expand
  14. Wendy
    Mar 31, 2005
    0
    The lyrics are just awful in this Albym! There is one "ok" track on this CD, where Moby DOESNT sing. This is the last Moby CD that I will buy.
  15. BobbyK
    Apr 27, 2005
    0
    *Bleh* Bring Me Back My Happiness
  16. JoeM
    Apr 28, 2005
    1
    This Hotel willl never appear in the AAA ratings.
  17. BrianM
    Jun 14, 2005
    0
    And the album's booklet becomes my toilet paper in 0-2 seconds.......
Metascore
47

Mixed or average reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 24
  2. Negative: 8 out of 24
  1. Entertainment Weekly
    67
    Reveal[s] just how ordinary his synth-pop has grown. [25 Mar 2005, p.71]
  2. The slower stuff vagues out, and the bonus disc of ambient instrumentals ought to come with a controlled substance, but elegant relationship songs such as the torchy "Forever" suggest this talented softy has found a sensible way to come down from a multiplatinum high.
  3. Alternative Press
    20
    Hotel is all vacancy. [Apr 2005, p.128]