Hotel

User Score
5.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 61 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 61
  2. Negative: 20 out of 61

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 31, 2013
    8
    Hotel is Moby’s first album without any vocal samples and it is a departure from his earlier albums Play and 18.

    It turns out that many critics and even his fans stated that this is his worst album. On Metacritic, it has an average critic score of 47 and an average score of 5.0/10 from the users. I do agree that it’s his least best, but I find this album to be underrated and I
    Hotel is Moby’s first album without any vocal samples and it is a departure from his earlier albums Play and 18.

    It turns out that many critics and even his fans stated that this is his worst album. On Metacritic, it has an average critic score of 47 and an average score of 5.0/10 from the users.

    I do agree that it’s his least best, but I find this album to be underrated and I thought it was a good album overall.

    The first half of the album is the best, but I thought that in the second half of the album, it sounded like Moby was running out of ideas.

    Yes, it is his least best, but it’s worth a listen.

    Track Picks: Hotel Intro, Raining Again, Lift Me Up, Where You End & Spiders

    DW Rating: 4 out of 5 stars
    Expand
  2. AspectWindow
    Jun 6, 2005
    8
    Maybe I'm the only person in the world who really LIKES Moby's voice. I've always thought his voice sounds kind of lonely and wistful, even on his more uplifting songs. And "Hotel" is full of uplifting songs... ignore the (negative) hype. This is a great pop album.
  3. jyotirmayadas
    Jul 7, 2005
    7
    I don't listen to Moby ever. But something told me to give this CD a listen, and I liked what I heard! That was really weird. So I bought it because unlike 1995's 'Everything...' it didn't gross me out with all those soul women wailing on every other track.
  4. LaurenH
    Mar 4, 2007
    9
    I loved this album. Not having heard his other complete albums, but liking what i had heard, I bought this on a whim and was very happy I did. It never bored me, Each song stands alone and it's better than all the crap on the radio. Gives me a nice break from all the generic pop/rock/rap that popular radio exclusively plays.
  5. JenS
    Mar 23, 2005
    8
    it's good! not a breakthrough, but enjoyable
  6. EdwardR
    Mar 29, 2005
    8
    This is a very catchy, clever little electronic-pop CD with many great songs. Moby may not have the greatest voice ever recorded, but its fine. Now follow this logic...the press built him up with Play, they let him hang in mid-air with 18, they'll tear him down with Hotel, and then he'll have a "comeback". It's the American way. Hotel is a good CD - don't believe the This is a very catchy, clever little electronic-pop CD with many great songs. Moby may not have the greatest voice ever recorded, but its fine. Now follow this logic...the press built him up with Play, they let him hang in mid-air with 18, they'll tear him down with Hotel, and then he'll have a "comeback". It's the American way. Hotel is a good CD - don't believe the sh*thead critics. Expand
  7. TristanS
    Jun 12, 2005
    10
    This album actually shows growth and willingness to fail. In doing so it accels and if more people had this in mind, there wouldn't be so many self-appointed critics...
  8. brenta
    Mar 26, 2005
    7
    not ground breaking but a good album. maybe an attempt to come back at his critics of over using samples (although in this day and age it's a strange thing to get at any musical artist about - celebrity dj's anyone?!?) he sings on most of the album. i really like the album personally. if you've followed him from his debut then you're aware of his diversity, if not then not ground breaking but a good album. maybe an attempt to come back at his critics of over using samples (although in this day and age it's a strange thing to get at any musical artist about - celebrity dj's anyone?!?) he sings on most of the album. i really like the album personally. if you've followed him from his debut then you're aware of his diversity, if not then it's going to take a few listens. i think this album will translate really well live. Expand
  9. TelyS.
    Mar 26, 2005
    7
    In an effort to do something different with this new album (due to the harsh criticism of his brilliant and underrated album 18) Moby's latest is a mixed bag. As a fan of his past music, I don
  10. JackD.
    Mar 29, 2005
    8
    I had low expectations, but man, the critics are crazy. It's not his best work, but it's a good, solid effort, a low-key atmosphere but challenging and ambitious and it succeeds most of the time. Some portions are boring, the second disc is mood music - you have to be in the right mood to dig it, but it's a free 'bonus.' This is no holding pattern/rip-off/Xerox, I had low expectations, but man, the critics are crazy. It's not his best work, but it's a good, solid effort, a low-key atmosphere but challenging and ambitious and it succeeds most of the time. Some portions are boring, the second disc is mood music - you have to be in the right mood to dig it, but it's a free 'bonus.' This is no holding pattern/rip-off/Xerox, it's a cool, low-key album that grows on you. Not as poppy or accessible as "Play," not swinging for the fences like "Everything Is Wrong," just staking out new territory and new textures. Expand
  11. AxelN
    Mar 29, 2005
    8
    Moby has recived a lot of bashing for this album, but i think the sound is very cool. A more mature Moby this time. Lovely songs like 'lift me up', 'i like it' & 'forever' makes this an exellent album. But, i know Moby can be more creative than this...
  12. ChrisB
    Mar 31, 2005
    8
    While it would be hard to match the genius of 'Play', I don't think Hotel is too bad at all, though I feel Moby excels best when mixing more music and less singing. While usually a fan of his dance tracks,I actually preferred the Ambient CD to the feature CD. Overall, not a bad effort for the guy though.
  13. IADJ
    Apr 11, 2005
    8
    The age of hipster critics online has been detrimental & I fear too many will listen to their unfair bashing. This is a way more consistent affair than 18. I liked songs from 18, but this is clearly focused and catchy. It's not going to start a revolution, but it picks up from the space age pop rock that he tried on with We are All Made of Stars. I can list a number of so-called The age of hipster critics online has been detrimental & I fear too many will listen to their unfair bashing. This is a way more consistent affair than 18. I liked songs from 18, but this is clearly focused and catchy. It's not going to start a revolution, but it picks up from the space age pop rock that he tried on with We are All Made of Stars. I can list a number of so-called critically raved albums that are less enjoyable than this... Expand
  14. JonathanC
    Dec 26, 2006
    9
    This album was one of my favourites of 2005. A couple of the tracks towards the end drag a little but the more I listen to the album, the more I enjoy it. It's different to his other work; that doesn't mean it's not good. Play was wildly different to Everything is Wrong, but both are outstanding records.
  15. JefferyS
    Apr 19, 2006
    10
    This is one of my favorite tracks to listen to as I drift into a sleep: high notes are definately the first 2 songs... if you are in the market for a fun-easy listening cd, this is top notch
  16. Dec 29, 2015
    10
    "Hotel" has some really fun songs to (I liked when they played the song 'beautiful' in the "Devil Wears Prada" movie. It's a very upbeat album. Listen to it if you're feeling bored. It's got a lot of fun beats to it. The melodies on the songs are very good. The music is nicely done. Yeah! I love this album as much as I would "Play." I like this better than "Play."
Metascore
47

Mixed or average reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 24
  2. Negative: 8 out of 24
  1. Entertainment Weekly
    67
    Reveal[s] just how ordinary his synth-pop has grown. [25 Mar 2005, p.71]
  2. The slower stuff vagues out, and the bonus disc of ambient instrumentals ought to come with a controlled substance, but elegant relationship songs such as the torchy "Forever" suggest this talented softy has found a sensible way to come down from a multiplatinum high.
  3. Alternative Press
    20
    Hotel is all vacancy. [Apr 2005, p.128]