User Score
5.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 60 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 60
  2. Negative: 20 out of 60

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 31, 2013
    8
    Hotel is Moby’s first album without any vocal samples and it is a departure from his earlier albums Play and 18.

    It turns out that many critics and even his fans stated that this is his worst album. On Metacritic, it has an average critic score of 47 and an average score of 5.0/10 from the users. I do agree that it’s his least best, but I find this album to be underrated and I
    Hotel is Moby’s first album without any vocal samples and it is a departure from his earlier albums Play and 18.

    It turns out that many critics and even his fans stated that this is his worst album. On Metacritic, it has an average critic score of 47 and an average score of 5.0/10 from the users.

    I do agree that it’s his least best, but I find this album to be underrated and I thought it was a good album overall.

    The first half of the album is the best, but I thought that in the second half of the album, it sounded like Moby was running out of ideas.

    Yes, it is his least best, but it’s worth a listen.

    Track Picks: Hotel Intro, Raining Again, Lift Me Up, Where You End & Spiders

    DW Rating: 4 out of 5 stars
    Expand
  2. CarlC
    Jul 10, 2005
    6
    even the cover of "temptation" is just flat- and some of the key lyrics to that are missing. the rest of the album is an uninspired roller coaster rider ride aimed to please everyone.
  3. PauloD
    Jun 2, 2005
    0
    the most boring album of 2005.
  4. AspectWindow
    Jun 6, 2005
    8
    Maybe I'm the only person in the world who really LIKES Moby's voice. I've always thought his voice sounds kind of lonely and wistful, even on his more uplifting songs. And "Hotel" is full of uplifting songs... ignore the (negative) hype. This is a great pop album.
  5. jyotirmayadas
    Jul 7, 2005
    7
    I don't listen to Moby ever. But something told me to give this CD a listen, and I liked what I heard! That was really weird. So I bought it because unlike 1995's 'Everything...' it didn't gross me out with all those soul women wailing on every other track.
  6. LaurenH
    Mar 4, 2007
    9
    I loved this album. Not having heard his other complete albums, but liking what i had heard, I bought this on a whim and was very happy I did. It never bored me, Each song stands alone and it's better than all the crap on the radio. Gives me a nice break from all the generic pop/rock/rap that popular radio exclusively plays.
  7. JenS
    Mar 23, 2005
    8
    it's good! not a breakthrough, but enjoyable
  8. EdwardR
    Mar 29, 2005
    8
    This is a very catchy, clever little electronic-pop CD with many great songs. Moby may not have the greatest voice ever recorded, but its fine. Now follow this logic...the press built him up with Play, they let him hang in mid-air with 18, they'll tear him down with Hotel, and then he'll have a "comeback". It's the American way. Hotel is a good CD - don't believe the This is a very catchy, clever little electronic-pop CD with many great songs. Moby may not have the greatest voice ever recorded, but its fine. Now follow this logic...the press built him up with Play, they let him hang in mid-air with 18, they'll tear him down with Hotel, and then he'll have a "comeback". It's the American way. Hotel is a good CD - don't believe the sh*thead critics. Expand
  9. nicc
    Apr 8, 2005
    2
    simply ridiculous and ugly.
  10. jacobm
    May 20, 2005
    3
    I love Moby's old style, and I hate his new one. This whole album is washed out rainy day woe is me BS, where did fun happenin Moby go?
  11. TristanS
    Jun 12, 2005
    10
    This album actually shows growth and willingness to fail. In doing so it accels and if more people had this in mind, there wouldn't be so many self-appointed critics...
  12. DanH
    Mar 22, 2005
    2
    Moby has continued to copy off of himself, much like he did with 18. Where 18 was a pretty dull copy of himself, Hotel is a terrible copy. It's like a xerox of a xerox of a xerox of a... until it fuzzes into a general and crappy image of the origninal.
  13. OldY
    Mar 22, 2005
    0
    This is complete drivel. I was going to give it 1/10, but I couldn't remember what I'd given it a point for. If 18 was Play's B-sides, then Hotel is the C-sides: give me a Fisherprice Keyboard and I can make more interesting ambient music than this!
  14. AlK
    Mar 23, 2005
    0
    Horrible. Utter garbage.
  15. kwyjiboj
    Mar 24, 2005
    4
    Listenable and not all that bad on it's own. But it's nothing new. Moby really has to innovate more.
  16. brenta
    Mar 26, 2005
    7
    not ground breaking but a good album. maybe an attempt to come back at his critics of over using samples (although in this day and age it's a strange thing to get at any musical artist about - celebrity dj's anyone?!?) he sings on most of the album. i really like the album personally. if you've followed him from his debut then you're aware of his diversity, if not then not ground breaking but a good album. maybe an attempt to come back at his critics of over using samples (although in this day and age it's a strange thing to get at any musical artist about - celebrity dj's anyone?!?) he sings on most of the album. i really like the album personally. if you've followed him from his debut then you're aware of his diversity, if not then it's going to take a few listens. i think this album will translate really well live. Expand
  17. BrandonS
    Mar 26, 2005
    6
    I'm not surprised that this album is getting mixed, reviews, though I am surprised at the vitriol unleashed against it by so many. I agree that Play was great, and 18 a bit of a step back. Hotel isn't earth-shattering, but it certainly isn't the crud that so many reviewers suggest it is. It sounds like a variation on the Moby theme. It has his distinctive sound with some I'm not surprised that this album is getting mixed, reviews, though I am surprised at the vitriol unleashed against it by so many. I agree that Play was great, and 18 a bit of a step back. Hotel isn't earth-shattering, but it certainly isn't the crud that so many reviewers suggest it is. It sounds like a variation on the Moby theme. It has his distinctive sound with some differences, most notably in the female vocal. I've listened to this a number of times and have liked it more each time. I'd say it's a pretty solid piece of work. Expand
  18. TelyS.
    Mar 26, 2005
    7
    In an effort to do something different with this new album (due to the harsh criticism of his brilliant and underrated album 18) Moby's latest is a mixed bag. As a fan of his past music, I don
  19. MikeS
    Mar 27, 2005
    3
    Its sad that Mobys new album is so bad! After he made "18" I thought you would learn from his mistakes and make an album which would be better then "Play" but this isnt the case. The album feels like its a copy from his other works, but a much worse copy. If youre a Moby fan like me, I would still have to say I wouldnt recommend the album.
  20. JesseJ
    Mar 29, 2005
    0
    Yikes! This is BADDDDDD!
  21. JackD.
    Mar 29, 2005
    8
    I had low expectations, but man, the critics are crazy. It's not his best work, but it's a good, solid effort, a low-key atmosphere but challenging and ambitious and it succeeds most of the time. Some portions are boring, the second disc is mood music - you have to be in the right mood to dig it, but it's a free 'bonus.' This is no holding pattern/rip-off/Xerox, I had low expectations, but man, the critics are crazy. It's not his best work, but it's a good, solid effort, a low-key atmosphere but challenging and ambitious and it succeeds most of the time. Some portions are boring, the second disc is mood music - you have to be in the right mood to dig it, but it's a free 'bonus.' This is no holding pattern/rip-off/Xerox, it's a cool, low-key album that grows on you. Not as poppy or accessible as "Play," not swinging for the fences like "Everything Is Wrong," just staking out new territory and new textures. Collapse
  22. AxelN
    Mar 29, 2005
    8
    Moby has recived a lot of bashing for this album, but i think the sound is very cool. A more mature Moby this time. Lovely songs like 'lift me up', 'i like it' & 'forever' makes this an exellent album. But, i know Moby can be more creative than this...
  23. ChrisB
    Mar 31, 2005
    8
    While it would be hard to match the genius of 'Play', I don't think Hotel is too bad at all, though I feel Moby excels best when mixing more music and less singing. While usually a fan of his dance tracks,I actually preferred the Ambient CD to the feature CD. Overall, not a bad effort for the guy though.
  24. IADJ
    Apr 11, 2005
    8
    The age of hipster critics online has been detrimental & I fear too many will listen to their unfair bashing. This is a way more consistent affair than 18. I liked songs from 18, but this is clearly focused and catchy. It's not going to start a revolution, but it picks up from the space age pop rock that he tried on with We are All Made of Stars. I can list a number of so-called The age of hipster critics online has been detrimental & I fear too many will listen to their unfair bashing. This is a way more consistent affair than 18. I liked songs from 18, but this is clearly focused and catchy. It's not going to start a revolution, but it picks up from the space age pop rock that he tried on with We are All Made of Stars. I can list a number of so-called critically raved albums that are less enjoyable than this... Expand
  25. Eleanor
    Apr 24, 2005
    5
    "Heartfelt" and "simple" seems to be a cop-out for thin, unimaginative pieces. It sounds more like lazy pop than electronica. Although Moby has done what I have always wanted - made an album with a uniform style running throghout - it does not have the same standard or variety of Play.
  26. AlexJ
    Jun 30, 2005
    0
    This album is...........*snores* Huh? What was I talking about?
  27. TF
    Jun 5, 2005
    5
    A very disappointing album. Only two songs I like on the first disc, the second disc is much better if you're in to ambient electronica.
  28. Matt
    Jun 5, 2005
    3
    Very mopey. Have never been a Moby fan, but I at least respect his other releases. Not this one.
  29. JonathanC
    Dec 26, 2006
    9
    This album was one of my favourites of 2005. A couple of the tracks towards the end drag a little but the more I listen to the album, the more I enjoy it. It's different to his other work; that doesn't mean it's not good. Play was wildly different to Everything is Wrong, but both are outstanding records.
  30. ArmandoA
    Feb 19, 2006
    4
    Ok, so yeah. This album basically blows compared to genius-artwork "Play", but a couple of songs (for instance "Lift Me Up") are worth a listening. The ambience aggregate does a much better job than the pop album, but then again, you must be into that kind of music or own a lounge-bar or something in order to appreciate it.
  31. TR
    Mar 12, 2007
    0
    A couple of good songs. But I give the album the lowest possible score because of the protection software. I have been wasting my time trying to transfer the album to my iPod. Unsuccessfully because of what the artists call the opendisc technology. Putting on such protection software on an album the consumer already have purchased the rights for is completely unacceptable. I would never A couple of good songs. But I give the album the lowest possible score because of the protection software. I have been wasting my time trying to transfer the album to my iPod. Unsuccessfully because of what the artists call the opendisc technology. Putting on such protection software on an album the consumer already have purchased the rights for is completely unacceptable. I would never have bought this shitty album had I known in advance. Because of that, it is also the last Moby album I will ever buy. Expand
  32. Mike
    Mar 27, 2007
    2
    The worst moby album to date.
  33. DavidA
    Mar 24, 2005
    3
    It's too bad about Moby, once upon a time he was good. I remember when Play first came out, how exciting it seemed at the time. And his more electronic-oriented material isn't too bad. Somehow, though, he decided instead to try to be New Order. And he fails most of the time. A key example of this being, in fact, his cover of "Temptation", which removes pretty much EVERYTHING It's too bad about Moby, once upon a time he was good. I remember when Play first came out, how exciting it seemed at the time. And his more electronic-oriented material isn't too bad. Somehow, though, he decided instead to try to be New Order. And he fails most of the time. A key example of this being, in fact, his cover of "Temptation", which removes pretty much EVERYTHING enjoyable about that song in the first place, and instead turns it into new age (yes, it definitely is new age) pap. Say what you will about the originality of the Voodoo Child album, at least it wasn't this. Expand
  34. Wendy
    Mar 31, 2005
    0
    The lyrics are just awful in this Albym! There is one "ok" track on this CD, where Moby DOESNT sing. This is the last Moby CD that I will buy.
  35. BobbyK
    Apr 27, 2005
    0
    *Bleh* Bring Me Back My Happiness
  36. JoeM
    Apr 28, 2005
    1
    This Hotel willl never appear in the AAA ratings.
  37. BrianM
    Jun 14, 2005
    0
    And the album's booklet becomes my toilet paper in 0-2 seconds.......
  38. JefferyS
    Apr 19, 2006
    10
    This is one of my favorite tracks to listen to as I drift into a sleep: high notes are definately the first 2 songs... if you are in the market for a fun-easy listening cd, this is top notch
Metascore
47

Mixed or average reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 24
  2. Negative: 8 out of 24
  1. Reveal[s] just how ordinary his synth-pop has grown. [25 Mar 2005, p.71]
  2. The slower stuff vagues out, and the bonus disc of ambient instrumentals ought to come with a controlled substance, but elegant relationship songs such as the torchy "Forever" suggest this talented softy has found a sensible way to come down from a multiplatinum high.
  3. Hotel is all vacancy. [Apr 2005, p.128]