Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 24
  2. Negative: 0 out of 24
  1. Mojo
    Feb 27, 2012
    60
    An admirably impassioned return. [Mar 2012, p.92]
  2. Feb 27, 2012
    60
    Whether it's vindication, or coming off the medication, How About I Be Me feels effervescent, even when the breezy love songs give way to more complex concerns.
  3. Q Magazine
    Feb 22, 2012
    60
    Not everything works, but there's a painful honesty throughout that befits a songwriter with no desire to lapse into a complacent middle age. [Mar 2012, p.111]
  4. Feb 21, 2012
    60
    If her execution is sometimes lacking, though, the intensity of O'Connor's emotions when confronting the difficult issues in these songs is never in doubt.
  5. Feb 21, 2012
    60
    The viscera isn't surprising. What may be is the empathy, wit and beauty on this focused LP.
  6. Uncut
    Feb 16, 2012
    60
    Brave and bonkers. [Mar 2012, p.94]
User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 17 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 7
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 7
  3. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Oct 22, 2014
    8
    By far, this is the best album that Sinead has done since 1994's Universal Mother. As a whole, it is absolutely brilliant. Best track: "TheBy far, this is the best album that Sinead has done since 1994's Universal Mother. As a whole, it is absolutely brilliant. Best track: "The Wolf is Getting Married" Full Review »
  2. Nov 10, 2012
    10
    I love this cd, and I used it to get my kids into Sinead. It is a rejuvenation of her earlier work, but with an aged maturity that thoseI love this cd, and I used it to get my kids into Sinead. It is a rejuvenation of her earlier work, but with an aged maturity that those earlier albums could not have due to her age then. This is an older Sinead, and the lyrics reflect that and make the album that much more enjoyable. Her voice is still fantastic and the music is a perfect accompaniment to her voice and the subject matter. I enjoy all of her work, and this is one of her best efforts. Full Review »
  3. Apr 26, 2012
    6
    Sinead O'Connor's latest album "How About I Be Me (And You Be You)" is what might have been expected - a mix of good lyrics implicated inSinead O'Connor's latest album "How About I Be Me (And You Be You)" is what might have been expected - a mix of good lyrics implicated in melodic songs - like deriving on Arab themes "4th And Vine" or evolving in moderation "The Wolf Is Getting Married". The album is - of course - not without O'Connor's trademark - sentimental ballads. Noteworthy are: "Reason With Me", "VIP" or "Very Far From Home". Full Review »