Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 24
  2. Negative: 0 out of 24
  1. Feb 22, 2012
    84
    How About I Be Me (And You Be You)?, is a slap-upside-the-head reminder, a collection of heartfelt confessionals, evocative insights and provocative position statements.
  2. Mar 13, 2012
    83
    It's the 45-year-old singer's most accomplished album in ages, for sure, though it might also be her straightest.
  3. 83
    How About I Be Me (And You Be You)? is a welcome return.
  4. Mar 20, 2012
    80
    An enchanting collection teeming with well-crafted hooks and fiery passion unheard since the epic, under-appreciated Faith and Courage a decade ago. [No. 85, p.56]
  5. Mar 5, 2012
    80
    As a vocalist, she continues to command attention.
  6. Mar 1, 2012
    80
    The album is a tuneful emotional rollercoaster, and it's thrilling to hear such vitriol and indignation--qualities in short supply in current pop.
  7. Feb 27, 2012
    80
    This is her strongest set of songs since 2000's 'Faith And Courage'.
  8. Feb 27, 2012
    80
    She's full of vim and vigour, mixing tender character studies with doe-eyed love songs and impassioned protest pieces.
  9. Feb 24, 2012
    80
    She's made her best, most accessible record for years.
  10. Feb 23, 2012
    80
    Her best album in more than a decade.
  11. Feb 21, 2012
    80
    Sinéad O'Connor's eighth full-length album, and her first in five years, is a revelation.
  12. 80
    Her best album in about a decade.
  13. 80
    She's created an album that plumbs the kind of emotional depths that used to be expected from major rock artists.
  14. Feb 29, 2012
    76
    The lyrical coarseness serves an important function, reinforcing the urgency of O'Connor's performances and creating the impression that she has worked hard and fast to document her emotions at their rawest and wildest.
  15. Mar 21, 2012
    70
    All in all, a glorious return. [Mar 2012, p.85]
  16. 70
    You may love or hate the record but you won't ignore it.
  17. Feb 22, 2012
    70
    What's happening is that O'Connor the lyricist is getting better and better at apparent artlessness.
  18. Feb 21, 2012
    70
    A couple of pleasant but less memorable midtempo numbers are saved by O'Connor's still towering voice, one that conjures rage, humor, grief, joy, and unbridled passion in a way that still grips the heart and amazes the ears.
  19. Feb 27, 2012
    60
    An admirably impassioned return. [Mar 2012, p.92]
  20. Feb 27, 2012
    60
    Whether it's vindication, or coming off the medication, How About I Be Me feels effervescent, even when the breezy love songs give way to more complex concerns.
  21. Feb 22, 2012
    60
    Not everything works, but there's a painful honesty throughout that befits a songwriter with no desire to lapse into a complacent middle age. [Mar 2012, p.111]
  22. Feb 21, 2012
    60
    If her execution is sometimes lacking, though, the intensity of O'Connor's emotions when confronting the difficult issues in these songs is never in doubt.
  23. Feb 21, 2012
    60
    The viscera isn't surprising. What may be is the empathy, wit and beauty on this focused LP.
  24. Feb 16, 2012
    60
    Brave and bonkers. [Mar 2012, p.94]
User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 15 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Nov 10, 2012
    10
    I love this cd, and I used it to get my kids into Sinead. It is a rejuvenation of her earlier work, but with an aged maturity that those earlier albums could not have due to her age then. This is an older Sinead, and the lyrics reflect that and make the album that much more enjoyable. Her voice is still fantastic and the music is a perfect accompaniment to her voice and the subject matter. I enjoy all of her work, and this is one of her best efforts. Full Review »
  2. Apr 26, 2012
    6
    Sinead O'Connor's latest album "How About I Be Me (And You Be You)" is what might have been expected - a mix of good lyrics implicated in melodic songs - like deriving on Arab themes "4th And Vine" or evolving in moderation "The Wolf Is Getting Married". The album is - of course - not without O'Connor's trademark - sentimental ballads. Noteworthy are: "Reason With Me", "VIP" or "Very Far From Home". Full Review »
  3. Apr 16, 2012
    8
    It must be taxing to "expose" oneself on an album that will be heard by thousands of people (if not millions). This is Sinead's most intimate album written or co-written by her since 2000's "Faith & Courage." John Grant's "Queen of Denmark" could have been written for her. There is some great material and music here, and this is my favorite album of hers since 1994s "Universal Mother." Full Review »