User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 15 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 15
  2. Negative: 1 out of 15

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 14, 2012
    9
    I feel I should mention at the beginning I am not a fan of Sinead O'Connor.I am however a fan of this album although unlike other reviewers I like the grim stuff better with the exception of "old lady" "the wolf is getting married"I love "reason with me" "queen of denmark"(a cover, that fits the album perfectly) "v.i.p. The weakness of the album and the reason I don't care for the happier tunes is the quality of the lyrics in them often they border on doggerel.Still all in all, a solid album and a thought provoking one. Expand
  2. Feb 21, 2012
    10
    This is her best album in years. Although I've enjoyed the work she's released in the past decade, this album feels like the Sinead of the late 80s/early 90s. She sound rejuvenated, refreshed and newly inspired. It's a blessing to have her back
  3. Apr 4, 2012
    10
    Her best album since 'Lion and the Cobra'. There are no fillers in this album, a true masterpiece. The best tracks are 'The wolf is getting married' and 'Queen of Denmark'. Her voice is better than ever, very powerful and beautiful at the same time.
  4. Nov 10, 2012
    10
    I love this cd, and I used it to get my kids into Sinead. It is a rejuvenation of her earlier work, but with an aged maturity that those earlier albums could not have due to her age then. This is an older Sinead, and the lyrics reflect that and make the album that much more enjoyable. Her voice is still fantastic and the music is a perfect accompaniment to her voice and the subject matter. I enjoy all of her work, and this is one of her best efforts. Expand
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 24
  2. Negative: 0 out of 24
  1. Mar 21, 2012
    70
    All in all, a glorious return. [Mar 2012, p.85]
  2. Mar 20, 2012
    80
    An enchanting collection teeming with well-crafted hooks and fiery passion unheard since the epic, under-appreciated Faith and Courage a decade ago. [No. 85, p.56]
  3. Mar 13, 2012
    83
    It's the 45-year-old singer's most accomplished album in ages, for sure, though it might also be her straightest.