How About I Be Me (And You Be You)? Image
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 24 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 15 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The Irish singer-songwriter's ninth studio album was produced by her first husband, John Reynolds.
  • Record Label: One Little Indian
  • Genre(s): Pop/Rock, Adult Alternative Pop/Rock, Alternative/Indie Rock, Contemporary Singer/Songwriter
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 24
  2. Negative: 0 out of 24
  1. Feb 22, 2012
    84
    How About I Be Me (And You Be You)?, is a slap-upside-the-head reminder, a collection of heartfelt confessionals, evocative insights and provocative position statements.
  2. Feb 27, 2012
    80
    This is her strongest set of songs since 2000's 'Faith And Courage'.
  3. 80
    She's created an album that plumbs the kind of emotional depths that used to be expected from major rock artists.
  4. Mar 20, 2012
    80
    An enchanting collection teeming with well-crafted hooks and fiery passion unheard since the epic, under-appreciated Faith and Courage a decade ago. [No. 85, p.56]
  5. 70
    You may love or hate the record but you won't ignore it.
  6. Feb 16, 2012
    60
    Brave and bonkers. [Mar 2012, p.94]
  7. Feb 27, 2012
    60
    An admirably impassioned return. [Mar 2012, p.92]

See all 24 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Nov 10, 2012
    10
    I love this cd, and I used it to get my kids into Sinead. It is a rejuvenation of her earlier work, but with an aged maturity that those earlier albums could not have due to her age then. This is an older Sinead, and the lyrics reflect that and make the album that much more enjoyable. Her voice is still fantastic and the music is a perfect accompaniment to her voice and the subject matter. I enjoy all of her work, and this is one of her best efforts. Expand
  2. Feb 21, 2012
    10
    This is her best album in years. Although I've enjoyed the work she's released in the past decade, this album feels like the Sinead of the late 80s/early 90s. She sound rejuvenated, refreshed and newly inspired. It's a blessing to have her back Expand
  3. Apr 4, 2012
    10
    Her best album since 'Lion and the Cobra'. There are no fillers in this album, a true masterpiece. The best tracks are 'The wolf is getting married' and 'Queen of Denmark'. Her voice is better than ever, very powerful and beautiful at the same time. Collapse
  4. Mar 14, 2012
    9
    I feel I should mention at the beginning I am not a fan of Sinead O'Connor.I am however a fan of this album although unlike other reviewers I like the grim stuff better with the exception of "old lady" "the wolf is getting married"I love "reason with me" "queen of denmark"(a cover, that fits the album perfectly) "v.i.p. The weakness of the album and the reason I don't care for the happier tunes is the quality of the lyrics in them often they border on doggerel.Still all in all, a solid album and a thought provoking one. Expand
  5. Apr 16, 2012
    8
    It must be taxing to "expose" oneself on an album that will be heard by thousands of people (if not millions). This is Sinead's most intimate album written or co-written by her since 2000's "Faith & Courage." John Grant's "Queen of Denmark" could have been written for her. There is some great material and music here, and this is my favorite album of hers since 1994s "Universal Mother." Expand
  6. Apr 26, 2012
    6
    Sinead O'Connor's latest album "How About I Be Me (And You Be You)" is what might have been expected - a mix of good lyrics implicated in melodic songs - like deriving on Arab themes "4th And Vine" or evolving in moderation "The Wolf Is Getting Married". The album is - of course - not without O'Connor's trademark - sentimental ballads. Noteworthy are: "Reason With Me", "VIP" or "Very Far From Home". Expand