How Do You Do - Mayer Hawthorne
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 19
  2. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. What we're hearing here is the Temptations turning into the Delfonics--the way his midrange gives up the verse and his falsetto takes the chorus is as nice as his boyish sexism.
  2. Oct 11, 2011
    88
    The production makes stellar use of his major-label money; the sound is refined and dynamic in a way that's wholly missing from pop radio.
  3. 83
    L.A. retro soulster Hawthorne hasn't led a major-label deal smooth out its quirk. [Oct 2011, p.119]
  4. Jun 25, 2012
    80
    A polished and enjoyable pop-soul confection that transcends its myriad influences. [Jul 2012, p.83]
  5. Oct 21, 2011
    80
    He succeeds in creating a soul revival with a refreshing modern day twist done so right.
  6. Oct 17, 2011
    80
    How Do You Do is Mayer Hawthorne's masterpiece to date.
  7. Oct 14, 2011
    80
    It's a testament to Hawthorne's songwriting ability that this wall is easily scaled after one or two listens, and that the man sounds more natural and loose than on his debut might be this album's greatest asset, making the vulgar drops and other nods to the present feel less mannered than before.
  8. Oct 13, 2011
    80
    Mayer Hawthorne's sturdy sophomore effort boasts "aw, shucks" love songs gift-wrapped in a silky Curtis Mayfield falsetto.
  9. Oct 7, 2011
    80
    Stones Throw rap fanboy morphs into credible crooner--now scans as natural evolution; his increasingly confident cries and grooves and songwriting aplomb are undeniably pro.
  10. 70
    His vocals are slightly generic yet the songs are solid and when he shifts into falsetto, you'll take a time trip back to the 60s heyday of this sumptuous and frisky R&B that moves from the dance floor to the bedroom.
  11. His major-label follow-up wisely keeps the retro aesthetic.
  12. Oct 11, 2011
    70
    From its suave title to the very first words on it--"So here we are/ It's the end of the night/ Yeah, I had a good time, too/ You know, it doesn't have to end here"--Mayer Hawthorne's amusing new album comes across like a pickup line uttered at last call.
  13. Oct 11, 2011
    70
    It's a brief, delightful little thing, with a handful of knockout singles.
  14. Oct 7, 2011
    70
    How Do You Do is another solid step in the right direction for Hawthorne, who shows that soul music is universal and devoid of colour, as we all can relate to difficulties and heartbreak.
  15. Oct 7, 2011
    70
    How Do You Do is a great listen, but...there's just no getting around the fact that Mayer Hawthorne isn't an especially strong singer.
  16. Nov 3, 2011
    60
    How Do You Do actually has a bit more reach than just that classic period, but Hawthorne's strengths shine brightest when he channels the 40-year-old vinyl. [Oct 2011, p.99]
  17. Oct 25, 2011
    60
    Don't expect emotion for the ages, and you'll have fun with this.
  18. 60
    On the whole, How Do You Do is a satisfying effort.
  19. Oct 10, 2011
    50
    Hawthorne just doesn't have the vocal chops to pull off an otherwise solid album.
User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 6 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 2
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 2
  3. Negative: 0 out of 2
  1. Jan 22, 2012
    9
    I've been really impressed with this album, and I initially just played it at work because it set a nice mood, I would normally listen to hipI've been really impressed with this album, and I initially just played it at work because it set a nice mood, I would normally listen to hip hop but at work that isn't everyones favorite, but after its had a lot of time to marinate I've come to really appreciate this as the best modern day Motown sound I've heard in years. My favorite song is the short one, "we're through"?, not sure if thats the name. Awesome soulful sound for singing in your house on a lazy Sunday. Nice. Full Review »
  2. Oct 27, 2011
    9
    This is a very soulful album. I'm impressed on how soulful this guy is. This is probably the most soulful album of the year. I'm glad that heThis is a very soulful album. I'm impressed on how soulful this guy is. This is probably the most soulful album of the year. I'm glad that he is on Stones Throw Records, where the label is the home of Madlib, MF Doom, and the legendly J Dilla. Full Review »