How The West Was Won

  • Record Label: Atlantic
  • Release Date: May 27, 2003
User Score
9.2

Universal acclaim- based on 173 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 9 out of 173

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 16, 2011
    9
    A near perfect record. Definitely the best live album I have ever heard. As constituted, the three-disc set works pretty well at recreating a Led Zeppelin concert experience. You get their biggest songs of the period, you get some jams, and you get the bombast of the band. Where the album drags for me is in some of the jams, particularly with "Dazed and Confused", and that's just myA near perfect record. Definitely the best live album I have ever heard. As constituted, the three-disc set works pretty well at recreating a Led Zeppelin concert experience. You get their biggest songs of the period, you get some jams, and you get the bombast of the band. Where the album drags for me is in some of the jams, particularly with "Dazed and Confused", and that's just my own thing. I happen to like "Bring It on Home" a lot, but "Dazed and Confused" was just a little too much. All in all, though, this is a great record. Expand
  2. Mar 27, 2012
    10
    This album is a perfect piece, has some of the best rock songs of all-time as Starway to Heaven, Black Dog, Immigrant Song and Whole Lotta Love, as well as great moments in Rock & Roll, Heartbreaker or Moby Dick, simply awesome!
  3. Nech
    Oct 3, 2003
    10
    Wow! This is an absolute must have, wether you're a casual fan or rabid collector. A great reminder of what it was like to take a ride on that mighty blimp. Amazing what this band could pull off in concert.
  4. OnerO
    Oct 6, 2003
    10
    It's blown my amplifier...So difficult to turn down the volume.
  5. AndrewW
    Jun 8, 2005
    10
    Best Live Album of all time and the drum solos were awesome, you would have to see Bonzo at the actual concerts to realise what a fantastic drummer he was
  6. paolop
    Oct 3, 2003
    10
    I would prefer less edits and just one concert, with more audience presence and interaction with, but otehrwhise the performance is exceptional and the sound is great
  7. CrystalS
    Oct 3, 2003
    10
    This CD had me crawling on the floor the first time I heard it, which was on the sound system at the theater where I worked. I bought it on my way to work and used it for the evening's sound check. People were blown away!
  8. Zoef
    Oct 3, 2003
    10
    I already was a fan (Stairway etc.) but this is incomparably better than their studio stuff. Amazing.
  9. MarkR-
    Oct 5, 2003
    10
    The mutt's nuts!
  10. zacko
    Oct 6, 2003
    10
    led zeppelin is the greatest band ever. period.
  11. jamesmc
    Sep 7, 2004
    9
    this cd is incredible. it dates back to an era that appears to be lost to today's money oriented bands. reminds me of the day's of hendrix, rory gallagher, fleetwood mac, thin lizzy etc. REAL MUSIC
  12. malsasd
    Jun 6, 2005
    10
    The best album ever!!
  13. JeffP
    Jan 22, 2006
    8
    Everything about this album is magnificent. The only down side to this set is the never ending Dazed and Confused melody. Everything else is perfection, and you could almost feel the bands connection to one another. Unbelievable.
  14. AdamJ
    Jan 3, 2006
    10
    With the possible exception of the remastered and expanded "Live At Leeds" by The Who, this is the greatest rock 'n' roll live album ever made.
  15. CharlieBe
    Nov 7, 2003
    10
    Amazing¡¡¡ The pure sound of the revolution. LZ build the way for the next 20 years of R&P bands. After HOw the West was won , the song do not remance the same
  16. WarrenS
    Oct 2, 2003
    10
    It is about time we had a decent live Led Zeppelin CD!
  17. CozoniW
    Dec 20, 2003
    10
    I only discovered Led Zep abou 4 years ago but they have allready proved to me they are one of the greatest bands that have ever graced the planet. They shame most of todays music.
  18. JamesB
    Oct 3, 2003
    10
    I have heard and own hndreds of live shows and this is the tip of a mighty iceberg. Wonderful mastering by Jimmy. He should do one show from each touring year!
  19. angiek
    Oct 3, 2003
    10
    This long-awaited release by the band shows what has kept the hard-core fans hard-core 23 years on. A MUST have
  20. DavidM
    Oct 3, 2003
    10
    The best band ever! This CD is the reason why.
  21. jimmyp
    Oct 3, 2003
    10
    zeppelin, cant do no wrong when it comes performing....the greatest band ever, no band will ever come close not in my life time antway...
  22. CindyLeeH
    Oct 3, 2003
    10
    I always heard that Zep was better than they were in "The Song Remains The Same." These recordings give me a much better idea of what my friends back then were raving about, and now I don't feel I missed them back when I was too poor to afford to go--I got a great seat years later!
  23. pascald
    Oct 4, 2003
    10
    The best
  24. woja14
    Oct 4, 2003
    10
    10's not sufficiently high. Superb.
  25. BFlatt
    Oct 4, 2003
    10
    Absolutely the essential album set of the summer!
  26. VZepgirly
    Oct 5, 2003
    10
    A must have!!! To be enjoyed forever, for it captures Led Zeppelin in their prime... Hot, Heavy and Magical!!
  27. malcolms
    Oct 5, 2003
    10
    I only gave this a 10 because there is no 11. There aren't adequate words to describe how good this is.....how good they were.
  28. RichardD
    Sep 29, 2003
    10
    It is human. But totally amazing. These boys were the best. Often imitated but never equaled.
  29. MattI
    Jul 12, 2004
    10
    Unfathomably good music is a rarity these days. It's a shame Led Zeppelin remind me of that so well with this.
  30. Johnv
    Dec 20, 2003
    10
    Perfect. Honestly, you cannot ask for a better album than this.
  31. InigoMontoya
    Oct 3, 2003
    10
    Fantastic!
  32. hirok
    Oct 3, 2003
    10
    It's great! It's lucky to listen to this CD when I'm alive.
  33. CuttingRobert
    Oct 3, 2003
    10
    An awesome performance by the greatest rock band that ever was- a lasting memorial for zeppelin in their prime, own it and be amazed !
  34. DanD
    Oct 4, 2003
    10
    Just like it says, 30 years too late.
  35. Joe
    Jul 3, 2003
    9
    I didn't grow up a big Led Zep fan. But man, this album kicked my ass many, many times (except the 25-minute "Dazed and Confused," which is a little too much)
  36. simong
    Aug 30, 2003
    10
    it has to be 10 out of 10 for me i was there in aug 79 we expected so much from them and yes we got it they are still the best live act ive ever seen
  37. JohnMcG
    Jan 28, 2004
    10
    I was there man... and my mind is still blown. "Your head is humming and it won't go because you don't know The piper's calling you to join him"
  38. RoccoW
    Oct 4, 2004
    10
    The boys were ICE hot during this period and they knew it! The only thing better than this CD is the Zeppelin DVD that was released at the same time. A definite CD to own for Rock and Roll purist. The Zeppelin magic and legendry continues with the release of this CD.
  39. Member27
    Jun 22, 2004
    10
    Best performances of the best songs of the best band ever.
  40. LZucker
    Nov 6, 2005
    9
    Why isn't there a critic review board? Go back and read all the reviews from thirty years ago. Critics hated Zep. Damn hypocrites.
  41. ErikE
    Feb 19, 2005
    10
    THE BEST OF THE BEST. Led zeppelin is an amazing and extremely influencial abnd and this is them at their peak live which is when they r best. i would recomend this to anone with a pulse, especially if you like led zeppelin or even if u simpley enjoy rock n' roll
  42. mikes
    Feb 8, 2005
    10
    this CD set i believe has the best version to stairway to heaven i have ever heard and i believe it is up there with the best set LZ has ever came out wtih!
  43. zackk
    Mar 31, 2005
    10
    by far the greatest live album ive ever heard
  44. chingchangchong
    Mar 30, 2005
    10
    one of the best examples of why this band ruled the world. highlights: black dog, stairway to heaven, whole lotta love.
  45. BertieP
    Apr 28, 2005
    10
    A great, hard rocking cd to listen to again and again.Brilliant!
  46. [Anonymous]
    May 20, 2005
    10
    savage
  47. AlbertoM
    Aug 16, 2005
    10
    At last a live performance worth the legend! I guess the only thing that could surpass the magnificence of "West" would be watching them play live...
  48. NickS
    Feb 5, 2006
    10
    The greatest live album to date.
  49. paulj
    Aug 24, 2006
    10
    it rocks man!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  50. Daniel
    Aug 31, 2006
    10
    I was always a zeppelin fan, but this album blew me away. they are the greatest hard rock band. ever. you can feel the link between bonham and page as they hammer down unparalelled rock n roll glory. but the sheer diversity of the music is what stuns me. it almost makes me sad... bands these days just dont have the variety that zeppelin offered. whether your looking for powerful electric I was always a zeppelin fan, but this album blew me away. they are the greatest hard rock band. ever. you can feel the link between bonham and page as they hammer down unparalelled rock n roll glory. but the sheer diversity of the music is what stuns me. it almost makes me sad... bands these days just dont have the variety that zeppelin offered. whether your looking for powerful electric blues, thundering hard rock riffs or epic ballads, this is the best album, live or not that i have ever heard. Expand
  51. DAN
    Dec 30, 2003
    9
    it's awesome
  52. BlancoA.
    Aug 29, 2003
    10
    I'm afraid I have to agree with the metascore. The sound on this collection is much cleaner than that of "The Song Remains the Same." It's a much more emotional collection than their previously released live albums, bootleg or not.
  53. erikb
    Jun 22, 2004
    10
    good ass CD. i could listen to this CD forever. exp the black dog and stairway to heaven. both those kick
  54. EdsonU
    Nov 15, 2005
    10
    Uma banda realmente impressionante
  55. SoulStealer
    Nov 26, 2005
    10
    Amazing live album so far from the legend!
  56. ConnorS
    Dec 31, 2005
    10
    led zeppelin is by far my favorite band, and in my poinion it is the best band ever. "How The West Was Won" is probably there greatest album because it has all of there best songs, and evn better it is live. overall it is a really awesome album.
  57. M.Ortega
    Feb 23, 2005
    9
    Aside from some overly long drum solos the music is throughly inspiring and the pacing and lyrics are merely a record of true rock done right. It's almost painfull at times as this is so great you never want it to end, bravo.
  58. JustinK
    Apr 29, 2005
    10
    The best live album in rock history.
  59. B.Spike
    Jun 24, 2005
    10
    OHHHHH, so THIS is what rock and roll sounds like. Will it ever get better than this? Close to this? This is essential listening for aspiring rockers. I mean who in this day and age tunes their guitar to sound like a sitar! I love it.
  60. paulk
    Feb 11, 2006
    10
    Breathtaking, crushing power, that makes you feel like you are on stage with the band. Bomham's drums seem to live inside the cage of your bones. The guitar playing is steller, making blues noise seem like a beautiful, galeforce wail. Beauty mixes with grit and balls unzipped, spilling iron nails. Instant classic.
  61. oliez
    Feb 22, 2006
    10
    This has got to be the best piece of rock i've ever heard
  62. Claygh
    Jun 15, 2006
    7
    Unquestionably some quality riffage--when Page leads 'em on a slamming rhythm riff, few bands can follow. But holy arena rock, as a record this one reeks heavily of the overindulgent and the overblown. How many times does one really wanna hear a 25-minute heavy metal blues number or a endless drum solo? Great historical document and some great head-shaking moments from great Unquestionably some quality riffage--when Page leads 'em on a slamming rhythm riff, few bands can follow. But holy arena rock, as a record this one reeks heavily of the overindulgent and the overblown. How many times does one really wanna hear a 25-minute heavy metal blues number or a endless drum solo? Great historical document and some great head-shaking moments from great musicians, but keep your all-time classics reserved for a band with a little more skill on the self-edit button. Expand
  63. RyanT
    Dec 15, 2003
    10
    Have been a big zeppelin fan since 5th grade and this album proves that they are one of the greatest bands ever!!!
  64. Dazedbutnotconfused
    Dec 19, 2003
    8
    Its actually gotten cool to say you like zeppelin, like if they were some nu-metal band thats a fad...The older heads is gonna know what i'm talking about and were i'm coming from. You have a bunch of 12 year olds going on and on saying,zeppelin is the best band in the world. Puting Led to bands like white stripes, metallica, nirvana,etc...Proclaiming that Led Zeppelin was good Its actually gotten cool to say you like zeppelin, like if they were some nu-metal band thats a fad...The older heads is gonna know what i'm talking about and were i'm coming from. You have a bunch of 12 year olds going on and on saying,zeppelin is the best band in the world. Puting Led to bands like white stripes, metallica, nirvana,etc...Proclaiming that Led Zeppelin was good but not good as metallica...Please, Zeppelin was one of the most innovative bands to date, doing everything from Pop,Funk,indian music,to reggae and most importantly progressive(yes and was even better at it than Tool)... Now every young musician who knows how to play stairway to heaven is declaring them the best, Why? Beacause of there experimental riffs, or heavy lead vocals, no... Cuz its makes someone look like they have a vast knowledge of music, or is it the pile of shameless sh** we have now that's getting everyone to go back in time...The fact is they were a great band, but like every great band, they began to falter in there later albums(having a few good songs but way to much experimentation)....But wait, i must be crazy there the best band to ever grace the earth,right...There weren?t the best back then, so why are they so overrated now? Well you could answer that... Expand
  65. austinp
    Apr 15, 2007
    10
    great album by a great band, it is late but it is still great live fewatures with a long dazed and confused and long whole lotta love, we should all own it
  66. blacka
    Aug 1, 2007
    6
    Was not all that impressed with some of the work. Some songs were not as smooth as the origionals (I fear I have memorized them) but Robert Plant's voice was great, Jimmy Page was terriffic, although a limit MUST be drawn on solos( Perhaps the United Nations should consider a International Guitar Solo Treaty.The older Eric Clapton should be forced to sign,too.) The late Mr Bonham was Was not all that impressed with some of the work. Some songs were not as smooth as the origionals (I fear I have memorized them) but Robert Plant's voice was great, Jimmy Page was terriffic, although a limit MUST be drawn on solos( Perhaps the United Nations should consider a International Guitar Solo Treaty.The older Eric Clapton should be forced to sign,too.) The late Mr Bonham was collosal,as always. I am a bass guitarist and a huge fan of John Paul Jones. To me ,his bass should have been mixed in a little louder as what I could hear was up to his usual superior playing.All in all,a six for me,I'm afraid. Collapse
  67. ChrisR.
    Oct 6, 2007
    10
    Very awesome stuff. It's nice to hear them play really well live. Jimmy's still a guitar slop but it's all about the emotion anyway isn't it? black a gave it a6: I am a bass guitarist and a huge fan of John Paul Jones. To me ,his bass should have been mixed in a little louder as what I could hear was up to his usual superior playing.All in all,a six for me,I'm Very awesome stuff. It's nice to hear them play really well live. Jimmy's still a guitar slop but it's all about the emotion anyway isn't it? black a gave it a6: I am a bass guitarist and a huge fan of John Paul Jones. To me ,his bass should have been mixed in a little louder as what I could hear was up to his usual superior playing.All in all,a six for me,I'm afraid. Dude, turn up the bass on your EQ! You're an idiot. Your opinions are moot. Expand
  68. BrettB
    Aug 6, 2007
    6
    It's not like any of the songs are new
  69. sami
    May 28, 2008
    10
    Easily the best live album I've ever listened to. Page's emotional guitar mixed with Bonham's idiosyncratic drums make this one of the best Led Zeppelin sets ever. I must admit I enjoyed some of the live versions better than their recorded counterparts; "Since I've Been Loving You" pours emotion from Plant's vocals and blew me away completely. Time and time again Easily the best live album I've ever listened to. Page's emotional guitar mixed with Bonham's idiosyncratic drums make this one of the best Led Zeppelin sets ever. I must admit I enjoyed some of the live versions better than their recorded counterparts; "Since I've Been Loving You" pours emotion from Plant's vocals and blew me away completely. Time and time again Led Zeppelin has proven themselves kings of hard rock; thirty years later, their performance at LA solidifies their music in the annals of eternity. No one has ever come close to this caliber of live performance, and I doubt anyone ever will. Expand
  70. brianl
    Dec 26, 2006
    10
    no comment...
  71. BobP.
    Nov 18, 2007
    7
    A couple of the songs nearly reach 30 minutes. It took me a week to listen to the whole record! Wow - we're they on stimulants? This music invigorates.
  72. HarryS
    Mar 13, 2007
    10
    Rock n Roll at its very best, which is better than just about anything. Despite occasional moments of overindulgence, they can be ignored when the music is this great.
  73. ScottW
    Aug 15, 2007
    10
    The Best Live Album of All Time! Some of the songs are even better then the stoudios versions. A must for a Zeppelin fane. If you like your music load but well done, you will not find anything better then this.
  74. RedK
    Aug 7, 2007
    10
    amazing!!!
  75. adda
    Sep 29, 2007
    10
    Jimmy Page is the father of all guitar players...
  76. RoyceL.
    Nov 2, 2008
    10
    Great album great band. really captures Led Zeppelin live at their prime.
  77. EduardoR
    Nov 4, 2008
    10
    It's one of the greatest live albumsin history. Every member of the band is inspired. The long guitar and drum solos are amazing. The only thing I can complain about is Robert Plant. He was great, but not perfect. Listen to BBC Sessions to understand what I'm talking about.
  78. Cormac
    May 16, 2008
    10
    Superb. Jimmy Page is great, Robert Plant's voice is as charismatic as ever and John Bonham is a monster on the drums. John Paul Jones' bass was a little low, which is a shame. The songs are all great, similar enough that you know them but freshened up nicely. I could have done without the 25 minute version of Dazed and Confused to be honest and Moby Dick drags on a bit, but the Superb. Jimmy Page is great, Robert Plant's voice is as charismatic as ever and John Bonham is a monster on the drums. John Paul Jones' bass was a little low, which is a shame. The songs are all great, similar enough that you know them but freshened up nicely. I could have done without the 25 minute version of Dazed and Confused to be honest and Moby Dick drags on a bit, but the Whole Lotta Love stretchout is great. Highlights of the album are probably Heartbreaker, Black Dog, Going to California, Over the Hills and Far Away, Whole lotta Love and Bring it on Home. Expand
  79. pascald
    Jan 12, 2007
    10
    The best
  80. RobertJ.
    Dec 29, 2007
    10
    I have had these two 1972 shows(bootlegs) for years and it is good to hear an official release culled from those concerts. Unbelievable performance and probably the best live rock album of all time.
  81. SeanP.
    May 22, 2007
    10
    Among other strengths, this has THE best live versions of Stairway To Heaven and What Is And What Should Never Be, that you'll find anywhere.
  82. JHJhjkjbh
    Jun 29, 2007
    0
    asjdsakdakn
  83. MikeH.
    Jan 13, 2008
    10
    All four of them have a sensational vibe. They created new sounds in the songs, played other songs in songs, just amazing. They could had 20 more hits if they had still recording. This is the Bonzo of rock. Some of the songs like "Bring it on Home" are better here than in Coda. If you have a good set of speakers you can feel the energy of this collection of songs.
  84. NickN
    Dec 17, 2007
    10
    I realize that giving perfect ratings to Led Zeppelin CDs has become an all-too-common cliche, but this really is a definitive live album, something that most LZ fans have been waiting DECADES for. The extended pieces never drag, the classics all sound sharp...there really aren't words to describe how PERFECT this album really is. Essential, must-own listening.
  85. Jan 7, 2011
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. You have in the front of you the best rock band of all time, the band that decidedly invented the concept of rock: powerful riffs, loudly guitars, violent drums and an extremely energetic music style. This my friends, this is the definition of rock. And only a few bands play this style like it should be played. LedZeppelin was the band that do it better. Led Zeppelin was, is and, who knows, will be unquestionably the best rock band of all time. This album is only one more proof (of the hundreds that exist) that proves it Expand
  86. Jun 18, 2011
    10
    A hark back to when bands could sing instead of auto-tune. A fabulous collection of great hits and amazing guitar playing, with amazing lyrics and singing to boot. What more do you need?
  87. Oct 12, 2014
    10
    One of the best concert album in history of rock'n'roll. Every track on it is one of the best versions of Led's songs. Must hear - for 25-minutes version of "Dazed And Confused" and for epic Page's guitar jamming in "Since I've Been Loving You".
  88. Sep 25, 2012
    10
    As a huge Zeppelin fan I was floored the first time I listened to this album. Knowing all of these songs it was as though these guys were sequestered on leashes for a long time and then someone unleashed them allowing them to shred like four supercharged virtuosos in sync. This is arguably their best work! I listened to this album most every day for over a year after I heard it the first time.
Metascore
97

Universal acclaim - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 14
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 14
  3. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. Mojo
    70
    The empathy between the four is palpable. [Jun 2003, p.113]
  2. Capture[s] a mighty band at the height of its gargantuan power.
  3. A vital document of Led Zeppelin's formidable legacy.