by U2
User Score
7.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 397 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 81 out of 397

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 22, 2016
    10
    The 4Fourth Masterpiece of U2, Follow By The Joshua Tree (1987), Achtung Baby (1991) & All That You Can't Leave Behind (2000).

    Even with 9 winning grammy for this album i think that the fans and the own U2 underrated this Brilliant album
  2. Sep 30, 2016
    5
    After opening a new millenium strong with All That You Can't Leave Behind, this album and it's forgettable alternative rock set U2 on a downward spiral.
  3. May 11, 2016
    10
    ............................................................................................................................................................U2 At his Best
  4. Apr 2, 2016
    10
    This Album don't deserve 79% for Critics...

    Deserves at Least 87% percents Is a Masterpiece.... And also have Retarded and Idiots in the public, that give less than 4 points, A NEGATIVE REVIEW, Please Metacritic Erase at least 45 negative reviews.
  5. Dec 30, 2015
    10
    ............................................................................................................ Metacritic please delete any review with 0,1 and 2 points
  6. Oct 21, 2015
    10
    More than half of negative reviews should be erased 81 negative reviews from this album???? Really???

    Even Songs Of Innocence 2014 that isn't great album don't deserve a negative review i gave 6 for Songs Of Innocence 2014 that i considered a so-so weak record of U2 without doubt HTDAAB is a hard punch compared to SOI in this album U2 won all 9 nominations of grammy and not won for nothing...
  7. Jul 19, 2015
    10
    Para os 81 imbecis foda-se............................................................................................................ o Metacritic devia anular esses votos
  8. Jul 6, 2015
    10
    81 imbecis que não sabem o significado de U2,poderiam morrer e anula seus votos inúteis e imaturos. HTDAAB é U2 em melhor forma sem mentira tinham que anular no mínimo esses 81 votos para não precisa mata-los;
  9. Dec 23, 2014
    10
    Excelente Album!
    A 4 Obra Prima Do U2,Os Outros São The Joshua Tree,Achtung Baby E All That You Can't Leave Behind.
    Todas São Excelentes Mas Essas São As Top.
    Top How To Dismantle An Atomic Bomb.
    1-City Of Blinding Lights
    2-Miracle Drug
    3-Yahweh
    4-Sometimes You Can't Make It Our Own
    5-Original Of The Species
    6-Crumbs From Your Table
    7-All Because Of You
  10. Dec 9, 2014
    3
    This album wants to be high-energy, but never fully gets what it wants. Once again, this U2 album opens up with its best song, Vertigo. Tracks like Love and Peace or Else are obviously trying to be edgy, but just fall flat. Once again, U2 just seems to have lost what made them legendary.
  11. May 30, 2013
    10
    Excelente Album!
    A 4 Obra Prima Do U2,Os Outros São The Joshua Tree,Achtung Baby E All That You Can't Leave Behind.
    Todas São Excelentes Mas Essas São As Top.
    Top How To Dismantle An Atomic Bomb.
    1-City Of Blinding Lights
    2-Miracle Drug
    3-Yahweh
    4-Crumbs From Your Table
    5-All Because Of You
  12. Jun 15, 2012
    8
    Top record from U2 - it's got it all. Hit singles, rock anthems, lighters in the air moments and some great production as well. Bono and co should the world how you make a stadium sized rock album. Although there isn't much experimentation on it and its pretty standard guitar rock, its got some of the bands finest moments on it. There are only a couple of non outstanding tracks on here.
  13. j30
    Jan 30, 2012
    5
    When a new U2 album comes out, you hope there is some sort of progression or evolution. How To Dismantle An Atomic Bomb doesn't accomplish either of those. HTDAAB sounds like a band that has hit a wall of pretentiousness.
  14. Apr 30, 2011
    9
    A good album...but they're losing a bit of their older distinct sound that made them U2. A couple of the songs are a bit similar to previous songs. But they still sounded great, I think. 'Vertigo' sounded wonderful. It was kind of a newer-sounding U2, but it was them. I liked it.
  15. Aug 14, 2010
    6
    Good return to their classic rock roots but...

    I don't find HTDAB worthy of Album Of The Year. Sure, it is a good album but not a classic. Joshua Tree and Achtung Baby are classics, not this one. Needless to say, HTDAB is still an incredibly entertaining album from a band who hasn't revisited this sound in a long time. Vertigo sets the bomb off with catchy riffs about being under the
    Good return to their classic rock roots but...

    I don't find HTDAB worthy of Album Of The Year. Sure, it is a good album but not a classic. Joshua Tree and Achtung Baby are classics, not this one. Needless to say, HTDAB is still an incredibly entertaining album from a band who hasn't revisited this sound in a long time. Vertigo sets the bomb off with catchy riffs about being under the influence of drugs (Vertigo drug). Then comes Miracle Drug and a few other filler tracks that are of worthy listen. City Of Blinding Lights is probably the most grandiose love song since With Or Without You.

    But it still doesn't help. The album gets incredibly slow after that and U2 sort of drags along. Bono, who usually spits fire, gets tired himself. Nobody feels interested after that. A few good filler tracks but then the fire ceases even though it clearly showed signs midway.

    Listening to HTDAB feels tiresome if taken as an album, but as a collection of songs, it is a pretty okay listen. What U2 needs is those hard punches they threw back in the early stages of their career. Otherwise, they lose that "rock" touch that they once had when they did Sunday Bloody Sunday.
    Expand
  16. AristonB
    Sep 21, 2009
    3
    The worst album of U2. They could tour without this crap. Maybe 3 songs worth listening. New low.
  17. JohnK
    Feb 19, 2009
    0
    I love U2. I hate this album. I even liked Pop and I hate this album. The difference? The lyrics all the way. Pop had interesting lyrics, this has boring, straightforward and unpoetic. It's a terrible, terrible album.
  18. JalexD
    Feb 15, 2009
    10
    A stellar collection of songs, even if it doesn't gel as nicely as nearly all their other albums. Still it stands as a peak for one of the world's greatest artists ever, as well as being the best album of 2004.
  19. AlecF
    Jan 9, 2009
    10
    Just another U2 album. Of course, that mean's it's amazing. The ethereal, catchy melodies are really great in basically every song. Reviewers are judging the album not by how it sounds but as fans of U2's old stuff. Forget the band's identity and prior music and just focus on each track, and you'll see what I mean. Also, I disagree that the album ends badly. Just another U2 album. Of course, that mean's it's amazing. The ethereal, catchy melodies are really great in basically every song. Reviewers are judging the album not by how it sounds but as fans of U2's old stuff. Forget the band's identity and prior music and just focus on each track, and you'll see what I mean. Also, I disagree that the album ends badly. Original of the Species, the second to last track, is one of my favorite U2 songs. So, in all I think this is a completely brilliant album when you listen to it as music, not as U2 songs. Expand
  20. TheDude
    Nov 21, 2008
    10
    Amazing album. Great songs and melodies right throughout.
  21. FabianoS.
    Sep 14, 2008
    9
    Good album.
  22. JonnyF
    Sep 3, 2008
    9
    Brilliant album but not as gd as ATYCLB, Achtung Baby or the Joshua tree. however still a great piece of work.
  23. ElevanI
    Jul 18, 2008
    10
    U2 always record good albums. Atomic Bomb is a great rock´n roll album. BEST OF 2004.
  24. DermottF
    Jul 4, 2008
    7
    What U2 have against them these days is if the album isn't better than Achtung Baby, then its crap. That's the standard they have set for themselves. This really isn't a bad album. But it isn't a great one either, U2 can do better. It opens with the fantastic Vertigo and even better Miracle Drug where Edge's guitar work is a touch of genius. There are other great What U2 have against them these days is if the album isn't better than Achtung Baby, then its crap. That's the standard they have set for themselves. This really isn't a bad album. But it isn't a great one either, U2 can do better. It opens with the fantastic Vertigo and even better Miracle Drug where Edge's guitar work is a touch of genius. There are other great songs such as 'Sometimes You Cant Make It On Your Own' and 'Original of the Species'. But it hasn't got that magic and deep feel that the Joshua Tree and Achtung Baby had. Its definitely one to have in your collection though. Expand
  25. tylerk
    Jun 24, 2008
    4
    Marginal. U2 used to have a distinct sound. This blends nicely with the proliferation of mediocrity on the radio. Possibly the weakest lyrics on any U2 record, "I'll give you everything that you want..except the thing that you want" Everything after zooropa has been marginal at best.
  26. GeorgeC.
    Feb 7, 2008
    0
    Totally irrelevant. U2 hasn't made a good record since War. If these guys aren't careful... in 5 years they're going to end up opening for Hinder or Nickelback on a tour of gay biker bars... in Bulgaria.
  27. Pignoah
    Jan 9, 2008
    1
    Mundane, repetitive, pretentious and phony musical trash.
  28. CalebM.
    Dec 19, 2007
    9
    First time i heard this CD i thought it was a greatest hits CD. Thats how good it is.
  29. MusicLover
    Oct 21, 2007
    5
    I was so excited when I first got this album. Then I listened to it & all I felt was disappointment. I expected more from U2. I still got faith in Bono & the gang, though.
  30. scottw.
    Aug 19, 2007
    8
    U2 seems to just keep on going and going. In 2004 even though they already have two greatest hits albums spanning the 80s and 90s, they slam out an atomic musical explosion with an other album. Not the best work they have done, but not the worst. This one is like listening to the old but new U2, and is not a bad thing. A modern 80s or 90s U2 album is what it is, and it works off very well U2 seems to just keep on going and going. In 2004 even though they already have two greatest hits albums spanning the 80s and 90s, they slam out an atomic musical explosion with an other album. Not the best work they have done, but not the worst. This one is like listening to the old but new U2, and is not a bad thing. A modern 80s or 90s U2 album is what it is, and it works off very well to save it from turning into something like the POP album. Expand
  31. CarlosM.
    Jun 29, 2007
    10
    One of the latest hight prices of U2....
  32. MattO
    Apr 7, 2007
    4
    I got this album expecting that I would love it, just as I loved All That You Can't Leave Behind. Of course, I hadn't yet heard "Vertigo," which is, in all honesty, a good lead-on to such a disappointment. I found each of the hits, aside from "Sometimes..." to be annoying. Bono screaming, "Oh, you look so beautiful tonight!" really angers me. Do lyrics mean nothing to this man? I got this album expecting that I would love it, just as I loved All That You Can't Leave Behind. Of course, I hadn't yet heard "Vertigo," which is, in all honesty, a good lead-on to such a disappointment. I found each of the hits, aside from "Sometimes..." to be annoying. Bono screaming, "Oh, you look so beautiful tonight!" really angers me. Do lyrics mean nothing to this man? And, of course, he redeems himself on other songs. But, half of the album angers me, one-fourth of the remaining half disappoints me, and the rest just makes me want to put on a different CD. If they wanted to redefine their sound, they should have picked a better time in their career to do so. They shouldn't have changed what already sounded good. Expand
  33. MaxG
    Mar 5, 2007
    10
    Awesome album. A must buy for any U2 fan.
  34. GuyE
    Feb 13, 2007
    8
    Of course this doesnt live up to The Joshua Tree or The Unforgettable Fire, but then again, what does? This is actually a lot better than a lot of new music out there and while it pales in comparison to some of their older work it is still well worth a listen.
  35. zainr
    Feb 1, 2007
    10
    great
  36. MozzaR
    Jan 23, 2007
    10
    What can I say, they r the greatest band in the world, and the album lives up 2 it, at first the songs don't sound catchy, but once u listen to them one or more times, they sound better and better everytime. That's magic!
  37. JonathanH
    Dec 9, 2006
    0
    Probably the most dissapointing ALBUM of all time. Edge all I can say is we don't want to hear tired cliche'd 80s guitar licks with no juice that go "din din dindin a din ting ting ting". Last word here: go back to the studio, cancel the last two albums from your cataloghe and go back into the studio and finish of "POP" and then release a DVD for that tour you cheapskates. With Probably the most dissapointing ALBUM of all time. Edge all I can say is we don't want to hear tired cliche'd 80s guitar licks with no juice that go "din din dindin a din ting ting ting". Last word here: go back to the studio, cancel the last two albums from your cataloghe and go back into the studio and finish of "POP" and then release a DVD for that tour you cheapskates. With decent picture quality (ZOO TV 2006 DVD anyone?) Expand
  38. MartinS
    Jul 17, 2006
    10
    This album changed everything.
  39. JP
    Jul 17, 2006
    7
    Overall, this album is very good. Crumbs" "OOTS" and "COBL" are songs that stand out. Although I like this album, It is obvious that U2 has re-hashed material from their earlier albums. The melodies and hooks are beautiful and appealing, but U2 has taken a very safe approach to writing the music for this album. The lyrics are heartfelt, open, and honest. Aside from the song vertigo, I Overall, this album is very good. Crumbs" "OOTS" and "COBL" are songs that stand out. Although I like this album, It is obvious that U2 has re-hashed material from their earlier albums. The melodies and hooks are beautiful and appealing, but U2 has taken a very safe approach to writing the music for this album. The lyrics are heartfelt, open, and honest. Aside from the song vertigo, I feel that this is a very personal album from Bono. Musically, the edge, larry, and adam have not pushed themselves. Part of the journey in making music is to constantly explore, grow, and re-invent not only lyrically, but musically too. I hope for their next album, U2 take inspiration from "achtung baby" to re-invent their sound and push the envelope. Can they do it again? I hope so. They are damn well capable. I also hope they will work with Rick Rubin on their next album to help guide them to that next level. Expand
  40. Carloscarlos
    Apr 1, 2006
    10
    Perfect. The best album since Achtung Baby (1991). The sound of the guitar in Miracle Drug, Sometimes You Can't Make... or in Original Of The Species is wonderful and lyrical. Not bad songs, only pure music.
  41. anthonya
    Mar 29, 2006
    8
    Great album and though stonger than All that you cant leave behind it seems to lack something i cant put my finger on. great tunes no doubt but i really miss that spirit of adventure and experimentation from thier 90's work. the production is just a little too slick. hopefully next record they will be more open to pushing themselves to more experimental sonics while keeping the Great album and though stonger than All that you cant leave behind it seems to lack something i cant put my finger on. great tunes no doubt but i really miss that spirit of adventure and experimentation from thier 90's work. the production is just a little too slick. hopefully next record they will be more open to pushing themselves to more experimental sonics while keeping the strong melodies and song structure. Never the less this is definitly one of u2's stronger collections. Expand
  42. DavidW
    Mar 1, 2006
    8
    Legends...of faith, hope, and love. Grace. Maybe not as "cool" as the use to be, but still have more soul in their big toes than a million other band combined. Good songs from an unforgettable fire.
  43. vaggelisp
    Feb 25, 2006
    9
    a classic u2 masterpiece!!!!
  44. masamitsua
    Feb 4, 2006
    10
    Songs like miracle drug and City of Blinding Lights rocks!
  45. JacobL
    Jan 24, 2006
    10
    Best of 2004
  46. AllisonM
    Dec 17, 2005
    9
    It is a typical U2 album and to me that is a good thing. Every song is good and the album doesn't have a weak point. I am not disapointed in it at all, in fact I love it.
  47. LillianH
    Dec 15, 2005
    9
    the more you listen, the more you love it
  48. Mr.Hades
    Nov 27, 2005
    10
    As a minion of the Devil, working within the bounds of the 13th laire of Hell, I must confess I have become somewhat of a heretic amongst my more satanic peers. You see, I find myself utterly enamored by the soft electric nuances permeating the refined textures of sonic purety found on this human-crafted album... and I am drawn, appallingly and hypnotically so, toward vocalist Bono's As a minion of the Devil, working within the bounds of the 13th laire of Hell, I must confess I have become somewhat of a heretic amongst my more satanic peers. You see, I find myself utterly enamored by the soft electric nuances permeating the refined textures of sonic purety found on this human-crafted album... and I am drawn, appallingly and hypnotically so, toward vocalist Bono's emotive and powerfully honest lyrical diatrabes into Theism and nearly Christian confessionalist movements. I find myself more and more feeling the unsippled passion of religion, of love, of charity, of service toward my fellow demon... and I feel less and less the torments of pride, regressive self-glorification, hatred and cynicism. Beauty of emotional and sonic depth unparalleled in my wildest imaginations pass before my vision when wreathed within the flame of "Atomic Bomb"... and I am never more fully edified than when that flame consumes me whole. I expect to be destroyed rather soon, but I belive it is worth the torments I shall soon face. After all, "You give me something I can feeeeeeel!!!" Expand
  49. RichardTheLionheart
    Nov 22, 2005
    10
    This album is easily one of the best albums ever recorded. Ever. The naysayers will be running back up the hill when they figure this out as well. Lyrically HTDAAB is sharp, clear, and concise. Some of Bono's most direct lyrics reside on this album. Emotionally stirring. Haunting. I get so tired of hearing people moan about how U2 have "sold out". Never will there be a rock group This album is easily one of the best albums ever recorded. Ever. The naysayers will be running back up the hill when they figure this out as well. Lyrically HTDAAB is sharp, clear, and concise. Some of Bono's most direct lyrics reside on this album. Emotionally stirring. Haunting. I get so tired of hearing people moan about how U2 have "sold out". Never will there be a rock group such as U2. Again. Ever. Expand
  50. AbishekJ
    Nov 16, 2005
    10
    how the combined user rating is 6.8 defies belief. This is one of the best records you will ever hear in your life. Bono is a genius, this is what we expect of geniuses, albums that rock and have powerful meaning from start to finish.
  51. SamD
    Oct 11, 2005
    8
    one of the better albums of 2004 nowhere near best. top 50 spot, like maybe 29. sometimes you cant make on your own overrated, miracle drug, yahweh and love and peace or else severely underrated
  52. TomB
    Oct 1, 2005
    9
    While not their best work, it certainly ranks up there in releases in 2004 outshining most bands half their age in a youth oriented industry
  53. ZackD
    Sep 27, 2005
    10
    I will offer my thoughts: If, by chance, you gave this album a 0 or a 1, I read your review. I am astonished by how so many people could miss the point. I don't know where so many of you got this crap about "selling out" and being in it for the money. If U2 wanted to sell out, they would certainly be making a lot more than they are right now. Do you realize that they didn't I will offer my thoughts: If, by chance, you gave this album a 0 or a 1, I read your review. I am astonished by how so many people could miss the point. I don't know where so many of you got this crap about "selling out" and being in it for the money. If U2 wanted to sell out, they would certainly be making a lot more than they are right now. Do you realize that they didn't accept money for the iPod spot? Performances at awards ceremonies don't mean you are a sellout. If this album was produced for the sheer goal of making more money for the members of U2, they wouldn't have spend 5 years crafting it. They could release crappy albums every year and a half if they wanted and they'd make more money. Instead they put time and effort into what I believe stands as one of their greatest achievements. No, maybe not a Joshua Tree or an Achtung Baby, but certainly third on my list. Its track listing begins by painting a scene of fear and helplessness. The singer finds himself in this dizzying place called vertigo, scared, alone. He is captivated by a cross around a girl's neck. Tracks 2, 3, and 4 show hope for the miracle science we do not have yet, meditation over dead loved ones, and pleading for peace in a world gone wrong, respectively. The album soon begins to find the positive aspects of life in love, family, contentedness, and, finally, God. While the beginning presents this problem, this "atomic bomb," representative of the worst of humanity's fears, the end of the album presents the solution: love. One must kneel before love and they will find comfort and hope. The music itself is perhaps not sonically as revolutionary a departure from the previous album as most U2 fans are used to, admittedly. But this doesn't take the album down at all. I simply think it is on the same sonic plane without repeating the same sounds. Overall, my favorite album of 2004/2005 easily. Expand
  54. ZackA
    Sep 26, 2005
    10
    This is one of those albums that, after repeated listening, reveals its intrecacies to the listener slowly. One realizes the complexly interwoven themes that tie the songs together and the overarching reach towards the answer to the question posed in the title: Love.
  55. williamt
    Sep 26, 2005
    0
    What a waste of money- what a sell out to the music companies. here is Bono saying F**k you just give me you money
  56. DaneR
    Sep 23, 2005
    10
    Is the best album of 2004
  57. RobertB.
    Sep 3, 2005
    10
    What an album, what a band.
  58. FredericoO
    Aug 27, 2005
    10
    very good U2 album! city of blinding lights is the best song of the all record
  59. Matt
    Aug 27, 2005
    10
    Fantastic album from beginning to end. U2 just can't seem to go wrong... (if you pass a blind eye over "Pop") A fantastic live band such as them combined with these huge arena rocking anthems is just an amazing experience.
  60. ChriscoM
    Aug 26, 2005
    2
    Vertigo is a very misleading track that doesn't at all foreshadow the rest of the album. I'd rather listen to "pop" or "the passengers" anytime than force my way through this one. The drums and percussion are lost in the mix somewhere.
  61. EstuardoB
    Aug 13, 2005
    10
    If BOY had been released in 2005, it is hard to think it would have had any impact, same if HTDAAB had been released in 1983. This is the sound of a band who beyond making excellent albums, is intense on being relevant, on sending their material to the radiowaves and battling out with the fads, being them Heavy Metal, Alternative, Hip Hop, Pop. U2 has surfed thru all of these epochs, and If BOY had been released in 2005, it is hard to think it would have had any impact, same if HTDAAB had been released in 1983. This is the sound of a band who beyond making excellent albums, is intense on being relevant, on sending their material to the radiowaves and battling out with the fads, being them Heavy Metal, Alternative, Hip Hop, Pop. U2 has surfed thru all of these epochs, and this album is yet another amazing vehicle to soar above the rest of the general music out there. Expand
  62. Don´tLookNow
    Jul 21, 2005
    1
    Here is what happens when a good band writes a bad record. Marketing takes over music. It happens to the best of them. Let's hope that this is a blip in the system and not the new trend. The Rolling Stones have done marketing over music for years. People sadly think they are the greatest rock band in the world. In reality the Stones are just one band from a long gone era doing Here is what happens when a good band writes a bad record. Marketing takes over music. It happens to the best of them. Let's hope that this is a blip in the system and not the new trend. The Rolling Stones have done marketing over music for years. People sadly think they are the greatest rock band in the world. In reality the Stones are just one band from a long gone era doing greatest hits shows and tricking record labels into giving them large sums of money for the new turds they call albums. U2 can very eaisly fall into that trap. Look no further than the IPOD commercial that turned Bono into iBONO... Better luck next time guys. Expand
  63. AlexandreC
    Jul 18, 2005
    9
    Simply the best U2 album in many years.
  64. RodrigoM
    Jul 3, 2005
    4
    Half of the songs sound like U2 repeating the same song over and over. Plus the production just doesn't help the record which falls short on almost every aspect. There's still a few songs that stand over mediocrity, but they're not enough to save this album from being one of the worst U2 releases.
  65. Garry
    Jun 29, 2005
    10
    people listen to COBL, Crumbs, ABOY brilliant thing deserve to be on of their best albums
  66. LiamF
    Jun 29, 2005
    10
    brilliant come back to greates
  67. DavidC
    Jun 24, 2005
    8
    I am disappointed with how those people who claimed to be "U2" fans giving this album a 0 or 1. Use a little bit of your brain is helpful - anything that sells can be called "pop", metallica is pop, Ozzy Osbourne is pop too - so whats wrong with trying to create popular music? Being in the business for some 20 odd years, U2 knows how to make melodies - this album has it too. It I am disappointed with how those people who claimed to be "U2" fans giving this album a 0 or 1. Use a little bit of your brain is helpful - anything that sells can be called "pop", metallica is pop, Ozzy Osbourne is pop too - so whats wrong with trying to create popular music? Being in the business for some 20 odd years, U2 knows how to make melodies - this album has it too. It doesn't catch much fire at the first few listen, but it grows on you. My first U2 CD is best of 1980~1990, and it took at least 6 months before i started to appriciate it. When Achtung Baby came out, you would be suprised how many people was dissapointed because they sound too dance floor, but no one here doesn't claim it's a classic. Back to this album. Personally it at least deserve an 8 for its clever songcraft, they never lose it anywhere. However, there are a few weaknesses - Bono was losing his best at singing, since All that You Can't leave behind and a bit of "pop". But the edge doesn't suffer from older fingers - trust me, i am a guitarist. The production sounds a little too big, that's contradictory - because they said this album is suppose to be back to their rock and roll roots. I must say that it slightly disappoints me, but this is still a solid record. BUT, there are plenty of gas in the tank for U2, There will be more great music to come. Best songs: Miracle drug, city of blinding lights, crumbs from your table and original of the species Expand
  68. zainr
    Jun 21, 2005
    10
    great
  69. vande
    Jun 21, 2005
    5
    it is not good to see that U2 is getting more and more and more a pop band, thye had to do more interesting things, I think listeners deserve this
  70. EliM
    Jun 17, 2005
    1
    More of the same ATYCLB crap
  71. EDBuratto
    Jun 15, 2005
    10
    A brilliant record by all accounts. It's better than ATYCLB, not quite as good as Achtung Baby, but definately a classic by any measure; this is one of u2's strongest albums to date. It was the best album released in 2004, and better than anything released so far in 2005. Enjoy!
  72. Tofiks
    Jun 13, 2005
    8
    Its not so good as "Joshua Tree" or "Achtung Baby" but it's not a bad record.
  73. AdamE
    Jun 10, 2005
    10
    Listen to more music folks. Jeezus.
  74. BrianM
    Jun 9, 2005
    10
    Seriously great record.
  75. LionelW
    May 27, 2005
    0
    This is U2...so it´s must be "Their best album"...well... at least until they´ll release their next one probably in 2006... that album will be "Their best album"... don´t forget it.
  76. JosephR
    May 17, 2005
    10
    Maybe not bold, but beautiful. A U2 albums for middle age. A kick in the night, aiming to shake up a dirty world, full of heartbreak as we await the dawn.
  77. leons
    May 17, 2005
    10
    Excellent album, great songs, is U2 !
  78. JosephD
    May 15, 2005
    10
    U2 is cool stuff and yes I am 20 not 50. The bomb is full of good tunes containing amazing sonic guitat rifts and powerful vocals from one of the greatest rock singers of all time. U2 are still relivent as ever and they have the talent and tecnique to back their claim to be the bigest band in the world up
  79. cesarp
    May 12, 2005
    10
    In the Top three of U2 albums, better than All that you can´t leave behind. Don´t believe to U2 haters !, they feel so sad because U2 greatness !
  80. ThomasR
    May 2, 2005
    2
    a bad record
  81. ErikA
    May 2, 2005
    1
    Bad album. Don´t belive the hype. Buy The Jooshua three instead.
  82. RoyM
    Apr 24, 2005
    10
    Great Pop music. One of thier most consistent albums.
  83. DanielP
    Apr 13, 2005
    10
    I was never a huge man of U2, in fact it was All That You Can't Leave Behind that actaully got me into the band. Beautiful Day has to be one of my all time favourite songs, while Stuck In A Moment You Can't Get Out Of, Elevation and Walk On were also terrific. When How To Dismantle An Atomic Bomb was finally released and I heard Vertigo for the first time, I knew I wanted it. On I was never a huge man of U2, in fact it was All That You Can't Leave Behind that actaully got me into the band. Beautiful Day has to be one of my all time favourite songs, while Stuck In A Moment You Can't Get Out Of, Elevation and Walk On were also terrific. When How To Dismantle An Atomic Bomb was finally released and I heard Vertigo for the first time, I knew I wanted it. On purchase, I noticed that it was a 2CD set - it included a DVD on the making of the album and five four film clips. Well worth the $20 I paid! Vertigo is a terrific song, and it was acknowleged by winning rock song of the year. It was this albums' Elevation. Miracle Drug is a lyrical masterpiece, and very likeable. Sometimes You Can't Make It On Your Own is also very good, but I wouldn't have thought it was going to be released as a single. Love And Peace Or Else I hated at first, but I now enjoy it throughly, its a great song and fun to sing along to. I didn't think that any song from this album would pass Beautiful Day as my favourote U2 song, but City Of Blinding Lights is truly a classic song. I hope this gets released as a single, as it is the best song on the album and doesn't have any faults. All Because Of You is a great song, something you would play at parties. Really enjoyable and great to listen too. A Man And A Woman is more stripped-down than the others, and a tad darker, but still a good song. The verses are great. Crumbs From Your Table is another single-worthy song from the album. Easy and fun to listen to, and a very likeable track. One Step Closer was the only song that I didn't really like. I found it quite boring, with no real 'fizz' to it. But it blends in well, and I still wouldn't skip the track. Original Of The Species was a bit weird to me at first, it isn't your traditional type of song what with its three or so chorus' but it grew on me and now I enjoy it. Yahweh is a great way to end the album. A soothing track, easy on the ears, and a song everybody can like. In conlusion, I must say that this CD is one of the very best in my collection (and I have roughly 55 CDs). Expand
  84. thewanderer
    Apr 13, 2005
    10
    without any doubt their best album!
  85. sergiom
    Mar 21, 2005
    8
    Good, but not the best
  86. cj
    Mar 16, 2005
    10
    U2's best album ever. This is an absolute masterpiece.
  87. harryv
    Mar 8, 2005
    7
    When I first heard this album my initial rating would of been around 1 or 2 - nothing stood out like some of U2's previous work. I have loved this band and hated this band throughout their 25 year plus career and with every release they have left me with at least a couple of real gems per album. From "Boy" came "Out Of Control" and "An Cat Dubh/Into The Heart" - from "October" they When I first heard this album my initial rating would of been around 1 or 2 - nothing stood out like some of U2's previous work. I have loved this band and hated this band throughout their 25 year plus career and with every release they have left me with at least a couple of real gems per album. From "Boy" came "Out Of Control" and "An Cat Dubh/Into The Heart" - from "October" they gave me "Tomorrow" " I Threw A Brick Through A Window" and "Stranger In A Strange Land". Then came "War" with more than a few gems and "Unforgettable Fire" with "Bad" "Unforgettable Fire" "Elvis Presley And America" and "Wire". Falling from the leaves of "The Josua Tree" were classics like "Bullet The Blue Sky" "Exit" and "Running To Stand Still". I'll gladly forget "Rattle And Hum" save "Heartland". 1991 brought a new U2 with "Acthung Baby" which gave us "The Fly" "Until The End Of The World""One" and one of U2's most beautiful moments "Love Is Blindness". Most people either laughed at or ignored 1997's "Pop" and still manage to forget brilliant moments such as "Gone" "Please" and "Wake Up Dead Man". In 2000 "Beautiful Day" was a perfectly constructed hook filled single that would be a permanent concert favorite until this band finally gives in and retires. Whew...enough about that sordid past now let's look at "How To Dismantle An Atomic Bomb"- I'm afraid I'm beginning to like this album, really I'm not kidding. Like I said when I first heard it nothing stood out with any gemlike quality as in U2's past efforts but that just may be the difficult secret to this album. Being a half-fan of these guys I kept throwing it on once a week or so and everytime I did I somehow enjoyed it more - "Vertigo" still bothers me and always will as does "All Because Of You" and "Yahweh" but the rest of the songs I catch myself humming in my head and actually not rolling my eyes and trying to forget it. This album is full of hooks - not all of them bad. I hate to admit it but I am beginning to really enjoy most of this release. Despite the lack of truly great U2 gems of the past "How To Dismantle An Atomic Bomb" with it's hooks and all may very well surprise you if you give it half a chance. Or not. Expand
  88. Alisabeth
    Mar 5, 2005
    10
    grabs the soul...
  89. MACHUSK
    Mar 4, 2005
    10
    essential!
  90. jamesc
    Mar 3, 2005
    10
    some of the reviewers on this site obviously have it in for u2. granted, on first listen i was less than impressed, but a the few songs that caught my attention drew me back and after a few listens i now regard this album only behind the joshua tree and achtung baby. i think u2 are so huge that people write these bad reviews just to upset fans of the band. look at eminem, he is in the some of the reviewers on this site obviously have it in for u2. granted, on first listen i was less than impressed, but a the few songs that caught my attention drew me back and after a few listens i now regard this album only behind the joshua tree and achtung baby. i think u2 are so huge that people write these bad reviews just to upset fans of the band. look at eminem, he is in the same boat, no matter what he does, he will get slaughtered by the non fans in the same way. also, u2 spent ten years of 90s trying out a new sound which was sounding great, but they got hammered then too by the same people who now accuse them of playing it safe and saying that everything up to 98 was great, find the sense in that. the bottom line is, if ya wanna hear an hour of brilliant rock songs performed the way only u2 can, buy this album, if you are a bullshit cynic, ignore it. Expand
  91. GaryW
    Feb 27, 2005
    10
    This album is one of their harder albums. After ATYCLB the band was revived with music that was closer to their roots. This on the other hand sounds like its from the 70's. I regret that some songs ("All Because of You")are a bit predictible. But the huge sound emiting from the guitar makes up for it. Like all of thair albums its not so much the music but the lyrics that make make This album is one of their harder albums. After ATYCLB the band was revived with music that was closer to their roots. This on the other hand sounds like its from the 70's. I regret that some songs ("All Because of You")are a bit predictible. But the huge sound emiting from the guitar makes up for it. Like all of thair albums its not so much the music but the lyrics that make make the album. They talk about real subjects and are incredibly deep. If you like poetry this is it. Underneath the surface these songs is a new life with every different interpretation. It is truley amazing to listen to what they have to say. And if poetry isnt what you are into I would still recomend this album due to its powerful music and electrifying sound. For the long time fans there is still a hint of their previous work imbeded into some there tunes. Especially the lighter songs such as "All Because of You". This album may not be considered their best, and even if you thought it was their weakest album. This is solid, and highly recomend HTDAAB. It is well worth $15 Expand
  92. Mathprof
    Feb 27, 2005
    10
    Super Album ! A very good album form u2 ... This is the best of U2 ? Not sure .... The best are The Joshua Tree .... But Dismantle an atomic Bomb receive 5 stars form me .... and i think this is what u2 deserve !!! 1000 bravo !
  93. JamesU
    Feb 27, 2005
    10
    I agree with a previous post that this one sort of grows on you. This is one of my favorite U2 albums but I wouldn't personally go quite so far as to say it's their best. Obviously most have heard a couple tracks from the album such as "Vertigo" and "Sometimes you can't make it on your Own" but the other tracks are excellent as well. This CD has an interesting affect on me I agree with a previous post that this one sort of grows on you. This is one of my favorite U2 albums but I wouldn't personally go quite so far as to say it's their best. Obviously most have heard a couple tracks from the album such as "Vertigo" and "Sometimes you can't make it on your Own" but the other tracks are excellent as well. This CD has an interesting affect on me in that some tracks remind me of the old U2 sound and others hold true to the newer music, which I think is why I like it so much. All in all I would highly recommend this album if you are a U2 fan, I even know some non-fans who have enjoyed it immensely. BTW I also agree that it's silly to knock the album on the basis of not liking commercials, ticket sales problems etc., buy the album and let the quality speak for itself Expand
  94. HDeCanto
    Feb 27, 2005
    10
    I haven't read any other reviews before writing this, so as not to be influenced by them one way or the other, so I'm sorry if this doesn't settle any pros or cons below. Pros- very artistic in a spare, raw sort of way, back to the roots of pop/rock and their 80's sounds, some nice images, very good interpretations of lyrics, great bass work, and lead guitar invention, I haven't read any other reviews before writing this, so as not to be influenced by them one way or the other, so I'm sorry if this doesn't settle any pros or cons below. Pros- very artistic in a spare, raw sort of way, back to the roots of pop/rock and their 80's sounds, some nice images, very good interpretations of lyrics, great bass work, and lead guitar invention, nice to hear less mixing than on most polished singles these days. It feels as though it is an experimental album from a band who has done just about everything and are finally playing around and trying the ideas they've had for years but were never able to do earlier. It's also nice to hear that bono sing sweetly tonally and emotionally as a younger artist would, but also struggle abit on some of the more vocally demanding songs. Cons- it is at first not an easy album for non musicians (not just people who call themselves such)to listen to, after the extremely poetic and commercial (although catchy and grammy winning) last album, I wasn't sure what to expect. It took a few listens for me to appreciate the stripped down sound and the knowing uses of cliches throughout. I can't say that many of the songs will become classics. However, blinding lights, all because of you and love and peace or else have serious potential. I think it's an album that doesn't try to make you like it or identify with it's emotions. You either get it or you don't. Expand
  95. luvVermont
    Feb 27, 2005
    10
    Love this cd, love U2. Very catchy and I never get bored of it.
  96. TroyD
    Feb 26, 2005
    6
    Dissapointing. That said, the lead single, Vertigo, blew me away. U2's best rocker in years... but the rest of the album is just a bunch U2's poorer efforts. Not worth waiting 4 years for.
  97. Dean
    Feb 24, 2005
    0
    Worst piece of corporate garbage I´ve ever heard
  98. Dainbeat
    Feb 24, 2005
    0
    The lyrics are terrible, Bono`s voice is a shadow of what it used to be, and songwriting seem to have been going downhill since 2000. can't believe that some people actually consider this to be a good album, let alone one of U2's best. Give me a break! Is there a worse song in their entire catalog than Original Of The Species? I certainly don't think so. Production is The lyrics are terrible, Bono`s voice is a shadow of what it used to be, and songwriting seem to have been going downhill since 2000. can't believe that some people actually consider this to be a good album, let alone one of U2's best. Give me a break! Is there a worse song in their entire catalog than Original Of The Species? I certainly don't think so. Production is pretty bad, even considering this is actually an ATYCLB re-work recording. Not athmospheric, just annoying. Bono is just irritating to say the least. Music is so boring and predictable. Just something we`ve been hearing since their annoying ATYCLB, their most overrated album ever. This may be one of the worst albums ever made. The only thing good about this record is that it eventually ends. Every single song on it is a miserable experience devoid of melody. After I purchased this piece of trash I could only say to myself "this cd cost me two hours of my pay". After that I vowed to save anyone else from making the same mistake. Do yourself a favor and buy anything from 1980-1998 and avoid making eye contact with this waste of plastic. You will only loose 49 minute of your life for nothing. Expand
  99. TheWanderer
    Feb 24, 2005
    0
    How long we will be at the mercy of this self-indulgent corporation called 'U2'?. The greed that comes from this sell-out band is palpable. www.u2.com says it all. With the blink of an eye U2 became a snapshot joke of their career as band who just wanted to create something unheared before with every new album. Now we have not different stuff to choose. They're playing it How long we will be at the mercy of this self-indulgent corporation called 'U2'?. The greed that comes from this sell-out band is palpable. www.u2.com says it all. With the blink of an eye U2 became a snapshot joke of their career as band who just wanted to create something unheared before with every new album. Now we have not different stuff to choose. They're playing it as safe as they can. Things have been the same since 2000, I mean, looks, videos, songs, concerts, interviews, crappy TV shows, radio-friendly stuff, hype, etc. Inevitably every band go downhill, sooner or later. U2 are now an obsolete band. The only thing that remains on these days is, sadly, the money machine. That machine works perfectly well, while the actual band sound more uninspired, bored and old than ever. This oven 2000 style has been so worn that every day more and more fans feel annoyed by U2. For worse, mass media - whom want to be a part of the U2's party, of course. U2 force everybody to play by THEIR rules, otherwise mass media won't get the money they want - have been done to try and make the actual U2 2000 look and sound far better than they can make, by raising every crappy U2 comeback as genuine return to their best times, roots or whatever. This stupid work on restoring this rotten band just increase fans dissapointment. These pitiful men have nothing from their 80's spirit. U2 have become a band with no principles or meaning. John Lennon did his best to TEAR DOWN his celebrity. To show his HUMANITY. Whereas Bono's wearing his annoying cowboy hat and sunglasses, posing. They just profess endless greed. U2 have been teasing us for years. U2 doing the Apple ad shows what desperate these Irish has-beens have become. Now these ancient, by rock star standards, sell-outs men from Ireland are truly freaked. You've really disappointed me U2. This isn't how you started out. Art is about risk. You've stopped risking. You've gone into the insurance business. I can no longer believe in you. I'd rather watch Steve Jobs introduce products that are going to change my life than watch you shill to insure your status in a phony pop music landscape. Expand
  100. MaryS
    Feb 24, 2005
    0
    Please understand, I love U2. I have loved them for many years. I remember when I first saw the vidieo for "Gloria". I enjoyed reading the review that listed the new song lyrics with older song lyrics, and I can not agree more. I miss being inspired by U2. I miss feelings chills when I hear one of their songs. Nothing compares to "Bad", "A Sort of Homecoming" or "Sunday, Bloody Sunday." I Please understand, I love U2. I have loved them for many years. I remember when I first saw the vidieo for "Gloria". I enjoyed reading the review that listed the new song lyrics with older song lyrics, and I can not agree more. I miss being inspired by U2. I miss feelings chills when I hear one of their songs. Nothing compares to "Bad", "A Sort of Homecoming" or "Sunday, Bloody Sunday." I hate that they have written a lyric like "As the boys play rock and roll" in Vertigo. U2 never had to identify their music as rock and roll before this. Pleae, listen to some older songs from U2, and see just how great they were at one time. It is ashame that Bono's head has gotten so big. Please watch the bands performance of the song "Sunday, Bloody Sunday" in the movie Rattle and Hum to see just how great U2 can be. Expand
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. This time, Steve Lillywhite and the other producers assembled simply construct a U2 album in miniature, mixing in the Edge's processed-guitar trademark whenever you fear they're straying into unforgivable un-U2ness. That's just not enough.
  2. This is grandiose music from grandiose men, sweatlessly confident in the execution of their duties.
  3. While the rest of the album fails to live up to the breadth of “City” and “Crumbs,” and while it takes serious missteps on the shockingly bad “Man and a Woman” and “Yahweh,” this is, by and large, an album to be thankful for, regardless of your demographic.