Howl

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 54 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 44 out of 54
  2. Negative: 6 out of 54

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. GaryR
    Sep 16, 2005
    7
    Art vs merchandise - the music gets a 7 and is really quite good. Despite the faux early 60's rootsy rockin' style packaging the iron grip of the corporate music biz is so strong that the experience of trying and failing to rip the album to my pc itunes and ipod (for personal use only) left such a bad taste in my mouth that it extinguished any desire to continue to support these Art vs merchandise - the music gets a 7 and is really quite good. Despite the faux early 60's rootsy rockin' style packaging the iron grip of the corporate music biz is so strong that the experience of trying and failing to rip the album to my pc itunes and ipod (for personal use only) left such a bad taste in my mouth that it extinguished any desire to continue to support these guys with my dollar. There's too much good music around to need to endure this kind of control. Expand
  2. TenaciousK
    Jan 5, 2006
    10
    My favorite album of the year. Don't buy it expecting the same BRMC sound. If your musical tastes range broader than the last decade's top 40, particularly if you have some simultaneous appreciation of blues, folk and modern music, you'll love it.
  3. MarkA
    Oct 28, 2005
    2
    Utterly disappointed. The first record is amazing, and the second isnt bad at all, but this 'new direction' is appaling.
  4. slawekk
    Oct 30, 2005
    10
    absolutely great and beautiful. a wise and unexpected revolution. "led zeppelin III" of the 21st century. thanks to this album they will be remembered forever.
  5. BarryC
    Sep 10, 2005
    9
    BRMC have recreated themselves in a radical but fresh way. Very beautiful-sounding
  6. Matt
    Sep 18, 2005
    10
    An absolutely outstanding record. This would definitely be in my top 3 for 2005. The songs are all beautifully developed and the change in sound, although a big shock at first could just be the best thing to happen to the band - and I loved the first two albums!
  7. Steve
    Sep 19, 2005
    2
    Very, very dissapointing from what used to be a solid band. First two albums unbelievable. Howl took a definite turn for the worse.
  8. JosephO
    Sep 20, 2005
    9
    This is a fantastice ALBUM. Play it from start to finish in the right frame of mind and you might be convinced too...this is a contender for the best of 2005.
  9. JasonR
    Sep 24, 2005
    9
    No tower of sound here, just heavenly-soudning stripped down blues/country played to perfection
  10. MarkW
    Apr 2, 2006
    9
    Obviously different to their earleir stuff. Definately better than the previous album. The slower more lyrical stuff works for me. Love it.
  11. RonP
    Sep 20, 2006
    10
    Don't expect the same ol' BRMC - expect something that will blow you away and bring you back time and time again for more...
  12. MarkL.
    May 2, 2007
    9
    This album has incredible depth. I find that when artists explore a different sound for a collection of works, people freak out. Why that is, i have no idea. You'd think people would marvel in their ability to cover more ground than what they've previously achieved. BRMC knows how to write songs and capture a feeling with each song. These folk rock songs are a great This album has incredible depth. I find that when artists explore a different sound for a collection of works, people freak out. Why that is, i have no idea. You'd think people would marvel in their ability to cover more ground than what they've previously achieved. BRMC knows how to write songs and capture a feeling with each song. These folk rock songs are a great modernization of old sounds done BRMC style... Great album. Expand
  13. BJustB
    Oct 31, 2005
    10
    Kickass CD every song is a hit imho. The extra cut after 'The Line' is my favorite...We May Never Be Here Again. Solemn.
  14. rossm
    Aug 25, 2005
    10
    This is BRMC's finest in my oppinion. I cannot get enough of Howl, Promise, and Complicated Situation. This record is terrific if u accept the change of a band and their progress towards a better suited sound for the band. Their second album was stale as can be and this one is a complete 360 from that
  15. PauloD.
    Aug 27, 2005
    8
    It's a really intense album, maybe the noise have been cut off, but the songs are "heavy" in their own way. You can get tired from the acoustic guitars but they never been so better writing songs like these, that can cut through your heart. If you're tired from these 80's revivals or, just want to get to the basics you can't go wrong.
  16. AlanR
    Sep 24, 2005
    9
    Yeah, 'cause Blender has it's finger on the pulse of the world...
  17. MarkC
    Sep 26, 2005
    10
    Love it
  18. FrankD
    Oct 14, 2006
    9
    Excellent songwriting throughout. Devil's Waitin' would be on Cash's American Recordings VI if Rubin could milk him any further and Ain't No Easy Way is a killer tune. Too bad they can't play their instruments, but the songwriting is awesome.
  19. JorinR
    Nov 26, 2005
    4
    To compare this to the previous two releases is un avoidable. This is horrible on so many levels if you are expecting the sound, feel and content of Take them on... Simply put this should have been made under the antother name. This is almost as bad as T{I}NC.
  20. matb
    Oct 15, 2005
    9
    A strong back to basics record, which combines a stripped down soulful gosphel sound with great recording techinques. Less bombastic than the previous two records, and much better for it.
  21. matta
    Dec 6, 2005
    8
    This is a solid album and great redirection of their sound. Up until track 8 I was convinced I was listening to a definite top ten album of the year. After track 8 it isn't terrible just not as solid which puts it just in my top 25 right now. This is a great cd, much better than the metascore would indicate.
  22. ThomasC
    Aug 27, 2005
    7
    maybe their Led Zeppelin III? (a third acoustic/blues album which follows two LOUD in your face ones) Also BRMC fans will probably look back and think of it in the same way Led Zep fans do III. As far as reviews that call it derivative - how many truly original CDs have you heard lately that were any good?
  23. Dave
    Aug 29, 2005
    10
    I agree that this is the best effort yet from BRMC. Can't wait to hear the new songs performed live!
  24. phaid
    Sep 13, 2005
    0
    Loved their first album. Was o.k. with their second. But this mess? This second rate black crowes album? Why? Why? Why? Do they even know who they are. A flat out mess.
  25. CVL
    Sep 19, 2005
    9
    Great, ...
  26. BrianM
    Sep 23, 2005
    4
    the first two albums are amazing. this one's pretty weak. it's got a few great songs (weight of the world, complicated situation) but the rest of it is weak to awful...and the single? ain't no easy way? horrible. it's the worst track on the cd by a long shot. come on guys, you can do much better
  27. ZavkA
    Sep 26, 2005
    9
    Howl certainly contains some of the most outstanding BRMC songs to date and some of the best Rock this year.
  28. ZackA
    Jan 24, 2006
    10
    I thoroughly enjoyed this album. It's one of my favorites of the year. I've gone back and started listening to some Blind Willie Johnson because of it.
  29. DanG
    Nov 24, 2005
    10
    The freshest album I've heard in a long time. Maturity and insight beyond their three records. This new direction reveals BRMC's diverse talent and musical knowledge.
Metascore
70

Generally favorable reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 24
  2. Negative: 2 out of 24
  1. Howl indulges the band's heretofore-dormant interest in country, gospel, and Delta blues, in an exercise that sounds about as exercise-y as music gets.
  2. Rolling Stone
    60
    The songwriting on mellower numbers like "Promise" isn't as finely crafted as the expansive sound. [25 Aug 2005, p.99]
  3. Q Magazine
    80
    This is a record of towering acoustic-based songwriting. [Sep 2005, p.114]