Human After All

  • Record Label: Virgin
  • Release Date: Mar 15, 2005
Metascore
57

Mixed or average reviews - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 28
  2. Negative: 4 out of 28
  1. Portraying the state of pop as a series of predictable formulae long since exhausted by corporate superstructure, Human After All more than lives up to its name, rendering a metaphor for failure on the grandest yet simultaneously most personal of terms.
  2. Uncut
    80
    It has everything you've come to expect from a Daft Punk album--innovation, cracking tunes, a palpable sense of its own absurdity--but this time the whole shebang's cranked up to 11. [Apr 2005, p.99]
  3. Mojo
    80
    Some of it is tough and unforgiving... and some is pure pop plastique. [Apr 2005, p.89]
  4. Alternative Press
    80
    Not as overtly catchy (or cheesy) as Discovery, Human After All nonetheless is a hilariously cold and mechanical work that makes Kraftwerk sound like Curtis Mayfield. [May 2005, p.138]
  5. New Musical Express (NME)
    70
    There's a squelchy warmth at the heart of 'Human After All' that's been well masked since their arrival. [19 Mar 2005, p.59]
  6. The end result on Human is structurally and technically impressive, though at times aesthetically more curious than intriguing.
  7. Magnet
    70
    The album's most human aspect is its contradictory nature, an ultimate lack of emotion that make the exhilarating Homework and the sentimental Discovery so accessible. [#67, p.90]
User Score
7.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 204 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 50 out of 85
  2. Negative: 11 out of 85
  1. Stafford
    Feb 21, 2007
    10
    This album is a bit of shameful point for me. Rarely do I listen to reviewers, but for some reason or another I did with this one. I think it This album is a bit of shameful point for me. Rarely do I listen to reviewers, but for some reason or another I did with this one. I think it was the universal critial panning of the album that let me to ignore it for so long. For almost a year after it was released I went merrily on my way, driving around late at night with "Discovery" still cemented into my CD player. By some odd stroke of fate though, this began wriggling its way into my life track by track. First one track, then two, and once I was up to three tracks that I really found amazing, I asked myself what the reviewers were blabbering about. So I began listening to it in its entirety. Since then the album has creeped its way into my subconcious. I'll find myself listening to something else and then, without even thinking change it to "Human After All." Certain facets of all those negative reviews are true. It is simpler and darker than "Discovery." But almost all of the negative statements made by the reviewers have ultimately become why I completely have become obsessed with this album. There are few albums in the recent past that I find myself thinking about the day, wishing I was listeing to it. It works on both a "headphone" level as well as purely in the background. I honestly can't put into words why this album has taken a hold of me as it has. But if you go into this not expecting "Discovery Deux" it becomes an extremely addictive and ultimately rewarding album. Whereas "Discovery" was the consolidation of 30 years of dance music into one cohesive brilliant statement, "Human After All" is future music. It's uncomprimising and like nothing you've really heard before. Brilliant in both its simplicity and complexity, the album confounds in the best of ways and presents plac ein music where computers begin to have emotion. Full Review »
  2. Dec 15, 2016
    7
    DP HAA is a good album **** da h8rsimDP HAA is a good album **** da h8rsim fskifpiasmfoijuadshfnhggvhvhjdddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddd Full Review »
  3. Jan 16, 2012
    10
    Human After All is an excellent album by one of the best artists that have ever existed. Maybe is not as good as its predecessor, but in myHuman After All is an excellent album by one of the best artists that have ever existed. Maybe is not as good as its predecessor, but in my opinion at the same place as Homework, this record shows to the world what is real electronic music. Because a lot of people thinks that this dance-pop parasites and the awful remixes of their songs are electro. Nothing as far as reality. Human After All is the perfect example of this. Beginning with a masterpiece, the title track is simply awesome, one of the best Daft Punk songs. Prime Time Of Your Life is a strange song, with a lot of industrial music, but still cool. And then, Robot Rock. Epic. How, with a single riff, create something as brilliant. The best song of the CD. Steam Machine is the same story of the second track, but this kind of songs rules and make us see that DP is a very original band. Make Love is the opposite. A calmed song, with a single riff, but that really fits with the concept of art. Absolutely great. The Brainwasher is a great song to, direct to the spirit, effective. On/Off is only an introduction for what comes next, the best song with Robot Rock, Television Rules The Nation. Describe how amazing it is is impossible. Technologic is a fun song, that improves as it progresses. And the last song, Emotion, is a calmed song with a lot of feeling. In conclusion, a great album. Maybe some parts are repetitive, but who cares. It's Daft Punk, and Human After All is one of the tops of music in the 21st century. Full Review »