Human After All

  • Record Label: Virgin
  • Release Date: Mar 15, 2005
User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 195 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 13 out of 195

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. dc
    Sep 4, 2006
    3
    i have heard friends who never really bothered too much with daft punk before say they think this is a fun album. i can aalmost see what they mean, repetitive, ironic kind of vocador stuff, some beats, one killer riff in robot rock. but if you were a homework fanatic and admirer of discovery like many are (were?) - this is a crashing dissapointment, i agree with PFork - a heartbreaker. it i have heard friends who never really bothered too much with daft punk before say they think this is a fun album. i can aalmost see what they mean, repetitive, ironic kind of vocador stuff, some beats, one killer riff in robot rock. but if you were a homework fanatic and admirer of discovery like many are (were?) - this is a crashing dissapointment, i agree with PFork - a heartbreaker. it actually feels like being robbed buying this - PIECE OF S**T. wankers Expand
  2. JackC
    Oct 9, 2006
    0
    Augh, it's terrible. Daft Punk set a pretty high standard with their previous two albums... and then to be treated to plodding, unmelodic messes like Technologic, Prime Time of Your Life, and Television Rules The Nation... I feel like Daft Punk is laughing at me and everyone else who bought this record. Every song is just a repetitive mess that I could have put together in 3 minutes Augh, it's terrible. Daft Punk set a pretty high standard with their previous two albums... and then to be treated to plodding, unmelodic messes like Technologic, Prime Time of Your Life, and Television Rules The Nation... I feel like Daft Punk is laughing at me and everyone else who bought this record. Every song is just a repetitive mess that I could have put together in 3 minutes with Protools, and feels especially shoddy given the fact that Daft Punk had years to work on this thing. Instead, they spent 6 weeks on it... and it shows. Expand
  3. PaulG
    Mar 25, 2005
    2
    Rubbish, a rip off, i want my money back- what a dissapointment.These guys obviously needed the moneyand have discredited themselves.
  4. ChrisC
    Mar 21, 2005
    3
    Boring. Monotonous. Hum-drum. Daft Punk-by-numbers. Not a single exciting moment on the whole album.
  5. johnm
    Apr 29, 2005
    3
    they phoned this one in. word has it they put this together in 19 days, and it shows. dissappointing to say the least.
  6. cjaxx
    May 10, 2005
    1
    apart, maybe, from the Better, Stronger, etc re-hash Prime Time of Your Life, I don't recall ever feeling so utterly dissappointed by a follow-up.
  7. HaroldG
    Mar 17, 2005
    3
    horrible. Around The World caught my attention to this group. I first saw the video on an Mtv show where the kids rated the video (the one that was hosted by Anada Lewis). The video was sharp and innovative. I bought the albumn immediately and discovered a whole new world of dance music! Speaking of Discovery, then came the cd,Discovery and a anime fanboy's dream come true. with the horrible. Around The World caught my attention to this group. I first saw the video on an Mtv show where the kids rated the video (the one that was hosted by Anada Lewis). The video was sharp and innovative. I bought the albumn immediately and discovered a whole new world of dance music! Speaking of Discovery, then came the cd,Discovery and a anime fanboy's dream come true. with the entire Album as a soundtrack to a pretty good anime flick. Now this garbage. where the hell are the hot beats? it sounds like something you play in an aroma thereapy session!!! C'mon guys! this REAY hurts!! I was so looking forward to something hot to workout to and you guy f'd up! Expand
  8. Davidm
    Mar 21, 2005
    1
    bah!
  9. ZapB
    Mar 22, 2005
    3
    This CD is so frustratingly repetitive, I just want to reach through the CD and slap those guys, and say, "put in a damn hook, or melody, or break!!".. But no, the songs just keep repeating over and over.. I can't believe these are the same guys who made Discovery..
  10. ChairmanSac
    Mar 22, 2005
    2
    Daft Punk fans deserve an explanation for this crap. Any excuse will do; contract fulfillment, they totally forgot they had to record an album until the last two weeks, something. An album like this, especially after the brilliance of Discovery, is inexcusable. Every single song on this album is underdeveloped, and some of them are just plain terrible. Maybe this album is supposed to be a Daft Punk fans deserve an explanation for this crap. Any excuse will do; contract fulfillment, they totally forgot they had to record an album until the last two weeks, something. An album like this, especially after the brilliance of Discovery, is inexcusable. Every single song on this album is underdeveloped, and some of them are just plain terrible. Maybe this album is supposed to be a joke, who knows?. Expand
  11. formerdaftpunkfan
    Mar 26, 2005
    1
    Ill give it one thing ,the robot voices rule. But what the hell is everything else on this? Talk about being lazy and making one loop and playing it over and over and over. The guy that gave this a 10 are you serious? Man you must not listen to too much electronic cuz you would know that it took no talent to make this lousy album. Man I feel like I can make an album now and sit back and Ill give it one thing ,the robot voices rule. But what the hell is everything else on this? Talk about being lazy and making one loop and playing it over and over and over. The guy that gave this a 10 are you serious? Man you must not listen to too much electronic cuz you would know that it took no talent to make this lousy album. Man I feel like I can make an album now and sit back and collect the cash$$$ Expand
Metascore
57

Mixed or average reviews - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 28
  2. Negative: 4 out of 28
  1. Entertainment Weekly
    50
    Dominated by overly repetitive, lumbering throwaways. [18 Mar 2005, p.68]
  2. Apparently knocked off in just six weeks, Daft Punk's third album sounds like it took six days. Six short days. With long lunches.
  3. Blender
    50
    Feels desultory and numb, verging on autistic. [Apr 2005, p.116]