Human After All

  • Record Label: Virgin
  • Release Date: Mar 15, 2005
User Score
7.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 200 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 14 out of 200

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Stafford
    Feb 21, 2007
    10
    This album is a bit of shameful point for me. Rarely do I listen to reviewers, but for some reason or another I did with this one. I think it was the universal critial panning of the album that let me to ignore it for so long. For almost a year after it was released I went merrily on my way, driving around late at night with "Discovery" still cemented into my CD player. By some odd stroke This album is a bit of shameful point for me. Rarely do I listen to reviewers, but for some reason or another I did with this one. I think it was the universal critial panning of the album that let me to ignore it for so long. For almost a year after it was released I went merrily on my way, driving around late at night with "Discovery" still cemented into my CD player. By some odd stroke of fate though, this began wriggling its way into my life track by track. First one track, then two, and once I was up to three tracks that I really found amazing, I asked myself what the reviewers were blabbering about. So I began listening to it in its entirety. Since then the album has creeped its way into my subconcious. I'll find myself listening to something else and then, without even thinking change it to "Human After All." Certain facets of all those negative reviews are true. It is simpler and darker than "Discovery." But almost all of the negative statements made by the reviewers have ultimately become why I completely have become obsessed with this album. There are few albums in the recent past that I find myself thinking about the day, wishing I was listeing to it. It works on both a "headphone" level as well as purely in the background. I honestly can't put into words why this album has taken a hold of me as it has. But if you go into this not expecting "Discovery Deux" it becomes an extremely addictive and ultimately rewarding album. Whereas "Discovery" was the consolidation of 30 years of dance music into one cohesive brilliant statement, "Human After All" is future music. It's uncomprimising and like nothing you've really heard before. Brilliant in both its simplicity and complexity, the album confounds in the best of ways and presents plac ein music where computers begin to have emotion. Expand
  2. CarlosP
    Sep 7, 2005
    10
    An ironic and self effacing examination of the current state of music in our society.
  3. Gman
    Mar 17, 2005
    8
    Pitched exactly halfway between the dancefloor inventiveness of Homework and the 80s inspired cheesefest that was Discovery, Human After All is far better than the rather mixed reviews have led us to believe. It may not be as ground breaking as either of their previous albums but it's still far more innovative than anything else that's calling itself 'dance music' Pitched exactly halfway between the dancefloor inventiveness of Homework and the 80s inspired cheesefest that was Discovery, Human After All is far better than the rather mixed reviews have led us to believe. It may not be as ground breaking as either of their previous albums but it's still far more innovative than anything else that's calling itself 'dance music' these days. This album is highly enjoyable from start to finish (and Robot Rock sounds every bit as great as a track called Robot Rock ought to). If Basement Jaxx made albums half as good as this, they might actually deserve all the praise heaped upon them. Expand
  4. Sep 1, 2010
    8
    This is a very good album. Personally even though i love Daft Punk they were a bit repetitive on tracks such as Steam Machine or BrainWasher. However the electric flow and robotic feel never quite leave you and keep you tuned in through the whole album. My biggest problem with this album is that it's toooooooo short. It's essentially 9 songs. 9 songs! Not enough daft punk :/.
  5. Dec 15, 2010
    10
    Human After All is a bit of a mixed bag for me. I don't really agree with all the atrocious reviews for it, but I can understand what these critics are trying to say. Most of the tracks don't really go anywhere. It's like the chorus the whole song. Some are catchy the whole way through, others are just a bit annoying after a bit. All In All, Daft Punk's Discovery was brilliant, but HumanHuman After All is a bit of a mixed bag for me. I don't really agree with all the atrocious reviews for it, but I can understand what these critics are trying to say. Most of the tracks don't really go anywhere. It's like the chorus the whole song. Some are catchy the whole way through, others are just a bit annoying after a bit. All In All, Daft Punk's Discovery was brilliant, but Human After All could 've been so much better. C+ Expand
  6. Jan 16, 2012
    10
    Human After All is an excellent album by one of the best artists that have ever existed. Maybe is not as good as its predecessor, but in my opinion at the same place as Homework, this record shows to the world what is real electronic music. Because a lot of people thinks that this dance-pop parasites and the awful remixes of their songs are electro. Nothing as far as reality. Human AfterHuman After All is an excellent album by one of the best artists that have ever existed. Maybe is not as good as its predecessor, but in my opinion at the same place as Homework, this record shows to the world what is real electronic music. Because a lot of people thinks that this dance-pop parasites and the awful remixes of their songs are electro. Nothing as far as reality. Human After All is the perfect example of this. Beginning with a masterpiece, the title track is simply awesome, one of the best Daft Punk songs. Prime Time Of Your Life is a strange song, with a lot of industrial music, but still cool. And then, Robot Rock. Epic. How, with a single riff, create something as brilliant. The best song of the CD. Steam Machine is the same story of the second track, but this kind of songs rules and make us see that DP is a very original band. Make Love is the opposite. A calmed song, with a single riff, but that really fits with the concept of art. Absolutely great. The Brainwasher is a great song to, direct to the spirit, effective. On/Off is only an introduction for what comes next, the best song with Robot Rock, Television Rules The Nation. Describe how amazing it is is impossible. Technologic is a fun song, that improves as it progresses. And the last song, Emotion, is a calmed song with a lot of feeling. In conclusion, a great album. Maybe some parts are repetitive, but who cares. It's Daft Punk, and Human After All is one of the tops of music in the 21st century. Expand
  7. Dec 15, 2016
    7
    DP HAA is a good album **** da h8rsim fskifpiasmfoijuadshfnhggvhvhjdddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddd
  8. tagadam
    Apr 2, 2005
    10
    good
  9. JonL
    Mar 19, 2005
    5
    Homework, may the best dance record put out to date. It's simple raw messed up samples served up over unpolished drum machines. Daft Punk brought the D.I.Y. ethics of punk to dance music. On Discovery they reinvented themselves and made one of the best sounding dance records. Humans finds Daft wavering in between these two albums, and after two listens I can't help but feel Homework, may the best dance record put out to date. It's simple raw messed up samples served up over unpolished drum machines. Daft Punk brought the D.I.Y. ethics of punk to dance music. On Discovery they reinvented themselves and made one of the best sounding dance records. Humans finds Daft wavering in between these two albums, and after two listens I can't help but feel dissapointed in both the originality and production of the record. While I appreciate the return to the more raw approach of homework, they just don't seem to have put forth the effort needed to compete with their previous releases. I need the crazy crazy inventive noises that made them so accessible, even to lovers of punk music. Hopefully they release something soon, and for gods sake if you're going to have a link to your website when you put your disc in the computer. The least you can do is update it with something other than a site that is selling dolls from Daft Punk videos. Expand
  10. dc
    Sep 4, 2006
    3
    i have heard friends who never really bothered too much with daft punk before say they think this is a fun album. i can aalmost see what they mean, repetitive, ironic kind of vocador stuff, some beats, one killer riff in robot rock. but if you were a homework fanatic and admirer of discovery like many are (were?) - this is a crashing dissapointment, i agree with PFork - a heartbreaker. it i have heard friends who never really bothered too much with daft punk before say they think this is a fun album. i can aalmost see what they mean, repetitive, ironic kind of vocador stuff, some beats, one killer riff in robot rock. but if you were a homework fanatic and admirer of discovery like many are (were?) - this is a crashing dissapointment, i agree with PFork - a heartbreaker. it actually feels like being robbed buying this - PIECE OF S**T. wankers Expand
  11. SaverC.
    Jul 6, 2007
    9
    under s timated
  12. Oct 8, 2011
    4
    Daft Punk is known for their hybrid of organic samples and high edge house music, their first two albums leaving catchy and beautiful songs. While Human After All's titular track is a great opener, the rest of the album just can't follow suit. Nearly everything is just a mirror of its first fifteen seconds. It's unfortunate just how repetitive it gets, and actually a little annoying. ThisDaft Punk is known for their hybrid of organic samples and high edge house music, their first two albums leaving catchy and beautiful songs. While Human After All's titular track is a great opener, the rest of the album just can't follow suit. Nearly everything is just a mirror of its first fifteen seconds. It's unfortunate just how repetitive it gets, and actually a little annoying. This is especially the case for tracks like "Robot Rock", "Technologic" and "Brainwasher". Then there are even stranger "songs" like "On/Off', a prelude to "Prime Time of Your Life" and worse, "Emotion", which is basically just a rendition of technologic with other sounds from the album. It's very disappointing, considering the duo's previous successes. Expand
  13. Apr 9, 2012
    6
    I love Daft Punk and I consider Discovery and Alive 2007 to be among my favorite musical works. However, it is painfully obvious that they didn't care about how this album turned out. Dull, repetitive, and boring would be the best words to describe this 'album.'

    I only give a 6/10 because DP redeemed themselves and this album by remixing it with Alive 2007.
  14. Oct 3, 2013
    5
    Despite the clear goal of the album, it fails to hit the same chord Homework and Discovery were able to do. Overly repetitive, overly-sampling on Robot Rock (Breakwater-Release The Beast), and a rather boring album. The album may be a hit at dance clubs, but listening to this by yourself will bore you.
  15. Jan 9, 2015
    10
    I have to say, being a new Daft Punk fan I went into this album after Random Access Memories, in other words high expectations. In all truth...I actually liked this more then any music I have previously heard from them, Robot Rock has this simple yet elegant beat that just makes you want to move and makes you really feel like at the time it was the future of music. When I look at theI have to say, being a new Daft Punk fan I went into this album after Random Access Memories, in other words high expectations. In all truth...I actually liked this more then any music I have previously heard from them, Robot Rock has this simple yet elegant beat that just makes you want to move and makes you really feel like at the time it was the future of music. When I look at the critic section my heart drops to a new low, I sincerely love this album and can't stop listening to it. This album is one that a car stereo does not do justice and headphones are the best thing to be used for listening to the album. In my opinion this is the peak they have reached and sadly I think that RAM is actually not as good. Great album, incredible thought process, and the beats are lean and mean. Expand
  16. Jun 5, 2016
    5
    This album is kinda meh. Because the music is kinda a bit weird. But songs like "Human After All" and "Digital Love" are only the best ones in my opinion. That's all I really got to say about it.
  17. JayA
    Oct 3, 2005
    10
    Daft Punk delivers yet again with a stylus of music that can both recede into your background subconscious and at the same moment push itself forward until it is all that fills your head, blasting its technatronic melody into your unprotected face. It's ironic humor and robotically produced structure is as enjoyable as it is intriguing. If computers could make music, it would be Daft Punk.
  18. JackC
    Oct 9, 2006
    0
    Augh, it's terrible. Daft Punk set a pretty high standard with their previous two albums... and then to be treated to plodding, unmelodic messes like Technologic, Prime Time of Your Life, and Television Rules The Nation... I feel like Daft Punk is laughing at me and everyone else who bought this record. Every song is just a repetitive mess that I could have put together in 3 minutes Augh, it's terrible. Daft Punk set a pretty high standard with their previous two albums... and then to be treated to plodding, unmelodic messes like Technologic, Prime Time of Your Life, and Television Rules The Nation... I feel like Daft Punk is laughing at me and everyone else who bought this record. Every song is just a repetitive mess that I could have put together in 3 minutes with Protools, and feels especially shoddy given the fact that Daft Punk had years to work on this thing. Instead, they spent 6 weeks on it... and it shows. Expand
  19. cesard
    Mar 18, 2005
    10
    give it some time
  20. marcusr
    Mar 20, 2005
    4
    Blah. Without the creativity, groove or attention to detail of any of the previous records, this album manages to feel depressing and restless at the same time.
  21. TimC
    Mar 20, 2005
    10
    It's been great to hear some positive views of a fantastic album. I was getting a bit overwhelmed by ignorant reviews that somehow expected this inovative pair to churd out a few more predictable tunes. I found this album unfolding as I listened to it over and over. Read the Stylus review. Human After All is less a collection of radio-frinedly tunes than it is a humourous insight It's been great to hear some positive views of a fantastic album. I was getting a bit overwhelmed by ignorant reviews that somehow expected this inovative pair to churd out a few more predictable tunes. I found this album unfolding as I listened to it over and over. Read the Stylus review. Human After All is less a collection of radio-frinedly tunes than it is a humourous insight into the state of popular music today. Expand
  22. PaulG
    Mar 25, 2005
    2
    Rubbish, a rip off, i want my money back- what a dissapointment.These guys obviously needed the moneyand have discredited themselves.
  23. simianprince
    Mar 27, 2005
    10
    God creates man, man creates computer, computer creates Daft Punk. Don't be so quick to judge, try to listen.
  24. Decepticon_Pom
    Apr 27, 2005
    4
    How the mighty have fallen...
  25. JackS
    Apr 5, 2005
    9
    Daft Punk should gain the respect they deserve for this album! I bought it with high expectations and I felt I was thoroughly rewarded! I listen to Daft Punk for their own creative perspective on music, that I simply can't get enough of! The only thing that may discourage me is the fact there aren't more songs on the album (i.e. Discovery). Overall though, the album delivers Daft Punk should gain the respect they deserve for this album! I bought it with high expectations and I felt I was thoroughly rewarded! I listen to Daft Punk for their own creative perspective on music, that I simply can't get enough of! The only thing that may discourage me is the fact there aren't more songs on the album (i.e. Discovery). Overall though, the album delivers signature Daft Punk magic at its best!!! Expand
  26. neutro
    May 27, 2005
    8
    This album was an initial let down, but these songs grew on me fast - forget the past two albums and forget the critics, approach this unclouded by skepticism and comparisons to the other material if you can, because these tracks are highly infectious -as is-.
  27. ReggieS
    May 3, 2005
    9
    A few weeks ago i saw a picture of the new cover for Daft Punk's most recent release, ''Human After A;;'' in a circular in the news paper. Naturally at the prospect of new music from by far my favorite band i HAD to buy the CD! Immediately upon listening to the 1st track also titled ''Human After All'' I fell in love with Daft Punk all over A few weeks ago i saw a picture of the new cover for Daft Punk's most recent release, ''Human After A;;'' in a circular in the news paper. Naturally at the prospect of new music from by far my favorite band i HAD to buy the CD! Immediately upon listening to the 1st track also titled ''Human After All'' I fell in love with Daft Punk all over again. ''Human'' is still my favorite song after all these weeks. ''The Prime Time of Your Life'' really delivers an excellent and innovative song but after the 4th track with the exception of tracks 4 and 9 the CD seems to slip for me. Expand
  28. MattW.
    Jun 1, 2005
    10
    I for one love Daft Punk's individuality in the techno/ dance world and I have to say that this cd is awesome! I listen to rock (heavy metal which has a lot of guitars) and so the mainly guitar laden CD had me hooked from the first second of Human After All. Ever since I got this new cd I haven't stopped listening to it (until I go to sleep). Not all of the songs I like on this I for one love Daft Punk's individuality in the techno/ dance world and I have to say that this cd is awesome! I listen to rock (heavy metal which has a lot of guitars) and so the mainly guitar laden CD had me hooked from the first second of Human After All. Ever since I got this new cd I haven't stopped listening to it (until I go to sleep). Not all of the songs I like on this cd have guitars in them though. I aboslutely HATED Technologic until I heard the trance background hit it, then I realized that Daft Punk was the connection between my two favorite kinds of music: rock and techno. I have to say that some of their hit songs I never liked, but this new cd blew me away. It's almost perfect in the mixing of guitars, estranged vocals, and cool techno backgrounds. I have all 3 of their cds (I don't consider Alive in 1997 to be an album) and I have to say this cd was overall my favorite except for the fact that the cover art and the booklet were pathetically designed, colored, and all that good stuff (not to mention the cd is all black which made it kinda hard to read.) Oh and they could do with never channel surfing on a cd again, lol. Expand
  29. kennyM
    Feb 11, 2006
    4
    the number of good songs on this album - robot rock, steam machine, television rules the nation and technologig. the rest are monotonus and repetative to the point of nausia, the brainwasher in particular. male love makes me want to throw up. extremely disappointed.
  30. carlosa
    Nov 8, 2005
    10
    critics are wrong....if you just listen to it and take it for what it is you'll see how focused and powerful daft punk is on human after all
Metascore
57

Mixed or average reviews - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 28
  2. Negative: 4 out of 28
  1. Entertainment Weekly
    50
    Dominated by overly repetitive, lumbering throwaways. [18 Mar 2005, p.68]
  2. Apparently knocked off in just six weeks, Daft Punk's third album sounds like it took six days. Six short days. With long lunches.
  3. Blender
    50
    Feels desultory and numb, verging on autistic. [Apr 2005, p.116]