Human After All - Daft Punk
User Score
7.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 169 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 13 out of 169

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 1, 2010
    8
    This is a very good album. Personally even though i love Daft Punk they were a bit repetitive on tracks such as Steam Machine or BrainWasher. However the electric flow and robotic feel never quite leave you and keep you tuned in through the whole album. My biggest problem with this album is that it's toooooooo short. It's essentially 9 songs. 9 songs! Not enough daft punk :/.
  2. Dec 15, 2010
    10
    Human After All is a bit of a mixed bag for me. I don't really agree with all the atrocious reviews for it, but I can understand what these critics are trying to say. Most of the tracks don't really go anywhere. It's like the chorus the whole song. Some are catchy the whole way through, others are just a bit annoying after a bit. All In All, Daft Punk's Discovery was brilliant, but HumanHuman After All is a bit of a mixed bag for me. I don't really agree with all the atrocious reviews for it, but I can understand what these critics are trying to say. Most of the tracks don't really go anywhere. It's like the chorus the whole song. Some are catchy the whole way through, others are just a bit annoying after a bit. All In All, Daft Punk's Discovery was brilliant, but Human After All could 've been so much better. C+ Expand
  3. Jan 16, 2012
    10
    Human After All is an excellent album by one of the best artists that have ever existed. Maybe is not as good as its predecessor, but in my opinion at the same place as Homework, this record shows to the world what is real electronic music. Because a lot of people thinks that this dance-pop parasites and the awful remixes of their songs are electro. Nothing as far as reality. Human AfterHuman After All is an excellent album by one of the best artists that have ever existed. Maybe is not as good as its predecessor, but in my opinion at the same place as Homework, this record shows to the world what is real electronic music. Because a lot of people thinks that this dance-pop parasites and the awful remixes of their songs are electro. Nothing as far as reality. Human After All is the perfect example of this. Beginning with a masterpiece, the title track is simply awesome, one of the best Daft Punk songs. Prime Time Of Your Life is a strange song, with a lot of industrial music, but still cool. And then, Robot Rock. Epic. How, with a single riff, create something as brilliant. The best song of the CD. Steam Machine is the same story of the second track, but this kind of songs rules and make us see that DP is a very original band. Make Love is the opposite. A calmed song, with a single riff, but that really fits with the concept of art. Absolutely great. The Brainwasher is a great song to, direct to the spirit, effective. On/Off is only an introduction for what comes next, the best song with Robot Rock, Television Rules The Nation. Describe how amazing it is is impossible. Technologic is a fun song, that improves as it progresses. And the last song, Emotion, is a calmed song with a lot of feeling. In conclusion, a great album. Maybe some parts are repetitive, but who cares. It's Daft Punk, and Human After All is one of the tops of music in the 21st century. Expand
  4. May 26, 2013
    9
    Human After All is a piece of incomprehensible art made music; it's a classic of experimental electronic music that after being rejected at first, became one of those rare gems that people still jam, no mater how old they are. Human After All may be very far from the definition of human, but that just enlightens its dark nature, and its vast potential.
  5. Oct 8, 2011
    4
    Daft Punk is known for their hybrid of organic samples and high edge house music, their first two albums leaving catchy and beautiful songs. While Human After All's titular track is a great opener, the rest of the album just can't follow suit. Nearly everything is just a mirror of its first fifteen seconds. It's unfortunate just how repetitive it gets, and actually a little annoying. ThisDaft Punk is known for their hybrid of organic samples and high edge house music, their first two albums leaving catchy and beautiful songs. While Human After All's titular track is a great opener, the rest of the album just can't follow suit. Nearly everything is just a mirror of its first fifteen seconds. It's unfortunate just how repetitive it gets, and actually a little annoying. This is especially the case for tracks like "Robot Rock", "Technologic" and "Brainwasher". Then there are even stranger "songs" like "On/Off', a prelude to "Prime Time of Your Life" and worse, "Emotion", which is basically just a rendition of technologic with other sounds from the album. It's very disappointing, considering the duo's previous successes. Expand
  6. Apr 9, 2012
    6
    I love Daft Punk and I consider Discovery and Alive 2007 to be among my favorite musical works. However, it is painfully obvious that they didn't care about how this album turned out. Dull, repetitive, and boring would be the best words to describe this 'album.'

    I only give a 6/10 because DP redeemed themselves and this album by remixing it with Alive 2007.
  7. Aug 7, 2013
    5
    You don’t have to agree on this, but to me, Daft Punk’s Discovery is the best album that has ever been made in the genre of electronic music. I didn’t expect the album’s follow-up to be just as good as the aforementioned 2001 masterpiece, however, Human After All was really a huge disappointment. The French duo Thomas Bangalter and Guy Manuel De Homem-Christo are definitely two of the mostYou don’t have to agree on this, but to me, Daft Punk’s Discovery is the best album that has ever been made in the genre of electronic music. I didn’t expect the album’s follow-up to be just as good as the aforementioned 2001 masterpiece, however, Human After All was really a huge disappointment. The French duo Thomas Bangalter and Guy Manuel De Homem-Christo are definitely two of the most gifted men in electronic music and proved it with practically every one of the 14 songs on Discovery which made all reasonable listeners want to hear more. But with this release, every reasonable listener that isn’t the absolute Daft Punk fan boy, should have enough after the dreary ten songs. Why is that? Shouldn’t a period of four years between those two albums have given them even more time to compose intelligent and dulcet house music? No, because the 4-year interval wasn’t spend with making music Daft Punk was inert most of it. Not more than 2 freaking weeks were dispensed on the production of Human After All and as with most albums that are made in such a short spell, the audience can notice that very clearly. Almost all of the album’s songs are a short concept repeated with minor variations over the course of at least four minutes. Lyrics are sparse and intelligent lyrics even sparser, but they probably thought that Technologic, one of the four songs released as a single, would compensate that with what are likely more words than all other Daft Punk songs combined. A robot voice (not the only song to use that) repeats short phrases associated with working/production of something so often that you could incur the tonal version of an epileptic seizure. The album’s general idea that technology is something that humans should be way more skeptical about sounds interesting and indeed is in some of the songs, yet the composers don’t seem that interested in this thematic which leads us, the listeners, to the same feeling. The best parts about all of the songs are the beats, a subject in which Daft Punk has always been elusively good, and they admittedly impressed me the first time I head them. Songs like Robot Rock, The Brainwasher, or the album’s best, Make Love, are prone to multiple listens only because of the beats of course, since those songs are more or less instrumental. If this album were the debut of the duo, I wouldn’t be as critical about it, but if you take a look at all of Daft Punk’s previous work, it’s just an unfulfilling record: Too long, too simple, too meaningless. Expand
  8. Mar 13, 2013
    9
    Humongously underrated album. I'd take this album over Homework any day. Beat and builds that rival anything the duo had put together previously and a melodic melancholy I love getting lost in.
  9. Feb 7, 2014
    6
    In all its metallic, cold, crunchiness, Human After All, which was considered to be one of the most anticipated, yet disappointing albums of 2005 and in the EDM community overall, there's meaning -- or should I say purpose -- to be found here. Now it's almost been a decade since its release, and Daft Punk have since produced for the 2010 Walt Disney film Tron: Legacy and made one of theIn all its metallic, cold, crunchiness, Human After All, which was considered to be one of the most anticipated, yet disappointing albums of 2005 and in the EDM community overall, there's meaning -- or should I say purpose -- to be found here. Now it's almost been a decade since its release, and Daft Punk have since produced for the 2010 Walt Disney film Tron: Legacy and made one of the most memorable, critically acclaimed of 2010s thus far, Random Access Memories. And maybe because of that, time has been moderately kinder to this electronic "dud". After all, Thomas Bangalter and Guy-Manuel de Homen-Christo -- calling them by name since I'm an adoring fan myself -- intended for the album to have a robotic perception of what "being human" means. It's virtually devoid of any lyrics (aside from the often grating repetition of the song's names, respectively), so we're left with the music. And the results are hit-or-miss. "The Brainwasher" and "Technologic" are probably the somewhat most enjoyable of the bunch, matching its repetitive vodocers with some catchy techno that can easily be described in one word: "earworm". And the worst being "Robot Rock", one of Daft Punk's laziest use of sampling to date and a poor sequel to "Aerodynamic". However, one treasure (or at least by this album's standards) exists: "Make Love", an appealing, soothing throwback to their Discovery days; it's the album's "breather". So all-in-all, it's not by any means a very good album and it's justifiable for whomever finds it quite the opposite. For any Daft Punk fan, they've learned to at least commend its existence. Daft Punk are "Human After All" -- totally called for -- they're inclined to make flaws. Even robots do that every now and then. Expand
  10. Jul 23, 2013
    9
    When i heard this album for the first time i couldn't believe how bad it was. I felt like daft punk became lazy. Now, after listening to this for a few more times, my opinion radically changed and i actually see this as one of the best albums i've ever heard. It's not all good though; take "steam machine" for example. You've heard enough already before the beat kicks in. It's the same withWhen i heard this album for the first time i couldn't believe how bad it was. I felt like daft punk became lazy. Now, after listening to this for a few more times, my opinion radically changed and i actually see this as one of the best albums i've ever heard. It's not all good though; take "steam machine" for example. You've heard enough already before the beat kicks in. It's the same with "the brainwasher". But it's the masterpieces that make this album so great. And with masterpieces, i'm talking about song like the title track, "technologic" and "prime time of your life". They've really grown to me now. What i like as well, is that everything sounds so spontaneous. Behind all the robotic effects, it sounds more human than anything i hear on the radio right now.
    They only thing i don't like, is that it's so short. 9 tracks? Come on, i wanted more of this awesomeness!
    Expand
  11. Oct 3, 2013
    5
    Despite the clear goal of the album, it fails to hit the same chord Homework and Discovery were able to do. Overly repetitive, overly-sampling on Robot Rock (Breakwater-Release The Beast), and a rather boring album. The album may be a hit at dance clubs, but listening to this by yourself will bore you.
  12. Feb 16, 2014
    10
    Seeing the yellow tinge of average surrounding the mediocre score of this album surprises me, and frankly, most of the reviewers and critics who delivered a poor score on this album probably listened to it once and disregarded it automatically. One who sees a mere 57 out of 100 rating on an album would surely give it a miss - a mistake that many have made. Simply put, this album, whileSeeing the yellow tinge of average surrounding the mediocre score of this album surprises me, and frankly, most of the reviewers and critics who delivered a poor score on this album probably listened to it once and disregarded it automatically. One who sees a mere 57 out of 100 rating on an album would surely give it a miss - a mistake that many have made. Simply put, this album, while almost half the length of their first album and considerably shorter than their second, is a gem that deserves much warmer recognition it has now gained. A track like "Robot Rock" may be tiresome to sit through for some, but that song is an anthem. It is a rewarding listen. "Steam Machine" tinges with the whisper of the eponymous track title, darkening the album's tone further; and lighter tracks "Make Love" and "Emotion" show that Daft Punk can create a song in any positive or negative tone, and any genre they see fit.
    In my opinion, then, "Human After All" is yet another flying-colours pass by the French duo.
    Expand
  13. Jan 12, 2014
    4
    Human After All contain a few decent tracks (specifically, the title track, Robot Rock, and Technologic), but overall is a shockingly bad release from Daft Punk. Though Daft Punk, and House music in general, has been known for it repetitive nature, this album goes way over the top. The result is a sub-par album with little to commend, and a great deal to complain about. Though some mayHuman After All contain a few decent tracks (specifically, the title track, Robot Rock, and Technologic), but overall is a shockingly bad release from Daft Punk. Though Daft Punk, and House music in general, has been known for it repetitive nature, this album goes way over the top. The result is a sub-par album with little to commend, and a great deal to complain about. Though some may still enjoy this release, you must be willing to deal with incessantly repeating melodies that can easily grain on even the most patient of listeners, and be willing to accept that this album is leagues away from the style they established with Discovery and Homework. Expand
  14. Nov 19, 2014
    5
    Eh.... Probably the weakest album. It's not bad but most of it is really weak. It has it's own nice sound (Techno/Rock) that moves away from former dancey Daft Punk. Most of the album is pretty hit or miss though.
Metascore
57

Mixed or average reviews - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 28
  2. Negative: 4 out of 28
  1. Dominated by overly repetitive, lumbering throwaways. [18 Mar 2005, p.68]
  2. Apparently knocked off in just six weeks, Daft Punk's third album sounds like it took six days. Six short days. With long lunches.
  3. 50
    Feels desultory and numb, verging on autistic. [Apr 2005, p.116]