Human Conditions

  • Record Label: Virgin
  • Release Date: Feb 25, 2003
User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 27 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 27
  2. Negative: 4 out of 27

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. anshumans
    Oct 13, 2003
    7
    well, i had heard alot abt the verve...gotta know abt tem thru bitter sweet symphony.. what a track! well i liked this album at the first listen itself. meaningful lyrics,well balanced music,a good album man!!
  2. IñakiZ
    May 12, 2006
    9
    Pop Master! Brian Wilson sings on it!
  3. JuanR
    Aug 23, 2003
    9
    Directionless is the complete opposite meaning that goes with this piece of work. I thing that you really have to listen to it to understand and relate to his feelings when writing. I personally like a little bit more the band's albums but I still like this on a lot. If you find his lyrics directionless, I thing the problem is in your miss understanding.
  4. RickG
    Feb 27, 2003
    8
    Listen up, this is the real deal for a change from Richard. As a longtime Verve fan (having all EP's, CD's and even most on vinyl...), I have to say I was quite surprised by how good this record is. It more on par with what I expect of him and is on par with the last Verve album. While it's no Storm in Heaven (let's be realistic here), it's has moments definately Listen up, this is the real deal for a change from Richard. As a longtime Verve fan (having all EP's, CD's and even most on vinyl...), I have to say I was quite surprised by how good this record is. It more on par with what I expect of him and is on par with the last Verve album. While it's no Storm in Heaven (let's be realistic here), it's has moments definately worth checking out, esp if coming from verve-fandom. Standout tracks such as 'Check the Meaning', 'God in the Numbers', and the ethereal 'Running Away' are hard to dismiss as 'crap' if you give them a serious listen. Now if he could only get Nick McCabe involved somehow... Expand
  5. ying
    Nov 16, 2002
    9
    great music
  6. EvyeniaC
    Nov 18, 2002
    10
    I love Richard Ashcorft's new album Human Conditions! I am always amazed how his music and lyrics only get better and better. Thank God for this brilliant musical masterpiece!! I would recommend this to every person I know! Check the meaning is awesome!
  7. Apr 24, 2012
    7
    Second solo record from the former Verve front man. Not a bad record - it's got some good stuff on it, opening Check the Meaning is a top tune. There are a handful of other decent songs on here. There's also a few slow paced boring numbers that will help any insomniacs out there sleep soundly. Probably his strongest post Verve offering but nothing on here would get close to Urban Hymns. NoSecond solo record from the former Verve front man. Not a bad record - it's got some good stuff on it, opening Check the Meaning is a top tune. There are a handful of other decent songs on here. There's also a few slow paced boring numbers that will help any insomniacs out there sleep soundly. Probably his strongest post Verve offering but nothing on here would get close to Urban Hymns. No doubt Ashcroft is a talented song writer but consistency ain't his strong point. Expand
Metascore
61

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 15
  2. Negative: 2 out of 15
  1. Blender
    40
    Good living has tilted his writing from surefooted and universal to numbing and platitudinous, while his stormy passions are becalmed by an overwhelming production job. [#14, p.130]
  2. 60
    Human Conditions is the sound of Ashcroft searching for personal and spiritual connections and seeking higher truths in soaring pop choruses. All this existential meditation leaves us, like him, ultimately unfulfilled.
  3. Easily 30 minutes too long and four symphony orchestras too many, Human Conditions feels like a soundtrack to Barnum and Bailey, with Ashcroft’s earnest vocals drowned out by a cast of thousands.