Human

  • Record Label: Epic
  • Release Date: Dec 9, 2008
User Score
8.9

Universal acclaim- based on 35 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 35
  2. Negative: 3 out of 35

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 30, 2013
    10
    I love this album. Again just see Brandy doing something different with her sound. She does that with every album. I love the message of the songs. Her vocals are amazing! Great job Brandy!
  2. MikeyC.
    Dec 10, 2008
    10
    Very heartfelt album - probably Brandy's most introspective yet. While it's not as adventurous as Afrodisiac, it definitely makes up for it in depth of lyrics and Brandy's beautiful trademark harmonies. Standout tracks include Warm It Up, Long Distance, Right Here, Human & First And Love. The best R&B release of 2008!
  3. NeilM.
    Jan 1, 2009
    10
    Ok- so I'm one of those listeners, who has last.fm, and an iPod, and actually cares about what is ON his iPod, and when I hear a CD, I expect to delete any number of songs that I know I won't listen to. I couldn't do that with this album! This album is amazing! Every track from Departed to 1st & Love, Long Distance to Something's Missing... just a fantastic album! And Ok- so I'm one of those listeners, who has last.fm, and an iPod, and actually cares about what is ON his iPod, and when I hear a CD, I expect to delete any number of songs that I know I won't listen to. I couldn't do that with this album! This album is amazing! Every track from Departed to 1st & Love, Long Distance to Something's Missing... just a fantastic album! And I'm picky. Expand
  4. MoOne
    Dec 18, 2008
    10
    I have brought this CD and I have not stop playing this CD since I brought it. I love it!!! The songs are so meaningful. Brandy rocks!!
  5. MoniQ
    Dec 22, 2008
    9
    Beginning to end is lovely, clever and the best cd she dropped in awhile. Appropriately titled, shows off her range, good beats.. she is so underrated and this album speaks volumes about her as an artist.
  6. Larry
    Dec 9, 2008
    10
    I say this is some of Brandys best work yet! With every brandy album expect nothing less but song you can relate to while your happy or sad.
  7. JerryS
    Dec 22, 2008
    10
    I love every song! They may be slow but you feel them...She has a great talent! It may be pop, but pop with lots of heart and soul.
Metascore
67

Generally favorable reviews - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 10
  2. Negative: 1 out of 10
  1. Human is nothing if not a serious album, not to mention the least enjoyable release in Brandy's catalog. But it could very well be her most useful one.
  2. The former "Moesha" star has never made a bad album, and she's not starting now with the appropriately rich and varied Human.
  3. The huskiness that defined Brandy's prior work has been replaced by wispier and higher tones. The result is pleasant but far less ambitious than her last CD, 2004's "Afrodisiac."