Human

  • Record Label: Columbia
  • Release Date: Feb 10, 2017
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
Buy On
  1. Apr 19, 2017
    100
    It is a reminder that, beyond the thrill-seeking singles, the mainstream audience still favour meaningful, emotional songs, delivered with passion. Rag ’n’ Bone Man’s debut is full of them.
  2. Feb 9, 2017
    80
    Human is an impressive, life-affirming record chock-full of hooks and classy, grown-up production. Praise be.
  3. When it comes to big, belting choruses backed with equally sizeable orchestration, Graham doesn’t muck about.
  4. Mojo
    Feb 2, 2017
    80
    A crop of high quality songs and instrumentals played with dazzling finger-picking. [Mar 2017, p.90]
  5. Feb 13, 2017
    60
    Like any prospective chartbuster, it frontloads its biggest bangers and lets anything more interesting linger in the later stages of the record, when the more passive listeners have tuned out. But those forays are occasional at best, and as an artistic statement this debut album is somewhat limited.
  6. Feb 13, 2017
    60
    It’s a good job that Rag’n’Bone Man has the kind of righteous roar that could breathe life into the phone book, because this album spools together a set of reliable tropes with little in the way of topspin.
  7. Feb 9, 2017
    60
    There’s too much bland, Identikit retro soul, the tasteful production becomes stifling, and the lyrics tip from heartfelt and personal into cliched and overwrought. Thankfully, there are still times when he cuts loose.
  8. Q Magazine
    Feb 2, 2017
    60
    Too many of the album's more poignant moments suffer from a slick but formulaic production. ... Graham is at his best when he delivers it straight. [Mar 2017, p.114]
  9. 60
    Singles "Human" and "Skin" are due their high praise, but there seems little soul to the rest of proceedings.
  10. Feb 13, 2017
    50
    The problem with Human (the album) is that it feels like it’s been over tooled for success, that the commercial facets of his talents have been blown up at the expense of what might have actually made him interesting.
  11. Uncut
    Feb 2, 2017
    50
    Delve further into Human, though, and you find sterile R&B and schlocky, overwrought lyrics. [Mar 2017, p.37]
  12. 40
    Things go rapidly downhill, soured by the earnest, self-important tone of songs like “Grace” and “Ego”; while “Love You Any Less” is just achingly dull, a slice of blandly sepia soulfulness that stains the songs around it.
  13. Feb 6, 2017
    40
    Sure, Graham’s voice is powerful; not Levi Stubbs powerful, perhaps, but muscular and versatile nonetheless. It’s a shame, though, that even its most melismatic hints of adventure feel carefully rehearsed; slickly produced beyond any sense of risk or catharsis.
User Score
5.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 21 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 2
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 2
  3. Negative: 1 out of 2
  1. Feb 10, 2017
    8
    Songs such as Human and Skin have entered the charts and made a dent. Meanwhile Rory Graham (Rag 'N' Bone Man) has been nominated for numerousSongs such as Human and Skin have entered the charts and made a dent. Meanwhile Rory Graham (Rag 'N' Bone Man) has been nominated for numerous 'new-comer' awards. Has his album lived up to the hype? In one word, yes.

    The longer answer is that there are some great songs on this album including the aforementioned singles. Other favourites of mine are Bitter End, Be The Man and Ego which all pack an emotional punch alongside the great voice. Grace and Die Easy are well worth a listen, whilst some others such as Arrow, Odetta and Love You Any Less seemed fairly non-descript and passed me by.

    Some tracks off the deluxe edition, The Fire, Healed, Life in Her Yet and Lay My Body Down, I actually think would've made stronger additions than the latterly mentioned songs. As long as they're in my life though - I'm happy!

    Overall it is a strong commercial debut, and the punch of the better songs carry it through - I'm looking forward to seeing more from Rag's in future!
    Full Review »
  2. Mar 4, 2017
    0
    Before a contestant sung his single (Human) on X Factor, he was nobody. And now that his single has reached minor fame it's clear to me thatBefore a contestant sung his single (Human) on X Factor, he was nobody. And now that his single has reached minor fame it's clear to me that he is a copy of Hozier (and certainly worse than him). While listening to this album i was bored to the death as i listened to 19 versions of 'Human'. It should be titled 'Human (The Remixes)'.

    Best Song(s) -
    N/A

    Worst Song(s)
    All of them
    Full Review »