• Record Label: Domino
  • Release Date: Aug 25, 2009
User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 242 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 5 out of 242

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 1, 2013
    4
    This album feels an sounds like a quarter life crisis. Are the tunes, riffs and songwriting strong? Yes. But at the end of it all they fail to make me care or connect as a listener. A few strong tracks would have made a memorable EP, but they really couldn't afford to make yet another one of those. Yawn. Next please Monkeys.
  2. CG
    Dec 5, 2009
    9
    Arctic Monkeys continue to progress and Alex Turner continues to show that he is one of the best songwriters going at the moment.
  3. CamD
    Aug 29, 2009
    7
    As an album, it doesn't hold up too well. But there are a few select tracks that are quite strong on their own.
  4. AlC
    Sep 11, 2009
    10
    It really is a grower. My Propeller is a brilliant opener.
  5. Jan 20, 2012
    6
    'Humbug' has many strong moments ('Crying Lighning' and 'Secret Door' are some of their best) but is a much more confusing and difficult album than Arctic Monkeys are able to pull off. A very daring and dangerous move than doesn't exactly crash and burn but probably wasn't worth all the experimentation. Not dreadful but a bit on the boring side from a band who are at their best with'Humbug' has many strong moments ('Crying Lighning' and 'Secret Door' are some of their best) but is a much more confusing and difficult album than Arctic Monkeys are able to pull off. A very daring and dangerous move than doesn't exactly crash and burn but probably wasn't worth all the experimentation. Not dreadful but a bit on the boring side from a band who are at their best with energetic riffs and exciting beats that 'Humbug' doesn't really present. Expand
  6. BrianH
    Nov 13, 2009
    10
    This entire album "Makes my head pirouette!!!".
  7. WoutN.
    Nov 29, 2009
    7
    Good album, good album. Unfortunately it is less good than the first two albums. Whatever People Say was the best, good rock en pop too. Favourite Worst Nightmare was okay, but less than their first. And this one... where is the real AM? This one is too soft. Not that it's bad! No, eally it is okay... but it could been better!
  8. Tsar
    Nov 8, 2009
    7
    Well, I used to love Arctic Monkeys. And I got so excited for the release of this album. So I bought one after the release date. To be honest, I'm looking for the fast drum beats, and awesome riffs that i didn't get with this album. Favorite Worst Nightmare and their style is the best. They are quite boring this time. And sort of recreating some of The Smiths songs.
  9. danted
    Aug 27, 2009
    4
    Nothing new, nothing original, in some songs sound like nirvana, in other like prodigy, and other bands, very disappointing.
  10. drunkestepdaddad
    Aug 29, 2009
    5
    Lucky 'nuf to have caught the sonar & starland ballroom shows 1st us tour. Band sorta went south after jettisoning original bass player. Fav wurst nightmare tour at electric factory a bit of (to say the least) a letdown. here's hoping new record will grow on me, but really waiting on return of authentic line-up. Alex turner's a friggin' Shakespeare when he's onLucky 'nuf to have caught the sonar & starland ballroom shows 1st us tour. Band sorta went south after jettisoning original bass player. Fav wurst nightmare tour at electric factory a bit of (to say the least) a letdown. here's hoping new record will grow on me, but really waiting on return of authentic line-up. Alex turner's a friggin' Shakespeare when he's on about shit he knows, less engaging as dilettante. Expand
  11. Sep 14, 2011
    5
    The energy of the Monkeys have gone away in this album (and luckily came back in the following "Suck It And See") and they seem to be carrying a rock. Still, some songs as "My Propeller", "Secret Door" and "Dance Little Liar" have interesting melodies as well as lyrics. Not their best, but now we know Arctic Monkeys recovered.
  12. TiagoA
    Aug 26, 2009
    0
    I don't Like this band , they get worse and worse. This album it's ridiculous.
  13. NachoC.
    Aug 25, 2009
    3
    Like the Kings of Leon, the Arctic Monkeys lost that rebellion that fueled their inspirations and made them the unique bands that they were but now they have turned into something more along the lines of Corporate Jingles. I tried liking this album, I really did, but Humbug was just extremely disappointing.
  14. TwelveV.
    Sep 6, 2009
    9
    This is another great record, as usual takes a few listens but worth it. Could be album of the year.
  15. FredB
    Oct 16, 2009
    10
    Grown up a lot on this album with a darker and more mature sound. Each album they produce shows progression and Humbug is no different. Turner's lyrical turn of phrase is once again the highlight for this young band, and its backed up by his Shadow Puppets-esque vocal delivery. I'm looking forward to where they go next. Standout tracks: Cornerstone, Dance Little Liar, The Grown up a lot on this album with a darker and more mature sound. Each album they produce shows progression and Humbug is no different. Turner's lyrical turn of phrase is once again the highlight for this young band, and its backed up by his Shadow Puppets-esque vocal delivery. I'm looking forward to where they go next. Standout tracks: Cornerstone, Dance Little Liar, The Jeweller's Hand and excellent lead single Crying Lightning. Expand
  16. franzc
    Aug 26, 2009
    9
    Great album, it grows every time i listen it!
  17. HelenH
    Sep 1, 2009
    10
    Superb, how gobsmackingly uneasily poignant is Cornerstone!!
  18. Ramirez
    Sep 26, 2009
    6
    It's still all too dry sounding, sometimes a good idea gets raped by quite mediocre musicianship -what's with the lame ending in that uhm (dare i call it a) 'solo' during leadsingle Crying Lightning for example? But more often it's the other way round: a really mediocre melody becomes an ok song due to an inventive typically Monkeys rythm-change (remember Fake It's still all too dry sounding, sometimes a good idea gets raped by quite mediocre musicianship -what's with the lame ending in that uhm (dare i call it a) 'solo' during leadsingle Crying Lightning for example? But more often it's the other way round: a really mediocre melody becomes an ok song due to an inventive typically Monkeys rythm-change (remember Fake Tales of San Fransisco and many others? here we see it in Dance Little Liar eg). That however doesnt make the song suddenly mindblowing either, and that's exactly my problem with the Arctics. The level of mediocricity they keep reaching since their great debut. Dance Little Liar, My Propeller and Secret Door are good though. Overall, not as good as their debut but better again after the dreadful Favourite worst nightmare, just a good album nothing more nothing less. Though they should change their sound more drastically by making it more melodically, a few effects ebows etc to keep the interest in their band alive otherwise this once hyped band will quickly fade away i'm afraid... However, lyrically as always, excellent. Expand
  19. jyotirmayad.
    Sep 28, 2009
    7
    I immediately liked the pace and sound of it. ...a very smooth recording with hardly any ups or downs. ...evenly paced, it is undoubtedly influenced by the singer's other project - Last Shadow Puppets - which is a 60s shoegazer project.
  20. RobertoR
    Sep 3, 2009
    9
    Darker and more mature then the previous 2 albulms, but innovative and attractive... monkeys growing better every year!
  21. Joe
    Nov 4, 2009
    8
    Really good album, one of the best albums I've heard all year. It's a more mature release than Favorite Worst Nightmare. The music is dark and hard something you would expect from Josh Homme (Queens of the Stoneage). It'll be interesting to see where they go from here.
  22. BrynT.
    Oct 5, 2009
    6
    Not a bad album, not great either; but more importantly it was hugely unoriginal and cringinly copycat smiths-blur influences etc. at times.
  23. JordanS.
    Oct 8, 2009
    10
    This is the Arctic Monkeys best album yet and one of the best of the year. Songs like "Cornerstone", "Dangerous Animals" and "Pretty Visitors" really showcase Alex Turner's exceptional writing ability, which is the reason why I love the Monkeys. I think that anybody will be able to enjoy this, but it takes ten to fifteen listens for it to grow on you. Even so, it is most definitely This is the Arctic Monkeys best album yet and one of the best of the year. Songs like "Cornerstone", "Dangerous Animals" and "Pretty Visitors" really showcase Alex Turner's exceptional writing ability, which is the reason why I love the Monkeys. I think that anybody will be able to enjoy this, but it takes ten to fifteen listens for it to grow on you. Even so, it is most definitely worth all the time you can put into it. Expand
  24. HughTheAutomator
    Aug 25, 2009
    10
    This album needs time and commitment. If you do, you are subject to slavery. At first listened I missed the "fast" monkeys. What they lost in speed they double won it on depth.
  25. OmarC
    Aug 26, 2009
    8
    Turner remains a lyrical genius, and the music is darker and sexier than ever. It lacks an anthem, but that's easily compensated for with tracks like 'Cornerstone'. I'm not convinced that this sound will remain, but rather an example of the band looking to explore - and I rather like it.
  26. ScottM
    Aug 27, 2009
    10
    Tough to get into at first, but once it hits you its easily their best album.
  27. MateoG
    Aug 30, 2009
    9
    Definitely their best yet!!! They get even better with time, and this new sound fits them perfectly...You'll like it even more after repeating listenings....This a more mature and darker sound, with 60's psychedelic music influences ranging from The Doors, to Black Sabbath.
  28. jamesa
    Sep 1, 2009
    8
    Each album has its own style ,and heres another one very welcome to my ears! Gets better everytime i listen to it!!
  29. RickZ
    Sep 17, 2009
    8
    It takes a few listens to let it grow on you, but it sure does pay off. It is a nice thing to see the band really mature. All three albums were in a different style and I really like the direction they're heading right now. Give it a chance. Love it.
  30. DormánM.
    Sep 24, 2009
    10
    Thats the best tricky dark music.
  31. RicardoC.
    Sep 2, 2009
    6
    The album is depressive in a way that doesn't get to you, it just gets you bored. The only decent songs are the first two.
  32. JanK.
    Sep 6, 2009
    9
    Love this album,and it just keeps getting better.
  33. JordanM.
    Sep 7, 2009
    9
    Their debut album was possibly the best album ever in my and many other peoples eyes, not many bands can please, no extremely excite people of all ages, race and religion, but the monkeys first album (WPSIATIWIAN) did this, Favourite Worst Nightmare was not too different from the first album, a few new effects on the mic and guitars and the monkeys decide to show their endless talent by Their debut album was possibly the best album ever in my and many other peoples eyes, not many bands can please, no extremely excite people of all ages, race and religion, but the monkeys first album (WPSIATIWIAN) did this, Favourite Worst Nightmare was not too different from the first album, a few new effects on the mic and guitars and the monkeys decide to show their endless talent by playing more interesting instruments. Both of the albums followed the same sort of formula, a fast and loud opening to the album where Matt Helders skillfull drumming pulls you in, followed by a few of the and just as enjoyable tune, usually including one of the hits, then slowing it down a bit in the middle of the album (WPSIATIWIAN - Riot Van), (Favourite Worst Nightmare - Only Ones Who Know) and then living the mood up again with more energetic teen pleasers then bunging another hit towards the end and then finishing with a long melodic ups and downs sort of song that leaves you humming the jangly guitar outa buzzing in your head... Humbug totally goes against their usually formula, the album starting with both catchy and calm yet aggressive songs and then just having the mood of the album change every song then ending with still a very long song but a very minor tone to the song and yes it does have a jangly guitar sound to finish but its not one that is supposed to keep you humming, one to let you know that they will be back, like a tune played into at the end of a hollywood film that expects to have a sequal when the main charachter vanishes into the horizon and your left wondering... whats going to happen? It cant end so sad! The alsbum is a very good album, an album i will probably cherish and love for the rest of my life like the other two, but just falls short of the quality of WPSIATIWIAN and Favourite Worst Nightmare. Expand
  34. SteveH
    Sep 8, 2009
    10
    The first two albums were very good but this incredibly tops it, it is hard to put it down it is so good. Takes a few spins but it is well worth it.
  35. Yura
    Sep 9, 2009
    9
    Awesome darkness. Pure rock.
  36. VinnyG
    Jan 20, 2010
    9
    At first I thought this album was a bit too slow, moody,and hohum and borrowed too much frrom Josh Hommes/QOTSA, but after about 10 listens I've completely changed my opinion. At first listen, it sounds like they lost all of their energy and traded it for a sound with phony "depth." However, this album actually has real depth and is overall quite solid and mature. My Propeller, At first I thought this album was a bit too slow, moody,and hohum and borrowed too much frrom Josh Hommes/QOTSA, but after about 10 listens I've completely changed my opinion. At first listen, it sounds like they lost all of their energy and traded it for a sound with phony "depth." However, this album actually has real depth and is overall quite solid and mature. My Propeller, Crying Lightning, Cornerstone, Dangerous Animals, and Pretty Visitors are standout tracks. This one's definitely a grower. My other favorite albums of 2009: Muse "the resistance", Julian Casablancas "phrazes for the young," and Passion Pit "Manners." Expand
  37. MihaiV
    Nov 6, 2009
    9
    Might be their most consistent album.
  38. NicholasM
    Aug 25, 2009
    10
    Most of the people downvoting it are doing so cause it's just not their debut album (Part II), the album shows them embracing new sounds and releasing an album with Alex Turner's finest lyrics to date, definitely a grower of an album, but a classic once you get past that
  39. Bman
    Aug 25, 2009
    9
    Not as catchy as their previous works. But a good album nonetheless. Turners lyrics have become more metaphorical and harder to decipher. The music is much looser when compared to the fast, tight sound they are known for. Stand-outs for me are Potion Approaching, The Fire and the Thud and Dance Little Liar. Hopefully their next album sounds just as unique.
  40. dx
    Aug 25, 2009
    10
    It's sort of hard to believe that this is the same band that wrote songs like "I Bet You Look Good On the Dancefloor". Their songs are a bit moodier now, but show that the lads are heading in a great new direction. It's definitely a grower!
  41. AC
    Aug 25, 2009
    9
    Agree with Nicholas M, I think this album is a definite grower and people shouldnt dismiss it for its change in sound. Turner's lyrics are at their best and the band's adoption of new sounds should be applauded. Nacho C. is a complete twat. Where as Kings Of Leon certainly commercialised their sound, Arctic Monkeys turned to Josh Homme (QOTSA) to produce Humbug. The result is a Agree with Nicholas M, I think this album is a definite grower and people shouldnt dismiss it for its change in sound. Turner's lyrics are at their best and the band's adoption of new sounds should be applauded. Nacho C. is a complete twat. Where as Kings Of Leon certainly commercialised their sound, Arctic Monkeys turned to Josh Homme (QOTSA) to produce Humbug. The result is a farcry from an album of Corporate Jingles (had the band made a release with Rick Rubin producing you might of had a point). If your after a corporate jingle have another listen to 'I Bet You Look Good On The Dancefloor'. Expand
  42. AdamK
    Aug 25, 2009
    10
    Great album. Arctic Monkeys best effort so far. I really like Pretty Visitors, My Propeller, Cornerstone and the best track on the album The Jewellers Hands.
  43. Xoip
    Aug 26, 2009
    10
    I prefer this album to the other two, it's a grower yes, but a really solid great album.
  44. sVc.
    Aug 27, 2009
    8
    I was wondering how other fans of Arctic Monkeys were going to take this new album, but most seem to be in line with how I feel. This is quite a departure from "Favourite Worste Nightmare" & "Whatever People Say..." I like every song on this this one, as with the previous ones, but obviously they've gone in a different direction. With the exception of "Potion Approaching" & "Pretty I was wondering how other fans of Arctic Monkeys were going to take this new album, but most seem to be in line with how I feel. This is quite a departure from "Favourite Worste Nightmare" & "Whatever People Say..." I like every song on this this one, as with the previous ones, but obviously they've gone in a different direction. With the exception of "Potion Approaching" & "Pretty Visitors" there are no real upbeat, fast songs. I find it difficult to listen to the album as a whole- meaning all the way thru from track 1 thru track 10. But listening to them individually, two or three tracks at a time, I like every song. Maybe that's odd, but who cares. Turner's vocals remind me alot like Morrissey's and the lyrics are more cryptic. "Crashing Lightning" is probably one of the best singles released by anyone this year. Whatever...it's still good rock & roll music. If they want to keep experimenting, I say go right ahead... Expand
  45. FranX
    Aug 28, 2009
    9
    Surprimes me one more time.
  46. dacre
    Aug 30, 2009
    6
    Another example of an overproduced album. All the rawness of their previous releases is gone. They have basically followed the same course as The Strokes. That's too bad.
  47. ChrisM
    Aug 30, 2009
    9
    Not a perfect record, but incredibly enjoyable. Josh Homme's influence comes shining through, making for a darker, harder, slower sound. If you like rock and you like the Arctic Monkeys, there's a lot to like in this record.
  48. Ginzu
    Sep 17, 2009
    9
    Liked the first album, loathed the 2nd, but absolutely loved this album. This is probably due to songs like Cornerstone, Secret Door, Dangerous Animals. I think they've really matured and for the most part don't feel the need to amp it up every second, this is a good thing. The album sounds great live too!
  49. dstroup
    Sep 19, 2009
    9
    Great album! Homme really brought out the desert rock sound and Queensesque stomps to this album. 2 minutes into Potion Approaching....."Oooh Yeah"- spoken in Duffmans voice
  50. KyleB.
    Sep 5, 2009
    9
    Great album Great band and Great songs. Well done Arctic Monkeys
  51. RobertP.
    Sep 9, 2009
    10
    they began there saying that famous phrase:"WHatever people say i am, that's what i'm not...", no words to say if you realize that they can be whatever they want, you cant classify them as anythin but that won't be what they are... THis album shows they are not stupid enough to follow that "hype" groups are always looking for, just enjoy them, they are no contaminated they began there saying that famous phrase:"WHatever people say i am, that's what i'm not...", no words to say if you realize that they can be whatever they want, you cant classify them as anythin but that won't be what they are... THis album shows they are not stupid enough to follow that "hype" groups are always looking for, just enjoy them, they are no contaminated "jet". Every song in this album is a grower, that's why I give it a ten, not because of the first words. Expand
  52. EricJ.
    Oct 18, 2009
    9
    I personally thought that Humbug was a refreshing turn on the Arctic Monkeys albums. I like the new Arctic Monkeys psychedelic feel. The only thing was cornerstone didn't seem like it fit that well in the album, better in a single only.
  53. RobD
    Aug 26, 2009
    10
    I loved the first album, really changed my whole style of music for the past four years. Second album was great too, was surprised that they didn't have the sophomore slump. This album!, brilliant. I think i like it better then both the previous ones. Granted, i have had it for over a month and have listened to it non stop. After about ten listens, you will see how truly amazing this I loved the first album, really changed my whole style of music for the past four years. Second album was great too, was surprised that they didn't have the sophomore slump. This album!, brilliant. I think i like it better then both the previous ones. Granted, i have had it for over a month and have listened to it non stop. After about ten listens, you will see how truly amazing this album is. Expand
  54. Courtney
    Aug 27, 2009
    9
    This album is not love at first listen. But I found that about the end of Favourite Worst Nightmare and those are the songs I still listen to off that album. You'll be rewarded by repeat listens, which is something most of the reviewers here aren't going to do. The catchiness isn't immediate but definitely will grab you strongly.
  55. TonyM
    Aug 27, 2009
    9
    With each album the monkeys have taken a few steps in new directions, Humbug see's them go for a darker more menacing sound. stay with this album and you will richly rewarded.
  56. Nov 6, 2010
    10
    For all of those people who claim that the Monkeys have lost their luster have a very low appreciation for music. The Arctic Monkeys are showing a mature, artsy, pure Rock side of them that I can safely say is genius. I hope they stay on this course, but being the Monkeys fan that I am, I'm sure they can't disappoint.
    Humbug is a beautiful album, enveloped with soul and energy. I recommend
    For all of those people who claim that the Monkeys have lost their luster have a very low appreciation for music. The Arctic Monkeys are showing a mature, artsy, pure Rock side of them that I can safely say is genius. I hope they stay on this course, but being the Monkeys fan that I am, I'm sure they can't disappoint.
    Humbug is a beautiful album, enveloped with soul and energy. I recommend it to the open minded.
    Collapse
  57. Nov 30, 2010
    10
    This is just a solid album throughout. I hadn't payed much attention to this band due to my fear (heh) that they'd sound like every other band out there, minus the semi-regular few that put out original and interesting music. Well I gave Humbug a shot, and after the first play through I found a couple tracks that immediately stuck, but it didn't quite stick with me, alot of the tracksThis is just a solid album throughout. I hadn't payed much attention to this band due to my fear (heh) that they'd sound like every other band out there, minus the semi-regular few that put out original and interesting music. Well I gave Humbug a shot, and after the first play through I found a couple tracks that immediately stuck, but it didn't quite stick with me, alot of the tracks sounded the same and I didn't quite like the song structure. Well it took a couple more plays through, but it's finally gotten a hold of me and it is fair to say this is one of my favourite albums in rotation curently. Expand
  58. Nov 26, 2010
    8
    Humbug is a very strange album opposed to the Arctic Monkeys predecessors. Instead of the hooky guitar riffs and Alex Turner's witty lyrics, we get a more dark, psychedelic album that you either love or you hate. As for me, I loved it. These songs are dark and have a great tune to them. The opening track "My Propeller" is a great way to start the album off with. And the second trackHumbug is a very strange album opposed to the Arctic Monkeys predecessors. Instead of the hooky guitar riffs and Alex Turner's witty lyrics, we get a more dark, psychedelic album that you either love or you hate. As for me, I loved it. These songs are dark and have a great tune to them. The opening track "My Propeller" is a great way to start the album off with. And the second track "Crying Lightning" is easily the best song on the album. You can tell throughout the album that Alex Turner's voice has matured. All In All, Humbug is a very different kind of sound from Favourite Worst Nightmare and Whatever People Say, but it's a turn for the best. B+ Expand
  59. Feb 10, 2011
    9
    For the two previous albums it is very easy to see the change to a more melodic song but this is not necessarily bad, and songs like "Secret Door" prove it. Album that easily addictive.
  60. Mar 22, 2011
    9
    This album is different. If you were expecting the same old stuff from Arctic Monkeys then you were proved very wrong with 'Humbug.' It has caused division but its a progressive album signalling that the Monkeys are maturing and delivering a more assured and darker sound than before. While some might dislike it, its a grower! And this album is the best evidence of all (if you needed anyThis album is different. If you were expecting the same old stuff from Arctic Monkeys then you were proved very wrong with 'Humbug.' It has caused division but its a progressive album signalling that the Monkeys are maturing and delivering a more assured and darker sound than before. While some might dislike it, its a grower! And this album is the best evidence of all (if you needed any more) that Alex Turner is the greatest songwriter on the planet just now. His lyrics on this album are amazing. Cornerstone is genius, and his songwriting ability is fulfilled to the maximum in particular on this and Dangerous Animals and Pretty Visitors. Don't expect any anthems aboard here just pure innovative sound of the Monkeys exploring different sounds. My Propeller is probably as close to the previous outings as you will get. Secret Door and Potion Approaching are amongst some of the best songs on the album but make no mistake the Monkeys are evolving, exploring and maturing just give Humbug the chance to shine and you wont regret it! Expand
  61. Apr 8, 2011
    9
    Excellent album, great experimentation and growth from the first two albums. Opens up a whole new area for them and expands them from being an amazing catchy witty band into a fully fledged rock band.
  62. Jun 8, 2011
    8
    A menacing, foreboding and psychedelic record, the Monkeys really show a desire to push the boundaries on Humbug (that is, if they had any). Spin it several times and you'll find it growing on you, as it doesn't replicate the hooks and melody of the first two albums, but pulls you in with the atmosphere and talented songwriting.
  63. May 28, 2011
    8
    Never has an album grown on me so much. On the first listen I was extremely disappointed, thought it seemed restrained and lacking ideas and the energy which made them such an exciting band to love. After repeat listens you realise the hidden depths that the CD has, the time signatures, the lyrical crypticness which can tug at your heart and the mature influence from Josh Homme is at timesNever has an album grown on me so much. On the first listen I was extremely disappointed, thought it seemed restrained and lacking ideas and the energy which made them such an exciting band to love. After repeat listens you realise the hidden depths that the CD has, the time signatures, the lyrical crypticness which can tug at your heart and the mature influence from Josh Homme is at times clear. What initially seemed like restraint, is actually refinement and progression. STILL, possibly their worst album. (Says it all) Expand
  64. Jun 13, 2011
    6
    I was expecting so much from this album and couldn't help but be disappointed. There are some decent tracks but as an album it just doesn't seem to come together. The first 2 albums have this quality that demands you listen to the albums over and over while Humbug just doesn't. Overall, overproduced and underwhelming.
  65. j30
    Aug 15, 2011
    9
    They haven't reached these dark territories up to this point. This was my favorite album from 2009. You can hear Josh Homme's production all over this record (which isn't a bad thing). Alex Turner's lyrics/social commentary is a revolution (he progresses every album). Can't wait to see where they go from here.
  66. Oct 20, 2011
    6
    Not all that bad an album but I have to say it was a disappointment after the class of the Arctic Monkeys first 2 albums. It's not without it's moments - Crying Lightning and Pretty Little Visitors are as good as they've produced but there are a lot of tracks on this that are dreary, dull and boring. In fairness, the band did try out a different sound here and perhaps the production is toNot all that bad an album but I have to say it was a disappointment after the class of the Arctic Monkeys first 2 albums. It's not without it's moments - Crying Lightning and Pretty Little Visitors are as good as they've produced but there are a lot of tracks on this that are dreary, dull and boring. In fairness, the band did try out a different sound here and perhaps the production is to blame for the dreary feeling of the album. The bands poorest album I think and one I'd rarely play in full any more. Expand
  67. Aug 8, 2012
    7
    For my opinion, 10 songs on one album are just too few. Even more, when half of them are soft, boring and unspectacular. As you see with "My Propeller", "Crying Lightning", "Secret Door" or "Cornerstone", they still have the ability to write good songs. Unfortunately all other songs are just fill-ins for this disappointing third creation by the impressive English indie rock band. Could'veFor my opinion, 10 songs on one album are just too few. Even more, when half of them are soft, boring and unspectacular. As you see with "My Propeller", "Crying Lightning", "Secret Door" or "Cornerstone", they still have the ability to write good songs. Unfortunately all other songs are just fill-ins for this disappointing third creation by the impressive English indie rock band. Could've been much better! Expand
  68. Jan 3, 2015
    9
    Most people could argue that after two energetic and fantastic albums, Humbug feels tasteless or too passive to be rock (or at their level). In my opinion, it just serves as a departure; a sign of maturation, and something the Arctic Monkeys could never manage before: produce slow songs with substance and true depth. This effort, then, has ultimately turned out to be their most cohesiveMost people could argue that after two energetic and fantastic albums, Humbug feels tasteless or too passive to be rock (or at their level). In my opinion, it just serves as a departure; a sign of maturation, and something the Arctic Monkeys could never manage before: produce slow songs with substance and true depth. This effort, then, has ultimately turned out to be their most cohesive album so far. Expand
  69. Nov 11, 2014
    9
    Bro at first I wasn't a massive fan of this album at first but after I listened to it a second time I thought it was great. Crying Lightning just brought this album alive.
  70. May 19, 2015
    10
    A breath of fresh air from the rowdy style of Arctic Monkey's two previous albums. Every track on this album is killer, especially lyrically. Alex Turner is a lyrical genius, and really steps it up from the more straight-forward lyrics from the other albums. Sometimes you've really got to decipher what he's saying, as he uses his well plotted metaphors to his advantage. Overall an amazingA breath of fresh air from the rowdy style of Arctic Monkey's two previous albums. Every track on this album is killer, especially lyrically. Alex Turner is a lyrical genius, and really steps it up from the more straight-forward lyrics from the other albums. Sometimes you've really got to decipher what he's saying, as he uses his well plotted metaphors to his advantage. Overall an amazing album, and a personal favorite of mine. Expand
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. Since so much of Humbug is about its process, it's not always immediately accessible or pleasurable to an outside listener, nor is it quite the thickly colored freakout Homme's presence suggests.
  2. Turner’s defense mechanisms are as honed and as vicious as his rather formidable bullshit detector has proven to be in albums past, and whatever Humbug lacks in middle fingers, or even thematic continuity, it makes up for with sinister gazes and scathing ambiguities.
  3. Humbug isn't better than either of its predecessors, but it expands the group's range and makes me curious where it might go next.