• Record Label: Pop Sex
  • Release Date: Feb 21, 2011

Generally favorable reviews - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Q Magazine
    Apr 6, 2011
    Hunger's three-minute nuggets blend '80s guitar jangle with doo-wop harmonies, the nostalgic charm offset by the neurotic intensity of both the lyrics and frontman Frankie Francis's desperate vocals. [Mar 2011, p.104]
  2. Mar 31, 2011
    Favouring shamelessly blokey call-and-response hooks and not averse to "woos" and "woah-woah-woahs", these tales of love chased, lost and briefly enjoyed are delivered with an infectious enthusiasm and blessed with production by Edwyn Collins.
  3. 80
    Ten tracks of exuberant, blissful pop later and it looks like the Mackem lads have actually come good on their promise.
  4. Dec 9, 2011
    The new wave funk of "Ungrateful" and the Franz Ferdinand-esque "It's Obvious" shows the bandmembers aren't averse to the odd indie disco anthem, but the album is much more convincing when it embraces the spiky romanticism of the group's obvious influences.
  5. Mar 31, 2011
    Even when tracks pass without too much of an impression left, the listener is never without a smile on their face--there's simply that much fun on show.
  6. It's essentially 1980s indie jangle with hints of Afro-pop and Northern Soul, carrying echoes of Orange Juice.

There are no user reviews yet.