Hurley - Weezer
Hurley Image
Metascore
68

Generally favorable reviews - based on 28 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 58 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: As its first independently released album, Weezer still remains true to form with a collection of Pinkerton-esque pop rock.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 28
  2. Negative: 1 out of 28
  1. Hurley wrestles with serious themes - heartbreak, nostalgia, busted and unrealized dreams; the kinds of things that songwriters usually write songs about when they're on the precipice of turning 40.
  2. Hurley isn't perfect, but it's the best thing Weezer have done in quite some time, and that's all we can hope for-until the next Nirvana comes along, of course.
  3. It's a pleasure to report, then, that Hurley is a fine album.
  4. The song's stitched-together feel is also emblematic of an album that feels a bit rushed.
  5. So the best songs on Hurley are immediately familiar, like an old lover's phone number you can't forget. This is great, but obviously not that great. Everybody should move on after a while.
  6. By their own ridiculously lofty standards, it's not quite good enough. Again. [11 Sep 2010, p.51]
  7. If there is a compliment to be paid to Hurley, it is that the band refrains from delving into the sort of WTF territory they've explored of late.

See all 28 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 16
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 16
  3. Negative: 2 out of 16
  1. Sep 17, 2010
    10
    I have to say he seldom disappoint. He sounds more like this new band i heard. Though new but they have really pulled it off with some of teI have to say he seldom disappoint. He sounds more like this new band i heard. Though new but they have really pulled it off with some of te greatest music

    http://itunes.apple.com/us/preorder/heartbeats-ep/id388971775
    Collapse
  2. Sep 14, 2010
    9
    For all those Weezer fans hoping to here a shift in the bandâ
  3. Sep 14, 2010
    9
    The best overall Weezer album since Pinkerton except for maybe Maladroit. From start to finish the album is great and unlike Raditude, it hasThe best overall Weezer album since Pinkerton except for maybe Maladroit. From start to finish the album is great and unlike Raditude, it has some great lyrics and epic rock. If you were turned off from Weezer because of Raditude definitely give them another chance with Hurley. The deluxe edition is a little disappointing but for a few extra dollars it shouldn't be a problem. This should be the start of a good direction for the band as we're getting Death To False Metal and Pinkerton Deluxe in November. A great time to be a Weezer fan. Expand
  4. Sep 17, 2010
    9
    Hurley marks Weezer's return to writing solid albums with lyrics that are far superior to any other their last three releases. Hurley, toHurley marks Weezer's return to writing solid albums with lyrics that are far superior to any other their last three releases. Hurley, to me, was an album that was good after the first listen but that grew to be a very good album with more spins (or nowadays, "clicks"). Memories, the first single demonstrates that Rivers has more emotion in his vocals foregoing the perfect glassy sheen that auto-tuned voice delivers, but delivers a more human element to the album that was present on Pinkerton and Maladroit. Overall, the album is a concise, short and solid which may lack in obvious singles but stands on the strength of its well constructed, rock songs that makes the whole bigger than the sum of its parts. Expand
  5. Nov 1, 2010
    8
    Much better than Raditude, but still has nothing on the first 4 albums. not entirely forgettable though and a handful of stand-out tracks makeMuch better than Raditude, but still has nothing on the first 4 albums. not entirely forgettable though and a handful of stand-out tracks make this a must have for any hardcore weezer fans. Expand
  6. Jan 18, 2011
    8
    Hurley has some great tracks on it. The opener "Memories" is a great track to kick the album off and it only gets better throughout the album.Hurley has some great tracks on it. The opener "Memories" is a great track to kick the album off and it only gets better throughout the album. "Where's My Sex?" is classic Weezer. And "Time Flies" is a great ender. Rivers has matured as a vocalist and it really shines on this album. All In All, Hurley is a great album. It's Weezer's comeback album. B+ Expand
  7. Apr 13, 2011
    1
    By far the worst Weezer album. Created in less than a year, this album features some of Rivers Cuomo's laziest songwriting ever. "Where's myBy far the worst Weezer album. Created in less than a year, this album features some of Rivers Cuomo's laziest songwriting ever. "Where's my Sex?" Cleverly replaces the word socks with sex, and "Smart girls" replaces the word hot with smart. Not exactly groundbreaking. Weezer has completed their devolution from geeky, alt-rick heroes to producers of trashy party music for morons. You'll hear their poorly produced garbage on the radio more than you ever heard the Blue album, but that doesn't it good music.

    As a fan who owns every album (even this one) I'll say this: If I ever hear another new Weezer song, it will be because I have forgotten to change the radio station.
    Expand

See all 16 User Reviews