Hurry Up, We're Dreaming

  • Record Label: Mute
  • Release Date: Oct 18, 2011
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 38 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 38
  2. Negative: 0 out of 38
Buy On
  1. Mojo
    Dec 22, 2011
    60
    The trade-off for this grandiloquent approach is that some of the songcraft has been swept away in the surge. [Nov 2011, p.93]
  2. Uncut
    Oct 18, 2011
    60
    After a moment of comparative restraint he returns with a double album so spectacularly grandiose you have to wear 3D specs to hear it properly. [Nov 2011, p.91]
  3. Oct 18, 2011
    60
    When it's not luring you to the dance floor with thrilling 1980s pop, M83's widescreen music either sounds like a lost John Hughes movie ("Soon, My Friend," with its sweeping sunset synths, needs Molly Ringwald complaining over it) or gets trippy.
  4. Oct 17, 2011
    60
    Never shy of delivering an electro cri de coeur where a simple chord progression will do, Anthony "M83" Gonzalez fully indulges his fondness for the grand gesture on his sixth record.
  5. Oct 11, 2011
    60
    There's a lot of slightly tedious ambient wallpaper. Sure, it works to unite an otherwise diverse set of songs, but you can't help but think there's a much better play list waiting to be whittled down.
  6. Oct 13, 2011
    50
    Double albums are necessarily somewhat hit and miss. That's part of their pick'n'mix charm. But M83 mostly miss me here.
  7. Oct 12, 2011
    50
    Ultimately Hurry Up, We're Dreaming sounds much more like an M83 wannabe's poor imitation than the real deal.
  8. Nov 3, 2011
    40
    A single CD's worth on two discs, Hurry Up indulges many watery washes ("Wait") but restrains sound collage use ("Echoes of Mine") in waiting for another 21st century merry-go-round ("New Map").
User Score
8.9

Universal acclaim- based on 126 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 32
  2. Negative: 0 out of 32
  1. Mar 26, 2013
    10
    In today's high tech world where everything and everyone moves so fast and sudden, it becomes harder for me to stay put. Although InternetIn today's high tech world where everything and everyone moves so fast and sudden, it becomes harder for me to stay put. Although Internet giants such as YouTube, Pandora Radio, and Spotify have made music more available, I also feel that they have made most songs we listen to equally forgettable; "well that was a cool, song. Okay, what's next?" The point I'm getting at is in today's world it takes a special kind of artist with a special kind of album to keep me seated from the opening track to the closing track. An album with music so colorful and sharp, with tales of dream scape and adventures, I literally say to myself "where have you been all my life!?" Case in point--M83's Hurry Up, We're Dreaming. Not since Radiohead's 2007 In Rainbows (or even Daft Punk's 2001 Discovery album) has an album captured me with overwhelming enthusiasm such as Hurry Up, We're Dreaming has. M83 effectively tell stories of childhood innocence ("Raconte-Moi Une Histoire"), space travel (Year One, One UFO), and a life beyond imagination ("New Map") with their dreamy instrumentation. The 2-disc album is reminiscent of Pink Floyd's 1973 classic Dark Side of the Moon, in that the each song in the album picks up where the other leaves off; as if developing stories in a novel, with each track unravelling something new and astonishing where the former track leaves off and the latter picks up. Hurry Up, We're Dreaming is sure to be a beloved classic as time goes by. For now, it should be regarded as a modem classic in an age where music seems to bombard audiences with flavor of the month songs by artist who try too hard to be the next big hit; or already famous artist clutching onto relevancy with "today's sound." Hurry Up, We're Dreaming is ultimately fantastic because M83 doesn't seem to force the album upon it's audience (with perhaps "Midnight City" being an exception seeing how it's a radio-friendly tune). The entire album sings with a passion of patience, grace, love, and truth that expresses how much time and effort M83 has put into their songs. And that similar patience, grace, and love is emitted by me, the listener, through how relaxed and optimistic I am as I listen to the album. I'd go as far to say Hurry Up, We're Dreaming is more of a story being told through music than just "songs." A musical novel, if you will. And just as I reach the last pages of the final chapter of a fascinating book with that "wow! What a marvelous tale! I can't wait to tell someone about it!" feeling, M83's Hurry Up, We're Dreaming gives me that equal satisfaction. Simply put, M83 has given audiences a modern day classic. A musical treasure that's aesthetically pleasing to the ears, heart, mind, and soul. Hurry Up, We're Dreaming is an artistic inspiration. Full Review »
  2. Oct 18, 2011
    9
    Hurry Up, We're Dreaming contains such a quantity of melancholia and mood we don't know where to head, and therefore preferred to cram up byHurry Up, We're Dreaming contains such a quantity of melancholia and mood we don't know where to head, and therefore preferred to cram up by choosing the dual format, even at the risk of upsetting the listener. A gamble at this time.

    Yet more than a collection of singles, Hurry Up, We're Dreaming should rather be seen as an affirmation: M83 is a significant group who has the necessary legitimacy to the achievement of an album of this magnitude.
    Full Review »
  3. Dec 30, 2015
    10
    The reason this album has polarizing reviews from critics is because it sounds like an amalgamation of M83's previous albums.However this isThe reason this album has polarizing reviews from critics is because it sounds like an amalgamation of M83's previous albums.However this is untrue and the album remains fresh and evergreen as ever that too being a double album. One of my favourite album's of all time and M83's best album IMO.

    Standout tracks: Midnight City,Claudia Lewis,Outro ....
    Full Review »