• Band Name: M83
  • Record Label: Mute
  • Release Date: Oct 18, 2011
User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 99 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 95 out of 99
  2. Negative: 1 out of 99

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 18, 2011
    9
    Hurry Up, We're Dreaming contains such a quantity of melancholia and mood we don't know where to head, and therefore preferred to cram up by choosing the dual format, even at the risk of upsetting the listener. A gamble at this time.

    Yet more than a collection of singles, Hurry Up, We're Dreaming should rather be seen as an affirmation: M83 is a significant group who has the necessary
    Hurry Up, We're Dreaming contains such a quantity of melancholia and mood we don't know where to head, and therefore preferred to cram up by choosing the dual format, even at the risk of upsetting the listener. A gamble at this time.

    Yet more than a collection of singles, Hurry Up, We're Dreaming should rather be seen as an affirmation: M83 is a significant group who has the necessary legitimacy to the achievement of an album of this magnitude.
    Expand
  2. Mar 26, 2013
    10
    In today's high tech world where everything and everyone moves so fast and sudden, it becomes harder for me to stay put. Although Internet giants such as YouTube, Pandora Radio, and Spotify have made music more available, I also feel that they have made most songs we listen to equally forgettable; "well that was a cool, song. Okay, what's next?" The point I'm getting at is in today's worldIn today's high tech world where everything and everyone moves so fast and sudden, it becomes harder for me to stay put. Although Internet giants such as YouTube, Pandora Radio, and Spotify have made music more available, I also feel that they have made most songs we listen to equally forgettable; "well that was a cool, song. Okay, what's next?" The point I'm getting at is in today's world it takes a special kind of artist with a special kind of album to keep me seated from the opening track to the closing track. An album with music so colorful and sharp, with tales of dream scape and adventures, I literally say to myself "where have you been all my life!?" Case in point--M83's Hurry Up, We're Dreaming. Not since Radiohead's 2007 In Rainbows (or even Daft Punk's 2001 Discovery album) has an album captured me with overwhelming enthusiasm such as Hurry Up, We're Dreaming has. M83 effectively tell stories of childhood innocence ("Raconte-Moi Une Histoire"), space travel (Year One, One UFO), and a life beyond imagination ("New Map") with their dreamy instrumentation. The 2-disc album is reminiscent of Pink Floyd's 1973 classic Dark Side of the Moon, in that the each song in the album picks up where the other leaves off; as if developing stories in a novel, with each track unravelling something new and astonishing where the former track leaves off and the latter picks up. Hurry Up, We're Dreaming is sure to be a beloved classic as time goes by. For now, it should be regarded as a modem classic in an age where music seems to bombard audiences with flavor of the month songs by artist who try too hard to be the next big hit; or already famous artist clutching onto relevancy with "today's sound." Hurry Up, We're Dreaming is ultimately fantastic because M83 doesn't seem to force the album upon it's audience (with perhaps "Midnight City" being an exception seeing how it's a radio-friendly tune). The entire album sings with a passion of patience, grace, love, and truth that expresses how much time and effort M83 has put into their songs. And that similar patience, grace, and love is emitted by me, the listener, through how relaxed and optimistic I am as I listen to the album. I'd go as far to say Hurry Up, We're Dreaming is more of a story being told through music than just "songs." A musical novel, if you will. And just as I reach the last pages of the final chapter of a fascinating book with that "wow! What a marvelous tale! I can't wait to tell someone about it!" feeling, M83's Hurry Up, We're Dreaming gives me that equal satisfaction. Simply put, M83 has given audiences a modern day classic. A musical treasure that's aesthetically pleasing to the ears, heart, mind, and soul. Hurry Up, We're Dreaming is an artistic inspiration. Expand
  3. Oct 19, 2011
    10
    This album completely blew me away, every song is beautifully crafted, and it's 2 CD's! This will always be in my car's glove compartment. Fantastic!
  4. Oct 18, 2011
    10
    Hurry Up, We're Dreaming is stellar and spectacular. M83 succeeds at reaching for the stars, using evocative imagery and bright synthetic colors to create immense sounds at every turn. Each track finds itself exploring different dynamics and different expressive qualities. The sum of the two CDs feels more vast than its 74-minute run time would initially suggest. All in all, this albumHurry Up, We're Dreaming is stellar and spectacular. M83 succeeds at reaching for the stars, using evocative imagery and bright synthetic colors to create immense sounds at every turn. Each track finds itself exploring different dynamics and different expressive qualities. The sum of the two CDs feels more vast than its 74-minute run time would initially suggest. All in all, this album must be heard by everyone to be believed. Expand
  5. Nov 17, 2011
    9
    One of my favorite double albums of all time, and one of the best albums of the year. The critic score is far too low, and I'm very surprised. M83 is becoming the band I've always wanted them to be.
  6. Jun 3, 2012
    10
    This is both his most ambitious and his most disciplined album. Past albums were very enjoyable, but sometimes lacked focus, depth, and variety. Consider all those problems solved this time. Warmth, humility, and unfairly addictive beats burst from almost every song.
  7. Apr 26, 2012
    10
    This is the first album I bought completely since probably the 90s. I usually nitpick an album based on 15 second previews... this one, I just bought it all.

    Some songs I didn't care for, but after listening again and again, they became my favorites. Great album, probably one of the best albums I've heard in years.
  8. Oct 20, 2011
    10
    What M83 have created here is, literally, from another planet. In 22 songs, Gonzalez manages to create the perfect balance between consistency and variety, between melancholia and sudden interstellar bursts of energy.
  9. Sep 29, 2012
    10
    Probably the best electronic band around today. "Midnight City" and "Steve Mcqueen" are mindblowing tracks.The modern synths and the 80s atmosphere create a dreamy mood. It's an amazing album.
  10. Oct 24, 2011
    9
    Album number 6 is Anthony Gonzalez's masterpiece. Arguably one of the greatest electronic shoegaze acts, M83's Hurry Up. We're Dreaming is suberb from start to finish. Fans of the band will love the direction the album heads in...Gonzalez clearly wants to take us to Messier 83. Electronic spacey sounds and saxaphones give this album a distinct sound and 80s undertones provide the newAlbum number 6 is Anthony Gonzalez's masterpiece. Arguably one of the greatest electronic shoegaze acts, M83's Hurry Up. We're Dreaming is suberb from start to finish. Fans of the band will love the direction the album heads in...Gonzalez clearly wants to take us to Messier 83. Electronic spacey sounds and saxaphones give this album a distinct sound and 80s undertones provide the new spinoff. Hurry Up. We're dreaming could be right at home in 1986 alongside Visage, it sits fondly as one of the greats of the 21st century. Expand
  11. Oct 28, 2011
    10
    This is, by far, the best and most accessible album by M83 yet. I have listened to this album nonstop since it has been released. It is beautiful, catchy, and memorable. I highly recommend it!
  12. Aug 27, 2012
    10
    HURRY UP, WE'RE DREAMING is a creative and impressive album that is filled with unique and original music. Unlike other artists, M83 doesn't rely on auto-tune and other effects, but relies on good and creative music that I am sure everyone would enjoy.
  13. Nov 12, 2011
    9
    Thanks god there are two Cd's, you will never be depressed ending the first! This Album is an extraordinary craft that made me believe again in electronic indie-pop abilities to excite. Every time when you feel like getting closer to the "being bored spot" you get a new track, a music bomb, exploding into your ears.
  14. Dec 22, 2011
    10
    See, there is the number of time you will play a song. And, only for a few albums per decade can you manage to get those kind of heavy stats THAT fast.
    On an entire album.

    Hooked, like never before by this "band" that hooked me up so good already.
    The only drug I'll allow is also the most gentle & epic one.

    Merci les mecs.
  15. Feb 25, 2012
    10
    Best album of M83 I've heard, second album of the year for my soul. All musics come deeper in our bodies, and makes us cry by their beauty..
    Frenchies prooves us how damn good they are to write songs, to give us feelings about music..
  16. Jun 18, 2012
    10
    Best album I've heard since Radiohead's 2007 record "In Rainbows". I'm not usually a fan of such heavy electronic music, but this album absolutely blew me away. That's saying a lot, and yes, "Raconte-moi Une Histoire" is awesome.
  17. Nov 4, 2013
    9
    It's seriously really hard to find a bad track on this. Definitely M83's best work, and possibly even one of the best dream-pop/shoegaze records in it's own right, "Hurry Up, We're Dreaming" is an astonishing, near-perfect masterpiece that celebrates youthful imagination and spirit. It's also RIDICULOUSLY catchy at times.
  18. Feb 5, 2013
    9
    Hurry Up, We're Dreaming contains some creative elements but is also very catchy. Even for a double album (whose lengths is nearly 75 minutes) the quality of the release is consistent and there isn't any noticeable drop in quality throughout the album. Contains many interesting interlude tracks that really bridge different songs together and make listening to the album an even moreHurry Up, We're Dreaming contains some creative elements but is also very catchy. Even for a double album (whose lengths is nearly 75 minutes) the quality of the release is consistent and there isn't any noticeable drop in quality throughout the album. Contains many interesting interlude tracks that really bridge different songs together and make listening to the album an even more enjoyable experience. Expand
  19. Oct 16, 2013
    10
    best album everrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr
  20. Nov 24, 2013
    10
    Gonzalez composes his "magnum opus". 22 absolutely brilliant, soundtrack-to-my-life songs, tastefully executing a number of genres that fill the midst of the Venn diagram.
  21. Feb 17, 2014
    10
    This 2 Disc Album is beautifully crafted and presents a masterful sound. The sound is reminiscent of 80's synth and is very dreamy. I loved every song on the album and would highly suggest it.
  22. Feb 26, 2014
    9
    A masterfully accessible, high-concept electronic pop album that is seemingly bursting out of the seams with bangs and whimpers alike. M83 has refined his greatest assets even further.
  23. Jun 22, 2014
    10
    One of the best listening experiences I've ever had. Why this only has a 76, I have no idea. It turns boring commutes/trips into voyages. It turns boring days in front of the tv into adventures. It turns lonely nights into happy days. It's nothing but happy/good vibes all the way thru. I can't explain how much I love this cd. The critic score is way too low. But that's not the only time.One of the best listening experiences I've ever had. Why this only has a 76, I have no idea. It turns boring commutes/trips into voyages. It turns boring days in front of the tv into adventures. It turns lonely nights into happy days. It's nothing but happy/good vibes all the way thru. I can't explain how much I love this cd. The critic score is way too low. But that's not the only time. Look at The Devil and God Are Raging Inside Me by Brand New (the only album I know of that beats this one as best album ever, imo). This album is a drug trip without even taking a single drug. It's one of my best friends and I can't thank Anthony Gonzalez enough for this masterpiece. It is simply incredible. "Incredible" doesn't do this album justice but I guess it'll have to do for now until we discover a more powerful word. Expand
  24. Jul 2, 2014
    9
    As close to a masterpiece as Anthony Gonzalez will ever come to M83 improved beyond their previous album and even I thought that wasn't quite possible. This album according to Gonzalez was going to be fresh and it lives to that displaying excellent vocals and telling a wonderful story all along the way. There are a couple songs that don't live up to the excellence of the entire album whichAs close to a masterpiece as Anthony Gonzalez will ever come to M83 improved beyond their previous album and even I thought that wasn't quite possible. This album according to Gonzalez was going to be fresh and it lives to that displaying excellent vocals and telling a wonderful story all along the way. There are a couple songs that don't live up to the excellence of the entire album which is why I didn't give it a 10 but it is still one of the most complete albums I have ever listened too and should be praised for its excellence! Expand
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 38 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 38
  2. Negative: 0 out of 38
  1. Jan 3, 2012
    80
    Gonzalez paints broad strokes on this vast musical landscape, and although a wee long, Hurry Up, We're Dreaming may be his conceptual masterpiece.
  2. Dec 22, 2011
    60
    The trade-off for this grandiloquent approach is that some of the songcraft has been swept away in the surge. [Nov 2011, p.93]
  3. 83
    Gonzalez wraps both hooks and hallucinations in bubbly melodies only occasionally bogged down by murky sprawl. [28 Oct 2011, p.73]