• Band Name:
  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Hurry Up, We're Dreaming Image
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 38 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 94 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Anthony Gonzalez's two-disc album produced by Justin Meldal-Johnsen features contributions from Medicine's Brad Laner, Morgan Kibby, and Zola Jesus.
  • Record Label: Mute
  • Genre(s): Electronic, Pop/Rock, Alternative/Indie Rock, Alternative Pop/Rock, Indie Electronic, Ambient Pop
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 38
  2. Negative: 0 out of 38
  1. Oct 13, 2011
    95
    It's a fantastical story of aliens, spirits, and children told by one breathtakingly gifted artist, and it's utterly remarkable.
  2. Oct 17, 2011
    90
    With less of the anxiety that marked his earlier albums, that world is a joy to get lost in over and over.
  3. At this point, it's hard to know what to let go and what to hold onto as a listener of M83, but regardless, Hurry Up, We're Dreaming is a pretty fantastic record.
  4. 80
    The end result is an incredibly ambitious and personal effort that shines, sparkles, and thrills.
  5. Oct 18, 2011
    70
    The album is ambitious and brimming with all sorts of stray ideas, but it's also suited to Gonzalez's expansive gifts.
  6. Oct 11, 2011
    70
    Gonzalez sings mostly about memories (occasionally unintelligibly), but refuses to accept that some dramatic gifts don't necessarily have to be exhausting. Still, the album is full of goose-bump moments
  7. Nov 3, 2011
    40
    A single CD's worth on two discs, Hurry Up indulges many watery washes ("Wait") but restrains sound collage use ("Echoes of Mine") in waiting for another 21st century merry-go-round ("New Map").

See all 38 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 31
  2. Negative: 0 out of 31
  1. Mar 26, 2013
    10
    In today's high tech world where everything and everyone moves so fast and sudden, it becomes harder for me to stay put. Although Internet giants such as YouTube, Pandora Radio, and Spotify have made music more available, I also feel that they have made most songs we listen to equally forgettable; "well that was a cool, song. Okay, what's next?" The point I'm getting at is in today's world it takes a special kind of artist with a special kind of album to keep me seated from the opening track to the closing track. An album with music so colorful and sharp, with tales of dream scape and adventures, I literally say to myself "where have you been all my life!?" Case in point--M83's Hurry Up, We're Dreaming. Not since Radiohead's 2007 In Rainbows (or even Daft Punk's 2001 Discovery album) has an album captured me with overwhelming enthusiasm such as Hurry Up, We're Dreaming has. M83 effectively tell stories of childhood innocence ("Raconte-Moi Une Histoire"), space travel (Year One, One UFO), and a life beyond imagination ("New Map") with their dreamy instrumentation. The 2-disc album is reminiscent of Pink Floyd's 1973 classic Dark Side of the Moon, in that the each song in the album picks up where the other leaves off; as if developing stories in a novel, with each track unravelling something new and astonishing where the former track leaves off and the latter picks up. Hurry Up, We're Dreaming is sure to be a beloved classic as time goes by. For now, it should be regarded as a modem classic in an age where music seems to bombard audiences with flavor of the month songs by artist who try too hard to be the next big hit; or already famous artist clutching onto relevancy with "today's sound." Hurry Up, We're Dreaming is ultimately fantastic because M83 doesn't seem to force the album upon it's audience (with perhaps "Midnight City" being an exception seeing how it's a radio-friendly tune). The entire album sings with a passion of patience, grace, love, and truth that expresses how much time and effort M83 has put into their songs. And that similar patience, grace, and love is emitted by me, the listener, through how relaxed and optimistic I am as I listen to the album. I'd go as far to say Hurry Up, We're Dreaming is more of a story being told through music than just "songs." A musical novel, if you will. And just as I reach the last pages of the final chapter of a fascinating book with that "wow! What a marvelous tale! I can't wait to tell someone about it!" feeling, M83's Hurry Up, We're Dreaming gives me that equal satisfaction. Simply put, M83 has given audiences a modern day classic. A musical treasure that's aesthetically pleasing to the ears, heart, mind, and soul. Hurry Up, We're Dreaming is an artistic inspiration. Expand
  2. Aug 27, 2012
    10
    HURRY UP, WE'RE DREAMING is a creative and impressive album that is filled with unique and original music. Unlike other artists, M83 doesn't rely on auto-tune and other effects, but relies on good and creative music that I am sure everyone would enjoy. Expand
  3. Oct 19, 2011
    10
    This album completely blew me away, every song is beautifully crafted, and it's 2 CD's! This will always be in my car's glove compartment. Fantastic!
  4. Nov 24, 2013
    10
    Gonzalez composes his "magnum opus". 22 absolutely brilliant, soundtrack-to-my-life songs, tastefully executing a number of genres that fill the midst of the Venn diagram. Expand
  5. Feb 5, 2013
    9
    Hurry Up, We're Dreaming contains some creative elements but is also very catchy. Even for a double album (whose lengths is nearly 75 minutes) the quality of the release is consistent and there isn't any noticeable drop in quality throughout the album. Contains many interesting interlude tracks that really bridge different songs together and make listening to the album an even more enjoyable experience. Expand
  6. Jul 2, 2014
    9
    As close to a masterpiece as Anthony Gonzalez will ever come to M83 improved beyond their previous album and even I thought that wasn't quite possible. This album according to Gonzalez was going to be fresh and it lives to that displaying excellent vocals and telling a wonderful story all along the way. There are a couple songs that don't live up to the excellence of the entire album which is why I didn't give it a 10 but it is still one of the most complete albums I have ever listened too and should be praised for its excellence! Expand
  7. Nov 21, 2012
    5
    It's an occasionally warm, nostalgic collection of songs. While you're there it's great, but once you start looking forward again you forget all of it, save for a gorgeous opener and closer along with the successful, killer single. Expand

See all 31 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2011

    Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2011 Image
    Published: January 9, 2012
    The results are in! We've tallied your votes for the best movie, TV show, video game, album, and song of 2011. Find out which titles our users preferred inside...