• Record Label: Nonesuch
  • Release Date: Jul 27, 2004
User Score

Universal acclaim- based on 20 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. DaveT
    Aug 9, 2004
    A good test of an album (or movie etc.) is whether it stays with you in the following days. This does. I even find myself re-hearing lang's phrasings and interpretations in my memory, instead of the originals (which I know well). She has left her own mark on these gems; and plumbed new meanings that had never occured to this listener until hearing k.d.'s interpretation.
  2. KathyM.
    Aug 11, 2004
    This is a gorgeous album of laid back, luxurious music, all written by Canadian songwriters. Too beautiful to miss!
  3. JoelN
    Aug 2, 2004
    The only thing missing is lang's own words--her rationale for including these songs. Knowing why she picked these songs might add just that extra bit of personal touch, in an already clearly personal album.
  4. MikeR
    Jan 9, 2005
    Wonderful voice does great justice to some iconic songs
  5. SteveS
    Jun 24, 2006
    Consummate and perhaps overly respecfful interpretations at a hallowed arm's distance. Recalls the awed sense of reverence of Shadowland. One longs for a Yee Haa to convey spontaneity and passion, sadly lacking on this CD,
  6. wicksly
    Nov 5, 2004
    this is one of the best compalations I have ever heard
  7. KimG
    Oct 6, 2004
    This is a very soothing album. I love kds voice in the mood. I'm rating this album againest Drag which I love better.
  8. EmreD
    Aug 10, 2004
    She sounds even better this time, her voice reaches heights that no living singer does this day, and that includes B. Streisand, S. Horn, P. LaBelle and E. Harris.
  9. JimW
    Aug 7, 2004
    Relatively soulless interpretations of songs you know by heart. Great that k.d. plays tribute to Canada, but when Neil Young sings "Helpless," you hear the helpless in his voice. Here, it's words lacking the feeling that the original songwriter poured into each song. "Bird on a Wire" is about as close as it gets.
  10. jwatcher
    Sep 22, 2004
    great album just like the artist...
  11. MarkB
    Dec 22, 2004
    The low ratings are unjustified. Yes, it's lags just a bit here and there at first, but repeated listens takes care of that as each note and sentiment find a way to resonate in your heart and mind. I'm not a fan of some of the songs, but her interpretations are first rate.
  12. J.R.Schrier
    Aug 13, 2004
    k.d. must've had more important things on her mind than recording a CD worth listening to. She's just not in it! And she sounds like Karen Carpenter.
  13. DavidK
    Sep 16, 2004
    I try not to over-analyze music. Basically I listen to what I enjoy, and I really enjoyed every song on this album. k.d. lang has an amazing voice, and the arrangements here are beautiful. Having not heard any of the original versions of these songs, I have no point of comparison, but as I said...my ears know what they like. They like this!
  14. DaveM
    Oct 19, 2006
    Wow, I just discovered this cd after hearing a bit of k.d.'s interpretation of "Helpless" on 'Brothers and Sisters.' What an incredible cd. Truly.
  15. TracieH
    Dec 17, 2004
    kd has a voice like no other. I think that she could take any song and make it her own. She is passionate about her music. Love the ablum.

Generally favorable reviews - based on 8 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Easily the best of her extensive catalogue of covers albums.
  2. What makes this work, beyond Lang's ability to control both prickly and inspiring material, is her sensuality.
  3. Every song becomes her own, with each one having just the right amount of torch and twang.