Hymns Of The 49th Parallel

  • Record Label: Nonesuch
  • Release Date: Jul 27, 2004
User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 20 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. DaveT
    Aug 9, 2004
    9
    A good test of an album (or movie etc.) is whether it stays with you in the following days. This does. I even find myself re-hearing lang's phrasings and interpretations in my memory, instead of the originals (which I know well). She has left her own mark on these gems; and plumbed new meanings that had never occured to this listener until hearing k.d.'s interpretation.
  2. KathyM.
    Aug 11, 2004
    10
    This is a gorgeous album of laid back, luxurious music, all written by Canadian songwriters. Too beautiful to miss!
  3. JoelN
    Aug 2, 2004
    8
    The only thing missing is lang's own words--her rationale for including these songs. Knowing why she picked these songs might add just that extra bit of personal touch, in an already clearly personal album.
  4. MikeR
    Jan 9, 2005
    9
    Wonderful voice does great justice to some iconic songs
  5. SteveS
    Jun 24, 2006
    7
    Consummate and perhaps overly respecfful interpretations at a hallowed arm's distance. Recalls the awed sense of reverence of Shadowland. One longs for a Yee Haa to convey spontaneity and passion, sadly lacking on this CD,
  6. wicksly
    Nov 5, 2004
    10
    this is one of the best compalations I have ever heard
  7. KimG
    Oct 6, 2004
    9
    This is a very soothing album. I love kds voice in the mood. I'm rating this album againest Drag which I love better.
  8. EmreD
    Aug 10, 2004
    10
    She sounds even better this time, her voice reaches heights that no living singer does this day, and that includes B. Streisand, S. Horn, P. LaBelle and E. Harris.
  9. jwatcher
    Sep 22, 2004
    10
    great album just like the artist...
  10. MarkB
    Dec 22, 2004
    8
    The low ratings are unjustified. Yes, it's lags just a bit here and there at first, but repeated listens takes care of that as each note and sentiment find a way to resonate in your heart and mind. I'm not a fan of some of the songs, but her interpretations are first rate.
  11. DavidK
    Sep 16, 2004
    9
    I try not to over-analyze music. Basically I listen to what I enjoy, and I really enjoyed every song on this album. k.d. lang has an amazing voice, and the arrangements here are beautiful. Having not heard any of the original versions of these songs, I have no point of comparison, but as I said...my ears know what they like. They like this!
  12. DaveM
    Oct 19, 2006
    10
    Wow, I just discovered this cd after hearing a bit of k.d.'s interpretation of "Helpless" on 'Brothers and Sisters.' What an incredible cd. Truly.
  13. TracieH
    Dec 17, 2004
    10
    kd has a voice like no other. I think that she could take any song and make it her own. She is passionate about her music. Love the ablum.
Metascore
70

Generally favorable reviews - based on 8 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Easily the best of her extensive catalogue of covers albums.
  2. What makes this work, beyond Lang's ability to control both prickly and inspiring material, is her sensuality.
  3. Every song becomes her own, with each one having just the right amount of torch and twang.