Hymns

Metascore
66

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 15
  2. Negative: 1 out of 15
Buy On
  1. Feb 8, 2012
    80
    ["General Hospital" is] a rare mis-step on a collection of songs that's beautifully judged, possessed of an idiosyncratic melodic logic that few can equal.
  2. Jan 18, 2012
    80
    Reconvened 17 years later, Cardinal shows their hushed melodies and chamber pop sensibilities gel just as well now as they did originally.
  3. Uncut
    Mar 13, 2012
    70
    Cardinal's fine harmonized vocals and muzzy, Byrds-like melodies are still intact. [Apr 2012, p.73]
  4. Jan 23, 2012
    70
    If the intended result for fans is just hearing the combination of Davies' arch lyrics with Matthews' majestic arrangements and occasional breathy backing vocals, then it's mission accomplished.
  5. Jan 19, 2012
    70
    What's striking from the outset about Hymns is that little has changed in Davies and Matthews' elegant world of classically-inspired chamber pop.
  6. Under The Radar
    Jan 19, 2012
    70
    Hymns is more chipper than its predecessor, but rests on the same strengths: Davies' odd songwriting and lyricism, and Matthews' impeccable arrangement and performance skills - sharp pop tunes and ornate decor. [#39, p. 66]
  7. Jan 24, 2012
    67
    Hymns is a good, but not great, album.
  8. Jan 18, 2012
    64
    While it's nice to finally hear these two follow up on a promising debut, Hymns isn't likely to capture many people who weren't taken with the original Cardinal record.
User Score
tbd

No user score yet- Awaiting 2 more ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 2
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 2
  3. Negative: 0 out of 2
  1. Jan 30, 2012
    7
    Unabashedly British with a healthy tinge of modern psychedelia. Kind of like mid-period XTC without some of the more daring chord changes. IUnabashedly British with a healthy tinge of modern psychedelia. Kind of like mid-period XTC without some of the more daring chord changes. I hear a bit of Blur in there also. I can't say I know anything about Cardinal but after hearing Hymns I'm definitely interested to see what they do next. Quality stuff, here. Full Review »
  2. Jan 27, 2012
    9
    nice to hear this heavenly band again! If the first album remains unbeatable, this is a really good sequel, hope we won't have to wait anothernice to hear this heavenly band again! If the first album remains unbeatable, this is a really good sequel, hope we won't have to wait another 18 years!!! Full Review »