Hypermagic Mountain

  • Record Label: Load
  • Release Date: Oct 18, 2005
Metascore
88

Universal acclaim - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 23
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 23
  3. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. At its most chaotic, Hypermagic Mountain could tear open a wormhole into Comets on Fire's Blue Cathedral.
  2. With just enough experimentation to hint at new and future directions, while seamlessly blending improvisation and smartly conceived songs, Hypermagic Mountain is Lightning Bolt's finest achievement to date.
  3. It finds the band climbing toward some unknown peak, and while it attains great heights, there's also a now-again sound of wheels spinning, and every reason to believe LB still haven't reached their ultimate destination.
  4. Uncut
    80
    Their heaviest to date. [Nov 2005, p.108]
  5. Mojo
    80
    Lightning Bolt consistently sound like no one else. [Dec 2005, p.105]
  6. New Musical Express (NME)
    90
    Slightly less lo-fi than previous efforts--although as it blends together Slayer, Japanese noisecore and warp-speed prog intricacy, sound recording fidelity is a relative concept. [5 Nov 2005, p.45]
  7. Entertainment Weekly
    75
    If what this drums-and-bass duo does with infernal noise is your thing, you're a pretty happy camper. [28 Oct 2005, p.89]
  8. Alternative Press
    100
    For an elite cadre of sound warriors, the disc perfectly bridges Slayer's demonic metallic riff majesty with the maniacally convoluted dynamics of French prog-rockers Magma. [Dec 2005, p.216]
  9. This is a great record, if it is a record.
  10. Essentially, the Brians don't really need to innovate that much anymore and instead are just fine-tuning their craft in glorious ways.
  11. Even with its brief lapses, Hypermagic Mountain is Lightning Bolt’s most accomplished effort to date, one-upping 2003’s Wonderful Rainbow with a fresh sense of maturity.
  12. Blender
    80
    The world's heaviest band turn out to have metal's lightest touch too. [Nov 2005, p.137]
  13. Hypermagic Mountain absolutely trounces nearly every other act in its general stylistic area. Regrettably, however, the duo’s fourth album lacks the formal and emotional peaks and valleys that encourage listening and re-listening to albums in other less hectic and punishing genres.
  14. Although "Hypermagic Mountain" is no less a terrifying, red-eyed and rampaging behemoth than its predecessors, the duo have unleashed a beast that assumes a more recognisable form.
  15. The compressed, cleaned-up ferocity of Hypermagic Mountain is a leap of refinement in every way, a sign that the band, while lushly unripe, is ripening gracefully.
  16. If you were into Lightning Bolt before, there is no reason you won't absolutely love this album. If you were sort of sitting on the fence with them before, this may be the album that converts you into a fan.
  17. Urb
    80
    One of the most rewarding and noisy records of the year. [Jan/Feb 2006, p.103]
  18. What blessed bastardry is this? It's bloody brilliant, that's what it is.
  19. There are no breathers in Hypermagic Mountain. There are only a series of knuckle sandwiches in the form of throbbing, distorting, gesticulating low-end ear bleeders.
  20. Underneath all the scuzz and spasm, though, they're a groove band, hustling a hard-edged experimentalism you don't have to work hard to enjoy.
  21. For the initiated, there’s true primal joy to be heard in this mammoth creation. You’ve just got to be willing to shed those tightly guarded notions and listen.
  22. Listening to Hypermagic Mountain is like picking up the live end of a downed power line.
  23. Better than anything they've recorded to date, Hypermagic Mountain approximates the swelling energy of Lightning Bolt's live havoc.
User Score
6.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 99 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 44 out of 74
  2. Negative: 29 out of 74
  1. SeanP.
    Mar 7, 2007
    10
    I've seen polarized views, but this is definitely the apex of what i've seen. 5.6 overall customer rating, pockmarked with 0s, 1s, I've seen polarized views, but this is definitely the apex of what i've seen. 5.6 overall customer rating, pockmarked with 0s, 1s, 9s, and 10s. Haha, and as it should be, because this is absolutely a love-it-or-hate-it work of art. You're either on its wave-length, or you're denounce it as trash halfway through the first song. I'm the former, and i will not be able to live without owning this music. My girlfriend is the latter. So be it. Lightning Bolt has accomplished its mission. A cult they remain. And boy am i glad to be in that cult. Full Review »
  2. JeremyK
    Aug 11, 2006
    5
    I'm scared....Honestly...I will give them a respetful nod to originality, energy, and musicianship...At the same time, I admire a I'm scared....Honestly...I will give them a respetful nod to originality, energy, and musicianship...At the same time, I admire a well-done avant-garde listen...Maybe I'll track it a few more times. Full Review »
  3. MikeC
    Mar 7, 2006
    8
    I'd be lying if I said that this album is a ten, but it's a hell of a record. I mean I understand why some people wouldn't I'd be lying if I said that this album is a ten, but it's a hell of a record. I mean I understand why some people wouldn't like it, it takes a good listen to hear how these two guys were able to do all this with just drums and bass. I find it to be a shame that some people don't bother to give it a good listen. Like all good music it takes a while to fully understand. Amazing album. Full Review »