Hypnotize

  • Record Label: Sony
  • Release Date: Nov 22, 2005
User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 227 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 11 out of 227

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. KyleL
    Feb 10, 2006
    2
    VERY upsetting! I loved 'Toxicity', but SOAD is getting out of control. I absolutely hated this album.
  2. AndyW
    Nov 22, 2005
    0
    B.Y.O.B. is a pretty messy single. It jumps from fast screamo type heavy metal to absolute dance shit. I can't tolerate this music, it's too painful to listen to. This is like listening to Alexisonfire on speed!
  3. JosephS
    Nov 26, 2005
    0
    Why won't this crap just DIE?
  4. Cramped
    Nov 26, 2005
    1
    Take a few known riffs, throw some new vocals in and call it a second album? This album should be renamed: How To Ripoff Our Fans - System of a Down.
  5. JordanL
    Dec 1, 2005
    0
    This isnt music. system of a down tries to make a politcal statement, but remain too uneducated to do so. I find it funny how they criticize consumers, yet all own hummers. this attempt at melody is an embarrasment.
  6. GaborA
    Dec 28, 2005
    1
    Even if you're unaware of what real metal sounds like how can System fans ignore how repatative the band is? Or maybe thats what these morons love about them.
  7. Mike
    Nov 22, 2005
    1
    anyone who thinks critically about the music they listen to and believes that this is good, you need to be removed from society
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 19
  2. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. Billboard
    70
    Not that the band's blend of metal; world music; jagged, breakneck rhythms; and non sequitur lyrics don't still connect, but it is nowhere near as dazzling as it was on its first two go-arounds. [26 Nov 2005]
  2. Entertainment Weekly
    83
    It's a strange brew that may not be everyone's cup of tea; still, there's no denying these cats have their singular system down pat. [25 Nov 2005, p.100]
  3. Los Angeles Times
    88
    "Hypnotize" has some of the circus-is-in-town surrealism that links System to the Frank Zappa avant-rock tradition, but overall it's more of a fundamental rock album. [20 Nov 2005]