• Record Label: Sony
  • Release Date: Nov 22, 2005
User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 208 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 11 out of 208

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. martinw
    May 11, 2007
    10
    the best band of its kind!!!
  2. UnclePhil
    Nov 23, 2005
    5
    A disappointment, and a clear indication that Rick Rubin ought to have forced the band to pare all this down into one album. While he was at it, he ought to have stolen Daron's mic, and let Serj, the truly distinctive vocalist in the band, shoulder singing and lyrical duties. After hearing "Vicinity of Obscenity," it's hard to know whether we can still trust even Serj for A disappointment, and a clear indication that Rick Rubin ought to have forced the band to pare all this down into one album. While he was at it, he ought to have stolen Daron's mic, and let Serj, the truly distinctive vocalist in the band, shoulder singing and lyrical duties. After hearing "Vicinity of Obscenity," it's hard to know whether we can still trust even Serj for halfway decent lyrics, but at least we wouldn't have to listen to Daron flunk middle school English while he whines about "the most loneliest day of [his] life." 3/4 of the songs from Mezmerize combined with 1/4 of the songs here might have comprised one of the better hard rock (and protest) albums of the decade, but it's too late now. For a band positioned to be making the best music of its career, they sure do sound uninspired. I'm far from hypnotized. Expand
  3. KyleL
    Feb 10, 2006
    2
    VERY upsetting! I loved 'Toxicity', but SOAD is getting out of control. I absolutely hated this album.
  4. AndyW
    Nov 22, 2005
    0
    B.Y.O.B. is a pretty messy single. It jumps from fast screamo type heavy metal to absolute dance shit. I can't tolerate this music, it's too painful to listen to. This is like listening to Alexisonfire on speed!
  5. JosephS
    Nov 26, 2005
    0
    Why won't this crap just DIE?
  6. Cramped
    Nov 26, 2005
    1
    Take a few known riffs, throw some new vocals in and call it a second album? This album should be renamed: How To Ripoff Our Fans - System of a Down.
  7. JordanL
    Dec 1, 2005
    0
    This isnt music. system of a down tries to make a politcal statement, but remain too uneducated to do so. I find it funny how they criticize consumers, yet all own hummers. this attempt at melody is an embarrasment.
  8. GaborA
    Dec 28, 2005
    1
    Even if you're unaware of what real metal sounds like how can System fans ignore how repatative the band is? Or maybe thats what these morons love about them.
  9. Mike
    Nov 22, 2005
    1
    anyone who thinks critically about the music they listen to and believes that this is good, you need to be removed from society
  10. Dec 22, 2012
    7
    Hypntize and Attack are the big reason this album is alive. Mostly Hypnotize.
  11. AaronA
    Nov 30, 2005
    8
    listend through once and im happy with this c.d being a huge s.o.a.d fan meant i had high expectation and i love how this album sounds like their first, fast thrashing heaven i still prefer mezmerise and toxicity but this is a welcome addition
  12. JonS
    Jan 14, 2006
    10
    I don't know who would ratethis group (ever) less than 8, i mean they have awsome music, they criticize, and they get in your emotions whether you are happy or mad. This band is by far the best, and kicks every Rapers or country singer's ass.
  13. TejasP
    Nov 26, 2005
    7
    Since their debut, System of a Down have been one of the most original and pioneering bands in rock music. It is a testament to their quality as a band that their works have been so consistent and so true to their style. Their vision of a dual album Mesmerize/Hypnotize was an ambitious one. Double albums are always a tricky thing to pull off, and more bands have failed than succeeded in Since their debut, System of a Down have been one of the most original and pioneering bands in rock music. It is a testament to their quality as a band that their works have been so consistent and so true to their style. Their vision of a dual album Mesmerize/Hypnotize was an ambitious one. Double albums are always a tricky thing to pull off, and more bands have failed than succeeded in this regard. To this extent, System of a Down have to praised for so thoughtfully realizing and delivering a double album that does maintain unity. However, some slight errors of judgment by System of a Down leave this album a notch below classic status. Firstly, System made a wise choice by separating the release of each album by 6 months. Releasing them together would have been a bit too much to handle. "Attack", the opener of the album is all out hellfire. It is fierce and vicious, and Malakian and Dolmayan play it at a nearly superhuman speed. "Dreaming", "Kill Rock'N'Roll", and "Hypnotize" are all quality songs. "Tentative", "U-Fig", and "Holy Mountains" along with "Attack" have to be the best songs on the album. Overall, the quality of the lyrics in Hypnotize has drastically improved over Mesmerize. "Tentative" and "Holy Mountains" have some of the best choruses on the entire double CD set. It is here where we are treated to some the worst System of a Down songs on this album (and possibly ever recorded). "Vicinity of Obscenity", "She's Like Heroin", and "Lonely Day" are all frustratingly inert. From the wonderfully painful "Freedom! We're free!" of Holy Mountains, we are reduced to hearing "Terracotta banana" and Daron Malakian screaming "ASS!". The whole album has been gradually building upon itself, and these songs can best be called fillers. It truly is an anticlimax to everything that we have been treated to. In fact, as grand as the double album sounds, System of a Down have always been known for their economy. Several amazing songs from Steal this Album! just never made the cut into Toxicity ("Streamline" and "Bubbles" for example). One would have wished that System of a Down exhibited the same parsimony here. There are several songs in Mesmerize, but especially so in Hypnotize, that just did not need to be there. Instead of delivering two albums six months apart, System of a Down could have delivered one classic album, filled with all the unity and form that they wanted. It was an error of judgement in my opinion. It is unfortunate that System of a Down set such high standards for themselves, because this album is still really, really good. It just does not live up to their other mesmerizing albums, "System of a Down", and especially "Toxicity." Expand
  14. V.Z.
    Nov 30, 2005
    8
    Being more coherent, but less innovative than Mezmerize, I rate it lower (I'd give Mezmerize a 9 or 10). Hypnotyze suffers from more mediocre songs in the middle, but akes up for them with Track 8 and everything that follows it. You realize the impact of Mazmerize when a song like U-Fig sounds a little uninspired. Also, I get the feeling that the bad parts of the lyrics are more Being more coherent, but less innovative than Mezmerize, I rate it lower (I'd give Mezmerize a 9 or 10). Hypnotyze suffers from more mediocre songs in the middle, but akes up for them with Track 8 and everything that follows it. You realize the impact of Mazmerize when a song like U-Fig sounds a little uninspired. Also, I get the feeling that the bad parts of the lyrics are more striking on this album. Anyway, still a great piece of work. What a thrill! Listening to the two albums, you get the feeling that you are listening to rock music being made. And no, I am not saying "metal". Listen to some of the beats in this album. It is rock, in some cases even punk rock, with heavy metal influences. Expand
  15. TristanL
    Dec 8, 2005
    10
    Fantastic album and a great great component to the hypnotise/mesmerise double album. good music and nice and brutal. Excellent stuff.
  16. tonyak
    Oct 6, 2006
    10
    i love it...this is the first SOAD album i've owned and it's my favorite. i love all the political aspects: there are some great points, very deep. and, of course, the music is great!
  17. MikhailV
    Feb 10, 2006
    10
    Absolutely amazing, It's a bloody masterpiece. I have no idea how some people can put down S.O.A.D. and their music. I saw a comment saying "this isn't music". That person can go and burn. Each song on this album is amazing and send shivers around my body. I don't know if this happens to others? If i had to pick a least best song, it would be She's Like Heroin as it Absolutely amazing, It's a bloody masterpiece. I have no idea how some people can put down S.O.A.D. and their music. I saw a comment saying "this isn't music". That person can go and burn. Each song on this album is amazing and send shivers around my body. I don't know if this happens to others? If i had to pick a least best song, it would be She's Like Heroin as it sounds kind of rushed. But still great. System rock!!!!!! Expand
  18. yoG
    Jul 30, 2006
    10
    Awesome album.Better than 10 out of 10.Holy Mountains is the best song ever written.
  19. Gnarles
    Nov 25, 2005
    7
    While it's much better than the gaudy near-idiocy of Mezmerize, Hypnotize still suffers from two huge weaknesses that sabotaged its predecessor: Daron Malakian's "singing" and excessively blow-dried, pro-tooled production and mixing. Malakian is clearly getting fuller of himself with no end in sight; in fact, on Hypnotize's liner notes he's even credited first, before While it's much better than the gaudy near-idiocy of Mezmerize, Hypnotize still suffers from two huge weaknesses that sabotaged its predecessor: Daron Malakian's "singing" and excessively blow-dried, pro-tooled production and mixing. Malakian is clearly getting fuller of himself with no end in sight; in fact, on Hypnotize's liner notes he's even credited first, before Serj Tankian! Shut up and play your guitar, you balding jackass. Or at least I think it's a guitar: thanks to the usually reliable Rick Rubin and Andy Wallace, it often sounds like the band is playing inside a hermetically sealed box. Listen to Hypnotize and Mezmorize together, then go back and listen to Steal This Album and you will see what I mean. It just sounds NEUTERED and mall-metalish; much too glossy. However, complaints aside, hints of the old System show up on Hypnotize. The lyrics and songwriting are sharper and the music is more focused, and overall it's just not as wearying to get through as Mezmerize. These two albums, edited together as one cd with a different, rawer mix, might have been System's crowing achievement. As is, though, you get a two cd near-rip off that sounds like it was cut with Linkin Park's digital editing software. A 3 and 7 do not make a 10. A shame. Expand
  20. MarkU.
    Nov 26, 2005
    10
    I think that Mesmerize/Hypnotize is one of the best rock albums in a long time. System of a Down's use of different influences reminds me very much of Queen.
  21. KarlM
    Nov 26, 2005
    10
    I am A huge System fan, i own every album and every song they have ever created. I love every cd, especialy hypnotize and mezmerize. All of the songs are really amazing, Serj and Darrons voices are totally fuckign sweet.
  22. JacobS
    Dec 2, 2005
    9
    The reason that i think this album is great, is that there is a thin line between the entire album, and all the songs work as a whole, while almost every song also stand strong on its own. The only downside is that there is a bit repetitive lyrics every once in a while. 9/10
  23. JasonG
    Jan 10, 2006
    10
    A brilliant album on it's own, but must be listened to along with Mezmerize to truly appreciate it. These guys are on their way to becoming the next metal legends
  24. LeeW
    Jan 10, 2006
    9
    Great cd Hipnotise awome song
  25. GregH
    Jan 20, 2006
    10
    Wow. And I say that as an objective listener rather than an avid fan. Point for point this album surpassed my expectations. Though much more somber than Mezmerize, the songs still retained their typical energy. I particularly liked "Stealing Society", "Holy Mountains", "Tentative", and "Dreaming". Overall, this album was by far an excellent purchase.
  26. donna
    Feb 21, 2006
    9
    not bad, not bad at all. their mixture of goth and funk has proven itself to be sellable.
  27. ChrisJ
    May 5, 2006
    9
    Superb. Loses its way a little between Holy Mountains and Soldier Side but the class shines through. If I ever hear a better song than Holy Mountains I'll consider myself very lucky..........still prefer Mezmerize though.
  28. Myles#13
    Sep 6, 2006
    10
    Great great GREAT album! Along with 'Mesmerize', this is THE album to have of the year, and firmly puts SOAD at the top of the musical field. SOAD dares to rock the boat, both musically and politically and remains one of the most truly original bands of our time. Fav's are 'Attack', 'Holy Mountains', 'Vicinity of Obscenity' and the hauntingly Great great GREAT album! Along with 'Mesmerize', this is THE album to have of the year, and firmly puts SOAD at the top of the musical field. SOAD dares to rock the boat, both musically and politically and remains one of the most truly original bands of our time. Fav's are 'Attack', 'Holy Mountains', 'Vicinity of Obscenity' and the hauntingly beautiful 'Soldier Side'. Expand
  29. simong
    Nov 22, 2005
    9
    more great stuff from sod
  30. BrianC
    Nov 22, 2005
    10
    amazing!!!
  31. Matt
    Nov 22, 2005
    8
    Good anti-war lyrics. Rock on!
  32. CristianT
    Nov 22, 2005
    10
    Incredibly awesome! Actually, better than Mesmerize, and better than most their work so far.
  33. [Anonymous]
    Nov 22, 2005
    10
    awesome
  34. RobC
    Nov 22, 2005
    9
    Nice
  35. johnc
    Nov 23, 2005
    10
    the best cd so far system of a down has made,its up there with toxicity or perhaps even better
  36. blueindigo
    Nov 23, 2005
    10
    brilliant much better than mesmerize witch to me was a bit of a disapointment could even ve there greatest work yet
  37. NateP
    Nov 28, 2005
    10
    what can i say it mezmorized me.
  38. BuckCrouchIII
    Nov 29, 2005
    10
    The genious continues with Hypnotize.
  39. qwertpoiuy
    Nov 30, 2005
    10
    mad
  40. CaseyR
    Nov 30, 2005
    10
    Though I could not say that Hypnotize the greatest album that System of a Down has put out, I will say that it is up in the ranks with Toxicity as one of their best. As a long time System fan I couldn't wait for the arrival of Hypnotize. I felt that Mezmerize was very good, but it only wet my appetite for more System. Hypnotize was like the final dish on Thanksgiving (ironically Though I could not say that Hypnotize the greatest album that System of a Down has put out, I will say that it is up in the ranks with Toxicity as one of their best. As a long time System fan I couldn't wait for the arrival of Hypnotize. I felt that Mezmerize was very good, but it only wet my appetite for more System. Hypnotize was like the final dish on Thanksgiving (ironically coming out around that time) that is a full out rock album to finish what the appetizer of Mezmerize started. I could not say that Hypnotize is much better than their other albums because each album seems to bring out a different quality of the band. Each album sounds a little different than the last, while still staying true to the overall System effect. Hypnotize, though conveying the always present political message, seems to at some points do that in more a whimsical and even goofy tone. At other points in the CD, the hardcore System sound is ever-present. System of a Down also seems to be straying into different styles of music. The chorus of "Vicinity of Obscenity" has a 70s funk feel, while songs like "Stealing Society" and "Kill Rock N' Roll" have a more punk rock sound. Some songs on the CD, like "Lonely Day", seem to have an even classic rock sound to them. These examples just go to show, whatever System of a Down puts out there, it seems that it will always stay true to the hard-rocking band that have been making groud-breaking music for years. Expand
  41. StevenT
    Dec 1, 2005
    10
    This band is like a politicized episode of "The Surreal Life": Imagine a musical in which Frank Zappa, Primus, Queen, No Doubt, Abbie Hoffman and Che Guevara dissect and resculpt the steaming corpse of America and you have only a preliminary idea of what this band has accomplished musically and lyrically. "Hypnotize", the second lens in the 3d-glasses synthesis started by this year's This band is like a politicized episode of "The Surreal Life": Imagine a musical in which Frank Zappa, Primus, Queen, No Doubt, Abbie Hoffman and Che Guevara dissect and resculpt the steaming corpse of America and you have only a preliminary idea of what this band has accomplished musically and lyrically. "Hypnotize", the second lens in the 3d-glasses synthesis started by this year's "Mesmerize" completes a carnivalesque opus that satirically spits upon the garbage that western culture produces, consumes, excretes and regurgitates daily... As silly as this might seem, SOAD will certainly be revered by future ears as representing the manic depressive, schizoid state of being that dominates this early 21st century. Expand
  42. DannyK
    Dec 1, 2005
    10
    The best album, Even though I dislike steal this album and Mesmerize had some very weak tracks I am a fan, because I believe that Toxicity is one of the most powerful alternative rock albums PERIOD. When I heard that there was a second part of Mesmerize, I was filled with anxiety. I heard mesmerize and I didn't like it , so I naturally though this album would suck also. HOW was I The best album, Even though I dislike steal this album and Mesmerize had some very weak tracks I am a fan, because I believe that Toxicity is one of the most powerful alternative rock albums PERIOD. When I heard that there was a second part of Mesmerize, I was filled with anxiety. I heard mesmerize and I didn't like it , so I naturally though this album would suck also. HOW was I WRONG. This album is powerful, heartfelt, but most of all true. The lyrics of the sings make very powerful points abpout all of our lives. And the tunes that they picked for all of their songs are amazing also. My favorite Tracks Lonely Day Attack Tentative U-Fig Expand
  43. karlr
    Dec 16, 2005
    10
    Not as good as mezmerize but definetly one the best soad albums!
  44. DianaC
    Dec 2, 2005
    10
    This is by far the best album of the year, and I dare to say this is the best of the last ten years. No other album has thrilled me like this one. SOAD Rules. Has all the magic, energy, hard guitars, soft vocals, tough meanings and anything else you would expect from a really RocKin' band.
  45. JeffK
    Dec 2, 2005
    10
    very good, lonely day is the only bad song
  46. ArjisK
    Dec 20, 2005
    10
    I beleive that it's their best album!!!
  47. AlexC
    Dec 4, 2005
    10
    Awesome. A little different type of music than that of Mezmerize. This was a little more "Rock On", but I really enjoyed it.
  48. thomass
    Jan 20, 2006
    9
    this cd is the shit it aint too hard they sing about nothing but its all that...i recommend listening to crade of filth and slipknot as well as decay into light.i rate the cd
  49. NateW
    Jan 30, 2006
    7
    This album is for me a decline for System. I really was hoping that they would make a return to a more metal style but, I was mistaken. They just went back to the things they were doing on Mezmerize. If they would have combined the 2 albums into one then we would have something to talk about but, instead they put out 2 seperate LP's with songs on each that didn't need to be on This album is for me a decline for System. I really was hoping that they would make a return to a more metal style but, I was mistaken. They just went back to the things they were doing on Mezmerize. If they would have combined the 2 albums into one then we would have something to talk about but, instead they put out 2 seperate LP's with songs on each that didn't need to be on there. I guess I'm a little disapointed. Collapse
  50. TrevorR
    Jan 8, 2006
    9
    One thing you van always rely on when System of a Down releases an album is that there wont be one bad song. SOAD has really mastered melodic metal. Intertwining harmony with crazy drum sets and amazing guitar solos make this Syetem's best record yet. I think they just keep getting better.
  51. IgorM
    Feb 17, 2006
    10
    This deserves a 10! Few albums like this, one of my favorites.
  52. Connor
    Feb 17, 2006
    10
    This album is just one smash hit after another. I can never get enough of it. After hearing one good song I go to hear another, but then another good one comes on and I can't turn back.
  53. KeithJ
    Mar 30, 2006
    10
    A Great Album, I have all there others and feel that this is a masterpiece. The two Albums together are a fine body of work and I can't wait for the next instalment!!!!!
  54. Mithyus
    Apr 16, 2007
    10
    Just as Playlouder translates into words - Intense, terrifying.
  55. Miguel
    Nov 21, 2005
    10
    The best rock album of the year! This is the System of a Down that I was waiting for! Its definitely an improvement over Mezmerize.
  56. BrianC
    Nov 21, 2005
    10
    amazing!!!
  57. jimmy
    Nov 22, 2005
    10
    althought i liked mezemerize and i always said to myself the sequal wouldnt be able 2 match it its done more its completely toppled it
  58. LukeM
    Nov 22, 2005
    10
    This is an awesum album! .FULL STOP.
  59. MatthewB
    Nov 22, 2005
    10
    This is best of bests album on the metal/rock/aletrnative scene. Nothing more, just rulez and forever. Bravo SOAD!
  60. RimaR.
    Nov 22, 2005
    10
    Absolutely Amazing!
  61. chucky
    Nov 22, 2005
    7
    This is not as good as MEZMERIZE is, but it's still worth the buy. Tracks 4 through 7 are mediocre, but the rest of it is good.
  62. [Anonymous]
    Nov 22, 2005
    10
    awesome
  63. tonyg
    Nov 22, 2005
    10
    lyrically and musically real, pure, and true. this is by far the best album of the year!!! on par with all of the other work they did. u-fig is hysterical and true. In todays mind controlled world we need this to help lift the veil off all our eyes. but truth is no one cares because evertyhing is good with thier american dreams. take them away and you will see the truth...no choice. but I lyrically and musically real, pure, and true. this is by far the best album of the year!!! on par with all of the other work they did. u-fig is hysterical and true. In todays mind controlled world we need this to help lift the veil off all our eyes. but truth is no one cares because evertyhing is good with thier american dreams. take them away and you will see the truth...no choice. but I kinda get the sense that its too fukin late for all of us... so sit back, grab your flag, and enjoy the ride to the end... it will be here like a thief in the knight! Expand
  64. JohnW
    Nov 22, 2005
    10
    After initially listening to this album on MTV.com's The Leak, I only really liked 5 of the tracks on the album. And later after buying the album (big SOAD fan) I really wanted to hate it. But upon further listen, I've discovered that every track on this album is genius. Even the tracks that many of the reviewers have said are crazy and meaningless like "Viscinity of Obscenity" After initially listening to this album on MTV.com's The Leak, I only really liked 5 of the tracks on the album. And later after buying the album (big SOAD fan) I really wanted to hate it. But upon further listen, I've discovered that every track on this album is genius. Even the tracks that many of the reviewers have said are crazy and meaningless like "Viscinity of Obscenity" and "She's like Heroin" both have killer bridges and epic hooks, while "U-Fig", which pitchforkmedia labeled as filler, is my personal favorite song on the album. Even the slowest song on the album, "Lonely Day", has the best guitar solo on the album. No song here is or sounds like filler. Every song on this album is amazing. 10/10 Expand
  65. Someone
    Nov 22, 2005
    9
    Probably not their best album all-round, but the best songs on this album are the best that SOAD have ever done.
  66. BoganMan
    Nov 22, 2005
    10
    Bloody Amazing
  67. JesseM
    Nov 22, 2005
    6
    It is their worst CD.
  68. RandyH.
    Nov 23, 2005
    8
    For a hardcore SOAD fan such as myself, the six-month wait in between albums was pretty painful. When I first heard of their planned concept for Mesmerize/Hypnotize, I was both excited and skeptical. While I was excited about the prospect of getting double the System (most of my favorite bands take years between records), my cynical side suspected that this was a clever ploy to cash in For a hardcore SOAD fan such as myself, the six-month wait in between albums was pretty painful. When I first heard of their planned concept for Mesmerize/Hypnotize, I was both excited and skeptical. While I was excited about the prospect of getting double the System (most of my favorite bands take years between records), my cynical side suspected that this was a clever ploy to cash in twice on material recorded at the same time. After finally getting my hands on Hypnotize, though, I can honestly say that it was wise for them to go about it the way they did. If both albums were merged into one monster 70+ minute release, it might have been sensory overload for some. Hypnotize is the more thematic of the two and stands up a little better than Mesmerize as a complete work. Daron Expand
  69. MikeB
    Nov 23, 2005
    10
    Amazing and even better than Mezmerize. System of a Down in the one band that never dissapoints.
  70. DominicL
    Nov 23, 2005
    10
    This album has to be the album of the year!
  71. EmilyB
    Nov 23, 2005
    9
    Despite the seven month wait, and the subsequent awkward pause between the two discs which takes away some of the power and epic of the combined albums, it's a fantastic ride and probably their best album yet.
  72. JoshK
    Nov 23, 2005
    9
    This is the best heavy rock album to come out in years.
  73. PedroL
    Nov 25, 2005
    9
    Mezmerize was perfect... this album gets really close to that point.
  74. Siki
    Nov 26, 2005
    10
    This band just did what I thought was impossible, they topped both Mezmerize and Toxicity with this album. Just an unbelievable effort. I still remember the awesome cold chills I got from Toxicity.. Rarely do several albums by one band give you this kind of a rush. The best songs (among other great ones) are probably Tentative, Holy Mountains and the one that brings tears to my eyes, This band just did what I thought was impossible, they topped both Mezmerize and Toxicity with this album. Just an unbelievable effort. I still remember the awesome cold chills I got from Toxicity.. Rarely do several albums by one band give you this kind of a rush. The best songs (among other great ones) are probably Tentative, Holy Mountains and the one that brings tears to my eyes, Soldier Side. Best band in rock today.. And the competition don't stand a chance. Expand
  75. Peter
    Nov 26, 2005
    9
    I count 7 tracks on this album which I will listen to over and over again however this number may go up with repeated listens. Compared to many other releases 7/12 tracks is a decent ratio and many albums can't get 7 decent trackes despite having >20 tracks. It has also been commented that with a bit of editing it would be possible to convert the Hypnotize/Mezmerise doulble cd into a I count 7 tracks on this album which I will listen to over and over again however this number may go up with repeated listens. Compared to many other releases 7/12 tracks is a decent ratio and many albums can't get 7 decent trackes despite having >20 tracks. It has also been commented that with a bit of editing it would be possible to convert the Hypnotize/Mezmerise doulble cd into a single cd, however everone who suggests this gives a different list of tracks that should be cut. I think this shows that SoaD got the track balance about right on this and on Mezmerise. Personally I feel that this is the best SoaD album due to the variety of music on it. Expand
  76. JuroO.
    Nov 27, 2005
    9
    Not being a die-hard fan, I was very positively surprised by the whole Mezmerize/Hypnotize double-album, with Hypnotize being the better part, in my opinion. While the first two SOAD records were an energy-filled surprise, Mezmerize and Hypnotize are far more mature, colorful, authentic.
  77. EhabA.Ali
    Nov 27, 2005
    10
    awesome album
  78. Nikki
    Nov 27, 2005
    10
    I love SOAD, and they just keep getting better!!!
  79. koolkrabs
    Nov 28, 2005
    10
    grate cd realli completement mesmerize i definatly think this record will please the fans more than the last one did and i belive it will still appeal to the masses as well theres so much here some songs have and epic quality holy mountains tentative etc tht could topple mettalica from there pedastal (the old mettalica from the 80s not as they are now)truely wonderful
  80. linger
    Nov 28, 2005
    10
    the best cd in my collection if i could give it an 11 i would i admit playing it together is even better but the fact there seperate is quite good dosnt feel incomplete like mesmerize did all being a brilliant album
  81. archv
    Dec 11, 2005
    10
    The album is great, fresh and it is just what you've expected from SOAD - more different than 'mezmerize' but still cool. I can not say which album is better - 'mezmerize' or 'hypnotize' cause both are parts from a one project and they're based on a one big concept. Now every body knows that SOAD are metal gods and the more important "new metal" The album is great, fresh and it is just what you've expected from SOAD - more different than 'mezmerize' but still cool. I can not say which album is better - 'mezmerize' or 'hypnotize' cause both are parts from a one project and they're based on a one big concept. Now every body knows that SOAD are metal gods and the more important "new metal" band of all time. Expand
  82. JKGalope
    Dec 2, 2005
    8
    Mostly good stuff - love Serg's vocals, could do without Darin's most of the time. a few filler songs that could be done away with, but Dreaming and Holy Mountain are worth the cost of the entire CD.
  83. PhilipT
    Dec 22, 2005
    10
    Toxcity was there best album before HYPNOTIZE because it had staying power that still lasts today. Hypnotize can do almost the same in it's attractive and very addictive tracks. Song after song blast away in true System style like never before. Track number one called 'Attack' sets off the album like 'Prison Song' in Toxcity. A must get album. The more you lsten, Toxcity was there best album before HYPNOTIZE because it had staying power that still lasts today. Hypnotize can do almost the same in it's attractive and very addictive tracks. Song after song blast away in true System style like never before. Track number one called 'Attack' sets off the album like 'Prison Song' in Toxcity. A must get album. The more you lsten, the more you find things you never noticed before hand. Expand
  84. AndrewH
    Dec 23, 2005
    10
    This album is an awesum follow up to the smashing mezmerise album which redefine the modern metal album
  85. BillyS.
    Dec 31, 2005
    10
    At first I thought that the songs all sounded similar and lacked originality, then after listening to it a few times, I picked out a few favorites such as kill rock 'n' roll, Tentative, She's like Heroin and Lonley Day, possibly the most beautiful system song, and now I appreciate all the songs as unique and awesome works. I really like system's latest At first I thought that the songs all sounded similar and lacked originality, then after listening to it a few times, I picked out a few favorites such as kill rock 'n' roll, Tentative, She's like Heroin and Lonley Day, possibly the most beautiful system song, and now I appreciate all the songs as unique and awesome works. I really like system's latest works(Mesmerize/Hypnotize). Expand
  86. BogdanN
    Dec 30, 2005
    10
    This is definatly System Of a Down's best album yet. There is absolutely nothing wrong with it and it basically sounds great while sending a very real and true message to people.
  87. BillH
    Dec 4, 2005
    10
    This is a masterpiece. The sophistication of these songs and their arrangements have grown to the point where I don't think you can really categorize this band any longer. Dreaming, for example, is a remarkably twisty and snarky piece but never loses its power. And power is what this band is all about. The power of their music - the power of their lyrics - and the power of their This is a masterpiece. The sophistication of these songs and their arrangements have grown to the point where I don't think you can really categorize this band any longer. Dreaming, for example, is a remarkably twisty and snarky piece but never loses its power. And power is what this band is all about. The power of their music - the power of their lyrics - and the power of their considerable passion could make this CD, along with Funeral by Arcade Fire, the opening bells in a new era when music once again takes on social significance. And to draw a comparison to another incredible band, does anyone else think that Vicinity of Obscenity would fit right in on a Mr. Bungle CD? Expand
  88. VivN
    Dec 6, 2005
    10
    As with all SOAD albums, it's an acquired taste for some, but one that is richly rewarding for those who stick around
  89. TrentC
    Dec 6, 2005
    9
    Good album..I might have like Mesmerize a little bit more but I really do enjoy Hypnotize. Soldier Side is the best ending to the album I could have imagined and along with Lonely Day and Kill Rock and Roll make this a truly inspiring album
  90. Marc
    Oct 25, 2006
    10
    Rock at it's best!!!
  91. BradG
    Jan 26, 2006
    9
    One of their best albums yet
  92. BriaM
    Feb 11, 2006
    10
    i disagree with kyle i thinkSOAD really outdid themselfs and i couldn't be happier
  93. ZachO
    Nov 21, 2005
    10
    This is System's most powerful, evocative, daring, and artistic album so far, and is a perfect second-half of their double album Mezmerize/Hypnotize. They manage to blend their thrashing, out-of-control rhythms and time signatures with beautiful melodies and vocal artistry that makes every song worth listening to. Despite all of this, they never take themselves too seriously, as is This is System's most powerful, evocative, daring, and artistic album so far, and is a perfect second-half of their double album Mezmerize/Hypnotize. They manage to blend their thrashing, out-of-control rhythms and time signatures with beautiful melodies and vocal artistry that makes every song worth listening to. Despite all of this, they never take themselves too seriously, as is witnessed in the deliciously absurd "Vicinity of Obscenity." I've never enjoyed myself more listening to an album, and I'm definitely not a hard rock, heavy metal, anything like that listener. But I don't like to classify System that way, because it almost cheapens and dumbs down their music compared to most crappy music on the radio. It's just heavy enough to have weight and resonate emotionally, but definitely not an overly emotional or moody album. My favorite tracks are Dreaming, Hypnotize, Tentative, and Holy Mountains, but there isn't a single song I couldn't listen to repeatedly. I'll admit that is an unusual thing for me with SOAD, but just about the biggest compliment I can give hypnotize. Just buy it, already! Expand
  94. DanielL
    Nov 22, 2005
    10
    Mesmerize was a brilliant starting edition to the double album but Hypnotize was one step greater and it is a strong contender for album of the 21st century.Awesome album.Keep em coming SOAD!!!
  95. WillO
    Nov 22, 2005
    10
    Great album, these guys just know how to plain rock out and have fun. At the same time while having fun they have some meaning to there songs. But music is about having fun, not everything needs to be all smart and lovy dovy. This is just a plain rock hard album, you can't go wrong here! The Mezmerize/Hypnotize project is plain great, really an amazing job!
  96. peterm
    Nov 22, 2005
    9
    CLEARLY one of the best hard rock albums of recent history. Besides MAYBE 2 songs, this album is start to finish brilliance.
  97. Robert
    Nov 22, 2005
    8
    A good album, not great. I'm only one listen in thus far though. Definitely on par with Mezmerize. The last song on the cd is the continuation of the first song off Mezmerize, "Soldier Side." It is one of the best songs on the disc.
  98. CalebA
    Nov 22, 2005
    10
    It's really important to take in both Mesmerize and Hypnotize as one whole product rather than separates. Mesmerize seems to contain the catchier songs by my judgment, but Hypnotize is every bit as strong musically. They're both great, great albums.
  99. NickH.
    Nov 23, 2005
    8
    I can't see myself giving
  100. michaelm
    Nov 23, 2005
    9
    i'm a system fan, and i think they continue to grow musically. they are writing songs that flow better than before. in the past some songs have been choppy, but the soft to hard transfers in both mezmerize and hypnotise are much better than previous albums.
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 19
  2. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. Not that the band's blend of metal; world music; jagged, breakneck rhythms; and non sequitur lyrics don't still connect, but it is nowhere near as dazzling as it was on its first two go-arounds. [26 Nov 2005]
  2. It's a strange brew that may not be everyone's cup of tea; still, there's no denying these cats have their singular system down pat. [25 Nov 2005, p.100]
  3. "Hypnotize" has some of the circus-is-in-town surrealism that links System to the Frank Zappa avant-rock tradition, but overall it's more of a fundamental rock album. [20 Nov 2005]