Hypnotize

  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Hypnotize Image
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 234 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Co-produced by Rick Rubin, this 12-song disc was recorded during the same sessions as 'Mesmerize,' and is intended to be heard with that earlier 2005 disc as one complete set.

Top Track

Hypnotize
Why don't you ask the kids at Tienanmen Square? Was fashion the reason why they were there? They disguise it, Hypnotize it. Television made you buy... See the rest of the song lyrics
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 19
  2. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. Against all odds, the completed Mezmerize/Hypnotize project is actually greater than the sum of its parts - in fact it quickly becomes impossible to think of it as anything else than one epic piece of work.
  2. System of a Down confound and irritate even as they rock.
  3. Entertainment Weekly
    83
    It's a strange brew that may not be everyone's cup of tea; still, there's no denying these cats have their singular system down pat. [25 Nov 2005, p.100]
  4. Blender
    80
    Hypnotize has a little bit of everything: protest, pretension, comedy, brute force, delicacy, compassion, crassness, fury. [Dec 2005, p.143]
  5. Reaffirms the Los Angeles-based band's strong pop sensibility.
  6. Billboard
    70
    Not that the band's blend of metal; world music; jagged, breakneck rhythms; and non sequitur lyrics don't still connect, but it is nowhere near as dazzling as it was on its first two go-arounds. [26 Nov 2005]
  7. Even if Hypnotize is full of missteps, its existence as a separate entity is what makes Mezmerize nearly perfect.

See all 19 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 7 out of 120
  1. martinw
    May 11, 2007
    10
    the best band of its kind!!!
  2. DianaC
    Dec 2, 2005
    10
    This is by far the best album of the year, and I dare to say this is the best of the last ten years. No other album has thrilled me like this This is by far the best album of the year, and I dare to say this is the best of the last ten years. No other album has thrilled me like this one. SOAD Rules. Has all the magic, energy, hard guitars, soft vocals, tough meanings and anything else you would expect from a really RocKin' band. Expand
  3. jimmy
    Nov 22, 2005
    10
    althought i liked mezemerize and i always said to myself the sequal wouldnt be able 2 match it its done more its completely toppled it
  4. BillyS.
    Dec 31, 2005
    10
    At first I thought that the songs all sounded similar and lacked originality, then after listening to it a few times, I picked out a few At first I thought that the songs all sounded similar and lacked originality, then after listening to it a few times, I picked out a few favorites such as kill rock 'n' roll, Tentative, She's like Heroin and Lonley Day, possibly the most beautiful system song, and now I appreciate all the songs as unique and awesome works. I really like system's latest works(Mesmerize/Hypnotize). Expand
  5. TrevorR
    Jan 8, 2006
    9
    One thing you van always rely on when System of a Down releases an album is that there wont be one bad song. SOAD has really mastered melodic One thing you van always rely on when System of a Down releases an album is that there wont be one bad song. SOAD has really mastered melodic metal. Intertwining harmony with crazy drum sets and amazing guitar solos make this Syetem's best record yet. I think they just keep getting better. Expand
  6. Nov 15, 2016
    8
    Hypnotise is perhaps the most important album System has ever released. This was their final album before they went on a long hiatus, whichHypnotise is perhaps the most important album System has ever released. This was their final album before they went on a long hiatus, which will soon be ending with their upcoming album. This also, perhaps, was their weakest album, and the hiatus will most likely allow them to spiritually clear their air, and allow them to head in a clearer, more musically interesting direction.

    There are some issues on this album, for example the overuse of Daron’s voice. In my opinion he works so much better as a backup singer than a lead vocalist, and it’s a shame he steals the show from Serj, who really is the greater singer. For one, Daron’s voice is high and whiny (intentionally so), which does suit the instrumentation, but wastes the manic singing of Serj, who really proved his skills in their debut. There are fewer moments in the vocals on this album that really resemble Spiders and Know, which evoke that middle eastern sound, which could really have helped these tracks.

    However, regardless this is a SOAD album, so it is still of a high quality, even if it can’t keep up with its predecessors. There are some standout tracks on this:

    Attack:
    We get a really fast, and thrash-like riff opening the album, and does remind me of the way 80’s bands tended to open their albums. This song does work, and has a lot of emphasis on Serj’s voice, which for me is a major plus.

    Kill Rock ‘n Roll:
    Another solid SOAD track, especially the comedic lyrics. “I felt like the biggest ass” goes to show there was some honest musicianship on this album, and even some hints of experimentation in their songwriting, which meant this album was anything but tame. Very re-listenable.

    Hypnotize:
    Great lyrics (“can you say brainwashing…brainwashing” as an example), this was a great track to choose for the title, but what I especially love is the solid balance between Daron and Serj’s vocals. If they want more Daron singing, this is the way to do it, with very prominent backups. Sadly the song isn’t as heavy as Mesmerize before it, but compensates with a very catchy and modern melody. Not a song you can really headbang to, but one you could really sing along to.

    Holy Mountains:
    This song sounds like something straight off their Debut. A long and heavy track, with massive religious criticisms (on the edge of redundancy and revolutionary), like a mix of Mind and Know. There is an eerie soundscape throughout the track, and makes the pacing of the album so much better. The 3 songs before this were very short and heavy, adding up to about 10 minutes of fast riffs, then stopped for a massive stomping track filled with huge riffs which live up to the name. This was an expertly written song.

    She’s Like Heroin + Vicinity of Obscenity
    They experiment even more She’s Like Heroin, and succeed in making something quite catchy, and re-listenable. This is quite a different tone for SOAD, as this is the first time they (kind of) touch on songs about love, but in their own, mildly psychotic way. Then with Vicinity of Obscenity they come full circle with the veritey of this album, this song is ENDLESSLY relistendable, with some standout lyrics, even on this album. Really great song, which I believe was previously released on a few of their older singles, which goes to show that they had some of their roots in this album

    Lonely Day:
    This song has a great melody, and ‘memorable’ lyrics, which I really don’t know what to make of… Daron has leads, and it just goes to show what a shame it is that Serj isn’t as present on this album, and he could really have carried the melody a bit better. Regardless the song sounds good when you listen, and is one which really feels like a hit, which works to the advantage of those re-listening to the album.

    Soldier Side:
    The album ends with the opposite of the opening track. What a good track this is. Like a semi-ballad, it has actually interesting anthem-like lyrics about war. Serj and Daron have harmonising vocals that work here, because of the anthem like quality of the song. A great way to end the album.

    Overall this cannot be considered a disappointment. It could compete with all of SOAD’s discography for its clear and distinctive style, and its melodic focus. I only wish there was less emphasis on Daron’s voice, and more softer and harder moments.

    This was a great success, and should really get everbody excited for the SOAD album, which is even as half as good as this (which will easily be) then we might have their new masterpiece on our hands.
    Expand
  7. AndyW
    Nov 22, 2005
    0
    B.Y.O.B. is a pretty messy single. It jumps from fast screamo type heavy metal to absolute dance shit. I can't tolerate this music, B.Y.O.B. is a pretty messy single. It jumps from fast screamo type heavy metal to absolute dance shit. I can't tolerate this music, it's too painful to listen to. This is like listening to Alexisonfire on speed! Expand

See all 120 User Reviews