User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 257 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 30 out of 257

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. belvedereh
    Dec 27, 2005
    3
    If you can ignore the excruciatingly awful vocals, the songs are quite nice.
  2. ChazN
    Oct 7, 2005
    1
    Don't know what everyone is getting excited about?? This idiot is almost as folorn and self indulgent as damien rice!!!!! Can someone tell me what is so good about him??
  3. WillyP
    Nov 18, 2005
    1
    Tiny Tim is alive and well, and scraping his nails down a chalkboard! I refuse to believe this music isn't a prank of some kind.
  4. AaronS.
    Jul 10, 2005
    1
    A laughably bad disc. Next to M.I.A., this is the most overrated album of the year! The guy sounds like Tiny Tim. I simply can't believe this is getting good word of mouth. Simply awful.
  5. emem
    Aug 8, 2005
    1
    This album is a really kitsch and junk. For the first 2 songs I thought it is a parody. Suprisingly it is not. Really funny, what people are listening...
  6. ScottY
    Oct 31, 2005
    1
    Original...perhaps. Disappointing...definitely. Whoa...nothing on this disc jumped out at me. I lasted for 3 songs, my wife made it through 1, and the two friends I lent it to didn't get much farther, either.
  7. Jonnyw
    Oct 3, 2005
    1
    The fact that this bunch of seemingly no-hopers managed not only to make it tothe top but also deprive the excellent kaiser chiefs of the mercury music prize is a fact that i, like many i am sure, will take a very long time to get to grips with. Utter, utter trash!!
  8. JasonS
    Sep 13, 2005
    0
    I don't get the love for his voice - sounds like he was kicked in the crotch and someone recorded the crying. Truly awful.
  9. JLD
    Sep 15, 2005
    2
    I don't get it... Only like the song with rufus ! Won the Mercury Price ? Come on...
  10. Steven
    Sep 3, 2005
    0
    Hugely overrated album. I can't believe people actually listen to this snoozefest.
  11. LeonardoF
    Sep 7, 2005
    0
    Mommy, I want to be Nina Simone.
  12. MichaelR
    Nov 15, 2005
    0
    Don't submit your ears to unnecessary pain and torture.
  13. JonathanW
    Oct 20, 2005
    0
    Everybody has an understanding of the concept of originality. You take something that is different to many other albums, take a new spin on things, then try to get it published. However, many people fail to draw the line between originality and total lack of talent. I am trying to emphasise that too much emphasis is put on this in the field of people who believe in real music. If i was to Everybody has an understanding of the concept of originality. You take something that is different to many other albums, take a new spin on things, then try to get it published. However, many people fail to draw the line between originality and total lack of talent. I am trying to emphasise that too much emphasis is put on this in the field of people who believe in real music. If i was to release an album consisting of a mere collection of sounds strung together would this mean i was talented? No. I can honestly say i am disgusted that originality is so overemphasised in todays supposedly, in my opinion, very much musically-informed society. Dont get me wrong. I do not conform to the traditional ways.If i like a song, i like it-simple as that!! However, I can honestly say that i have never, in my long life, ever, ever, seen a better example of originality overrated by genuine talent than anthony and the johnsons. I will be forever sickened that a band like this could win such a prestigious prize as the mercury. I sincrelely hope that an utter, utter, travesty like this disgrace will never, ever, ever, happen again Expand
  14. sissy
    Feb 21, 2005
    2
    monotonous (emotionally and musically). really dull.
  15. MatthewW
    Jun 1, 2005
    0
    This music is laughable. I played this album for my mother and brother and they couldn't stand it. The guys voice sounds like he pinched his adam's apple and moved his hand in a vibrated fashion. Truly awful sounding. I don't understand the talk about his emotion through his voice. He sounds horrendous, i could without a doubt sing the same way. Critics and apparently This music is laughable. I played this album for my mother and brother and they couldn't stand it. The guys voice sounds like he pinched his adam's apple and moved his hand in a vibrated fashion. Truly awful sounding. I don't understand the talk about his emotion through his voice. He sounds horrendous, i could without a doubt sing the same way. Critics and apparently people alike seem to like this which boggles my mind. This is TERRIBLE music. Expand
  16. EBow
    Jun 12, 2005
    0
    For the life of me I don't understand how anyone can listen to this. This is some of the worst music I have ever heard.
  17. DeanS.
    Jun 14, 2005
    0
    I Am A Turd Now
  18. EricM
    Aug 2, 2005
    3
    This disc is as overrated as they come. Aaron S. got it right when he noted this disc and M.I.A. are the worst discs to get good reviews all year. Melancholy vocals aren't always a good thing, folks.
  19. TomA
    Sep 11, 2005
    1
    It's so whiney and painful to listen... i've never been a bully and in fact i was one of the kids that got picked on in school... but if i heard someone sing this crap, i would want to punch him in the face.
  20. KristannaP
    Nov 15, 2005
    1
    Is this what passes for music nowadays?! Antony's singing is whiny, his lyrics are short and stupid, his songs are either cut abruptly or drag on and on. If he wants the damn transexual operation then he should just get it instead of crying to listeners about it! This is nothing but TRASH! I WANT A REFUND!!!
  21. seanb
    Oct 28, 2005
    3
    the 3 is for originality! That is all this album is! anyone who wants to work hard to enjoy music give this one a miss!
  22. D.F.Nicholas
    Mar 14, 2005
    2
    Vastly over-rated. The vocals become anoying about halfway through the first song and by track 3 you want to strangle the usually reliable reviewers who convinced you to buy this lousy CD.
  23. LennyD
    Mar 27, 2005
    0
    Shockingly dull and highly overrated. Very reminiscent in style of Mick Hucknall: Simply red.
  24. BlisterfishCafe
    Sep 13, 2005
    1
    Here we have it! The perfect album! Put this masterpiece on and plunge headlong into suicide. I listened to this CD while driving in my car. By the time I reached song 6, I began punching myself in the face in order to quell the pain in my ears. Thank goodness I had pulled off the road. Lord help us...Thinking of buying this CD? Picture Tiny Tim on acid talking about gender issues that Here we have it! The perfect album! Put this masterpiece on and plunge headlong into suicide. I listened to this CD while driving in my car. By the time I reached song 6, I began punching myself in the face in order to quell the pain in my ears. Thank goodness I had pulled off the road. Lord help us...Thinking of buying this CD? Picture Tiny Tim on acid talking about gender issues that you don't really care about. A mid-tempo nightmare from start to finish. Mono-tone vocals that should be used for crowd control or prisoner torture. Everyone loves this CD. If this is a joke, I didn't get the memo. Expand
  25. ScottW
    May 11, 2006
    1
    It's not worth spending money for just one good song. Download "Fistful of Love" but don't waste your money on the rest of this crap!
Metascore
88

Universal acclaim - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 30
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 30
  3. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. Haunting and affecting.
  2. For what it lacks in consistency, I Am A Bird Now gains in being, even at its most tedious of moments, an interesting and thematically compelling listen.
  3. Entertainment Weekly
    83
    It could have been mawkish, but the sentiments--and Antony's trembling falsetto--are so honest, you love it despite your jaded self. [4 Feb 2005, p.133]