• Record Label: Geffen
  • Release Date: Oct 18, 2005
User Score
5.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 201 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 88 out of 201

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. johnyd
    Oct 24, 2005
    3
    nothing extra...
  2. AFWhigs
    Jan 5, 2006
    0
    The wost sort of manufactured pop. What I find most offensive is that we're supposed to take AS seriously as an "artist" when her entire career has been manufactured by her father. Gee, must be tough Ashlee. Maybe daddy can buy you a pony and buy you another job when the public tires of this banal, vapid drecht.
  3. DanF.
    Sep 4, 2007
    1
    I am me? WTF! Who else would I think this talentless hack is? At least her sister is kinda nice to look at.
  4. BrettR
    Nov 15, 2005
    0
    She should be banned from the recording studio, she is a puppet of a bad establishment. She is famous because she's obnoxious. I couldn't listen to the whole album it was so bad. I would encourage NO ONE to buy this. SAVE YOUR MONEY. If you want a good pop/dance album, buy Love.Angel.Music.Baby or Confessions on a Dance Floor.
  5. MangleA
    Nov 7, 2005
    0
    You guys do know she doesn't have anything to do with the production of her music, right? When you buy this CD, you're not actually buying music. YOU ARE BUYING A CAREFULLY MARKETED PRODUCT!
  6. ashleeblimpson
    Dec 20, 2005
    0
    pros:--NA-- cons: all the songs stink overview: if the first single [boyfriend] stunk ass, then how would the album be any better? she has a horrible voice, accent with stupid wanna-be rock song. EVERYBODY, SIGN THE PETITION BANNING ASHLEE SIMPSON!!
  7. zacko
    Oct 22, 2005
    0
    what is this crap? ashley simpson is NOT an artist, and it boggles the mind to try to comprehend why she is in the "music" business in the first place. *ahem HER SISTER AHEM*. she has no musical talent or appreciation in any form, doesnt write her songs or arrangements, shes just a puppet of her father living in her sister's shadow.
  8. BenS
    Oct 23, 2005
    0
    total crap, was forced to listen to this parp and almost died
  9. ilikegoodmusic
    Oct 23, 2005
    0
    wow. at least the critics are being honest about this one. this is just sad, apocalypse is nigh.
  10. Gregg
    Nov 21, 2005
    0
    Seriously, though. What world do we live in where someone can blatantly NOT SING on live TV and come back months later with a platinum selling album of sub-mediocre material? I guess Miss Simpson could chalk the success up to image....as well as her TV show. My advice: throw on the Rolling Stones T-Shirt again (even though you probably can't name one album of theirs), Keep dying your Seriously, though. What world do we live in where someone can blatantly NOT SING on live TV and come back months later with a platinum selling album of sub-mediocre material? I guess Miss Simpson could chalk the success up to image....as well as her TV show. My advice: throw on the Rolling Stones T-Shirt again (even though you probably can't name one album of theirs), Keep dying your hair black (you've got to convince others your dangerous, right?) and stop putting out albums. That is all. Expand
  11. ToxicS
    Nov 5, 2005
    3
    The "Auto-Tune" engineer has definitely improved Ashlee's vocals even more on this new album and the production is really tight. However, really good production from excellent sound engineerinng cannot save bad music. The "ghost writer" (a ghost writer actually writes the songs and Ashlee is credited as being a writer and then her dumb fans can say how she is so 'deep' and The "Auto-Tune" engineer has definitely improved Ashlee's vocals even more on this new album and the production is really tight. However, really good production from excellent sound engineerinng cannot save bad music. The "ghost writer" (a ghost writer actually writes the songs and Ashlee is credited as being a writer and then her dumb fans can say how she is so 'deep' and writes her own stuff) of Ashlee's new batch of songs should secretly be embarrassed. Music is an art-form that is suppose to be genuine and creative. This new CD is not art, it's a MONEY MAKER (look at the jewel case cover for instance) that all mainstream radio listeners and MTV viewers will blindly support because they don't know any better. The Major Record Label and Father Simpson win again. 1 point for the Auto-Tune Engineer and 1 point for the production as a whole. 1 other point for the ability to actually brainwash these poor people into listening to this stuff and not music that actually matters. Expand
  12. dennisl
    Nov 8, 2005
    1
    I can't believe that anyone actually likes this junk! It's like someone took a dozen artist, threw them in the blender and took away all the good stuff about them. Yeech!!
  13. ChuckW
    Oct 21, 2005
    0
    What a sappy, crappy piece of trash! This album sounds as if she's taken a number of great songs and just re-worked them in a different key and sprayed her "trademark" growl all over them. Really, really bad.
  14. RaulJulia
    Oct 23, 2005
    0
    SEX SEX SEX. It worked for her big sister, why not the baby of the family? Leave it to dear old dad to tart the girl up. Here her music is as fake as the silocone ad on the album cover.
  15. steelpen
    Oct 24, 2005
    1
    Souless
  16. TomD
    Oct 24, 2005
    0
    unnecessary. a shame really, because I do loves me some good teen pop. play it at halloween parties to really scare the toys out of the pinatas.
  17. AlanR
    Oct 26, 2005
    0
    How can you release an album under your name when you didn't write or sing or have any form of creative input whatsoever into it? Ashlee found a way. It's called mo' money, mo' money, mo'money.
  18. BeckyS
    Oct 28, 2005
    1
    Like many others, I think that this album is severly lacking....lacking in talent, in originality, in musicality....Ashlee needs to go back to acting...she has little range as a singer and is merely a puppet for the people around her..."I Am Me"? Ashlee, who are you? Gwen Stefani's wannabe clone? Find yourself, then maybe try again...maybe, but learn to sing first...
  19. JasonL
    May 14, 2006
    0
    The fact that Ashlee sells a single record terrifies me. Pop music has become an atrocity on an almost inconceivable level...this girl is its flagbearer. Obviously fake even to the lowest of IQ's, a non-existent singing talent, lip syncing, what else do people need before they realize that this is utter crap? Summed up: More garbage people will buy because they're told to. The fact that Ashlee sells a single record terrifies me. Pop music has become an atrocity on an almost inconceivable level...this girl is its flagbearer. Obviously fake even to the lowest of IQ's, a non-existent singing talent, lip syncing, what else do people need before they realize that this is utter crap? Summed up: More garbage people will buy because they're told to. Baaaaaaaaaaa.... Expand
  20. sam
    Jan 27, 2007
    2
    the only thing notably good about this album is her boobs on the cover..
  21. RobbieC
    Oct 4, 2007
    1
    Hilarious!
  22. AmandaG
    Apr 23, 2007
    1
    After her lip-syncing fiasco that was pulled on Saturday Night Live in front of millions, it left many wishing that she would lip-sync her entire album off a more talented artist so we would not have to hear her scratchy voice played on the radio ever again. One of her adoring fans describes her sound as
  23. ESaglamer
    Nov 16, 2005
    0
    suxs though and though. Ashlee is as unconvincing as singing can get. Thanks to her dad she has a career. Other than that she's just a simple ole Southern gal with nothing to say in general. The album proves my point.
  24. BitBurn
    Nov 21, 2005
    3
    It's just not fair to her. She was born in Hollywood, what can you do? Poor Ashlee. Everything was all too easy for her and now she's on everyone's top 10 list of Worst Artist Ever! Ho well, NEXT!
  25. FloraFrancy
    Dec 11, 2005
    0
    SHE SUCKS! This is an awful CD, and made worse by the fact that she is a lip-syncing rock wannabe with a stupid pout and even stupider sister.
  26. ScriptKiddie
    Dec 11, 2005
    0
    Ashlee simpson makes whines and cries in every single song....this album just really,really sucks....just like Ashlee....
  27. Matt
    Oct 21, 2005
    1
    A disaster. I wasn't a fan of Autobiography, but in trying to prove she's a serious artist, on I Am Me she's just become a pale imitation of more artists. Buy Brie Larson's Finally Out Of P.E. instead if you want a great new pop album.
  28. JimC
    Oct 21, 2005
    0
    Should have downloaded this pile of crap. Never listen to a g/f when buying music. This is worse than anything I've ever heard anywhere at any time.
  29. jordanl
    Dec 1, 2005
    0
    Does anyone find it hilarious how the biggest poser in the music world just titled her album "I am me." she lipsyncs, she doesnt write her own lyrics, and she relies on her daddy's connections. Ashlee simpson, please go die
  30. GinnyM
    Dec 19, 2005
    1
    It's talentless chicks with rich parents who give a bad name to women who actually rock. Unless you're 12, or you're a dolt, this music is contrived shlock of the worst order. Hopefully to those of you actually thinking this garbage is any good, eventually you'll hopefully grow up and realize what real music is... it's songs written and performed by actual It's talentless chicks with rich parents who give a bad name to women who actually rock. Unless you're 12, or you're a dolt, this music is contrived shlock of the worst order. Hopefully to those of you actually thinking this garbage is any good, eventually you'll hopefully grow up and realize what real music is... it's songs written and performed by actual musicians, who actually pay their dues, who aren't foisted on the masses. This album is an affornt to artist everywhere. I'm giving it a 1 not a 0 because clearly the studio musicians brought in have chops, but clearly not souls to play on such trite exquisite BS. Expand
  31. HehHehehe
    Oct 22, 2005
    0
    Same ol' Same ol'
  32. ChanteT
    Oct 22, 2005
    0
    Models can't necessarily sing.
  33. ???
    Oct 22, 2005
    0
    anyone who listens to this has not only no taste in music but also must have serious mental conditions that should be checked out.
  34. jamif
    Oct 23, 2005
    0
    ohmygod, when will she stop!!
  35. StaceyS
    Oct 23, 2005
    1
    worst album EVER
  36. stevej
    Oct 25, 2005
    2
    This album sucks, i would bang her though.
  37. evenhamownsashlee
    Oct 25, 2005
    0
    wowwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww sucks
  38. TobyKeith
    Oct 26, 2005
    1
    It's worth 1/10 at least for her rack that nicely frames the album cover. You'd do her, wouldn't you?
  39. RichardD
    Oct 26, 2005
    1
    It was a struggle to give this even a "1." It just sounds like someone set the machine to "pop" and out shot this album. She could have done so much better. Sad.
  40. T-BONE
    Oct 27, 2005
    0
    ok read shannon p's comment. That sums it for me. This album sucks.
  41. KyleighH
    Feb 11, 2006
    0
    I cannot believe that Ashlee Simpson had the nerve to come out with a sophomore album. After the lip-syncing fiasco on "Saturday Night Life", her complaints of acid-reflux disease, and not to mention being booed at the Orange Bowl, this girl has the nerve to come out with another album? I give this a zero, for Ashlee and this album.
  42. VincentG
    Jun 25, 2006
    0
    There are a good number of comments lashing out at the users who gave this CD a zero, mostly by people who gave it a between an eight and a ten. I truly feel sorry for anyone who would give this anything above a one--not because the music is putrid or unlistenable, because it really isn't; this album is a complete farce--her voice has been doctored so much, it's basically a There are a good number of comments lashing out at the users who gave this CD a zero, mostly by people who gave it a between an eight and a ten. I truly feel sorry for anyone who would give this anything above a one--not because the music is putrid or unlistenable, because it really isn't; this album is a complete farce--her voice has been doctored so much, it's basically a robot singing to you. The lyrics are meaningless, the songs are formulaic, and after you've heard the first song, you've heard the whole album--and the first song sucks. To all the people who question why people post comments who hate this album--we've got just as much a right to expose this tepid pile of crap for the fraud it is as the rest of you have to promote it. Expand
  43. RandyB
    Jun 29, 2006
    3
    Ashlee Simpson had such potential in August 2004. She was never a singer in the leagues of Christina Aguilera or even Gwen Stefani, but it didn't matter. Her guilty pleasure debut was full of songs that for better or worse (depending on how you see it) struck a chord, and it's not like she had a Courtney Love voice posturing as Aretha Franklin. She sold 3 million records and Ashlee Simpson had such potential in August 2004. She was never a singer in the leagues of Christina Aguilera or even Gwen Stefani, but it didn't matter. Her guilty pleasure debut was full of songs that for better or worse (depending on how you see it) struck a chord, and it's not like she had a Courtney Love voice posturing as Aretha Franklin. She sold 3 million records and people liked her. Then the infamous lip-synch incident occurred and it all blew up. Criticism was flung from ever direction, and the Orange Bowl debacle didn't help matters. But her fortunes were not lost. She had a chance in her sophmore album to prove that she was worth listening to. Her single "Boyfriend" was a hit before the album came out, and people started to think she might have a salvageable career. The lamely titled I AM ME debuted at number one, and then it fell away. The reason? Ashlee blew her second chance. While I still don't care squat about her voice, it's the clumsy tunes that dig I AM ME into the ground. While not perfect, the first and third parts of the whole are catchy and show a hint of maturity, but the center section is gag worthy. "L.O.V.E." isn't just a Gwen knockoff-it's a terrible Gwen knockoff. Even "Hollaback Girl" had some degree of cleverness and it was well produced; this has neither. "Coming Back for More" is boring, "Dancing Alone" is ruined by a laughable bridgeline, and "Burnin' Up" is a sad attempt at the dancefloor and the only track on here worse than "L.O.V.E." But even the good songs are derivative and still not enough to save this hurtling pile. Instead of proving Ashlee as a talent to be reckoned with, I AM ME just makes that 50ft. hole she's in big enough she can poke her head out of the other side of the world. Expand
  44. RobC
    Sep 29, 2006
    2
    That's the most stupid name i hever heard (i am me). need more reasons?
  45. Nicole
    Nov 17, 2005
    1
    Ashlee Simpson deserves to die, and we deserve to watch her suffer!
  46. RichardR
    Nov 24, 2005
    0
    Wow, this CD plays like an homage to every other famous artist out there, without meeting the fresh excitement or novelty created by her peers. Quite sad, really.
  47. LindaR
    Nov 24, 2005
    0
    I can't believe I ever thought this person had a speck of talent. I'm so glad I've realized the error of my ways! This CD isn't worth the plastic it's encoded on!
Metascore
43

Mixed or average reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 13
  2. Negative: 5 out of 13
  1. The pop hooks are there, but we can't shake the feeling that the sentiments come off as phony.
  2. In venturing to offer something for everyone, Simpson offers nothing for anyone.
  3. No matter how hard Simpson tries, no matter how foreboding the surface, beneath it all she's still light and frivolous. But that doesn't mean, by any stretch, that this is bubblegum music, since that term implies that this music is frothy, fun, and, most important, hooky, and I Am Me is none of those things.