Metascore
51

Mixed or average reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 23
  2. Negative: 5 out of 23
  1. The results of his recent output have been unquestionably subpar.
  2. Mar 25, 2013
    70
    This is an indulgent jumble of a sideline release, but that doesn't mean Wayne isn't in fine form.
  3. Apr 2, 2013
    40
    Despite two potent blasts, “Gunwalk” and “No Worries,” the disc is both numbingly haphazard and inconsequential.
  4. 40
    The beats are so simple that they’re a nonfactor, and there aren’t very many funny lines--which was Wayne’s most redeeming quality in the past.
  5. Mar 27, 2013
    60
    He’s obviously still capable of moments of greatness, but right now those moments are so dulled by surrounding mediocrity they’re becoming lost.
  6. 67
    Lil Wayne still has his curveball, but on I Am a Human Being II his MVP status is behind him.
  7. Mar 26, 2013
    40
    While not an absolute mess, I Am Not A Human Being 2 isn't very good.
  8. His posse cuts are finally showing some savor too, albeit not on the vestigial guns 'n' violence ones.
  9. Mar 25, 2013
    60
    For the casual Weezy fan (one that hears the music but doesn't listen), I Am Not a Human Being II is perfect mindless fun. However, for those who expected more from this repeatedly delayed effort, Wayne may have to hop in his spaceship and try again.
  10. Mar 25, 2013
    50
    mostly, I Am Not a Human Being II shows us Lil Wayne responding weakly to the unsettling prospect of weakness.
  11. 30
    Wayne's 10th studio album sees memory of his charisma and sparkle during that mid '00s era fade further.
  12. Mar 28, 2013
    40
    Temperance might dull his inspiration, but it can’t shake his confidence. Unfortunately, that smugness is also his undoing: there’s no quality control here.
  13. Mar 29, 2013
    39
    The only moments where Wayne sounds marginally interested in his own music come when he veers furthest away from rap.
  14. Mar 27, 2013
    40
    I Am Not a Human Being II is a poor effort for sure, but more startling might be the fact that it’s over five years now since Wayne was anything near his peak and he shows no signs of reversing the slump.
  15. 25
    The music isn’t as good as it was, sure, but what’s truly maddening is his apparent indifference to his own decline.
  16. Mar 27, 2013
    55
    I Am Not a Human Being II flashes moments of brilliance, but it's far from his best work.
  17. Mar 25, 2013
    60
    This is exactly the record you'd expect to hear from Weezy in 2013: a solid album by a brilliant MC who's half-interested.
  18. Mar 26, 2013
    60
    You're better off soaking in the good choices here and resigning yourself to enduring the bad ones.
  19. Mar 26, 2013
    40
    Aside from its opening track, which I’ll get to, this album is essentially a blank space.
  20. Apr 2, 2013
    50
    I Am Not A Human Being II doesn’t offer any more new ideas than its title promises, but it does have the distinction of being the rapper’s most focused album.
  21. Mar 25, 2013
    50
    It’s less manic, less experimental, less unpredictable and, oddly, less consistent.
  22. Apr 24, 2013
    40
    There is no shortage of bad ideas on the second installment.... But this ugliness is anchored by a series of largely curatorial successes. [May 2013, p.68]
  23. Mar 28, 2013
    30
    While the tension and confusion have passed, we are unfortunately left with a pretty disappointing piece of work.
User Score
2.9

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 80 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 27
  2. Negative: 17 out of 27
  1. Mar 27, 2013
    1
    Absolute trash. How he could, in good faith, release such garbage and ask people to pay for it is beyond me. Wayne's dropoff is complete. If you thought his past few albums were dreadful, wait until you listen to this one. Full Review »
  2. Mar 28, 2013
    2
    Never has the saying 'fell off' properly used then here. This is one of the worst albums of the past 10 years. From an artist who sold platinum albums and singles, since Tha Carter III, either he's lost his ghostwriters or fame has gotten to him. The production is also all over the place. he needs to work hard on his albums, and if Tha carter V is his last Album, he needs to make sure its not like this. Full Review »
  3. Mar 26, 2013
    7
    Solid addition to Wayne's discography. Not gonna say there aren't inconsistancies cuz there are, but they are few and far between. Most people that dislike or hate on Weezy's songs don't pay much attention to the many metaphors, double entendres, similes, etc. in his music. Doesn't matter if he's talking about money, weed, the way he delivers is just unmatched. And sometimes he manages to use those brilliant punch lines to good use, like he does with the song "God Bless Amerika", which is my personal favorite. He sounds poetic, political, and the beat is profound. He kills it on tracks like "Trigger Finger," "Trippy," "Days and Days", "Gun Walk," with his impeccable flow and metaphors. And the single type songs like "Love Me," "No Worries," "Rick as are no different with catchy hooks and great production. I love how Wayne still tries to be versatile with songs like "Back to You" (great sample usage) and "Hot Revolver" which he fine tuned into a solid piece of rock music. His singing voice isn't the best but it's interesting and very catchy at times when he lets go and gets lost with the melodies. Songs I didn't care for were "Wowzers," "Hello," "IANAHB," and "Lay it Down". Lay it down wasn't bad, but I wasn't really feeling the wierd beat by Diplo, and Wayne didn't seem like he cared for it much either. Nicki and Cori Gunz did their thing on it though. The album has its hit and misses, but when Tunechi hits he hits hard like Tyson. People that are hating on this album are either setting the bar way too high or just aren't listening to all the music on here. This album is solid overall, I give it a 3.75/5. Full Review »