User Score
2.9

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 80 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 80
  2. Negative: 55 out of 80

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. N10
    Mar 26, 2013
    3
    A Lil Wayne album? Well it was awhile since he released Tha Carter III wich I think was pretty solid had some great songs in their, but after that it has just gone downhill for Wayne, album after album Wayne struggles to get one solid album together. The Rap/Rock album "Rebirth" went straight to hell with it's lazy lyrics and weak production. It was all off and probably one of the worst releases of 2010. Three years has gone since his "Rebirth", and since then Waynes raps has been still pretty mediocre. Now has the sequel of the better but still kind of meh "I Am Not A Human Being" anything to offer? No, as a rapper and lyricsist Wayne falls at it but as a comedian he sure was funny. “My tongue is an Uzi My d*ck is an AK My tongue is an Uzi My d*ck is an AK My tongue go, ‘brrrrrr,’ My d*ck go, ‘pow!’ My tongue go, ‘brrrrrr,’ My d*ck go, ‘pow,’ b*tch” he raps over the Soulja Boy produced track "Wowzers".

    All the way through he threws some weak "shock" punchlines about how great he is when it comes to sex. The begining, the end, it's SEX, SEX, SEX all over it. To be honest it gets boring after the third track really. The production switch things up at some points but still could not hold up for a whole album with it's ridicoulous rapping. The guest features were ok, Drake and Future did a great job to his third single "B*tches Love Me" a song I hated at the first 2-3 listens but since then grown on me. And the track "Trigger Finger" got Soulja Boy on it, and he produced it also... I bet you're not expecting a great verse from him? Not to say that his first two singles were mediocre at it's best except maybe... a good verse from Big Sean on "My Homies Still". Lil Wayne is not the best or the worst rapper, but not either one of the better around. When it comes to put an album out Weezy has lost it and man I don't know if he will ever release something solid outside his own little fanbase and make it listenable to other music/hip hop fans.

    "I Am Not a Human Being II" is not great album as many seem to believe or even close to that. It's just Wayne rapping about his over some beat. Are you a Wayne fan then I don't think you will dislike this but for other listeners that's picky when it comes to lyrics then I don't see why in hell you would like this. You'll probably hate it. And I know that Wayne is not all about the lyrics, but the Wayne I know used to spit some clever lines. About three tracks I enjoyed out of 15, not enough to make up for a great album or even a good one. Yes, it could be fun to listen to Waynes over-the-top rapping, some might think it's cool. But come on, the dude has not released anything with great punchlines and lyrics that make you go "hey that was fire" since frickin' 2008, that year is over. 2013 has now got new rappers that has taking over, young and hungry cats with great sense of writing. Can tell you this, the 65 minutes of the album could have felt like some over produced Uwe Boll movie of a lenght about two hours at times. Like it or not, this is just not for me. Would never recommend this to people outside the "YMCMB" fanbase. I'm feeling a decent 3 on this, till his next project I hope Weezy shows that he actually is thrilled to be making a new album!
    Expand
  2. Nov 12, 2013
    0
    This album blows. What happened to his energy in Carter 3 and Carter 2? It's all gone. Ever since Rebirth, Lil Wayne has been making trash since.....
  3. Mar 26, 2013
    7
    Solid addition to Wayne's discography. Not gonna say there aren't inconsistancies cuz there are, but they are few and far between. Most people that dislike or hate on Weezy's songs don't pay much attention to the many metaphors, double entendres, similes, etc. in his music. Doesn't matter if he's talking about money, weed, the way he delivers is just unmatched. And sometimes he manages to use those brilliant punch lines to good use, like he does with the song "God Bless Amerika", which is my personal favorite. He sounds poetic, political, and the beat is profound. He kills it on tracks like "Trigger Finger," "Trippy," "Days and Days", "Gun Walk," with his impeccable flow and metaphors. And the single type songs like "Love Me," "No Worries," "Rick as are no different with catchy hooks and great production. I love how Wayne still tries to be versatile with songs like "Back to You" (great sample usage) and "Hot Revolver" which he fine tuned into a solid piece of rock music. His singing voice isn't the best but it's interesting and very catchy at times when he lets go and gets lost with the melodies. Songs I didn't care for were "Wowzers," "Hello," "IANAHB," and "Lay it Down". Lay it down wasn't bad, but I wasn't really feeling the wierd beat by Diplo, and Wayne didn't seem like he cared for it much either. Nicki and Cori Gunz did their thing on it though. The album has its hit and misses, but when Tunechi hits he hits hard like Tyson. People that are hating on this album are either setting the bar way too high or just aren't listening to all the music on here. This album is solid overall, I give it a 3.75/5. Expand
  4. Mar 27, 2013
    4
    The album is the worst mix of misused auto-tune and idiot production. I Am Not a Human Being II lacks of inspiration now Lil Wayne has sold out. One of the worst album of the rapper.
  5. Mar 28, 2013
    2
    Never has the saying 'fell off' properly used then here. This is one of the worst albums of the past 10 years. From an artist who sold platinum albums and singles, since Tha Carter III, either he's lost his ghostwriters or fame has gotten to him. The production is also all over the place. he needs to work hard on his albums, and if Tha carter V is his last Album, he needs to make sure its not like this. Expand
  6. Mar 26, 2013
    3
    I hate agreeing with what the critics seem to be saying, but this album is trash. Seems as though there was no thought in it, as if it was done in one day and distributed the next day. Wayne's past albums are all nearly classics, this doesn't even compare. Maybe with the record label, guest appearance's on other's tracks, and all the other things is catching up to the artist. Which would be a shame. Expand
  7. Mar 27, 2013
    1
    Absolute trash. How he could, in good faith, release such garbage and ask people to pay for it is beyond me. Wayne's dropoff is complete. If you thought his past few albums were dreadful, wait until you listen to this one.
  8. Mar 26, 2013
    4
    Three to four decent songs (thanks to features) but the rest is just not good and at times unbearable. Unfortunately, there is no concept to it and most songs are about weed, p%#@! and skating. Plain boring and repetitive.
  9. Apr 17, 2013
    1
    Lil Wayne has never been the most well liked or respected rapper around and outwith his Carter albums, not much of a critic favourite either. So I was pretty shocked that this got so much as a mixed critical reception. This is such a bloated album with absolutely no substance. The opening track, IAMAHB, would have been amazing if it weren't for the awful lyrics. In fact, most solid beats are ruined by horrible lyrics. Every song is either bland or disgusting. The only good ones are Days And Days, Gunwalk and God Bless Amerika. If this really is his second last album, he's not on the right track to round off his career with a classic. Expand
  10. Mar 26, 2013
    3
    this album really disappointed i hv waited for best rap album from him in 2013 but it didnt happen
    the album is full of normal tracks and it has nothing special on it
  11. Mar 30, 2013
    3
    I can honestly imply that Wayne has put no thought or creativity into the lyrics of this album. He can recruit the best producers, receive the best beats, but just explain his limited knowledge of the female anatomy. For those who were expecting an insightful, lyrical album, you are sorely mistaken. However there are few highlights of this album such as the T Minus produced Rich as F***, and the Future assisted B****** Love Me Expand
  12. Mar 28, 2013
    2
    As much as it pains me to say, judging by recent albums, Tha Carter III was a one-off, or Weezy is on too much stuff to be able to notice how truly awful this album is. Sloppy production, poor lyricism, and the only thing Wayne has going for him on this album is some half-decent features and the fact that, hey, at least it's not Rebirth. Maybe he can redeem himself with one last CD, one last shot to make an enjoyable CD with Tha Carter V, that will take us back to the days of Tha Carter III, Da Drought 3 and No Ceiling, but this is very much shown in my eyes that this truly is the death of Weezy. R.I.P. Young Money. 2/10. Expand
  13. Jul 29, 2013
    10
    ''His posse cuts are finally showing some savor too, albeit not on the vestigial guns 'n' violence ones.''
    STAHP HATING WEEZY PLEASE he's awesome and this review up here is true
  14. Mar 31, 2013
    0
    This sucksdksfkdnkfjsndjkfnejfnkeThis sucksdksfkdnkfjsndjkfnejfnkeThis sucksdksfkdnkfjsndjkfnejfnkeThis sucksdksfkdnkfjsndjkfnejfnkeThis sucksdksfkdnkfjsndjkfnejfnkeThis sucksdksfkdnkfjsndjkfnejfnkeThis sucksdksfkdnkfjsndjkfnejfnke
  15. Mar 27, 2013
    2
    Wayne is no doubt a highly talented artist, but I truly don't think he cared when making this. I wanna hear the hot verses and punchlines from Tha Carter 3 & No Ceilings. Not hearing dick & in every single song. I defended Dedication 4, but I can't defend this trash.
  16. Apr 3, 2013
    8
    Why are Weezy fans so hard to please? This is a solid, but not stellar, album.

    I have a theory about all the negative reviews I have read here: "Tha Carter III" was legendary, and it makes almost everything else Lil' Wayne does look like crap in comparison. The thing is, Wayne really has seemed to head toward more hit-friendly and therefore glossier production since he released that
    classic. The other thing is, for anyone who thinks his lyrical skill has been AWOL in his last few efforts, please try to remember that he started a track on TCIII with: "I'm drinking this hot tea, me!"

    Maybe his fans are jaded because the singles here stand out too much from the other tracks (I really thought the most amazing aspect of Tha Carter III was how the album tracks were, for the most part, better than the singles)...still, there is plenty to enjoy in between the songs they thought would be hits. He samples Jamie Lidell, for instance, to very good effect in "Back to You." He cribs a Green Day lyric on "Hot Revolver." People who write him off as past his prime really seem to overlook his efforts to stretch out musically. Not everything on the album works, but...who cares? Some of the failures are interesting, and all of them are listenable.

    Maybe he should just title everything he releases from now on "Not Tha Carter III." That way nobody's hopes will be dashed when he doesn't return to a form that he's moved on from.
    Expand
  17. Apr 4, 2013
    2
    Lil Wayne's decline as an artists continues with this project, I make no exaggeration when I say this is the worst album I have heard in a very long time. Everything in this album is lacking from the mixing to the actual writing of the album, everything sounds so bland. There is not one track on this project that I can honestly say is a stand out song or that gives me any sort of hope that Wayne will get back on track. With this project, Lil Wayne has hit an all time low, with terrible lyricism, unfunny puns and a recycled subject matter this album deserves no more then a 2/10. The production was the best part of the whole album but even that became very repetitive as all the melodies sound almost the same. In the end, I wouldn't suggest this album to anyone, hopefully the reception that this album brings will wake Mr. Carter up. Expand
  18. Apr 8, 2013
    1
    Other than the piano in the beginning there is nothing new about this release. Same punchlines, same crappy beats, and to make it worse EVERY LINE IS ABOUT ****

    The only thing abnormal and the only way I could even guess that he is not a human being is by how this album is. I don't think they make albums this bad!
  19. May 13, 2013
    0
    The JKRolling dude who called TCIII a classic needs to get got. The first lines of the album basically explain how ass it is, "I'm in a crib but nekkid she said my dick could be the next black president". If that doesn't convince you of how bad it is try this: 2 Chainz actually had the best verse on the entire album.
  20. Jul 2, 2013
    3
    Truly one of the worst albums I have listened to, especially for a huge fan of all Lil Wayne albums since The Carter 2. It is as if Lil Wayne has completely given up on actually trying to maintain his contention for the ranking of "Best rapper alive" (if he ever was a contender for that), with the worst punchlines you will hear on anything besides a 2Chainz album, but not to worry 2Chainz fans, the baboon himself has a couple of features on the album where him and Weezy spit atrocious punchlines and wordplay hand in hand with each-other. Feature wise IANAHB2 is the polar opposite to his last studio album Tha Carter 4, from having some of the most prestigious and respected features including the likes of Nas, Busta, Tech N9ne, and the man himself Andre "Ice Cold" 3000 on the Carter 4, he is now collaborating with some of the most tragic artists to ever make it onto the mainstream hip hop scene such as Soulja Boi and 2Chainz.

    This album truly marks the death of Lil Wayne's career that I had tried so hard to deny and neglect before hearing this abomination.
    Expand
  21. Jul 10, 2013
    8
    Wayne, Weezy, Tunechi.. whatever you want to call him. He is arguably the most entertaining rapper in the game, and IANAHBII is an expected portrayal of it. The album has consistently exceptional production, and each line is dripping with personality. For a rap album, it is extremely difficult to not enjoy. The high energy of most tracks is catchy; the confidence Wayne presents flows through the headphones into you. Not all of the album was positive though; some questionable features make you wonder if there was any quality artists available, the rock-cut at the end of the album belonged on "Rebirth", there are times where is a sorely over-used subject, and if more time was taken to rap about serious matters, the project would have been much more well-rounded. Overall, IANAHBII is an exact portrayal of the artist's life... It will influence albums to come, with it's diversity and dexterity. The charisma draws you in, wordplay and free-flow keep you entertained, and consistency plays to the advantage of the music. Expand
  22. Sep 26, 2013
    6
    I guess I am positive on this. Whilst it is better than Tha Carter 4, it has the same problems, those being that it feels more like a Young Money compilation, and though there isn't as much singing, it's annoying as heck. The stand out awesome tracks are IANAHB, Gunwalk, Rich as F***, B****** Love Me, and God Bless Amerika. The only awful tracks are Trigger Finger and Wowzers. Lil Wayne has to step it up for his next album but for now, this was a decent sequel to a decent album. So about that Carter 5? Expand
  23. Sep 28, 2013
    10
    the best album of the year hands down who's with this legend? there is so much to explain about such a work of art and is is hard to explain. if i had to describe it in one word it would be Classic.
  24. Oct 15, 2013
    0
    Trash Trash Trash Trash Trash Trash Trash Trash Trash Trash Trash Trash Trash Trash Trash Trash Trash Trash Trash Trash Trash Trash Trash Trash Trash Trash Trash Trash Trash Trash Trash Trash Trash Trash Trash Trash Trash Trash Trash
  25. Jan 10, 2014
    5
    Before I listened to the album, I could tell that it was going to not contain content as beautifully produced as Tha Carter series. I was right. However, the album did have some stand out tracks like Curtains, My Homies Still, No Worries, Back To You and one of 2013's best tracks, **** Love Me. Those songs were absolute bangers which I could listen to over and over again. The album's problem was the confusing intro. The piano-produced sound at the beginning made me not want to listen to the rest. I wasn't really ready for what I was expecting. After the intro, the album felt like it had a divide. The bangers and the sonic pollution. I'm disappointed because I thought Lil Wayne did this on purpose which was a terrible move because he should be hyping his fans up for Tha Carter V. Oh well, I do hope it's as successful as Tha Carter IV. Expand
  26. Feb 1, 2014
    1
    So I turn on my new Wayne CD and my expectations are lower than dirt. The first track opens with a piano roll and I almost pass out because I figured Wayne might actually be doing something decent, or at least Carter 3 level. Then he started to rap... And it went downhill so quickly. Wayne has lost all credibility with me. This album, if you can even call it that, it's basically a Young Money v2 mixtape but Lil Wayne was in need of some cash. This album is about 3 things. Sex, drugs, and money. Literally that's it. Tracks I liked... there's only like 2, IANAHB, and Rich as F***. Other than that, this is terrible. Oh and by the way, what was with Soulja Boys WACK production on Trigger Finger? Expand
  27. Mar 5, 2014
    9
    This album has some absolutely classic songs on it that I absolutely enjoy. Of course most people would say it's not one of the best, and that Wayne has fallen off. This album is truly good and has some songs that aren't just catchy but will be remember at the end of Lil Wayne's career.
Metascore
51

Mixed or average reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 23
  2. Negative: 5 out of 23
  1. Apr 24, 2013
    40
    There is no shortage of bad ideas on the second installment.... But this ugliness is anchored by a series of largely curatorial successes. [May 2013, p.68]
  2. 30
    Wayne's 10th studio album sees memory of his charisma and sparkle during that mid '00s era fade further.
  3. His posse cuts are finally showing some savor too, albeit not on the vestigial guns 'n' violence ones.