I Am Not a Human Being II Image
Metascore
51

Mixed or average reviews - based on 23 Critics What's this?

User Score
2.8

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 85 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: 2 Chainz, Drake, Future, Soulja Boy, and Trina are some of the guests on the 10th full-length studio release for the New Orleans rapper.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 23
  2. Negative: 5 out of 23
  1. His posse cuts are finally showing some savor too, albeit not on the vestigial guns 'n' violence ones.
  2. 67
    Lil Wayne still has his curveball, but on I Am a Human Being II his MVP status is behind him.
  3. Mar 26, 2013
    60
    You're better off soaking in the good choices here and resigning yourself to enduring the bad ones.
  4. Mar 27, 2013
    40
    I Am Not a Human Being II is a poor effort for sure, but more startling might be the fact that it’s over five years now since Wayne was anything near his peak and he shows no signs of reversing the slump.
  5. Apr 24, 2013
    40
    There is no shortage of bad ideas on the second installment.... But this ugliness is anchored by a series of largely curatorial successes. [May 2013, p.68]
  6. 40
    The beats are so simple that they’re a nonfactor, and there aren’t very many funny lines--which was Wayne’s most redeeming quality in the past.
  7. 25
    The music isn’t as good as it was, sure, but what’s truly maddening is his apparent indifference to his own decline.

See all 23 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 27
  2. Negative: 17 out of 27
  1. Sep 28, 2013
    10
    the best album of the year hands down who's with this legend? there is so much to explain about such a work of art and is is hard to explain. if i had to describe it in one word it would be Classic. Expand
  2. Apr 3, 2013
    8
    Why are Weezy fans so hard to please? This is a solid, but not stellar, album.

    I have a theory about all the negative reviews I have read
    here: "Tha Carter III" was legendary, and it makes almost everything else Lil' Wayne does look like crap in comparison. The thing is, Wayne really has seemed to head toward more hit-friendly and therefore glossier production since he released that classic. The other thing is, for anyone who thinks his lyrical skill has been AWOL in his last few efforts, please try to remember that he started a track on TCIII with: "I'm drinking this hot tea, me!"

    Maybe his fans are jaded because the singles here stand out too much from the other tracks (I really thought the most amazing aspect of Tha Carter III was how the album tracks were, for the most part, better than the singles)...still, there is plenty to enjoy in between the songs they thought would be hits. He samples Jamie Lidell, for instance, to very good effect in "Back to You." He cribs a Green Day lyric on "Hot Revolver." People who write him off as past his prime really seem to overlook his efforts to stretch out musically. Not everything on the album works, but...who cares? Some of the failures are interesting, and all of them are listenable.

    Maybe he should just title everything he releases from now on "Not Tha Carter III." That way nobody's hopes will be dashed when he doesn't return to a form that he's moved on from.
    Expand
  3. Sep 26, 2013
    6
    I guess I am positive on this. Whilst it is better than Tha Carter 4, it has the same problems, those being that it feels more like a Young Money compilation, and though there isn't as much singing, it's annoying as heck. The stand out awesome tracks are IANAHB, Gunwalk, Rich as F***, B****** Love Me, and God Bless Amerika. The only awful tracks are Trigger Finger and Wowzers. Lil Wayne has to step it up for his next album but for now, this was a decent sequel to a decent album. So about that Carter 5? Expand
  4. Mar 26, 2013
    3
    this album really disappointed i hv waited for best rap album from him in 2013 but it didnt happen
    the album is full of normal tracks and it
    has nothing special on it Expand
  5. Apr 4, 2013
    2
    Lil Wayne's decline as an artists continues with this project, I make no exaggeration when I say this is the worst album I have heard in a very long time. Everything in this album is lacking from the mixing to the actual writing of the album, everything sounds so bland. There is not one track on this project that I can honestly say is a stand out song or that gives me any sort of hope that Wayne will get back on track. With this project, Lil Wayne has hit an all time low, with terrible lyricism, unfunny puns and a recycled subject matter this album deserves no more then a 2/10. The production was the best part of the whole album but even that became very repetitive as all the melodies sound almost the same. In the end, I wouldn't suggest this album to anyone, hopefully the reception that this album brings will wake Mr. Carter up. Expand
  6. Mar 27, 2013
    1
    Absolute trash. How he could, in good faith, release such garbage and ask people to pay for it is beyond me. Wayne's dropoff is complete. If you thought his past few albums were dreadful, wait until you listen to this one. Expand
  7. Mar 31, 2013
    0
    This sucksdksfkdnkfjsndjkfnejfnkeThis sucksdksfkdnkfjsndjkfnejfnkeThis sucksdksfkdnkfjsndjkfnejfnkeThis sucksdksfkdnkfjsndjkfnejfnkeThis sucksdksfkdnkfjsndjkfnejfnkeThis sucksdksfkdnkfjsndjkfnejfnkeThis sucksdksfkdnkfjsndjkfnejfnke Collapse

See all 27 User Reviews