I Am Not a Human Being II

I Am Not a Human Being II Image
Metascore
51

Mixed or average reviews - based on 23 Critics What's this?

User Score
3.5

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 117 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: 2 Chainz, Drake, Future, Soulja Boy, and Trina are some of the guests on the 10th full-length studio release for the New Orleans rapper.
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 23
  2. Negative: 5 out of 23
  1. His posse cuts are finally showing some savor too, albeit not on the vestigial guns 'n' violence ones.
  2. 67
    Lil Wayne still has his curveball, but on I Am a Human Being II his MVP status is behind him.
  3. Mar 26, 2013
    60
    You're better off soaking in the good choices here and resigning yourself to enduring the bad ones.
  4. Mar 27, 2013
    40
    I Am Not a Human Being II is a poor effort for sure, but more startling might be the fact that it’s over five years now since Wayne was anything near his peak and he shows no signs of reversing the slump.
  5. The Wire
    Apr 24, 2013
    40
    There is no shortage of bad ideas on the second installment.... But this ugliness is anchored by a series of largely curatorial successes. [May 2013, p.68]
  6. 40
    The beats are so simple that they’re a nonfactor, and there aren’t very many funny lines--which was Wayne’s most redeeming quality in the past.
  7. 25
    The music isn’t as good as it was, sure, but what’s truly maddening is his apparent indifference to his own decline.

See all 23 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 32
  2. Negative: 20 out of 32
  1. Jan 6, 2015
    10
    This album is almost perfect it has just the right beats that match the flow form Wayne. Although it is quite obscene or vulgar I still thikThis album is almost perfect it has just the right beats that match the flow form Wayne. Although it is quite obscene or vulgar I still thik that the production of the album is well placed and consistent Expand
  2. Apr 3, 2013
    8
    Why are Weezy fans so hard to please? This is a solid, but not stellar, album.

    I have a theory about all the negative reviews I have read
    Why are Weezy fans so hard to please? This is a solid, but not stellar, album.

    I have a theory about all the negative reviews I have read here: "Tha Carter III" was legendary, and it makes almost everything else Lil' Wayne does look like crap in comparison. The thing is, Wayne really has seemed to head toward more hit-friendly and therefore glossier production since he released that classic. The other thing is, for anyone who thinks his lyrical skill has been AWOL in his last few efforts, please try to remember that he started a track on TCIII with: "I'm drinking this hot tea, me!"

    Maybe his fans are jaded because the singles here stand out too much from the other tracks (I really thought the most amazing aspect of Tha Carter III was how the album tracks were, for the most part, better than the singles)...still, there is plenty to enjoy in between the songs they thought would be hits. He samples Jamie Lidell, for instance, to very good effect in "Back to You." He cribs a Green Day lyric on "Hot Revolver." People who write him off as past his prime really seem to overlook his efforts to stretch out musically. Not everything on the album works, but...who cares? Some of the failures are interesting, and all of them are listenable.

    Maybe he should just title everything he releases from now on "Not Tha Carter III." That way nobody's hopes will be dashed when he doesn't return to a form that he's moved on from.
    Expand
  3. Apr 4, 2015
    5
    Like many people, I can rank this album among Lil Wayne's worst. I have the album on iTunes and listened to it and it wasn't as "trash" asLike many people, I can rank this album among Lil Wayne's worst. I have the album on iTunes and listened to it and it wasn't as "trash" as people think it is but it shows Wayne's weaknesses more than his strengths. I feel as if all the delay for this album was really for nothing. Lil Wayne's lyrics are worse than ever here, so bad that it makes Chief Keef's Finally Rich look like a lyrical genius. His wordplay got extremely repetitive after "Curtains". One of the only things that stood out to me on this album were the beats. As always, Lil Wayne enlists producers who make good beats and know how to make them properly. But overall, this album is a weak effort and deserves a C grade. Highlights: "Trippy" (helped mainly by Juicy J's production). Worst song: The majority of the songs on here. Expand
  4. Jan 17, 2015
    3
    A very disappointing album from Wayne with just his crafty one hit punch lines and production that sound the same it just was not impressive.A very disappointing album from Wayne with just his crafty one hit punch lines and production that sound the same it just was not impressive. One of his worst albums besides Rebirth. Expand
  5. Mar 28, 2013
    2
    As much as it pains me to say, judging by recent albums, Tha Carter III was a one-off, or Weezy is on too much stuff to be able to notice howAs much as it pains me to say, judging by recent albums, Tha Carter III was a one-off, or Weezy is on too much stuff to be able to notice how truly awful this album is. Sloppy production, poor lyricism, and the only thing Wayne has going for him on this album is some half-decent features and the fact that, hey, at least it's not Rebirth. Maybe he can redeem himself with one last CD, one last shot to make an enjoyable CD with Tha Carter V, that will take us back to the days of Tha Carter III, Da Drought 3 and No Ceiling, but this is very much shown in my eyes that this truly is the death of Weezy. R.I.P. Young Money. 2/10. Expand
  6. Feb 1, 2014
    1
    So I turn on my new Wayne CD and my expectations are lower than dirt. The first track opens with a piano roll and I almost pass out because ISo I turn on my new Wayne CD and my expectations are lower than dirt. The first track opens with a piano roll and I almost pass out because I figured Wayne might actually be doing something decent, or at least Carter 3 level. Then he started to rap... And it went downhill so quickly. Wayne has lost all credibility with me. This album, if you can even call it that, it's basically a Young Money v2 mixtape but Lil Wayne was in need of some cash. This album is about 3 things. Sex, drugs, and money. Literally that's it. Tracks I liked... there's only like 2, IANAHB, and Rich as F***. Other than that, this is terrible. Oh and by the way, what was with Soulja Boys WACK production on Trigger Finger? Expand
  7. May 13, 2013
    0
    The JKRolling dude who called TCIII a classic needs to get got. The first lines of the album basically explain how ass it is, "I'm in a cribThe JKRolling dude who called TCIII a classic needs to get got. The first lines of the album basically explain how ass it is, "I'm in a crib but nekkid she said my dick could be the next black president". If that doesn't convince you of how bad it is try this: 2 Chainz actually had the best verse on the entire album. Expand

See all 32 User Reviews