I Am Not a Human Being

Metascore
67

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. Uncut
    Sep 19, 2012
    80
    {A] far superior effort [than Rebirth]. [Feb 2011, p.84]
  2. You won't hear a funnier record all year. Jailbird or civilian, human or moon man, Lil Wayne is pop's most reliable deliverer of unadulterated fun.
  3. Oct 26, 2010
    77
    Lil Wayne's latest album, I Am Not a Human Being, is not as experimental as the rapper's previous rock-tinged "Rebirth" set that arrived earlier this year, and most fans will likely appreciate this.
  4. For most of I Am Not a Human Being, it seems like Wayne has forgotten how to write a verse. He's all about couplets now.
  5. This is too short and scattered to put on his top shelf, but it comes awfully close, which is downright astonishing considering the circumstances.
  6. Dec 21, 2010
    67
    Human Being seems designed to keep Wayne in the public eye during his big-house stay, but he's a superstar who could pull a J.D. Salinger, and the press and public would still be obsessed with him. If nothing else, Human Being serves as a potent reminder that Wayne is still capable of both greatness and awfulness.
  7. Oct 27, 2010
    67
    Wayne's ebullience is too curdled to be all that interesting on its own –- not to mention that he can do so much better.
  8. Wayne has already done better versions of almost every song on I Am Not a Human Being, which was released on his 28th birthday last week. It's not exactly what we're looking for now.
User Score
4.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 80 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 17
  2. Negative: 7 out of 17
  1. Oct 17, 2010
    0
    I do not know how this album has a score of 65. This is not real rap. The only things he talks about it money, sex, and drugs. The lyrics inI do not know how this album has a score of 65. This is not real rap. The only things he talks about it money, sex, and drugs. The lyrics in his songs are overly repeated, with only some creative wordplay. The only reason why people love lil wayne is because he raps slow, and everybody can catch and repeat his words (which are meaningless). I do not know how this talentless artist got into this rap game, Oh wait! his dad was a rapper too! (and he also sucks at rapping!) Full Review »
  2. Nov 16, 2010
    8
    "I am not a human being" is a preview - and may I say a very good one- for Lil Waynes long-awaited album "Tha Carter IV". It is not meant to"I am not a human being" is a preview - and may I say a very good one- for Lil Waynes long-awaited album "Tha Carter IV". It is not meant to be an album, it is something to keep fans waiting until Weezy comes out. The album itself, has lots of good rhyming, great beats that play with your emotions, and most of all it has Weezy. F. Baby. The album is one that you can repeatedly listen to, and one that I would recommend buying. Full Review »
  3. Oct 18, 2010
    10
    Fanatastic comeback Album by the self proclaimed "Greatest Rapper Alive" and with the skills displayed in this album he wouldn't be lying byFanatastic comeback Album by the self proclaimed "Greatest Rapper Alive" and with the skills displayed in this album he wouldn't be lying by suggesting this. With a selection of great beats with a mix of fast a slow rapping Wayne shows his fans what he is made of and really cements his place on the small list of Hip Hop Greats. With lines like "I'll let my goons rush ya, like moscow" you are in a state shock and it doesn't stop with lines similar all the way through the Album. This really is a Great album by the Incarcerated Rapper and deserves the top spot for Best Rap album this year improving on the less than impressive attempt from the Eminem and the disapponting yet OK effort from his own protege Drake. Overall a great classic and I'm sure he will be back with plenty more where that came from on his next project, the long awaited "Tha Carter IV". Full Review »