User Score
4.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 55 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 55
  2. Negative: 21 out of 55

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 17, 2010
    0
    I do not know how this album has a score of 65. This is not real rap. The only things he talks about it money, sex, and drugs. The lyrics in his songs are overly repeated, with only some creative wordplay. The only reason why people love lil wayne is because he raps slow, and everybody can catch and repeat his words (which are meaningless). I do not know how this talentless artist got into this rap game, Oh wait! his dad was a rapper too! (and he also sucks at rapping!) Expand
  2. Oct 18, 2010
    8
    After The Carter 3, the Weezy Effect 2 was just OK, but not nearly cohesive enough to even be listened to as an album. We Are Young Money had much the same problem, and Rebirth was just a disaster. Unfortunately, with I Am Not a Human Being, Wayne has developed what I would describe as rap-A.D.D... his lyrics have been broken down into simple couplets instead of full verses throughout. That said, this is his first album since Carter III that reaches nearly the same level of lyrical wit. I think it's pretty damn cohesive from beginning to end, and only 'Popular' gets tired in the middle (I skip that song now). I do notice that Weezy's Young Money cohorts (who gave me the impression of ineptitude in We Are Young Money) outshine him completely on some songs here, especially in the opening track. All things considered, though, this album redeemed Wayne in a big way for me, and I was starting to worry. It's a big relief. Expand
  3. Nov 16, 2010
    8
    "I am not a human being" is a preview - and may I say a very good one- for Lil Waynes long-awaited album "Tha Carter IV". It is not meant to be an album, it is something to keep fans waiting until Weezy comes out. The album itself, has lots of good rhyming, great beats that play with your emotions, and most of all it has Weezy. F. Baby. The album is one that you can repeatedly listen to, and one that I would recommend buying. Expand
  4. Jan 2, 2012
    3
    Lil' Wayne is a joke. He thinks he's a good rapper which is incredibly surprising considering he has one trick (his punchlines), which he uses too much. He has lost all his creativity and originality. The "Best rapper alive" is a horrible artist who has become predictable on this album
  5. Oct 12, 2010
    8
    this is like my daughters only favorite cd by him especially that song right above it my daughter loves to sing that song soo much but im not a fan of rap and bad words.
  6. Oct 18, 2010
    10
    Fanatastic comeback Album by the self proclaimed "Greatest Rapper Alive" and with the skills displayed in this album he wouldn't be lying by suggesting this. With a selection of great beats with a mix of fast a slow rapping Wayne shows his fans what he is made of and really cements his place on the small list of Hip Hop Greats. With lines like "I'll let my goons rush ya, like moscow" you are in a state shock and it doesn't stop with lines similar all the way through the Album. This really is a Great album by the Incarcerated Rapper and deserves the top spot for Best Rap album this year improving on the less than impressive attempt from the Eminem and the disapponting yet OK effort from his own protege Drake. Overall a great classic and I'm sure he will be back with plenty more where that came from on his next project, the long awaited "Tha Carter IV". Expand
  7. NJR
    Nov 6, 2010
    7
    Lil Wayne to me seems to be the Marmite of Hip Hop, but both the people who love him and the people who hate him don't seem to have any good reasons why they do, I like Wayne as an MC, he is one of the best mainstream rappers right now (Not saying much I know) but I do not love him, he has released some very bad stuff for example Rebirth and Dedication 3 however he has released some very good stuff eg. Dedication 2, Da Drought 3 & Tha Carter 3. I have followed Hip Hop almost religiously for over 20 years and there haven't been many rappers who are as fun to listen to as Weezy, the trick is not to take him seriously, some of his wordplay is very good. As for this album, it's a descent LP, not great but ok, one of the reasons that is sub par is that there is another Young Money artist on pretty much every track, and to be honest they are all awful, Nicki Minaj has nice delivery and she is very different but lyrically Young Money are very poor, this pretty much ruins the album for me, but Wayne's lyrics and flow are as free and flowing as ever. Expand
  8. Nov 5, 2010
    6
    Not a bad album. Lil' Wayne has made better though. If you're a die hard fan of Lil Wayne, you'll love it. If you're a casual rap fan, better take a listen before you buy as this is hit or miss. I like more songs than I don't like.
  9. Nov 19, 2010
    1
    Just horrible. Lil Wayne might have had talent when he first started, but this is just horrible. His lyrics most of the time make no sense and have nothing new to offer, he still will not shut up about how he believes he is the greatest rapper ever and he does not attack any issues other them himself, or just plain pointless issues. The beats are bad, the lyrics are bad, the flow is bad, Lil Wayne is bad. Expand
  10. Aug 23, 2011
    0
    this album suck's lil wayne is the worst rapper alive and the worst musician alive this album suck's the lyric's suck as well!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  11. Dec 17, 2010
    6
    This album from Lil Wayne's is slightly above average but for his ability we all know he can do better. There are a few tracks that i skip simply cos i dont want to listen to them but then again there are some very good tracks such as Right Above It and YM Salute. Now hes out jail, he has more time to record more tracks and then for all those that arent fond of him, they can judge him on Carter IV. Im confident their opinion will change as im sure Carter IV will be a fantastic album. Expand
  12. Apr 6, 2012
    0
    this album sucks so much dick and **** it's not even funny. **** lil wayne he is SOOOOOOOOOO damn wack he shouldn't be making music anymore. his career should be DEAD. HE SHOULD BE DEAD. he's the "HIP-HOP KILLER" thats what lil wayne is.
  13. Feb 4, 2012
    4
    The more lil wayne makes albums the more his lyrics die down. It's going to get to the point where lil wayne cant even rhyme or even right a decent punch line. He should just stop rapping. Or go back to the Tha Carter I-II & Dedication days
  14. Jul 30, 2013
    6
    Right Above It is probably the highlight track to this album thanks to the performances of Wayne and Drake as well as it's upbeat, confident tone. Some of the production is a bit out of fashion, except for I'm Single which has a more relaxed tone, and Weezy sounds boring at times but it comes awfully close to Tha Carter III, which is Wayne's best album to this day.
Metascore
67

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. Sep 19, 2012
    80
    {A] far superior effort [than Rebirth]. [Feb 2011, p.84]
  2. 60
    It's a perfunctory affair, further fragmented on my download version by the muting of Wayne's stream of expletives, which renders large parts of it unintelligible.
  3. Dec 21, 2010
    67
    Human Being seems designed to keep Wayne in the public eye during his big-house stay, but he's a superstar who could pull a J.D. Salinger, and the press and public would still be obsessed with him. If nothing else, Human Being serves as a potent reminder that Wayne is still capable of both greatness and awfulness.