User Score
4.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 69 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 69
  2. Negative: 26 out of 69

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 16, 2010
    8
    "I am not a human being" is a preview - and may I say a very good one- for Lil Waynes long-awaited album "Tha Carter IV". It is not meant to be an album, it is something to keep fans waiting until Weezy comes out. The album itself, has lots of good rhyming, great beats that play with your emotions, and most of all it has Weezy. F. Baby. The album is one that you can repeatedly listen to,"I am not a human being" is a preview - and may I say a very good one- for Lil Waynes long-awaited album "Tha Carter IV". It is not meant to be an album, it is something to keep fans waiting until Weezy comes out. The album itself, has lots of good rhyming, great beats that play with your emotions, and most of all it has Weezy. F. Baby. The album is one that you can repeatedly listen to, and one that I would recommend buying. Expand
  2. Oct 18, 2010
    10
    Fanatastic comeback Album by the self proclaimed "Greatest Rapper Alive" and with the skills displayed in this album he wouldn't be lying by suggesting this. With a selection of great beats with a mix of fast a slow rapping Wayne shows his fans what he is made of and really cements his place on the small list of Hip Hop Greats. With lines like "I'll let my goons rush ya, like moscow" youFanatastic comeback Album by the self proclaimed "Greatest Rapper Alive" and with the skills displayed in this album he wouldn't be lying by suggesting this. With a selection of great beats with a mix of fast a slow rapping Wayne shows his fans what he is made of and really cements his place on the small list of Hip Hop Greats. With lines like "I'll let my goons rush ya, like moscow" you are in a state shock and it doesn't stop with lines similar all the way through the Album. This really is a Great album by the Incarcerated Rapper and deserves the top spot for Best Rap album this year improving on the less than impressive attempt from the Eminem and the disapponting yet OK effort from his own protege Drake. Overall a great classic and I'm sure he will be back with plenty more where that came from on his next project, the long awaited "Tha Carter IV". Expand
  3. Oct 18, 2010
    8
    After The Carter 3, the Weezy Effect 2 was just OK, but not nearly cohesive enough to even be listened to as an album. We Are Young Money had much the same problem, and Rebirth was just a disaster. Unfortunately, with I Am Not a Human Being, Wayne has developed what I would describe as rap-A.D.D... his lyrics have been broken down into simple couplets instead of full verses throughout.After The Carter 3, the Weezy Effect 2 was just OK, but not nearly cohesive enough to even be listened to as an album. We Are Young Money had much the same problem, and Rebirth was just a disaster. Unfortunately, with I Am Not a Human Being, Wayne has developed what I would describe as rap-A.D.D... his lyrics have been broken down into simple couplets instead of full verses throughout. That said, this is his first album since Carter III that reaches nearly the same level of lyrical wit. I think it's pretty damn cohesive from beginning to end, and only 'Popular' gets tired in the middle (I skip that song now). I do notice that Weezy's Young Money cohorts (who gave me the impression of ineptitude in We Are Young Money) outshine him completely on some songs here, especially in the opening track. All things considered, though, this album redeemed Wayne in a big way for me, and I was starting to worry. It's a big relief. Expand
  4. Oct 12, 2010
    8
    this is like my daughters only favorite cd by him especially that song right above it my daughter loves to sing that song soo much but im not a fan of rap and bad words.
  5. NJR
    Nov 6, 2010
    7
    Lil Wayne to me seems to be the Marmite of Hip Hop, but both the people who love him and the people who hate him don't seem to have any good reasons why they do, I like Wayne as an MC, he is one of the best mainstream rappers right now (Not saying much I know) but I do not love him, he has released some very bad stuff for example Rebirth and Dedication 3 however he has released some veryLil Wayne to me seems to be the Marmite of Hip Hop, but both the people who love him and the people who hate him don't seem to have any good reasons why they do, I like Wayne as an MC, he is one of the best mainstream rappers right now (Not saying much I know) but I do not love him, he has released some very bad stuff for example Rebirth and Dedication 3 however he has released some very good stuff eg. Dedication 2, Da Drought 3 & Tha Carter 3. I have followed Hip Hop almost religiously for over 20 years and there haven't been many rappers who are as fun to listen to as Weezy, the trick is not to take him seriously, some of his wordplay is very good. As for this album, it's a descent LP, not great but ok, one of the reasons that is sub par is that there is another Young Money artist on pretty much every track, and to be honest they are all awful, Nicki Minaj has nice delivery and she is very different but lyrically Young Money are very poor, this pretty much ruins the album for me, but Wayne's lyrics and flow are as free and flowing as ever. Expand
  6. Jan 6, 2015
    10
    This album is incredibly well put together and has production that is worth considering. Tracks like bill gates and i am not a human being are tracks that are infectious
Metascore
67

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. Sep 19, 2012
    80
    {A] far superior effort [than Rebirth]. [Feb 2011, p.84]
  2. 60
    It's a perfunctory affair, further fragmented on my download version by the muting of Wayne's stream of expletives, which renders large parts of it unintelligible.
  3. Dec 21, 2010
    67
    Human Being seems designed to keep Wayne in the public eye during his big-house stay, but he's a superstar who could pull a J.D. Salinger, and the press and public would still be obsessed with him. If nothing else, Human Being serves as a potent reminder that Wayne is still capable of both greatness and awfulness.