I Am Not a Human Being Image
Metascore
67

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 61 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: With Southern sounds, spacey themes, and smooth rhymes, the rapper returns from incarceration with his latest release of hip-hop hits.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. Sep 19, 2012
    80
    {A] far superior effort [than Rebirth]. [Feb 2011, p.84]
  2. Oct 26, 2010
    77
    Lil Wayne's latest album, I Am Not a Human Being, is not as experimental as the rapper's previous rock-tinged "Rebirth" set that arrived earlier this year, and most fans will likely appreciate this.
  3. This is too short and scattered to put on his top shelf, but it comes awfully close, which is downright astonishing considering the circumstances.
  4. While diversity is Lil Wayne's strength, it's a lack of commitment of a different sort that hamstrings this album. Too often Lil Wayne lapses into predictable flow structures, quick ideas paired with built-in rejoinders.
  5. 60
    It's a perfunctory affair, further fragmented on my download version by the muting of Wayne's stream of expletives, which renders large parts of it unintelligible.
  6. It's unclear whether the creative languor stems from the inherent commercial pressure of being the Young Money meal ticket or whether Wayne has exhausted his ideas after compressing a career's worth of songs into three years.
  7. I Am Not a Human Being's angry title track showcases Wayne's ability to at once spit funny similes and tough talk, but its punk-hop guitar riffs barely even compete with the ones on his much-derided 2010 rock album, Rebirth.

See all 17 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 16
  2. Negative: 6 out of 16
  1. Oct 18, 2010
    10
    Fanatastic comeback Album by the self proclaimed "Greatest Rapper Alive" and with the skills displayed in this album he wouldn't be lying byFanatastic comeback Album by the self proclaimed "Greatest Rapper Alive" and with the skills displayed in this album he wouldn't be lying by suggesting this. With a selection of great beats with a mix of fast a slow rapping Wayne shows his fans what he is made of and really cements his place on the small list of Hip Hop Greats. With lines like "I'll let my goons rush ya, like moscow" you are in a state shock and it doesn't stop with lines similar all the way through the Album. This really is a Great album by the Incarcerated Rapper and deserves the top spot for Best Rap album this year improving on the less than impressive attempt from the Eminem and the disapponting yet OK effort from his own protege Drake. Overall a great classic and I'm sure he will be back with plenty more where that came from on his next project, the long awaited "Tha Carter IV". Expand
  2. Oct 12, 2010
    8
    this is like my daughters only favorite cd by him especially that song right above it my daughter loves to sing that song soo much but im notthis is like my daughters only favorite cd by him especially that song right above it my daughter loves to sing that song soo much but im not a fan of rap and bad words. Expand
  3. Nov 16, 2010
    8
    "I am not a human being" is a preview - and may I say a very good one- for Lil Waynes long-awaited album "Tha Carter IV". It is not meant to"I am not a human being" is a preview - and may I say a very good one- for Lil Waynes long-awaited album "Tha Carter IV". It is not meant to be an album, it is something to keep fans waiting until Weezy comes out. The album itself, has lots of good rhyming, great beats that play with your emotions, and most of all it has Weezy. F. Baby. The album is one that you can repeatedly listen to, and one that I would recommend buying. Expand
  4. Nov 5, 2010
    6
    Not a bad album. Lil' Wayne has made better though. If you're a die hard fan of Lil Wayne, you'll love it. If you're a casual rap fan, betterNot a bad album. Lil' Wayne has made better though. If you're a die hard fan of Lil Wayne, you'll love it. If you're a casual rap fan, better take a listen before you buy as this is hit or miss. I like more songs than I don't like. Expand
  5. Jan 2, 2012
    3
    Lil' Wayne is a joke. He thinks he's a good rapper which is incredibly surprising considering he has one trick (his punchlines), which he usesLil' Wayne is a joke. He thinks he's a good rapper which is incredibly surprising considering he has one trick (his punchlines), which he uses too much. He has lost all his creativity and originality. The "Best rapper alive" is a horrible artist who has become predictable on this album Expand
  6. Nov 19, 2010
    1
    Just horrible. Lil Wayne might have had talent when he first started, but this is just horrible. His lyrics most of the time make no sense andJust horrible. Lil Wayne might have had talent when he first started, but this is just horrible. His lyrics most of the time make no sense and have nothing new to offer, he still will not shut up about how he believes he is the greatest rapper ever and he does not attack any issues other them himself, or just plain pointless issues. The beats are bad, the lyrics are bad, the flow is bad, Lil Wayne is bad. Expand
  7. Aug 23, 2011
    0
    this album suck's lil wayne is the worst rapper alive and the worst musician alive this album suck's the lyric's suck asthis album suck's lil wayne is the worst rapper alive and the worst musician alive this album suck's the lyric's suck as well!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Expand

See all 16 User Reviews