I Am...Sasha Fierce

  • Record Label: Sony
  • Release Date: Nov 18, 2008
User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 467 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 57 out of 467

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. AdamZ
    Dec 11, 2008
    10
    Only one bad song (video phone) the I AM side is absolute genius...These are actual quality pop/ R & B ballads.
  2. SaadiahM
    Jan 19, 2009
    8
    I Am...Sasha Fierce, while not Beyonce's best album, is an enjoyable album. The "I Am" side is a generally enjoyable disc, but can sometimes get boring. If this album is a battle between her split personalities, "Sasha Fierce" wins. To her credit, though "Ave Maria" on the I Am... is one of the best vocal performances of her career. First and Second Singles, "If I Were A Boy" and I Am...Sasha Fierce, while not Beyonce's best album, is an enjoyable album. The "I Am" side is a generally enjoyable disc, but can sometimes get boring. If this album is a battle between her split personalities, "Sasha Fierce" wins. To her credit, though "Ave Maria" on the I Am... is one of the best vocal performances of her career. First and Second Singles, "If I Were A Boy" and "Halo," are also thoroughly memorable tunes. "Smash Into You" could be a possible third single and would probably do well on pop radio. "Hello" was a slight dissapointment for me. "That's Why You're Beautiful" also was a little boring Disc Two, "Sasha Fierce" features fierce club tunes, all of which are good. First Single, "Single Ladies (Put a Ring on It)" is a certified smash and one of her most memorable tracks. Other highlights include the 80's influenced "Radio" and "Sweet Dreams" both of which would make nice singles. Second single "Diva is also and deluxe edition track "Ego" is nice. In conclusion, even though Beyonce has stated she recorded 70 songs for this album, she really didn't pick enough tracks to warrant a double album. She could have just done one disc. But, she took a risk in releasing a double-album, and sometimes risks can be good. Expand
  3. PeterP.
    Nov 19, 2008
    10
    Beyonce broke out from her boundaries.. and she deserves credit for that.. especially by making an album this good.
  4. MaxG.
    Nov 20, 2008
    9
    I think that this album is something she put a lot of effort into because there are catchy songs all over the album. She has obviously also grown vocally.
  5. AnhN
    Dec 1, 2008
    10
    I have always been a fan of Beyoncé, and this album is the best of hers to date! This is the first Beyoncé album ever that all the good songs are fully compiled in the album. In the 2 previous albums I like some songs and don't like some, but in I Am... Sasha Fierce I have to admit that I like ALL the songs! Beside the usual "Sasha Fierce" side that she has always shown I have always been a fan of Beyoncé, and this album is the best of hers to date! This is the first Beyoncé album ever that all the good songs are fully compiled in the album. In the 2 previous albums I like some songs and don't like some, but in I Am... Sasha Fierce I have to admit that I like ALL the songs! Beside the usual "Sasha Fierce" side that she has always shown us, the Beyoncé side is really different and worth to listen. I have no comment about her alter ego or the album being splitted into 2 sides, but the whole album. For the ones who are wondering if they should buy the Standard or the Deluxe: buy the Standard if you don't have money, and download the other tracks online if you are so excited. If you decided to go for it (like I do) then Deluxe is a good choice. Expand
  6. AdonisT.
    Nov 25, 2009
    10
    This album is amazing... Its one of the best albums Ive ever heard in my entire life... Its goes from fun and bouncy with songs like Single Ladies to soft and beautiful with a song like Halo.... Satellites would be my favorite track.. Its so real and raw.
  7. Aug 13, 2010
    10
    As a critic said - this album offers two compelling sides of Beyonce.
    Not only is the idea of having two utterly different albums in one, brilliant, but it also provides Beyonce with a lot of space for creativity. From the first CD, excellent ballads keep on rolling and rolling and some of them are heart-wrenching, such as 'If I were a boy' and 'Broken-Hearted Girl.' This is definitely the
    As a critic said - this album offers two compelling sides of Beyonce.
    Not only is the idea of having two utterly different albums in one, brilliant, but it also provides Beyonce with a lot of space for creativity. From the first CD, excellent ballads keep on rolling and rolling and some of them are heart-wrenching, such as 'If I were a boy' and 'Broken-Hearted Girl.' This is definitely the better part of the album, and its where Beyonce shows her vocal abilities to their fullest.
    The second CD is a dance mixture with some really catchy tunes such as "Single ladies," "Sweet Dreams" and "Diva." Beyonce has definitely found herself in this album more so than in previous ones, I'd say. Definitely worth a listen or two... or for a couple of months, as I'm doing it!
    Expand
  8. Jun 10, 2011
    10
    I Am... Sasha Fierce is one of the best pop/r&b albums in recent years. She is really a living legend. She has the entire package. She is one of the very few to give you vulnerability, as evident in songs like "Satellites," "Scared of Lonely," "Smash Into You," among others, and at the same time give you sassy and commanding Beyoncé, that we all love, or should I say SashaI Am... Sasha Fierce is one of the best pop/r&b albums in recent years. She is really a living legend. She has the entire package. She is one of the very few to give you vulnerability, as evident in songs like "Satellites," "Scared of Lonely," "Smash Into You," among others, and at the same time give you sassy and commanding Beyoncé, that we all love, or should I say Sasha Fierce? Overall this album is EPIC. Her best to date. Standout tracks: Halo, Smash Into You, If I Were a Boy, Single Ladies (Put a Ring On It), Sweet Dreams, Ave Maria. Expand
  9. Aug 6, 2012
    10
    Really diverse and cohesive. The 'I Am...' side is filled with sensual, meaningful and emotional ballads where Beyoncé reveals all her fears and insecurities. The 'Sasha Fierce' side, which is filled with fierce uptempos, shows us the other side of Beyoncé - her alter ego Sasha Fierce.
  10. StellaL
    Dec 30, 2009
    7
    I didn't have an idea of what to expect with this album, mostly because it was my first Beyoncé album that have ever bought and I don't know what her previous albums have been like. I have heard her earlier songs and Ii think they rock. Now if you compare this album to those songs - Irreplaceable, Get Me Bodied, Crazy In Love, Naughty Girl- it falls awfully flat. If I I didn't have an idea of what to expect with this album, mostly because it was my first Beyoncé album that have ever bought and I don't know what her previous albums have been like. I have heard her earlier songs and Ii think they rock. Now if you compare this album to those songs - Irreplaceable, Get Me Bodied, Crazy In Love, Naughty Girl- it falls awfully flat. If I Were A Boy is beautiful but boring. Even Single Ladies, which is one hell of a song, can't live up to the bold and glamorous Get Me Bodied. B, you're one of the best, most hard working and honest artists out there. But next time, please go back to color photography, because the black-and-white form the photos is seeping into your songs. It took ages to get hooked to the songs on the first disc (which after MANY listens, is quite nice) and also some time to like the second disc. Overall, the album deserves it'is ten grammy noms because technically, it is flawless. But when it comes to personal taste, it was very boring. Expand
  11. amelie
    May 26, 2009
    10
    I cant stop listening to this album, i just love it. i love smash into you and disappear on the first cd, and sweet dreams and hello on the second one.
  12. MichaelH.
    Aug 19, 2009
    10
    Exceptional. Beyonce shines through in her latest album I Am... Sasha Fierce, creating heavy ebat laden songs and moving, beautiful ballads. An album that will bring out your inner diva or hustler or calm your senses and make you take a closer look at the smaller and more beautiful moments in life.
  13. TinoT.
    Nov 20, 2008
    8
    I am one of the biggest fans of Beyonce at first the albulm was a disappointment because I hadn't expected her to bring out such songs and such sounds but once I sat down and listen to the full albulm it grew on me and Now I actually think this is her best work ever. She shows she has no boundaries esp. in I am... she reveals a side of her that is more intriguing and makes me want to I am one of the biggest fans of Beyonce at first the albulm was a disappointment because I hadn't expected her to bring out such songs and such sounds but once I sat down and listen to the full albulm it grew on me and Now I actually think this is her best work ever. She shows she has no boundaries esp. in I am... she reveals a side of her that is more intriguing and makes me want to know more Expand
  14. PatrickM
    Dec 9, 2008
    10
    I think this album is amazing. The only reason people are knocking Beyonce is because she is at the top of her game and people love to tear someone down when they are in that position. The woman is unstoppable though. Her performance is the Single Ladies video is UNBELIEVABLE. The songs are absolutely rocking on I Am...Sasha Fierce. I think alot of the songs on B'day were a bit I think this album is amazing. The only reason people are knocking Beyonce is because she is at the top of her game and people love to tear someone down when they are in that position. The woman is unstoppable though. Her performance is the Single Ladies video is UNBELIEVABLE. The songs are absolutely rocking on I Am...Sasha Fierce. I think alot of the songs on B'day were a bit noisey and repetative and it sounds like she learned to control her vocal power to make her voice sound more beautiful. The best songs on I Am are Halo, Broken Hearted Girl and Ave Maria. On Sasha Fierce I LOVE single Ladies, Radio, Sweet Dreams and Ego. I would HIGHLY reccommend anyone buy this album and if she's performing performing near anybody PLEASE go to see her. It's the most amazing performance ever! She is a modern day legend and nobody should listen to any of the 'conspiracy theories' that are posted in other comments RE: album packaging! Expand
  15. BobbyLobby
    Dec 28, 2008
    0
    This album sounds effortless. And I don't mean that as a compliment. There's nary a song on here that deserved to see the light of day. "Halo" was written for Leona Lewis, and should have been reserved for ONLY her. Beyonce did no justice to it. And "Sweet Dreams" would have been great if it hadn't leaked already a year ago. Everything else on this album is purely This album sounds effortless. And I don't mean that as a compliment. There's nary a song on here that deserved to see the light of day. "Halo" was written for Leona Lewis, and should have been reserved for ONLY her. Beyonce did no justice to it. And "Sweet Dreams" would have been great if it hadn't leaked already a year ago. Everything else on this album is purely derivative and a complete and total insult to consumer's tastes. Beyonce set such a high precedent with her first two albums but she obviously isn't above exploiting the holidays to make a fast, shameful buck. 50 Cent, Eminem, Kelly Clarkson, Lily Allen, U2, and Black Eyed Peas all postponed their albums until next year in order to guarantee a better quality product. Beyonce just copped out to a half-baked album and blatantly chose to rip off not only her contemporaries, but her fans as well. In this case, I sincerely hope she goes broke for underestimating the public's taste. This is the worst album of 2008. Expand
  16. Mar 14, 2015
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. a lot of people that do not have well improved musical taste , and is giving low marks for good quality albums. I tell everyone to improve , because Beyoncé worked well in this album and you come and give these ridiculous notes , while recognizing that the work was excellent ... please ing which sold 8 million copies around the world according to the UWC Expand
  17. Ido
    Sep 3, 2011
    10
    Amazing album. The "I Am" side is perfect, there is no one with voice like the one she has.
    Halo is one of the most beautiful songs that I ever heard.
  18. Dec 3, 2011
    0
    This record was filth. Trying to charge fans money for 2 cd's with only a handful of songs on each. The music is best on the ballads, but the "Sasha Fierce" side of the album besides "Single Ladies" is awful. IT seems Beyonce copped out and didn't want to have a bomb on her hands like the way the ballad-filled 4 was. It's clear the record label wanted Beyonce to re-write the album withThis record was filth. Trying to charge fans money for 2 cd's with only a handful of songs on each. The music is best on the ballads, but the "Sasha Fierce" side of the album besides "Single Ladies" is awful. IT seems Beyonce copped out and didn't want to have a bomb on her hands like the way the ballad-filled 4 was. It's clear the record label wanted Beyonce to re-write the album with uptempo songs when she obviously didn't want to. Expand
  19. AveryW.
    Nov 20, 2008
    2
    Nice try. Sometimes Beyonce's shallowness is so thorough it's almost like depth.
  20. Mar 23, 2012
    0
    absolutely dreadful album.
  21. Tony
    Nov 25, 2008
    1
    This "concept album" is absolute garbage. The first CD is so sappy, boring and bland that it is painful to listen to the whole thing without a long break. The only somewhat tolerable song is "If I Were A Boy", which the Beyonce marketing machine shamelessly stole from someone else. CD2 is slightly better, but again pretty standard fare. And if you ask me, it's a complete ripoff of This "concept album" is absolute garbage. The first CD is so sappy, boring and bland that it is painful to listen to the whole thing without a long break. The only somewhat tolerable song is "If I Were A Boy", which the Beyonce marketing machine shamelessly stole from someone else. CD2 is slightly better, but again pretty standard fare. And if you ask me, it's a complete ripoff of Rihanna's "Good Girl Gone Bad" CD, except executed less successfully. I mean the similiarities are too obvious to ignore. This album just proves to me that Beyonce is not only looking to profit off those blind enough to fall for this "Deluxe Edition", but also proves that she is nothing but an empty, shallow shell of an artist with a good PR team and a lot of brainless devoted fans. She sure lost me as one though. Expand
  22. MeekJ
    Nov 25, 2008
    1
    I'm extremely disappointed. I feel like her company scammed hard working fans going through a difficult time. You mean to tell me that they could not put 11 Songs on 1 Disc. Give me a break the only two good songs on the album are Like a boy/ Put a ring on it. I was a die hard fan; but I'm starting to re think my loyalty. Has she really been loyal to us the fans??? She gets I'm extremely disappointed. I feel like her company scammed hard working fans going through a difficult time. You mean to tell me that they could not put 11 Songs on 1 Disc. Give me a break the only two good songs on the album are Like a boy/ Put a ring on it. I was a die hard fan; but I'm starting to re think my loyalty. Has she really been loyal to us the fans??? She gets married and hides it but the world knows. She goes on 106 and park the day her album released not wearing her ring and the host seemed like they were walking on egg shells at fear they might ask her about her marriage/no marriage to Jayz .I understand her wanting her privacy but you can't have both. You can't be this super Icon wanting to be in the public eye and be recognized as a superstar. and then act as if your so shy and so private. B-day was alright but I am Sasha Fierce is garbage in content as well as scamming the fans by putting out a so called double CD. I'm done with her I'm rollin with Rihianna Expand
  23. KiraB.
    Nov 30, 2008
    5
    I Am thoroughly disappointed with this attemt at a classic album from Beyonce. To be the Queen she professes herself to B should have came with the A game and not this C sub par music. To say you recorded over 70 songs but give your fans 10 on standard and 16 on deluxe is awful. There was no need to make a dual disc when all the tracks could have easily fit onto one, even the deluxe I Am thoroughly disappointed with this attemt at a classic album from Beyonce. To be the Queen she professes herself to B should have came with the A game and not this C sub par music. To say you recorded over 70 songs but give your fans 10 on standard and 16 on deluxe is awful. There was no need to make a dual disc when all the tracks could have easily fit onto one, even the deluxe edition. And a deluxe is needed b/c of what . . .? Release it right the first time. Or better yet, go back to the studio and pour your heart and soul into your music like you did w/DIL, it won't sound the same b/c you've grown since then but at least it will have some substance. I purchased the deluxe and even still there's an album that has bonus songs ontop of that.!! 3 albums, but you made this for your fans. If you're going to have other ppl right your music for u at least get good ones, like the lady that worked with Christina and Pink not your cousin Angie. I wasn't ready for her to come back (even though she never left) b/c she hasn't been out of the spotlight long enough. Even Usher knew better than to try and compete w/JT was slayin us with FSLS. Her clock is ticking and she wants to start a family with her new hubby and is trying to satisfy her . I'm so fed up with this alter ego nonsense. Its gotten out of control. Sasha didn't need her own album: SL, SD, Hello, Scared of Lonely and maybe Radio. That's it and the I AM side is so boring I haven't listened to it straight through. Completely disgusted with this attempt. Wait til you experience some more of life. Expand
  24. BrianG
    Dec 19, 2008
    2
    I Am....Sasha Fierce is a major disappointment. The original edition has two noteworthy songs, If I Were A Boy and Single Ladies. How both of them managed to reach #1 on the Billboard 100 is beyond me though. I thought Single Ladies was the better of the two singles, but it is ripped off version of Get Me Bodied and it is horribly repetitious. If I Were A Boy is okay, but it lacks charm. I Am....Sasha Fierce is a major disappointment. The original edition has two noteworthy songs, If I Were A Boy and Single Ladies. How both of them managed to reach #1 on the Billboard 100 is beyond me though. I thought Single Ladies was the better of the two singles, but it is ripped off version of Get Me Bodied and it is horribly repetitious. If I Were A Boy is okay, but it lacks charm. All in all this album is a real disappointment. Expand
  25. OB
    Dec 5, 2008
    1
    I couldnt bring myself to buy this CD. The funny thing about it is how she helped herself become number 1 on the Billboards last week. Did anyone see her all over the Talk Shows the past two weeks? Tyra Banks, Ellen, and I'm guessing that there is anywhere from 50-100 audience members. On both of these shows she bought CDs for the whole audience lol. What a joke. That's how she I couldnt bring myself to buy this CD. The funny thing about it is how she helped herself become number 1 on the Billboards last week. Did anyone see her all over the Talk Shows the past two weeks? Tyra Banks, Ellen, and I'm guessing that there is anywhere from 50-100 audience members. On both of these shows she bought CDs for the whole audience lol. What a joke. That's how she is number 1. Expand
  26. DreamaM.
    Nov 21, 2008
    3
    I used to like Beyonce. Now I have very negative feelings about her motives with this record and do not feel I could support her again. The standard edition is garbage. The deluxe is okay. I am so glad that I was able to listen before I purchased it. But you noticed how they had the standard edition and deluxe edition mixed in together for listening on the myspace page, so you don't I used to like Beyonce. Now I have very negative feelings about her motives with this record and do not feel I could support her again. The standard edition is garbage. The deluxe is okay. I am so glad that I was able to listen before I purchased it. But you noticed how they had the standard edition and deluxe edition mixed in together for listening on the myspace page, so you don't have a clear idea as to the fact that the standard one is lacking...everything. They were blended together as if they were all one record. The only really good songs are If I Were A Boy and Halo, which she didn't even write. She stole the first one. What a joke. This was a gimmick and strictly about fooling everyone into buying the deluxe. With the economy the way it is, they figured, everyone will buy the $8.99 standard edition to save money, and the diehard fans likely will. Once they realize it's garbage and get that "where's the rest of it" feeling from the record (they arranged it that way), they will go out and get the deluxe, thereby ultimately spending at least $24 on her. Beyonce, you are rich enough. Why rip off your loyal fans, especially in these hard times? It's not even about making good music, its about making money by any means necessary. That is very wrong and I will never support you again. I downloaded the few songs I liked because you won't be ripping me off. I saw past the gimmick and so have many others, but unfortunately not enough. This is the beginning of your downfall as an artist. You have shown your true colors. You've gotten complacent, thinking you can release garbage and your stans will buy it anyway, and they will. But you have to live with lying and cheating to make your millions. Your loyal fans will support you because they love your past work. They can help make you rich with this (whatever it is that you are trying passing off as music). I won't help them. Expand
  27. Yvette
    Dec 23, 2008
    1
    This cd sucks.. i told my mom that the last one sucked why buy the third one!! i was kinda hoping i was wrong because of the two disc thing.. but unfortunately i was 100% right.. sasha fierce side sounds like she is trying to be something she is not.. and the i am side is ok but still needs work.. its too mushy and it has the same rythmn and tone throughout the whole 8 songs.. i cannot This cd sucks.. i told my mom that the last one sucked why buy the third one!! i was kinda hoping i was wrong because of the two disc thing.. but unfortunately i was 100% right.. sasha fierce side sounds like she is trying to be something she is not.. and the i am side is ok but still needs work.. its too mushy and it has the same rythmn and tone throughout the whole 8 songs.. i cannot listen to the songs all at once because i will just die! i give this cd a 1 for effort! better luck next time.. ! this is strike 2.. after that, Beyonce better hope she comes out with something that amazes us all! if not down the drain she goes! Expand
  28. Nov 29, 2010
    10
    UnderRated just like all Her Albums. Very few Filler, actually just Lesser Thans, not Fillers. Yes it has flaws but most of the time people are just nick picking and judging all the wrong things. Not Fair. Great Album.
  29. May 23, 2011
    5
    Sasha Fierce is on the whole more exciting, artistic and brave than its boring partner disc. Could do with more time being spent on creating two bold discs instead of one that'll undeniably be thrown in the scrap heap.
  30. May 31, 2012
    4
    Halo Makes You Think This Is The Best Album Ever..
    I Love Beyonce But Vocally And Music Wise She CAN DO BETTER!
    Sadly This Is Not The Beyonce I Love...
Metascore
62

Generally favorable reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 24
  2. Negative: 2 out of 24
  1. 70
    She's not there yet, but the effort is fascinating, and hopefully she will keep on this path.
  2. Mar 2, 2011
    50
    While an interesting concept, neither CD contains enough strong material to match up to either of her previous releases, and at times, the constant barrage of R&B cliches and adult-contemporary production make it sound like Beyonce is rapidly transforming from hot, hip pop goddess to your standard bored diva.
  3. I Am...Sasha Fierce does offer two compelling sides of the singer.