• Record Label: Sony
  • Release Date: Nov 18, 2008
User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 325 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 44 out of 325

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. AdamZ
    Dec 11, 2008
    10
    Only one bad song (video phone) the I AM side is absolute genius...These are actual quality pop/ R & B ballads.
  2. SaadiahM
    Jan 19, 2009
    8
    I Am...Sasha Fierce, while not Beyonce's best album, is an enjoyable album. The "I Am" side is a generally enjoyable disc, but can sometimes get boring. If this album is a battle between her split personalities, "Sasha Fierce" wins. To her credit, though "Ave Maria" on the I Am... is one of the best vocal performances of her career. First and Second Singles, "If I Were A Boy" and I Am...Sasha Fierce, while not Beyonce's best album, is an enjoyable album. The "I Am" side is a generally enjoyable disc, but can sometimes get boring. If this album is a battle between her split personalities, "Sasha Fierce" wins. To her credit, though "Ave Maria" on the I Am... is one of the best vocal performances of her career. First and Second Singles, "If I Were A Boy" and "Halo," are also thoroughly memorable tunes. "Smash Into You" could be a possible third single and would probably do well on pop radio. "Hello" was a slight dissapointment for me. "That's Why You're Beautiful" also was a little boring Disc Two, "Sasha Fierce" features fierce club tunes, all of which are good. First Single, "Single Ladies (Put a Ring on It)" is a certified smash and one of her most memorable tracks. Other highlights include the 80's influenced "Radio" and "Sweet Dreams" both of which would make nice singles. Second single "Diva is also and deluxe edition track "Ego" is nice. In conclusion, even though Beyonce has stated she recorded 70 songs for this album, she really didn't pick enough tracks to warrant a double album. She could have just done one disc. But, she took a risk in releasing a double-album, and sometimes risks can be good. Expand
  3. PeterP.
    Nov 19, 2008
    10
    Beyonce broke out from her boundaries.. and she deserves credit for that.. especially by making an album this good.
  4. MaxG.
    Nov 20, 2008
    9
    I think that this album is something she put a lot of effort into because there are catchy songs all over the album. She has obviously also grown vocally.
  5. AnhN
    Dec 1, 2008
    10
    I have always been a fan of Beyoncé, and this album is the best of hers to date! This is the first Beyoncé album ever that all the good songs are fully compiled in the album. In the 2 previous albums I like some songs and don't like some, but in I Am... Sasha Fierce I have to admit that I like ALL the songs! Beside the usual "Sasha Fierce" side that she has always shown I have always been a fan of Beyoncé, and this album is the best of hers to date! This is the first Beyoncé album ever that all the good songs are fully compiled in the album. In the 2 previous albums I like some songs and don't like some, but in I Am... Sasha Fierce I have to admit that I like ALL the songs! Beside the usual "Sasha Fierce" side that she has always shown us, the Beyoncé side is really different and worth to listen. I have no comment about her alter ego or the album being splitted into 2 sides, but the whole album. For the ones who are wondering if they should buy the Standard or the Deluxe: buy the Standard if you don't have money, and download the other tracks online if you are so excited. If you decided to go for it (like I do) then Deluxe is a good choice. Expand
  6. AdonisT.
    Nov 25, 2009
    10
    This album is amazing... Its one of the best albums Ive ever heard in my entire life... Its goes from fun and bouncy with songs like Single Ladies to soft and beautiful with a song like Halo.... Satellites would be my favorite track.. Its so real and raw.
  7. Aug 13, 2010
    10
    As a critic said - this album offers two compelling sides of Beyonce.
    Not only is the idea of having two utterly different albums in one, brilliant, but it also provides Beyonce with a lot of space for creativity. From the first CD, excellent ballads keep on rolling and rolling and some of them are heart-wrenching, such as 'If I were a boy' and 'Broken-Hearted Girl.' This is definitely the
    As a critic said - this album offers two compelling sides of Beyonce.
    Not only is the idea of having two utterly different albums in one, brilliant, but it also provides Beyonce with a lot of space for creativity. From the first CD, excellent ballads keep on rolling and rolling and some of them are heart-wrenching, such as 'If I were a boy' and 'Broken-Hearted Girl.' This is definitely the better part of the album, and its where Beyonce shows her vocal abilities to their fullest.
    The second CD is a dance mixture with some really catchy tunes such as "Single ladies," "Sweet Dreams" and "Diva." Beyonce has definitely found herself in this album more so than in previous ones, I'd say. Definitely worth a listen or two... or for a couple of months, as I'm doing it!
    Expand
  8. Jun 10, 2011
    10
    I Am... Sasha Fierce is one of the best pop/r&b albums in recent years. She is really a living legend. She has the entire package. She is one of the very few to give you vulnerability, as evident in songs like "Satellites," "Scared of Lonely," "Smash Into You," among others, and at the same time give you sassy and commanding Beyoncé, that we all love, or should I say SashaI Am... Sasha Fierce is one of the best pop/r&b albums in recent years. She is really a living legend. She has the entire package. She is one of the very few to give you vulnerability, as evident in songs like "Satellites," "Scared of Lonely," "Smash Into You," among others, and at the same time give you sassy and commanding Beyoncé, that we all love, or should I say Sasha Fierce? Overall this album is EPIC. Her best to date. Standout tracks: Halo, Smash Into You, If I Were a Boy, Single Ladies (Put a Ring On It), Sweet Dreams, Ave Maria. Expand
  9. Aug 6, 2012
    10
    Really diverse and cohesive. The 'I Am...' side is filled with sensual, meaningful and emotional ballads where Beyoncé reveals all her fears and insecurities. The 'Sasha Fierce' side, which is filled with fierce uptempos, shows us the other side of Beyoncé - her alter ego Sasha Fierce.
  10. StellaL
    Dec 30, 2009
    7
    I didn't have an idea of what to expect with this album, mostly because it was my first Beyoncé album that have ever bought and I don't know what her previous albums have been like. I have heard her earlier songs and Ii think they rock. Now if you compare this album to those songs - Irreplaceable, Get Me Bodied, Crazy In Love, Naughty Girl- it falls awfully flat. If I I didn't have an idea of what to expect with this album, mostly because it was my first Beyoncé album that have ever bought and I don't know what her previous albums have been like. I have heard her earlier songs and Ii think they rock. Now if you compare this album to those songs - Irreplaceable, Get Me Bodied, Crazy In Love, Naughty Girl- it falls awfully flat. If I Were A Boy is beautiful but boring. Even Single Ladies, which is one hell of a song, can't live up to the bold and glamorous Get Me Bodied. B, you're one of the best, most hard working and honest artists out there. But next time, please go back to color photography, because the black-and-white form the photos is seeping into your songs. It took ages to get hooked to the songs on the first disc (which after MANY listens, is quite nice) and also some time to like the second disc. Overall, the album deserves it'is ten grammy noms because technically, it is flawless. But when it comes to personal taste, it was very boring. Expand
  11. amelie
    May 26, 2009
    10
    I cant stop listening to this album, i just love it. i love smash into you and disappear on the first cd, and sweet dreams and hello on the second one.
  12. MichaelH.
    Aug 19, 2009
    10
    Exceptional. Beyonce shines through in her latest album I Am... Sasha Fierce, creating heavy ebat laden songs and moving, beautiful ballads. An album that will bring out your inner diva or hustler or calm your senses and make you take a closer look at the smaller and more beautiful moments in life.
  13. TinoT.
    Nov 20, 2008
    8
    I am one of the biggest fans of Beyonce at first the albulm was a disappointment because I hadn't expected her to bring out such songs and such sounds but once I sat down and listen to the full albulm it grew on me and Now I actually think this is her best work ever. She shows she has no boundaries esp. in I am... she reveals a side of her that is more intriguing and makes me want to I am one of the biggest fans of Beyonce at first the albulm was a disappointment because I hadn't expected her to bring out such songs and such sounds but once I sat down and listen to the full albulm it grew on me and Now I actually think this is her best work ever. She shows she has no boundaries esp. in I am... she reveals a side of her that is more intriguing and makes me want to know more Expand
  14. PatrickM
    Dec 9, 2008
    10
    I think this album is amazing. The only reason people are knocking Beyonce is because she is at the top of her game and people love to tear someone down when they are in that position. The woman is unstoppable though. Her performance is the Single Ladies video is UNBELIEVABLE. The songs are absolutely rocking on I Am...Sasha Fierce. I think alot of the songs on B'day were a bit I think this album is amazing. The only reason people are knocking Beyonce is because she is at the top of her game and people love to tear someone down when they are in that position. The woman is unstoppable though. Her performance is the Single Ladies video is UNBELIEVABLE. The songs are absolutely rocking on I Am...Sasha Fierce. I think alot of the songs on B'day were a bit noisey and repetative and it sounds like she learned to control her vocal power to make her voice sound more beautiful. The best songs on I Am are Halo, Broken Hearted Girl and Ave Maria. On Sasha Fierce I LOVE single Ladies, Radio, Sweet Dreams and Ego. I would HIGHLY reccommend anyone buy this album and if she's performing performing near anybody PLEASE go to see her. It's the most amazing performance ever! She is a modern day legend and nobody should listen to any of the 'conspiracy theories' that are posted in other comments RE: album packaging! Expand
  15. BobbyLobby
    Dec 28, 2008
    0
    This album sounds effortless. And I don't mean that as a compliment. There's nary a song on here that deserved to see the light of day. "Halo" was written for Leona Lewis, and should have been reserved for ONLY her. Beyonce did no justice to it. And "Sweet Dreams" would have been great if it hadn't leaked already a year ago. Everything else on this album is purely This album sounds effortless. And I don't mean that as a compliment. There's nary a song on here that deserved to see the light of day. "Halo" was written for Leona Lewis, and should have been reserved for ONLY her. Beyonce did no justice to it. And "Sweet Dreams" would have been great if it hadn't leaked already a year ago. Everything else on this album is purely derivative and a complete and total insult to consumer's tastes. Beyonce set such a high precedent with her first two albums but she obviously isn't above exploiting the holidays to make a fast, shameful buck. 50 Cent, Eminem, Kelly Clarkson, Lily Allen, U2, and Black Eyed Peas all postponed their albums until next year in order to guarantee a better quality product. Beyonce just copped out to a half-baked album and blatantly chose to rip off not only her contemporaries, but her fans as well. In this case, I sincerely hope she goes broke for underestimating the public's taste. This is the worst album of 2008. Expand
  16. Ido
    Sep 3, 2011
    10
    Amazing album. The "I Am" side is perfect, there is no one with voice like the one she has.
    Halo is one of the most beautiful songs that I ever heard.
  17. Dec 3, 2011
    0
    This record was filth. Trying to charge fans money for 2 cd's with only a handful of songs on each. The music is best on the ballads, but the "Sasha Fierce" side of the album besides "Single Ladies" is awful. IT seems Beyonce copped out and didn't want to have a bomb on her hands like the way the ballad-filled 4 was. It's clear the record label wanted Beyonce to re-write the album withThis record was filth. Trying to charge fans money for 2 cd's with only a handful of songs on each. The music is best on the ballads, but the "Sasha Fierce" side of the album besides "Single Ladies" is awful. IT seems Beyonce copped out and didn't want to have a bomb on her hands like the way the ballad-filled 4 was. It's clear the record label wanted Beyonce to re-write the album with uptempo songs when she obviously didn't want to. Expand
  18. AveryW.
    Nov 20, 2008
    2
    Nice try. Sometimes Beyonce's shallowness is so thorough it's almost like depth.
  19. Mar 23, 2012
    0
    absolutely dreadful album.
  20. Tony
    Nov 25, 2008
    1
    This "concept album" is absolute garbage. The first CD is so sappy, boring and bland that it is painful to listen to the whole thing without a long break. The only somewhat tolerable song is "If I Were A Boy", which the Beyonce marketing machine shamelessly stole from someone else. CD2 is slightly better, but again pretty standard fare. And if you ask me, it's a complete ripoff of This "concept album" is absolute garbage. The first CD is so sappy, boring and bland that it is painful to listen to the whole thing without a long break. The only somewhat tolerable song is "If I Were A Boy", which the Beyonce marketing machine shamelessly stole from someone else. CD2 is slightly better, but again pretty standard fare. And if you ask me, it's a complete ripoff of Rihanna's "Good Girl Gone Bad" CD, except executed less successfully. I mean the similiarities are too obvious to ignore. This album just proves to me that Beyonce is not only looking to profit off those blind enough to fall for this "Deluxe Edition", but also proves that she is nothing but an empty, shallow shell of an artist with a good PR team and a lot of brainless devoted fans. She sure lost me as one though. Expand
  21. MeekJ
    Nov 25, 2008
    1
    I'm extremely disappointed. I feel like her company scammed hard working fans going through a difficult time. You mean to tell me that they could not put 11 Songs on 1 Disc. Give me a break the only two good songs on the album are Like a boy/ Put a ring on it. I was a die hard fan; but I'm starting to re think my loyalty. Has she really been loyal to us the fans??? She gets I'm extremely disappointed. I feel like her company scammed hard working fans going through a difficult time. You mean to tell me that they could not put 11 Songs on 1 Disc. Give me a break the only two good songs on the album are Like a boy/ Put a ring on it. I was a die hard fan; but I'm starting to re think my loyalty. Has she really been loyal to us the fans??? She gets married and hides it but the world knows. She goes on 106 and park the day her album released not wearing her ring and the host seemed like they were walking on egg shells at fear they might ask her about her marriage/no marriage to Jayz .I understand her wanting her privacy but you can't have both. You can't be this super Icon wanting to be in the public eye and be recognized as a superstar. and then act as if your so shy and so private. B-day was alright but I am Sasha Fierce is garbage in content as well as scamming the fans by putting out a so called double CD. I'm done with her I'm rollin with Rihianna Expand
  22. KiraB.
    Nov 30, 2008
    5
    I Am thoroughly disappointed with this attemt at a classic album from Beyonce. To be the Queen she professes herself to B should have came with the A game and not this C sub par music. To say you recorded over 70 songs but give your fans 10 on standard and 16 on deluxe is awful. There was no need to make a dual disc when all the tracks could have easily fit onto one, even the deluxe I Am thoroughly disappointed with this attemt at a classic album from Beyonce. To be the Queen she professes herself to B should have came with the A game and not this C sub par music. To say you recorded over 70 songs but give your fans 10 on standard and 16 on deluxe is awful. There was no need to make a dual disc when all the tracks could have easily fit onto one, even the deluxe edition. And a deluxe is needed b/c of what . . .? Release it right the first time. Or better yet, go back to the studio and pour your heart and soul into your music like you did w/DIL, it won't sound the same b/c you've grown since then but at least it will have some substance. I purchased the deluxe and even still there's an album that has bonus songs ontop of that.!! 3 albums, but you made this for your fans. If you're going to have other ppl right your music for u at least get good ones, like the lady that worked with Christina and Pink not your cousin Angie. I wasn't ready for her to come back (even though she never left) b/c she hasn't been out of the spotlight long enough. Even Usher knew better than to try and compete w/JT was slayin us with FSLS. Her clock is ticking and she wants to start a family with her new hubby and is trying to satisfy her . I'm so fed up with this alter ego nonsense. Its gotten out of control. Sasha didn't need her own album: SL, SD, Hello, Scared of Lonely and maybe Radio. That's it and the I AM side is so boring I haven't listened to it straight through. Completely disgusted with this attempt. Wait til you experience some more of life. Expand
  23. BrianG
    Dec 19, 2008
    2
    I Am....Sasha Fierce is a major disappointment. The original edition has two noteworthy songs, If I Were A Boy and Single Ladies. How both of them managed to reach #1 on the Billboard 100 is beyond me though. I thought Single Ladies was the better of the two singles, but it is ripped off version of Get Me Bodied and it is horribly repetitious. If I Were A Boy is okay, but it lacks charm. I Am....Sasha Fierce is a major disappointment. The original edition has two noteworthy songs, If I Were A Boy and Single Ladies. How both of them managed to reach #1 on the Billboard 100 is beyond me though. I thought Single Ladies was the better of the two singles, but it is ripped off version of Get Me Bodied and it is horribly repetitious. If I Were A Boy is okay, but it lacks charm. All in all this album is a real disappointment. Expand
  24. OB
    Dec 5, 2008
    1
    I couldnt bring myself to buy this CD. The funny thing about it is how she helped herself become number 1 on the Billboards last week. Did anyone see her all over the Talk Shows the past two weeks? Tyra Banks, Ellen, and I'm guessing that there is anywhere from 50-100 audience members. On both of these shows she bought CDs for the whole audience lol. What a joke. That's how she I couldnt bring myself to buy this CD. The funny thing about it is how she helped herself become number 1 on the Billboards last week. Did anyone see her all over the Talk Shows the past two weeks? Tyra Banks, Ellen, and I'm guessing that there is anywhere from 50-100 audience members. On both of these shows she bought CDs for the whole audience lol. What a joke. That's how she is number 1. Collapse
  25. DreamaM.
    Nov 21, 2008
    3
    I used to like Beyonce. Now I have very negative feelings about her motives with this record and do not feel I could support her again. The standard edition is garbage. The deluxe is okay. I am so glad that I was able to listen before I purchased it. But you noticed how they had the standard edition and deluxe edition mixed in together for listening on the myspace page, so you don't I used to like Beyonce. Now I have very negative feelings about her motives with this record and do not feel I could support her again. The standard edition is garbage. The deluxe is okay. I am so glad that I was able to listen before I purchased it. But you noticed how they had the standard edition and deluxe edition mixed in together for listening on the myspace page, so you don't have a clear idea as to the fact that the standard one is lacking...everything. They were blended together as if they were all one record. The only really good songs are If I Were A Boy and Halo, which she didn't even write. She stole the first one. What a joke. This was a gimmick and strictly about fooling everyone into buying the deluxe. With the economy the way it is, they figured, everyone will buy the $8.99 standard edition to save money, and the diehard fans likely will. Once they realize it's garbage and get that "where's the rest of it" feeling from the record (they arranged it that way), they will go out and get the deluxe, thereby ultimately spending at least $24 on her. Beyonce, you are rich enough. Why rip off your loyal fans, especially in these hard times? It's not even about making good music, its about making money by any means necessary. That is very wrong and I will never support you again. I downloaded the few songs I liked because you won't be ripping me off. I saw past the gimmick and so have many others, but unfortunately not enough. This is the beginning of your downfall as an artist. You have shown your true colors. You've gotten complacent, thinking you can release garbage and your stans will buy it anyway, and they will. But you have to live with lying and cheating to make your millions. Your loyal fans will support you because they love your past work. They can help make you rich with this (whatever it is that you are trying passing off as music). I won't help them. Expand
  26. Yvette
    Dec 23, 2008
    1
    This cd sucks.. i told my mom that the last one sucked why buy the third one!! i was kinda hoping i was wrong because of the two disc thing.. but unfortunately i was 100% right.. sasha fierce side sounds like she is trying to be something she is not.. and the i am side is ok but still needs work.. its too mushy and it has the same rythmn and tone throughout the whole 8 songs.. i cannot This cd sucks.. i told my mom that the last one sucked why buy the third one!! i was kinda hoping i was wrong because of the two disc thing.. but unfortunately i was 100% right.. sasha fierce side sounds like she is trying to be something she is not.. and the i am side is ok but still needs work.. its too mushy and it has the same rythmn and tone throughout the whole 8 songs.. i cannot listen to the songs all at once because i will just die! i give this cd a 1 for effort! better luck next time.. ! this is strike 2.. after that, Beyonce better hope she comes out with something that amazes us all! if not down the drain she goes! Expand
  27. Nov 29, 2010
    10
    UnderRated just like all Her Albums. Very few Filler, actually just Lesser Thans, not Fillers. Yes it has flaws but most of the time people are just nick picking and judging all the wrong things. Not Fair. Great Album.
  28. May 23, 2011
    5
    Sasha Fierce is on the whole more exciting, artistic and brave than its boring partner disc. Could do with more time being spent on creating two bold discs instead of one that'll undeniably be thrown in the scrap heap.
  29. May 31, 2012
    4
    Halo Makes You Think This Is The Best Album Ever..
    I Love Beyonce But Vocally And Music Wise She CAN DO BETTER!
    Sadly This Is Not The Beyonce I Love...
  30. Feb 4, 2015
    10
    OH MY GOD. Look at Beyoncé! The best album of the diva is I Am... Sasha Fierce. Includes Halo, If I Were A Boy, Diva, Sweet Dreams, Video Phone, Broken-Hearted Girl and Single Ladies! Is there a more perfect album then I AM SASHA FIERCE?
  31. EdijsG
    Jan 9, 2009
    9
    This is the best album she ever made, ok i don't know that for sure, but i can say, I'm not her fan and this is the first album than i ever listened by her and it brilliant, I really not into her old stuff that she did, but I love the balads in this album, just beautiful. ( sorry, english isn't my native language ) Buy tje album on i tunes or in Japan if you can, because This is the best album she ever made, ok i don't know that for sure, but i can say, I'm not her fan and this is the first album than i ever listened by her and it brilliant, I really not into her old stuff that she did, but I love the balads in this album, just beautiful. ( sorry, english isn't my native language ) Buy tje album on i tunes or in Japan if you can, because there is one amazing song - save the hero. Expand
  32. allie
    Mar 1, 2009
    10
    I had this album as a birthday present. i was not a beyonce's fan but i have to say that this album is amazing!! i didn't know she could sing like that.
  33. emilia
    Jun 4, 2009
    10
    Just love it! i like the concept. its good that she is showing more of who she is.
  34. Alain
    Jun 4, 2009
    10
    Some people wonder why she is so successful, well just listen to this album and you'll understand, absolutely beautiful!
  35. DR.
    Nov 28, 2008
    6
    It's hard to sum up the existing musical legacy of Beyonce. I mean half the time, I don't know what she's thinking. She's said that she wants to be an icon and a legend...so it's kind of unfortunate that her "legendary status" can only be stamped on modern dead cert classics like Crazy In Love and Irreplaceable. You get occasional glimpses of Beyonce's genius It's hard to sum up the existing musical legacy of Beyonce. I mean half the time, I don't know what she's thinking. She's said that she wants to be an icon and a legend...so it's kind of unfortunate that her "legendary status" can only be stamped on modern dead cert classics like Crazy In Love and Irreplaceable. You get occasional glimpses of Beyonce's genius at work, but then it gets lost in a sea of medicore and forgettable creations. It's the same case for this double album. Regular Beyonce is actually pretty solid. IIWAB, Halo, Satellites and Ave Maria all stand out like elegantly wrapped gifts waiting to be explored. The spanner in the works is this so called Sasha Fierce side. In all honesty, most of the tracks on this disc sound like leftovers from B'Day. Sasha Fierce isn't terrible (though Diva and Video Phone are!!), but desperately lacking in creativity. Overall it is an inconsistent collection. Potential for a very good record is weighed down by a hasty collection of club bangers! Expand
  36. AlexS
    Oct 2, 2009
    10
    This Album is awesome. Her most successful yet. She has nearly released every song on this album!
  37. NicciR
    Jan 27, 2009
    8
    Another great album from Mrs. Bey. Halo is definitely one of my favorites!
  38. gaaea
    Apr 1, 2009
    10
    Love this song!! the whole album!!
  39. RachelR
    Apr 11, 2009
    10
    Savage album I never liked beyonces music until I heard it the best song in the album is sweet dreams.
  40. marianne
    Apr 26, 2009
    10
    My favorite album! love all the songs, especially on the sasha fierce cd. im glad she came back with such a beautiful album!
  41. ChrisL.
    May 16, 2009
    10
    All people who hate on this album don't know what is real R&B music. First CD is full of strong ballads, songs which include happenings from real life and they are simply beautiful. Beyonce sounds great with low instrumental featurings and if you listen to songs on first side closely you will love them all. Second side, however, is sull of dance songs, club anthems but also has 2 All people who hate on this album don't know what is real R&B music. First CD is full of strong ballads, songs which include happenings from real life and they are simply beautiful. Beyonce sounds great with low instrumental featurings and if you listen to songs on first side closely you will love them all. Second side, however, is sull of dance songs, club anthems but also has 2 songs which would suit better on first side, but they suit perfectly on the end of second disc. If you want some soul or ballads, play first disc, if you want to dance and enjoy, turn on second disc. I would go o far to tell that this album is best R&B album ever. And I was Beyonce hater until this album. Deep, Beautiful, Simply perfect. These words describe it best. Expand
  42. JasonR
    Jun 19, 2009
    10
    Beyonce delivers yet again.
  43. Sophia
    Sep 6, 2009
    10
    Beyonce is so amazingly talented. Brilliant album.
  44. MkayK
    Dec 26, 2008
    10
    'I Am...' sees Knowles discover a much needed return to the Blues of her typical R&B. The welcome change features stand-outs such as 'Halo', 'Smash Into You' and the lead single 'If I Were A Boy'. 'Broken Hearted Girl' is the pick of the bunch. 'Sasha Fierce' introduces Knowle's hyperactive alter ego, producing danceable 'I Am...' sees Knowles discover a much needed return to the Blues of her typical R&B. The welcome change features stand-outs such as 'Halo', 'Smash Into You' and the lead single 'If I Were A Boy'. 'Broken Hearted Girl' is the pick of the bunch. 'Sasha Fierce' introduces Knowle's hyperactive alter ego, producing danceable tracks with exciting changes to the previous roster of 'B'Day'. 'Radio', 'Single Ladies' and 'Diva' stand out from this album. Whereas tracks like 'Hello' and 'Scared of Lonely' don't feel at home on the album. 'Video Phone' is a let down on the overall stable and amazing album. Expand
  45. Micheal
    Dec 2, 2008
    10
    The Sasha side is automatically catchy and has great dance songs on it. People will have to listen to the I Am side to appreciate the great songs that are on that side because it's a little different sound for Beyonce. If I Were a Boy is already a hit. But the other songs that will be guaranteed hits for Beyonce are Halo, Smash Into You and Broken Hearted Girl. I also really like The Sasha side is automatically catchy and has great dance songs on it. People will have to listen to the I Am side to appreciate the great songs that are on that side because it's a little different sound for Beyonce. If I Were a Boy is already a hit. But the other songs that will be guaranteed hits for Beyonce are Halo, Smash Into You and Broken Hearted Girl. I also really like Disappear and That's Why You're Beautiful. Overall, the CD is great and one of the best the year. Only Beyonce is talented, creative and risk taking enough to do a CD like this. I totally believe that she'll be up for Album of the Year at the Grammy's this year. And deservedly so. Expand
  46. AloiseM
    Dec 9, 2008
    6
    The CD is a good attempt. I really like "Halo," "Radio," "Scared of Lonely"....some songs you can tell where very her for right now. Some, I wasn't sure were really talking about herself. You can tell the songs that really are about her and or just songs she sings...the songs that are reall are real good, her ballands on songs like "Hello" show that she can really sing in her way. I The CD is a good attempt. I really like "Halo," "Radio," "Scared of Lonely"....some songs you can tell where very her for right now. Some, I wasn't sure were really talking about herself. You can tell the songs that really are about her and or just songs she sings...the songs that are reall are real good, her ballands on songs like "Hello" show that she can really sing in her way. I thinks she really is growing as an artist, sometimes it seems as see wants to give fans to me instead of just be herself which...Sasha Fierce reflects...those are the songs that make you go "Oh, oh, oh, excuse me...go girl." Expand
  47. VanessaJ.
    Dec 9, 2008
    8
    I love the album. I was pleasantly surprised by Beyonces "new" more sultry and Dido-like voice. Her rang, the long notes, the entire I AM side really impressed me. I can see how anyone looking for typical Beyonce styling would be disappointed though. Beyonce is singing like the grown and married woman she is. Its "The Best of Both Worlds."
  48. emilie
    Feb 22, 2009
    10
    I just love this album, this is my favorite album of hers. she's great! i love the i ...am cd cos you can see a different side of her.
  49. lindam
    Mar 6, 2009
    10
    Beautiful songs, beautiful voice, beautiful album!!!
  50. NickG
    Apr 12, 2009
    10
    This is her best album.Kudos for going 3x platinum worldwide!The only problem is that she should have used more dance tracks and get rid of Sweet dream,Hello,Scared of lonely.But they are good tracks anyways.
  51. tina
    Jun 1, 2009
    10
    Really good album, i like the concept. i saw her show recently and it makes me love her even more.
  52. HugoC
    Aug 15, 2009
    10
    I think the album is awesome. It has great ballads where beyoncé shows her beautiful vocals. Then, there is sasha fierce full of fierceness.
  53. MichelleS.
    Nov 18, 2008
    5
    I am a hardcore Beyonce' fan and I am dissappinted at her new CD to say the least. It has been too long since B-Day came out and I was looking for her to bring it...again. She has never let me down and I didnt think she ever had the capabilities of doing so but Ms. Sasha Fierce this was a mess. There was a lot of hype for no reason. The music is good but the majority of the lyrics I am a hardcore Beyonce' fan and I am dissappinted at her new CD to say the least. It has been too long since B-Day came out and I was looking for her to bring it...again. She has never let me down and I didnt think she ever had the capabilities of doing so but Ms. Sasha Fierce this was a mess. There was a lot of hype for no reason. The music is good but the majority of the lyrics and the way the CD came together as the final product was very sub par. I should have purchased it from my neighbor as a burned copy! Expand
  54. JarrellC.
    Nov 19, 2008
    5
    I am shocked at how bad this album is. It took her two weeks to record B'Day and she worked on Sasha Fierce for almost a year. With that said, B'Day is much much better than Sasha Fierce. The only decent songs (and when I say decent I am trying to be nice) are "Single Ladies" and "Radio."
  55. th
    Nov 21, 2008
    5
    This cd is sub par. The slow jams were nice but nothing really memorable as so with the fierce side. Dont doubt that she will still go platinum because of her name. I can see this been re- released to get those sales up.
  56. MissyM.
    Nov 20, 2008
    5
    The ballads went to European for me. Changing the disc is a waste of time for me. I am still a fan but I honestly only like 4 songs on the album. 1 from Disc one and 3 from Disc 2. Stick with you..Disc 2...
  57. Delspencerdeltorro
    Nov 26, 2008
    4
    The first disc is completely forgettable, but it's got some emotion, and a few high points. It's not bad background music. Lyrically, it's mostly duds. On this disc, the deluxe edition only offers more of the same. My understanding was that with such a slow first disc, the second disc would be a non-stop party, but the pace slows after the first song and when it does get The first disc is completely forgettable, but it's got some emotion, and a few high points. It's not bad background music. Lyrically, it's mostly duds. On this disc, the deluxe edition only offers more of the same. My understanding was that with such a slow first disc, the second disc would be a non-stop party, but the pace slows after the first song and when it does get back up, the quality sucks. The deluxe version adds a couple worthwhile songs and ends on a high point. This album should've been mixed together, and a lot of tracks should've been discarded. Out of the whole deluxe set (*excluding itunes bonus tracks) there's less than a half hour of good music anyway. Expand
  58. estelle
    Nov 29, 2008
    10
    I personally love this album.at first i wasnt convinced but after listening to it 3-4 times i fell in love with this album. i think what can put people off is the fact that u have to change the cd. it would have been better if all the songs were on one cd. i like the fact that she reveals herself a bit more!!
  59. Ms.Juicee
    Dec 12, 2008
    10
    I would give this album a perfect 10. Let me explain...simply put Beyonce was very brave to show a completely different side of herself and make some truly memorable ballots. She had obviously nothing to be sad about, however she proved not only is she a vocalist but has the ability to make real music. I love that she wasn't afraid to show her human side, because really at the end of I would give this album a perfect 10. Let me explain...simply put Beyonce was very brave to show a completely different side of herself and make some truly memorable ballots. She had obviously nothing to be sad about, however she proved not only is she a vocalist but has the ability to make real music. I love that she wasn't afraid to show her human side, because really at the end of the night she is still just Beyonce-a real person with feelings. I am very proud! Keep up the good work and don't be afraid to try something new. Expand
  60. JohnCarloO
    Dec 14, 2008
    10
    I love Beyonce and the album is just full of hits. Better than B'day definitely her best album so far!
  61. QuebeB
    Dec 25, 2008
    10
    I am Sasha Fierce is a great duo cd that shows the artist's vocal range, artistic apepal, and creativity. She did a great job in differentiating Beyonce from Sasha.
  62. breaj
    Jan 12, 2009
    1
    It was horrible Sasha fierce cd and iam her 1st cd was the best of all of her cds she has made dangerously the 2nd deja u cd she came out and she was letting yall know im bout to come out my shell and cross over big time yall just be ready so she came out with this Sasha one and show who she was but the cd was horible im not a hater it was ok.
  63. BryanW
    Dec 23, 2009
    7
    Beyonce should be complimented for never stopping trying her best, and her efforts always work at some level. I am not really into the songs on the side "I Am..." but some pop ballad tracks on the on the other side "... Sasha Fierce" are not bad at all, especially "If I Were A Boy", which is probably her most meaningful and feminine song ever. However, it will be very difficult (if not Beyonce should be complimented for never stopping trying her best, and her efforts always work at some level. I am not really into the songs on the side "I Am..." but some pop ballad tracks on the on the other side "... Sasha Fierce" are not bad at all, especially "If I Were A Boy", which is probably her most meaningful and feminine song ever. However, it will be very difficult (if not infeasible) for her to define herself as an excellent artist of ballad songs like this, since vocally she can hardly come close to the level of true ballad queens such as Whitney or Mariah of the old days. BTW, 10 nominations for such album are just too many, and especially I don't think it deserves to be nominated for Album of the year category. Another album overrated by Grammy. Expand
  64. miriam
    Feb 17, 2009
    10
    Excellent album!! i like the fact that she tried something new on the i am cd.i love disappear, halo, smash into you, thats why you're beautiful and save the hero on that cd. on the sasha fierce part, well all the songs are a potential hit!!
  65. anais
    Mar 19, 2009
    10
    What can i say, i just love this album! everything is great!! love the up tempos songs!!
  66. LeanneC
    Apr 21, 2009
    10
    Yes it was really good because i love this album. Thank you so much!!! x
  67. Cherry
    May 24, 2009
    6
    Yes, my advice to you as well it to skip straight to the second disc.
  68. elise
    Jun 17, 2009
    10
    Amazing album; for me her best album so far!! grea job!
  69. JoeB.
    Nov 18, 2008
    4
    Let's see, 1) Beyonce: one of the biggest artists in the pop world, check 2) All the best people and facilities at her fingertips-check, 3) One of the best voices in the industry-check, so what happened? EGO happened baby! Lot's of it. Here's the thing, who gives a shit about Beyonce's alter ego? Answer - Nobody. Who wants crazy beats with wild vocals doing things Let's see, 1) Beyonce: one of the biggest artists in the pop world, check 2) All the best people and facilities at her fingertips-check, 3) One of the best voices in the industry-check, so what happened? EGO happened baby! Lot's of it. Here's the thing, who gives a shit about Beyonce's alter ego? Answer - Nobody. Who wants crazy beats with wild vocals doing things nobody else can? Answer - Everybody. Depth and introspection do not suit Beyonce Knowles, she is not a "Lennon" type artist. It's actually quite sad to see someone who is supposed to be at the top of their field crawling around the AM radio bathroom floor looking for Shania Twain fans. Expand
  70. Lily
    Nov 18, 2008
    10
    The best album of 2008. Beyonce keeps expanding the sound of R&B and pop music. She continues to show why she is the most talented and creative artist of her generation.
  71. AlexW.
    Nov 19, 2008
    7
    It just seems like Beyonce is trying too hard these days to be ahead of the pack. I miss her music when it seemed effortless ("Me, Myself and I," "Get Me Bodied"), and she was fierce without having to remind us she is in the album's title. Honey, we know. That being said, the album has some great standout tracks: "Halo," originally written for Leona Lewis (who really deserved to sing It just seems like Beyonce is trying too hard these days to be ahead of the pack. I miss her music when it seemed effortless ("Me, Myself and I," "Get Me Bodied"), and she was fierce without having to remind us she is in the album's title. Honey, we know. That being said, the album has some great standout tracks: "Halo," originally written for Leona Lewis (who really deserved to sing it) by Ryan Tedder, is great. "Smash Into You" is one of the better ballads, while "Radio" is a great dance track that Rihanna would probably kill to record (although it wouldn't have half the personality of Beyonce's version). Although it has a number of certain hits, I wonder if unlike B'day, these songs are not songs you warm up to but rather songs you get sick of quickly? Expand
  72. Igor
    Nov 19, 2008
    9
    The best female CD of 2008! I hate the name, but the tracks are really great! Awesome job!
  73. Nyah
    Nov 21, 2008
    10
    It's easy to see that Beyonce has got a lot of hits on the Sasha Fierce side. Anyone of those songs could be a single. On the I Am side, we haven't heard Beyonce in this context before, so it takes some getting used to. But when you really start to listen to that side, you see how excellent it truly is. My favorites on that side are If I Were a Boy, Halo, Broken Hearted Girl, It's easy to see that Beyonce has got a lot of hits on the Sasha Fierce side. Anyone of those songs could be a single. On the I Am side, we haven't heard Beyonce in this context before, so it takes some getting used to. But when you really start to listen to that side, you see how excellent it truly is. My favorites on that side are If I Were a Boy, Halo, Broken Hearted Girl, Smash Into You and That's Why You're Beautiful. Those songs are all so beautiful and would be massive hits. If people don't understand the greatness of those songs now, they soon will. I applaud Beyonce for her creativity and risk-taking. That's what makes her one of our greatest artists. Expand
  74. ShannaD.
    Nov 22, 2008
    9
    I feel that it is definitely her best album thus far! U have 2 cds to fit the mood ur in! I think that ppl who say the I am.. CD is boring, has to in no doubt be very young- Unfortunately that includes the majority of her fan base. But the ppl in the 25 and up age range should definitely appreciate the maturity and growth of this album!
  75. RoseS.
    Nov 25, 2008
    4
    I felt Beyonce's latest release lacked a lot of integrity and personality compared to her first several solo albums. "If I Were a Boy", "Radio", "Single Ladies" are all decent tracks, but the rest of the album seems to come across with generic ballads, seemingly in disconcert with her moniker of "Sasha Fierce", and varying in overall song quality throughout the two-disc set. Pity I felt Beyonce's latest release lacked a lot of integrity and personality compared to her first several solo albums. "If I Were a Boy", "Radio", "Single Ladies" are all decent tracks, but the rest of the album seems to come across with generic ballads, seemingly in disconcert with her moniker of "Sasha Fierce", and varying in overall song quality throughout the two-disc set. Pity because she sports a great vocal, but doesn't quite carry the conviction to make these songs work as well within her given scope. Expand
  76. DeniseM
    Nov 25, 2008
    10
    I applaud Beyonce for taking a risk with this album. She has stretched herself far beyond what many people may have expected from her. Most impressively, she has done so without sacrificing her integrity and has managed to stay true to herself as well as her own unique vocal style. With this album she has demonstrated her versatility as a true artist and her veritable talent and she is I applaud Beyonce for taking a risk with this album. She has stretched herself far beyond what many people may have expected from her. Most impressively, she has done so without sacrificing her integrity and has managed to stay true to herself as well as her own unique vocal style. With this album she has demonstrated her versatility as a true artist and her veritable talent and she is only 27! Times are changing, music has evolved and will continue to do so. Those who crucify her for stepping outside of her so-called "urban" genre that many are comfortable with are refusing to acknowledge the fact that she is a true artist who must continue to develop and push the envelope. She is one of the greatest and most talented artists of our time. In fact, those female musicians/performers who have soared throughout time, such as Aretha Franklin, Patti LaBelle, Gladys Knight, Diana Ross, Mariah Carey, Whitney Houston, Madonna, Janet, Mary J. Blige and evenually Alicia Keys, are those who have continued to challenge themselves by taking risks, displaying creativity and their own unique flair! Perfect they are not, but who said that "art" was synonymous with "perfection"? In my book, a true musician is first and foremost an artist. Go head B!!! Dust them hatas off, girl. Can't wait 'til the next one. Expand
  77. Carol
    Nov 26, 2008
    10
    The best album of 2008. I love If I Were a Boy, Halo, Broken Hearted Girl, Smash Into You, That's Why You're Beautiful, Single Ladies, Radio, Hello, Ego, Sweet Dreams and Scared of Lonely. She just has so many great songs on the album.
  78. de
    Nov 28, 2008
    4
    I just finished listening to Beyonce's new album, "I Am...", and all have to say is 'what in the world Beyonce!!!'I felt that her first two albums were much better than this one. I was very disappointed... Now I did enjoy three of the songs on the CD, but the rest was a different story. The songs were sad and depressing, not what I expected. I felt that the CD was a waste I just finished listening to Beyonce's new album, "I Am...", and all have to say is 'what in the world Beyonce!!!'I felt that her first two albums were much better than this one. I was very disappointed... Now I did enjoy three of the songs on the CD, but the rest was a different story. The songs were sad and depressing, not what I expected. I felt that the CD was a waste of money. I don't suggest that you buy this CD, because if your expecting Beyonce's CD to be similar to her three singles out right now, it's not. Expand
  79. Oct 26, 2010
    10
    The two diffrent sides on this ablum are very diffrent than one another, and really does show how the real Beyonce, and her alter-ego "Sasha Fierce", think and feel. But there is just too many pointless songs to overcome.
  80. Jun 29, 2011
    6
    After B'Day, I expected an improvement, but obviously, I Am ... Sasha Fierce just doesn't do it for me. Although it has some really good moments (If I Were A Boy, Halo, BHG, Hello, Ego, Radio, Sweet Dreams, Single Ladies), it really has some epically fails (Video Phone, Diva, Why Don't You Love Me). As a whole, an average album and the worst I've listened to from her ... so far.
  81. Jun 30, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Love this album. Definitely deserves the 16 Grammy ! Halo her best song and her vocal absolutely amazing. Single Ladies Its the best dance songs of her. Expand
  82. Aug 19, 2011
    10
    One of the best pop albums of the last few years. This is a different album than the typical Beyonce. She took a risk with this and it paid off. Favorite song is 'Halo' EPIC.
  83. Aug 26, 2011
    10
    O melhor álbum de uma ótima carreira. Beyoncé refinou tanto seu som desta vez que teve que dividir o álbum em duas partes. A 1°, calma e romântica, mostra que a cantora sabe fazer baladas como ninguém. A 2°, dançante, é uma evolução deO melhor álbum de uma ótima carreira. Beyoncé refinou tanto seu som desta vez que teve que dividir o álbum em duas partes. A 1°, calma e romântica, mostra que a cantora sabe fazer baladas como ninguém. A 2°, dançante, é uma evolução de todos os hits r&b que ela criou. Vai ser difícil ela superar este álbum.
    Melhores faixas: Disappear / Single Ladies / Sweet Dreams
    Expand
  84. Aug 22, 2011
    10
    I'm also surprised this album received negative and mixed reviews. This is Beyonce's best album to date. On the Beyonce side she wasn't really Beyonce. i say that because her Beyonce songs were nnot similar to those on "Dangerously in Love". They were very soft but I liked them. "Halo" "Disappear" "Broken hearted girl" is my favorite songs from the side she utilizes her voice and gets highI'm also surprised this album received negative and mixed reviews. This is Beyonce's best album to date. On the Beyonce side she wasn't really Beyonce. i say that because her Beyonce songs were nnot similar to those on "Dangerously in Love". They were very soft but I liked them. "Halo" "Disappear" "Broken hearted girl" is my favorite songs from the side she utilizes her voice and gets high and low at the perfect time on them. Beyonce really feels the songs to me. The other songs on the Beyonce side were a little boring but showed how Beyonce can use so many voices. The songs were not bad though. Ave Maria was a remake and is one of Beyonce's better voices. Smash into you was good but many people wont relate and "thats why your beautiful" is my least favorite. On the "I am Sasha Fierce" side Beyonce took off and separated her self from the game. I loved all of the songs on that side but video phone I could've done without. My favorite is "scared of lonely" which could really been on either side. Diva was the **** Beyonce. Overall the album was great. It is worth buying and evaluating and you will at least like half of the songs. I dont think beyonce had to made it a double disc because it was not enough Beyonce or Sasha Fierce. It could have been one disc and the album still wouldve been great. Expand
  85. Jul 15, 2012
    10
    This album is a favorite ! Beyonce has amazing vocals, beats, videos, and choreograpy that sets her work apart from anyone else! Beyonce is the modern Janet Jackson and she is dominating for good reason. If you do not like/love this album then you dont know how to identify good music. She goes from sexy to rage to fun in a heartbeat, its so diverse! Buy this album seriously if you haventThis album is a favorite ! Beyonce has amazing vocals, beats, videos, and choreograpy that sets her work apart from anyone else! Beyonce is the modern Janet Jackson and she is dominating for good reason. If you do not like/love this album then you dont know how to identify good music. She goes from sexy to rage to fun in a heartbeat, its so diverse! Buy this album seriously if you havent already! No artist is touching this woman! Expand
  86. Nov 29, 2012
    7
    the connection between the songs are way better on the I Am ... side; but the best songs are on Sasha Fierce; Nevertheless I Am happy she's singing less Urban music here; she needed that Record to etablish herself as iconic. It sounds like a WOMAN record (no longer the GIRL she was on previous albums).
    My favorite : Disappear / Hello is great performed live.
  87. Oct 3, 2012
    5
    When I first got the album, I really liked because it was Beyonce's. Now, I realise that reality crashed all the "love" for her. The first half is pretty good, especially because of "If I Were A Boy" and "Halo", songs which we never thought Beyonce will make. The other half, is boring: boring lyrics, plain music ( I am comparing the facts with her latest album, "4" which is, her best albumWhen I first got the album, I really liked because it was Beyonce's. Now, I realise that reality crashed all the "love" for her. The first half is pretty good, especially because of "If I Were A Boy" and "Halo", songs which we never thought Beyonce will make. The other half, is boring: boring lyrics, plain music ( I am comparing the facts with her latest album, "4" which is, her best album in her entire career: she developed, not just lyrically, but also, musically). Too bad there are many stans, human beings who never know how to be realist ! Beyonce is a good entertainer, I met her in person at a concert, but all things have a limit. Expand
  88. Jan 6, 2013
    8
    Another solid album from Beyoncé and when combining all the editions that were released there were around 20 songs to listen to so you were bound to like some of them! There are a few duds that probably could have been left out but they are made up for by stand-outs like Sweet Dreams & Halo.
  89. Apr 21, 2013
    9
    Very good album, all the songs i like. Halo is amazing and her vocals are very strong. Diva is a brilliant tune which i also dance to, singles ladies and sweet dreams are also really good songs.
  90. Nov 17, 2013
    9
    This album is very much different from the sounds of her "Dangerously in Love" and "B'Day". And I happen to like this kind of Beyonce more. "Halo" is a masterpiece, so are "If I Were a Boy", "Single Ladies", and "Broken-Hearted Girl". The alter-ego concept works out amazingly fine in this album. I think she's just a genius artist for coming up with the album concept.
  91. Dec 16, 2013
    0
    When you think Beyoncé could
    do nothing worse she comes with it. ''I Am Sasha Fierce'' sounds like a
    cd that Suzana Vieira could have done wiith the compositions by
    Thiaguinho. ''Single Ladies'' became a major success in the Complexo da
    Maré, bringing the happiness of their fans and bringing pain to our
    ears.
  92. Jun 20, 2014
    7
    O único bom album da Beyoncé.
    Quem sabe daqui a a 3,4,5 albuns ela consiga lançar um tão bom quanto esse.
    E a crítica diz que ele não é o melhor eim...fazer o que.
  93. Mar 14, 2015
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. a lot of people that do not have well improved musical taste , and is giving low marks for good quality albums. I tell everyone to improve , because Beyoncé worked well in this album and you come and give these ridiculous notes , while recognizing that the work was excellent ... please ing which sold 8 million copies around the world according to the UWC Expand
  94. Apr 5, 2015
    10
    É o álbum mais comercial da Beyoncé, mas não deixa de ser ótimo e mereceu todo o sucesso e a repercussão que teve, o disco 1 é muito melhor que o disco 2 não tem nem comparação, um álbum muito bom.
  95. May 4, 2015
    10
    ore. You can tell all of her songs came from the heart. The only thing that I have to say is that I don't think "Run The World (Girls)" fits into the album AT ALL. Other than that, the album is flawle
  96. May 4, 2015
    10
    yessssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssss
Metascore
62

Generally favorable reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 24
  2. Negative: 2 out of 24
  1. 70
    She's not there yet, but the effort is fascinating, and hopefully she will keep on this path.
  2. Mar 2, 2011
    50
    While an interesting concept, neither CD contains enough strong material to match up to either of her previous releases, and at times, the constant barrage of R&B cliches and adult-contemporary production make it sound like Beyonce is rapidly transforming from hot, hip pop goddess to your standard bored diva.
  3. I Am...Sasha Fierce does offer two compelling sides of the singer.