• Record Label: Sony
  • Release Date: Sep 29, 2009
User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 42 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 42
  2. Negative: 1 out of 42

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JonB.
    Oct 2, 2009
    10
    Exceeds expectations so much, even excessive patches of polish and poppiness can't overshadow the exquisite songwriting and heart-breaking lyrics. More bawlers and orphans than brawlers, but this album makes its bones because it stops fighting, not in spite of it.
  2. SamanthaD.
    Oct 2, 2009
    10
    I wasn't sold on this album when I first heard it on NPR. But once I listened to it again, I loved it as much as any of their other albums!
  3. MandyS
    Oct 9, 2009
    10
    This album shows the growth of the song writing of the Avetts. It's a solid album through and through with a full, authentic sound. I've been listening to it repeatedly since it dropped! My only (slight) criticism is that it doesn't have as much of the energy we know and love from the Avetts and that's a bit of a change of pace. Definitely looking forward to more to This album shows the growth of the song writing of the Avetts. It's a solid album through and through with a full, authentic sound. I've been listening to it repeatedly since it dropped! My only (slight) criticism is that it doesn't have as much of the energy we know and love from the Avetts and that's a bit of a change of pace. Definitely looking forward to more to come from these guys! Expand
  4. KurtC
    Oct 10, 2009
    9
    They won me over with this one. I wasn't the biggest fan of their previous record "Emotionalism"...much of it seemed over-the-top and sloppy at times. "I and Love and You" is solid, well-written, and still captures the Brothers' raw energy while not going too far over the edge and letting the songs speak more for themselves. Excellent album.
  5. brendae.
    Oct 2, 2009
    10
    The Avett Brothers have never failed to produce amazing albums in the past, and "I & Love & You" is no different. I am grateful for who this band is in my life!
  6. LindaM.
    Oct 2, 2009
    10
    Beautiful piece of work from beginning to end. Wonderfully constructed melodies and poignant lyrics. The Avett Brothers deliver again.
  7. MikeW.
    Oct 2, 2009
    10
    A masterpiece. From the energy of the music to the poetic lyrics this is a classic.
  8. Deb
    Oct 2, 2009
    10
    This is the best album to come out in 09 hands down. This is a crowning moment for this band out of Concord North Carolina that has been making brilliant albums for 10 years.
  9. May 1, 2011
    10
    My first experience with The Avett Brothers was live at Jazzfest 2011. Following, this was the first recorded album I listened to. While I much prefer their live sound over their recorded sound, most of the songs they performed were from this album, and I was immediately hooked. This album will always be special to me.
Metascore
73

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. 60
    With little in the way of banjo now, nearly every song comes steeped in acoustic piano, while the vocals are pitched to eke out every last chunk of substance from well-honed lyrics. [May 2010, p.93]
  2. The result is an intimate, poignant album, laced with rich production that enhances, not clouds, the songwriting itself.
  3. The Avett Brothers have hit upon a winning approach, and this album is another step in their taking it beyond the obvious.