• Record Label: Geffen
  • Release Date: Nov 6, 2007

Mixed or average reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 13
  2. Negative: 2 out of 13
  1. I-Empire is a sweeping conceptual piece with a message as big as its sound and just a bit more enigmatic.
  2. For all its cathartic lyrics, I-Empire is actually packed with dazzling, fast-moving songs, like 'Everything's Magic' and 'Sirens,' that bring together U2's widescreen guitar flights with tuneful, straightforward punk melodies.
  3. Where "Whisper" came off like an ego-driven side project, I-Empire paints the Angels as a fully-fledged band.
  4. 'Magic' isn't the sole highlight: 'Sirens,' an earnest new-wave throwback, may even encourage DeLonge's sternest critics to sing along.
User Score

Generally favorable reviews- based on 94 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 78 out of 94
  2. Negative: 12 out of 94
  1. OmriE
    May 10, 2008
    You can sence this albums marks the true nature of angels, The epicness and overall effects make this band sound unique.
  2. LiamS.
    Nov 22, 2007
    Excellent album, much improved from "We Don't Need To Whisper", beautifully written music
  3. KaiT.
    Nov 7, 2007
    it more focused and less indulgant than WDNTW, but im still waiting for an AVA album that will blow me away. this is a good step forward tho